DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (US 20160373178 A1), referenced in the provided IDS, hereinafter Nam.
Regarding claim 1, Nam teaches,
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
a processor; and (Figure 3A, label 340, paragraph 0050)
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor to cause the UE to: (Figure 3A, label 360, paragraph 0050)
receive, based on a channel state information ("CSI") reporting setting, a set of reference signals ("RSs") for a channel measurement corresponding to a non-zero power ("NZP") CSI-RS resource; (Figure 10, paragraph 0128 – The set of port NZP CSI-RS are configured with the UE. The UE receives the reference signals according to the configuration.)
generate a CSI report based on the channel measurement, the CSI report comprising precoding matrix information for a precoding matrix and a set of coefficients that correspond to at least one dimension of the precoding matrix; and (paragraph 0181 – The CQI is derived using the selected precoding matrix. Paragraphs 0189-0197 – The UE performs CSI reporting that contains coefficients from the precoding matrix.)
transmit the CSI report. (Figure 14, paragraphs 0188-0194 – The UE reports CSI)
Regarding claim 2, Nam teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the precoding matrix comprises a first basis transformation associated with a first dimension of the at least one dimension of the precoding matrix and the set of coefficients correspond to the precoding matrix decomposed to two subsets of coefficients corresponding to different indices of the first dimension of the precoding matrix. (paragraph 0099 – The 16 antenna ports comprise two different indices according to a double codebook. Paragraph 0085, 0100 – Change of bases associated with the first dimension of the precoding matrix.)
Regarding claim 3, Nam teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein a first subset of the two subsets of coefficients that are associated with a second basis transformation are associated with a second dimension of the precoding matrix, and a second subset of the two subsets of coefficients that are associated with a third basis transformation are associated with the second dimension of the precoding matrix. (paragraph 0078 – Q is a second dimension of antenna ports associated with a first subset of the ports. Paragraph 0109 – The third PMI which is a transformation of the second dimension precoding unit.)
Regarding claim 4, Nam teaches,
The UE of claim 3, wherein the second basis transformation comprises at least one of:
an average over multiple indices of the second dimension into a lesser number of indices corresponding to the second dimension;
a one-to-one transformation to a same number of indices corresponding to the second dimension;
a selection of a subset of indices from a set of indices corresponding to the second dimension;
or a selection of even-numbered indices or odd-numbered indices corresponding to the second dimension. (paragraph 0080 – using even and odd number selections for the decomposition of information where Q is a second dimension).
Regarding claim 5, Nam teaches,
The UE of claim 3, wherein the third basis transformation transforms the second dimension of the precoding matrix from a domain comprising a plurality of CSI-RS ports to a domain comprising one or more spatial beams. (paragraphs 0109-0113, table 2 – The third PMI is mapped to a beam index.)
Regarding claim 5, Nam teaches,
The UE of claim 3, wherein the third basis transformation corresponds to at least one of:
a transformation of the second dimension of the precoding matrix from a domain comprising a plurality of channel frequency sub-bands to a domain comprising a transformed frequency domain basis; or (paragraphs 0236-0251 – The PMI/CQI is divided into sub bands for transmission and a UE report).
a transformation of the second dimension of the precoding matrix from a domain comprising a plurality of channel time units to a domain comprising a transformed time domain basis.
Regarding claim 8, Nam teaches,
The UE of claim 3, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the UE to configure the third basis transformation associated with the second subset of the two subsets of coefficients from a set of pre-configured transformations methods, wherein the set of pre-configured transformations methods comprises at least one of:
discrete Fourier transformation, a discrete cosine transformation, a discrete sine transformation, a discrete wavelet transformation, or a Haar transformation. (Figure 2B, label 270, Paragraphs 0042, 0047 – The use of discrete Fourier transforms in the transmit paths for the transformations)
Regarding claim 9, Nam teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the UE to transform, based on the first basis transformation, the first dimension of the precoding matrix from a domain comprising a plurality of CSI-RS ports to a domain comprising one or more spatial beams. (Figure 17, Paragraph 0283-0285 – The antenna ports are allocated for beamformed CSI-RS or other groups of spatial beams)
12. (Currently Amended) The UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the UE to report a report quantity corresponding to a training indicator. (paragraphs 0249-0267 – Reporting of CSI information to include information about the coefficients (paragraphs 0260-0268). Paragraphs 0277-0296 - Additionally reporting of codebooks via a PMI for each layer of codebook components).
