Detailed Action
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s reply received 6/6/25. Claims 1-6, and 11-24 are pending and considered on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to for the typo in “anterior transfer process of 06”. It is believed it should read -- anterior transfer process of C6—since this is what is supported in the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-16, and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brooks et al. (WO 2021/041982, published March 4, 2021, in IDS 10/15/24).
Brooks et al. teach treating PTSD in a patient by administering 35 units of botulinum type A (a clostridial neurotoxin) into the stellate ganglion (SG) of a patient with a needle (Brooks, Example 1, and 011). Brooks et al. teach an alternative PTSD treatment by injecting 40 units of botulinum type E as well as 2 mL of 2% lidocaine (a local anesthetic) into the SG (Brooks, Example 4). They also teach injecting botulinum toxin into the SG can treat depression, anxiety, headache, and CRPS (Brooks, claims 1, 3, 15-20). The injection can be performed without imaging guidance via palpitation of the anterior transverse process of C6 or the Chassagne tubercle (Brooks, claim 5). Alternatively the injection can be performed with imaging guidance (Brooks, claim 5).
Therefore the invention as a whole is anticipated by the reference.
Claim(s) 1-6, 14, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (EXPERIMENTAL AND THERAPEUTIC MEDICINE 14: 2017, in IDS 10/15/24).
Ding et al. teach treating a patent for insomnia by injecting botulinum toxin A (BTX-A) with ultrasound guidance (Ding, see Abstract). They also teach that local anesthetics are administered with the injection (Ding, pg. 1137, col 1, top).
Therefore the invention as a whole is anticipated by the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-13, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borodic (US 2014/0105883, IDS 10/15/24).
Borodic teaches injecting 10-1500 units of botulinum toxin type A-G into the stellate ganglion to create a stellate ganglion block (Borodic, 0039). He teaches this procedure treats various CNS disorders including seizures, anxiety, mania, and biopolar disorders (Borodic, 0021).
While Borodic does not expressly teach all the claim limitations in a single embodiment, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the claimed method after reviewing the entire disclosure. Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, and 11-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34-36, 38-40, and 43-52 of copending Application No. 17/638673. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are to treating a neurological or psychological disorder or symptom by injecting botulinum toxin A-F into the stellate ganglion in a human. The injection can be with ultrasound guidance or without by palpating an anterior transverse process of vertebrate C6.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6, and 11-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 39-48 of copending Application No. 17/911089. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are to treat an angina and arrhythmias by injecting 25-150 units of botulinum toxin A-F into the stellate ganglion in a human. The injection can be with imaging the area with ultrasound.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In response to this office action the applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure, including the claims (MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06).
CONTACT INFORMATION
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699