DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammie (US Pub No. 2020/0155132) in view of Abdul-Karim (US Pub No. 2014/0046356).
Regarding claim 1, Gammie discloses (Figures 2-3D) an endovascular device (10), comprising: a catheter (16) defining a lumen (clearly shown in Figure 2A); a needle (22) extending within the lumen of the catheter and being movable within the catheter (Paragraph 0044), the needle defining a lumen and having a distal needle tip (clearly shown in Figure 2A), wherein distal movement of the needle advances the distal needle tip out of the catheter and proximal movement of the needle retracts the distal needle tip within the lumen of the catheter (Figures 3A-3D) (Fully capable in doing this since Paragraph 0044 discloses that one or more actuatable knobs is connectable to the needle allowing the needle to move in order to extend and retract the needle); and a guidewire (24) at least partially arranged within the lumen of the needle (clearly shown in Figure 2A) (Paragraphs 0042-0045).
Gammie fails to disclose the guidewire being a shaving mechanism, the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr positioned proximate the distal needle tip, wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable relative to the needle upon activation of the shaving mechanism.
Abdul-Karim, in the analogous art of transseptal devices using a guidewire, teaches (Figures 1-5E) a transeptal device assembly (20) comprising a guidewire (10) being a shaving mechanism (Figure 1D) (Paragraphs 0039 and 0043), the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr (16) (clearly shown in Figures 2A-4B) (Paragraph 0043), wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable upon activation of the shaving mechanism (Figure 1D) (Paragraphs 0039 and 0043). Since both Gammie and Abdul-Karim are directed to transseptal devices using a guidewire, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the guidewire of Gammie to be a shaving mechanism, the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr positioned proximate the distal needle tip, wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable relative to the needle upon activation of the shaving mechanism as taught by Abdul-Karim, in order to facilitate the surgical procedure by using the guidewire to cut an access hole in the septum and also, to advantageously reduces the risk of inadvertent, uncontrolled advancement of a guidewire through the left atrium during the transseptal access phase (Abdul-Karim, Paragraphs 0031 and 0043). [Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim as a whole would result in the guidewire to be a shaving mechanism at least partially arranged within a lumen of the needle, the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr positioned proximate the distal needle tip, wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable relative to the needle upon activation of the shaving mechanism]
Regarding claim 2, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses wherein the catheter includes a window (Gammie, 18) positioned proximate a distal end of the catheter, wherein advancement of the needle extends the needle outside the catheter through the window (Gammie, Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 3, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses a first slider mechanism (One or more actuatable knobs or screws connectable to needle 22 as disclosed in Paragraph 0044 of Gammie) operably connected to the needle for advancing the needle from the catheter.
Regarding claim 4, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses an actuator (Abdul-Karim, 22) operably connected to the shaving mechanism for causing rotation of the abrasive burr (Abdul-Karim, Paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 5, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses a second slider mechanism (One or more actuatable knobs or screws connectable to the guidewire 24 as disclosed in Paragraph 0044 of Gammie) configured to distally advance the abrasive burr at least partially beyond the distal needle tip.
Regarding claim 6, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses a first slider mechanism (One or more actuatable knobs or screws connectable to needle 22 as disclosed in Paragraph 0044 of Gammie) operably connected to the needle for advancing the needle from the catheter and an actuator (Abdul-Karim, 22) operably connected to the shaving mechanism for causing rotation of the abrasive burr (Abdul-Karim, Paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 7, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses a second slider mechanism (One or more actuatable knobs or screws connectable to the guidewire 24 as disclosed in Paragraph 0044 of Gammie) configured to distally advance the abrasive burr at least partially beyond the distal needle tip.
Regarding claim 10, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses wherein the catheter comprises a polymer material (Gammie, Paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 12, Gammie discloses (Figures 2-3D) an endovascular device (10), comprising: a catheter (16) defining a lumen (clearly shown in Figure 2A); a needle (22) extending within the lumen of the catheter having a distal needle tip and being movable within the catheter between retracted and extended positions (Paragraph 0044), and a guidewire (24) at least partially arranged within the lumen of the needle (clearly shown in Figure 2A) (Paragraphs 0042-0045), and wherein, in the retracted position, the guidewire is located within the lumen of the catheter (Figure 3A) and, in the extended position, the guidewire is located outside the lumen of the catheter (Figure 3D).