Regarding claim 13, Nam teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the NZP CSI-RS resource comprises a plurality of CSI-RS ports. (paragraph 0181 – “A UE is configured with PUCCH feedback mode 1-1, wherein the configured number of NZP CSI-RS ports is either 12 or 16.”)
Claim 14 is a method of claim 1 and is therefore rejected.
Regarding claim 15, Nam teaches,
A network entity for wireless communication, comprising:
a processor; and (Figure 3B, label 378, paragraph 0060)
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor to cause the network entity to: (Figure 3B, label 380, paragraph 0059)
transmit, to a user equipment ("UE"), a channel state information ("CSI") reporting setting for configuring the UE for at least one of channel measurement and reporting; transmit, to the UE, a set of reference signals ("RSs") for a channel measurement corresponding to a non-zero power ("NZP") CSI-RS resource; and (Figure 10, paragraph 0128 – The set of port NZP CSI-RS are configured with the UE. The UE receives the reference signals according to the configuration.)
receive, from the UE, a CSI report, the CSI report comprising precoding matrix information for a precoding matrix and a set of coefficients that correspond to at least one dimension of the precoding matrix. (paragraph 0181 – The CQI is derived using the selected precoding matrix. Paragraphs 0189-0197 – The UE performs CSI reporting that contains coefficients from the precoding matrix. Figure 14, paragraphs 0188-0194 – The UE reports CSI)
Regarding claim 16, Nam teaches,
A processor for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to: (Figure 3A, label 340, paragraph 0050 – processor, Figure 3A, label 360, paragraph 0050 - memory)
receive, based on a channel state information ("CSI") reporting setting, a set of reference signals ("RSs") for a channel measurement corresponding to a non-zero power ("NZP") CSI-RS resource; (Figure 10, paragraph 0128 – The set of port NZP CSI-RS are configured with the UE. The UE receives the reference signals according to the configuration.)
generate a CSI report based on the channel measurement, the CSI report comprising precoding matrix information for a precoding matrix and a set of coefficients that correspond to at least one dimension of the precoding matrix; and (paragraph 0181 – The CQI is derived using the selected precoding matrix. Paragraphs 0189-0197 – The UE performs CSI reporting that contains coefficients from the precoding matrix.)
transmit the CSI report. (Figure 14, paragraphs 0188-0194 – The UE reports CSI)
Regarding claim 17, Nam teaches,
The processor of claim 16, wherein the precoding matrix comprises a first basis transformation associated with a first dimension of the at least one dimension of the precoding matrix and the set of coefficients correspond to the precoding matrix decomposed to two subsets of coefficients corresponding to different indices of the first dimension of the precoding matrix. (paragraph 0099 – The 16 antenna ports comprise two different indices according to a double codebook. Paragraph 0085, 0100 – Change of bases associated with the first dimension of the precoding matrix.)
Regarding claim 18, Nam teaches,
The processor of claim 17, wherein a first subset of the two subsets of coefficients that are associated with a second basis transformation are associated with a second dimension of the precoding matrix, and a second subset of the two subsets of coefficients that are associated with a third basis transformation are associated with the second dimension of the precoding matrix. (paragraph 0078 – Q is a second dimension of antenna ports associated with a first subset of the ports. Paragraph 0109 – The third PMI which is a transformation of the second dimension precoding unit.)
