DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 7 April 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the specification overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 14 Jan 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an elastic member” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodapp et al (US 20230287993) in view of Hansen III et al (US 6460567).
Regarding Claim 1, Hodapp et al disclose a fluid control valve (Figure 1) comprising a motor (34), a valve element (see Annotated Figure A), a valve seat (60), and a passage (22a to 22b), and configured to perform controlling of a control fluid to flow through the passage by moving the valve element with the motor between a valve open position at which the valve element is separated from the valve seat (shown in Figure 1) and a valve close position at which the valve element is contacted with the valve seat (¶ 67), wherein the fluid control valve is provided with an elastic member (54) to apply an urging force to the valve element in a closing direction (¶ 66), the motor is provided with a drive shaft (38) to operate the valve element (¶ 66),
a position control mode to control the drive shaft to move to a target position (from p1 to p2 shown in figure 9 and disclosed in ¶ 82) and a thrust control mode to control the drive shaft to obtain a target thrust (from p2 to p3 in Figure 9 and disclosed in ¶ 82) are provided, and while the valve element moves from the valve open position to the valve close position, the fluid control valve is provided with a control program configured to control the motor with the position control mode until the valve element reaches a predetermined position before reaching the valve close position from the valve open position (the predetermined position p2 as disclosed in Figure 9) and to switch control of the motor from the position control mode to the thrust control mode with the target thrust of zero to bring the valve element to reach the valve close position from the predetermined position only by the urging force (Figure 9 at p3 with the target thrust of zero disclosed in ¶ 82; and ¶ 69 discloses holding the closed position only via spring elements),
but fails to expressly disclose where the motor is a direct-acting servomotor and the servomotor is provided with a coil that is configured to be energized to electromagnetically move the drive shaft in a linear direction.
Hansen III et al teach a fluid control valve (Figure 1) with a direct-acting servomotor (40; directly acting on rotor 41) and provided with a coil (48; where a stator is coil winding and therefore is a coil) that is configured to be energized to electromagnetically move the drive shaft in a linear direction (to move shaft 30 shown in Figure 1 to open and close the valve).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Hodapp et al with the servomotor as taught by Hansen III et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (a servomotor to operate a valve within the valve of Hodapp et al) to yield predictable results (to drive the valve between the open and closed positions).
Annotated Figure A - Hodapp et al
Regarding Claim 2, Hodapp et al disclose where the control program is configured to maintain a state in which the valve element is at the valve close position after the valve element reaches the valve close position by the thrust control mode with the target thrust of zero (¶ 82 and ¶ 69; where ¶ 69 discloses holding the valve closed only by the urging force of the spring; wherefore the thrust remains zero).
Regarding Claim 3, Hodapp et al disclose wherein the predetermined position is determined based on a thermal expansion amount of the valve seat in an opening/closing direction of the valve element (¶ 69).
Regarding Claim 4, Hodapp et al disclose where the predetermined position is determined based on a thermal expansion amount of the valve seat in an opening/closing direction of the valve element (¶ 69).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753