DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed 23 July 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Final Rejection of 17 June 2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an elastic member” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muraoka et al (US 20210239231) in view of Hansen III et al (US 6460567).
Regarding Claim 1, Muraoka et al disclose a fluid control valve (Figures 1-3). The valve comprising:
a direct-acting servomotor (31; ¶ 36),
a valve element (20),
a valve seat (S), and
a passage (from 11 to 12 via 13; Figure 1), and
configured to perform controlling of a control fluid to flow through the passage by moving the valve element with the servomotor (¶ 28) between a valve open position (Figure 2B) at which the valve element is separated from the valve seat (¶ 27; Figure 2B) and a valve close position (Figure 2A) at which the valve element is contacted with the valve seat (at S; ¶ 27),
wherein the fluid control valve (Figures 1-3) is provided with an elastic member (16; ¶ 34) to apply an urging force to the valve element in a closing direction (¶ 34),
the servomotor (31) is provided with a drive shaft (40) to operate the valve element (¶ 45; Figures 2A and 2B), and is configured to be energized to electromagnetically move the drive shaft in a linear direction (¶ 37),
a position control mode (when the drive unit 30 drives the valve body 20 in the retracting direction as disclosed in ¶ 35) to control the drive shaft to move to a target position (to at a location to remove the valve body 20 from the seat S; Figure 2B; ¶ 35) and
a thrust control mode (with the power to the drive unit at zero as disclosed at ¶ 64) to control the drive shaft to obtain a target thrust are provided (where the target thrust is 0; ¶ 64), and
while the valve element moves from the valve open position to the valve close position (from Figure 2B to Figure 2A in the direction D1), the fluid control valve is provided with a control program configured to control the servomotor with the position control mode (via controller 34; ¶ 36) until the valve element reaches a predetermined position before reaching the valve close position (since drive shaft 40 only extends to the position of 2A, with the final closure formed solely by the bias of spring 16) from the valve open position and to switch control of the servomotor from the position control mode (¶ 64 by cutting off power to the drive unit) to the thrust control mode with the target thrust of zero (¶ 64) to bring the valve element to reach the valve close position from the predetermined position only by the urging force (of 16; Figure 2a),
but fails to expressly disclose where the servomotor is provided with a coil, where the coil is configured to be energized to electromagnetically move the drive shaft in a linear direction.
Hansen III et al teach a fluid control valve (Figure 1) with a direct-acting servomotor (40; directly acting on rotor 41) and provided with a coil (48; where a stator is coil winding and therefore is a coil) that is configured to be energized to electromagnetically move the drive shaft in a linear direction (to move shaft 30 shown in Figure 1 to open and close the valve).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Muraoka et al with the servomotor as taught by Hansen III et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (a servomotor to operate a valve within the valve of Muraoka et al) to yield predictable results (to drive the valve between the open and closed positions).
Regarding Claim 2, Muraoka et al disclose where the control program (via controller 34; ¶ 36) is configured to maintain a state in which the valve element is at the valve close position after the valve element reaches the valve close position by the thrust control mode with the target thrust of zero (¶ 64 discloses where keeping the valve closed does not require a thrust of the motor).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753