Regarding claim 19, Nam teaches,
The processor of claim 18, wherein the second basis transformation comprises at least one of:
an average over multiple indices of the second dimension into a lesser number of indices corresponding to the second dimension;
a one-to-one transformation to a same number of indices corresponding to the second dimension;
a selection of a subset of indices from a set of indices corresponding to the second dimension; or
a selection of even-numbered indices or odd-numbered indices corresponding to the second dimension. (paragraph 0080 – using even and odd number selections for the decomposition of information where Q is a second dimension).
Regarding claim 20, Nam teaches,
The processor of claim 18, wherein the third basis transformation transforms the second dimension of the precoding matrix from a domain comprising a plurality of CSI- RS ports to a domain comprising one or more spatial beams. (paragraphs 0109-0113, table 2 – The third PMI is mapped to a beam index.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Rahman et al. (US 20230318793 A1), hereinafter Rahman.
Regarding claim 6, Nam fails to teach,
The UE of claim 3, wherein the second basis transformation corresponds to a same type of the third basis transformation, the third basis transformation transforming the second dimension into a lesser number of indices than the second basis transformation.
However, Rahman teaches,
The UE of claim 3, wherein the second basis transformation corresponds to a same type of the third basis transformation, the third basis transformation transforming the second dimension into a lesser number of indices than the second basis transformation. (paragraphs 0240-0246 – DD compression can be turned on from the codebook configuration causing the basis vector to not be reported).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam to incorporate the lesser number of indices than the second basis transformation teachings of Rahman. The purpose of doing so is to allow for a reporting parameter to be turned off depending on the codebook type and port selection being used (paragraph 0245).
Regarding claim 10, Nam fails to teach,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the UE to represent coefficients associated with a first subset of the two subsets of coefficients with a distinct codebook of quantized values,
and wherein a number of bits associated with quantizing a coefficient associated with the first subset of the two subsets of coefficients is larger than a number of bits associated with quantizing a coefficient associated with a second subset of the two subsets of coefficients.
However, Rahman teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the UE to represent coefficients associated with a first subset of the two subsets of coefficients with a distinct codebook of quantized values, (paragraphs 0258-0271 – A new codebook which provides coefficients including amplitude and phase coefficients (paragraphs 0264, 0265) for subsets W1 and Wf, the number of bits is smaller indicating a decreased reporting payload from the first codebook (paragraph 0271)).
and wherein a number of bits associated with quantizing a coefficient associated with the first subset of the two subsets of coefficients is larger than a number of bits associated with quantizing a coefficient associated with a second subset of the two subsets of coefficients. (paragraph 0271 - the number of bits is smaller indicating a decreased reporting payload from the first codebook).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam to incorporate the subset of coefficients associated with a distinct codebook of values teachings of Rehman. The purpose of doing so is to increase transmission reporting payload by allowing for less bits to be used for a second CSI report compared to a first CSI report (paragraph 0271).
Regarding claim 11, Nam fails to teach,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the UE to configure the UE with a higher-layer parameter within the CSI reporting setting that enables or disables reporting of a first subset of the two subsets of coefficients.
However, Rahman teaches,
The UE of claim 2, wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the UE to configure the UE with a higher-layer parameter within the CSI reporting setting that enables or disables reporting of a first subset of the two subsets of coefficients. (paragraph 0240-0245 – The reporting of the CSI can be turned off or disabled for Wd which is the basis matrices of the third dimension.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam to incorporate the enabling or disabling of reporting of a first subset of the two subsets of coefficients teachings of Rahman. The purpose of doing so is to allow for a reporting parameter to be turned off depending on the codebook type and port selection being used (paragraph 0245).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
US 20240372588 A1 – paragraphs 0200, 02023 – Using matrix for multiple transformation
US 20240137082 A1 – paragraph 0117 – CSI feedback report, paragraph 0218 – discussion of multiple dimension and transformation, paragraph 0295 – Using coefficients for compression
US 20230239029 A1 - Paragraph 0196 – Using matrix for and coefficient for three dimensions.
/RYAN CRIGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472