Gammie fails to disclose the guidewire being a shaving mechanism, the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr positioned proximate the distal needle tip, wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable relative to the needle upon activation of the shaving mechanism, and wherein, in the retracted position, the abrasive burr is located within the lumen of the catheter and, in the extended position, the abrasive burr is located outside the lumen of the catheter.
Abdul-Karim, in the analogous art of transseptal devices using a guidewire, teaches (Figures 1-5E) a transeptal device assembly (20) comprising a guidewire (10) being a shaving mechanism (Figure 1D) (Paragraphs 0039 and 0043), the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr (16) (clearly shown in Figures 2A-4B) (Paragraph 0043), wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable upon activation of the shaving mechanism (Figure 1D) (Paragraphs 0039 and 0043). Since both Gammie and Abdul-Karim are directed to transseptal devices using a guidewire, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the guidewire of Gammie to be a shaving mechanism, the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr positioned proximate the distal needle tip, wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable relative to the needle upon activation of the shaving mechanism as taught by Abdul-Karim, in order to facilitate the surgical procedure by using the guidewire to cut an access hole in the septum and also, to advantageously reduces the risk of inadvertent, uncontrolled advancement of a guidewire through the left atrium during the transseptal access phase (Abdul-Karim, Paragraphs 0031 and 0043). [Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim as a whole would result in the guidewire to be a shaving mechanism at least partially arranged within a lumen of the needle, the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr positioned proximate the distal needle tip, wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable relative to the needle upon activation of the shaving mechanism, and wherein, in the retracted position, the abrasive burr is located within the lumen of the catheter and, in the extended position, the abrasive burr is located outside the lumen of the catheter]
Regarding claim 13, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses wherein the catheter includes a window (Gammie, 18) positioned proximate a distal end of the catheter and, the extended position, the distal needle tip is extending through the window (Gammie, Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 14, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses a first slider mechanism (One or more actuatable knobs or screws connectable to needle 22 as disclosed in Paragraph 0044 of Gammie) operably connected to the needle for advancing the needle out of the catheter.
Regarding claim 15, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses an actuator (Abdul-Karim, 22) operably connected to the shaving mechanism for causing rotation of the abrasive burr (Abdul-Karim, Paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 16, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses a second slider mechanism (One or more actuatable knobs or screws connectable to the guidewire 24 as disclosed in Paragraph 0044 of Gammie) configured to distally advance the abrasive burr at least partially beyond the distal needle tip.
Regarding claim 19, Gammie discloses (Figures 2-3D) an endovascular device (10), comprising: a catheter (16) defining a lumen (clearly shown in Figure 2A), the catheter includes a window (18) on a sidewall of the catheter positioned proximate a distal end of the catheter (clearly shown in Figure 2A); a needle (22) extending within the lumen of the catheter and being movable within the catheter (Paragraph 0044), the needle defining a lumen and having a distal needle tip (clearly shown in Figure 2A), wherein distal movement of the needle advances the distal needle tip through the window and out of the catheter and proximal movement of the needle retracts the distal needle tip through the window and within the lumen of the catheter (Figures 3A-3D) (Fully capable in doing this since Paragraph 0044 discloses that one or more actuatable knobs is connectable to the needle allowing the needle to move in order to extend and retract the needle); and a guidewire (24) at least partially arranged within the lumen of the needle (clearly shown in Figure 2A) (Paragraphs 0042-0045), a sliding mechanism (One or more actuatable knobs or screws connectable to needle 22 as disclosed in Paragraph 0044) operably connected to the needle for advancing the needle into an extended position (Paragraph 0044), where the needle extends through the window and out of the catheter (Figure 3D).
