Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 4, “BWP” should be “bandwidth part (BWP).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. US 2023/0097691 A1 (Zhang).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches a terminal (104 in Fig.1) comprising: a receiver (104 in Fig.1 further illustrated in Figs. 9) that receives information regarding more than one power control parameter set (PC or power control parameter set 1 and 2, see Fig.2, note [0054, 0056-0057]) for operation in a certain frequency range (404 or 408 in Fig.4); and a processor (904 in Fig.9) that, when an activation command indicating one or two power control parameter sets of the more than one power control parameter set is received (RRC, MAC CE, and DCI signaling to the UE 104, note [0072], also note [0035] closed-loop power control or TPC commands), determines a value of a closed loop index for transmit power control for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), based on a value of a closed loop index configured for the one or two power control parameter sets (note [0051], [0052] different closed-loop power control process indices may be applied, and [0114]).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 5. Zhang further teaches a base station (108 in Fig.1, note [0025]). Zhang also teaches a transmitter of the base station that transmits the power control set recited in the claim (note [0034, 0035]), a processor (1004 in Fig.10, note [0144-0146]) that performs the limitations as explained in claim 5.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. US 2023/0097691 A1 (Zhang) in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #114 electronic Online, 19-27 May, 2021 (hereinafter, 3GPP).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches all as applied to claim 5. Zhang also teaches operation of terminal and base station operating in a bandwidth part of a certain serving cell (see Fig.1 and Fig. 4 operating in a frequency bandwidth on the y-axis). However, Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the activation command is a PUCCH power control set update for multiple transmission/reception point (MTRP) PUCCH repetition MAC control element (CE), and indicates a correspondence relation between one PUCCH resource ID and one or two power control parameter set IDs.
3GPP teaches an activation command is a PUCCH power control set update for multiple transmission/reception point (MTRP) PUCCH repetition MAC control element (CE) (note on page 2, “Issue 1-1: How to enhance/design PUCCH spatial relation activation/deactivation MAC CE for mTRP PUCCH repetition”), and indicates a correspondence relation between one PUCCH resource ID and one or two power control parameter set IDs (note page 5, PUCCH resource ID and two spatial relation info ID field; note page 2 wherein “spatial relation info’s” can be treated as “power control parameters” or “power control parameter set IDs”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of 3GPP into the system of Zhang for the purpose of resolving issues regarding potential MAC CE enhancements /introduction (note page 2, first paragraph).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. US 11,671,925 teach power control parameters for mTRP PUSCH repetition.
/SAM K AHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2633