Gammie fails to disclose the guidewire being a shaving mechanism, the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr positioned proximate the distal needle tip, wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable relative to the needle upon activation of the shaving mechanism and the slider mechanism comprising an actuator operably connected to the abrasive burr for causing rotation of the abrasive burr.
Abdul-Karim, in the analogous art of transseptal devices using a guidewire, teaches (Figures 1-5E) a transeptal device assembly (20) comprising a guidewire (10) being a shaving mechanism (Figure 1D) (Paragraphs 0039 and 0043), the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr (16) (clearly shown in Figures 2A-4B) (Paragraph 0043), wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable upon activation of the shaving mechanism (Figure 1D) (Paragraphs 0039 and 0043), and an actuator (22) operably connected to the abrasive burr for causing rotation of the abrasive burr (Paragraph 0045). Since both Gammie and Abdul-Karim are directed to transseptal devices using a guidewire, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the guidewire of Gammie to be a shaving mechanism, the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr positioned proximate the distal needle tip, wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable relative to the needle upon activation of the shaving mechanism and an actuator operably connected to the abrasive burr for causing rotation of the abrasive burr as taught by Abdul-Karim, in order to facilitate the surgical procedure by using the guidewire to cut an access hole in the septum and also, to advantageously reduces the risk of inadvertent, uncontrolled advancement of a guidewire through the left atrium during the transseptal access phase (Abdul-Karim, Paragraphs 0031 and 0043). [Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim as a whole would result in the guidewire to be a shaving mechanism at least partially arranged within a lumen of the needle, the shaving mechanism having an abrasive burr positioned proximate the distal needle tip, wherein the abrasive burr is rotatable relative to the needle upon activation of the shaving mechanism and the slider mechanism comprising an actuator operably connected to the abrasive burr for causing rotation of the abrasive burr]
Regarding claim 20, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim further discloses another slider mechanism (One or more actuatable knobs or screws connectable to the guidewire 24 as disclosed in Paragraph 0044 of Gammie) configured to distally advance the abrasive burr at least partially beyond the distal needle tip when in the extended position (Gammie, Paragraph 0044).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammie (US Pub No. 2020/0155132) in view of Abdul-Karim (US Pub No. 2014/0046356) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Ozawa (US Pub No. 2022/0233190).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim discloses the invention above except for wherein the needle is configured to apply vacuum aspiration within the lumen of the needle and thereby create suction at the distal needle tip.
Ozawa, in the analogous art of needles used in surgery, teaches (Figure 5B) a needle (216) configured to apply vacuum aspiration within the lumen of the needle and thereby create suction at the distal needle tip (Paragraphs 0031 and 0034). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needle of Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim to be configured to apply vacuum aspiration within the lumen of the needle and thereby create suction at the distal needle tip as taught by Ozawa, in order to facilitate the surgical procedure by removing any injected fluid around the surgical area (Ozawa, Paragraphs 0031 and 0034).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammie (US Pub No. 2020/0155132) in view of Abdul-Karim (US Pub No. 2014/0046356) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Stearns (US Pub No. 2017/0340443).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim discloses the invention above except for wherein the needle comprises a curved heat set super-elastic Nitinol needle.
Stearns, in the analogous art of needles used in heart surgery, teaches (Figures 10-11) a needle (330) comprising a curved heat set super-elastic Nitinol needle (Paragraph 0077). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needle of Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim to comprise a curved heat set super-elastic Nitinol needle as taught by Stearns, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammie (US Pub No. 2020/0155132) in view of Abdul-Karim (US Pub No. 2014/0046356) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Miller (US Pub No. 2022/0022914).
Regarding claim 11, Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim discloses the invention above except for wherein the needle comprise platinum marker bands for aiding its placement.
Miller, in the analogous art of needles used in heart surgery, teaches (Figures 1-2) a needle (102) comprising platinum marker bands for aiding its placement (Paragraph 0033). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needle of Gammie modified by Abdul-Karim to comprise platinum marker bands as taught by Miller, in order to facilitate viewing of the needle under fluoroscopy (Miller, Paragraph 0033).
Conclusion
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771