DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 5/15/2026, is being considered by the examiner.
Acknowledgment
Claims 8-20 and 34-40 were canceled. They are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 21-24, 26, 28-31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US Patent 11,451,787 B2), (“Gao”), in view of Xie et al. (JVET-Z0117-v3), (“Xie”).
Regarding claim 1, Gao meets the claim limitations as follow.
A method for decoding a video from a video bitstream (a video decoding method) [Gao: col. 3, line 21], the method comprising (a video decoding method) [Gao: col. 3, line 21]: decoding one or more frames of the video (encoded data obtained through adaptive sampling, and perform decoding by using the video decoding method to generate a decoded video frame) [Gao: col. 3, line 59-61] from the video bitstream (encoded in a bitstream) [Gao: col. 40, line 39-44]; performing inter prediction ((inter-prediction may be performed on each coded block of the current frame at a resolution of the current frame, and a predicted value and a corresponding motion vector are obtained according to an image value of a reference block corresponding to the coded block, and the predicted value is subtracted from an actual value of the coded block to obtain a prediction residual, where the motion vector represents displacement of the coded block relative to the reference block) [Gao: col. 4, line 16-22]; (A reference frame is obtained by reconstructing a frame by using units of the reconstruction path) [Gao: col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, line 2]) to decode a current frame of the video by using the one or more decoded frames (perform decoding by using the video decoding method to generate a decoded video frame) [Gao: col. 3, line 60-61] as reference frames (A reference frame is obtained by reconstructing a frame by using units of the reconstruction path) [Gao: col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, line 2; Figs 13A-B, 14, 20], wherein performing the inter prediction comprises performing reference picture ((inter-prediction may be performed on each coded block of the current frame at a resolution of the current frame, and a predicted value and a corresponding motion vector are obtained according to an image value of a reference block corresponding to the coded block, and the predicted value is subtracted from an actual value of the coded block to obtain a prediction residual, where the motion vector represents displacement of the coded block relative to the reference block) [Gao: col. 4, line 16-22] resampling by upsampling a reference frame for the current frame (When the resolution of the reference frame is lower than the resolution of the current frame, upsampling is performed on the reference frame to obtain a target reference frame) [Gao: col. 15, line 27-30] using at least a filter selected from a set of 32 interpolation filters having coefficients (Common sampling methods include: point sampling, direct averaging, a filter, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, a convolutional neural network (CNN) based algorithm, a method based on statistical characteristics, and the like) [Gao: col. 8, line 48-52]: {0, 0, 256, 0, 0, 0}, {1, -6, 256, 7, -2, 0}, {2, -11, 253, 15, -4, 1}, {3, -16, 251, 23, -6, 1}, {4, -21, 248, 33, -10, 2}, {5, -25, 244, 42, -12, 2}, {7, -30, 239, 53, -17, 4}, {7, -32, 234, 62, -19, 4}, {8, -35, 227, 73, -22, 5}, {9, -38, 220, 84, -26, 7}, {10, -40, 213, 95, -29, 7}, {10, -41, 204, 106, -31, 8}, {10, -42, 196, 117, -34, 9}, {10, -41, 187, 127, -35, 8}, {11, -42, 177, 138, -38, 10}, {10, -41, 168, 148, -39, 10}, {10, -40, 158, 158, -40, 10}, {10, -39, 148, 168, -41, 10}, {10, -38, 138, 177, -42, 11}, {8, -35, 127, 187, -41, 10}, {9, -34, 117, 196, -42, 10}, {8, -31, 106, 204, -41, 10}, {7, -29, 95, 213, -40, 10}, {7, -26, 84, 220, -38, 9}, {5, -22, 73, 227, -35, 8}, {4, -19, 62, 234, -32, 7}, {4, -17, 53, 239, -30, 7}, {2, -12, 42, 244, -25, 5}, {2, -10, 33, 248, -21, 4}, {1, -6, 23, 251, -16, 3}, {1, -4, 15, 253, -11, 2}, {0, -2, 7, 256, -6, 1}; and causing the decoded one or more frames (perform decoding by using the video decoding method to generate a decoded video frame) [Gao: col. 3, line 60-61] and the decoded current frame to be displayed (the second terminal decodes the encoded data by using a video decoding function of the application program to obtain a video frame through reconstruction, and further, displays the video frame) [Gao: col. 6, line 38-41].
Gao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a set of 32 interpolation filters having coefficients:
{0, 0, 256, 0, 0, 0}, {1, -6, 256, 7, -2, 0}, {2, -11, 253, 15, -4, 1}, {3, -16, 251, 23, -6, 1}, {4, -21, 248, 33, -10, 2}, {5, -25, 244, 42, -12, 2}, {7, -30, 239, 53, -17, 4}, {7, -32, 234, 62, -19, 4}, {8, -35, 227, 73, -22, 5}, {9, -38, 220, 84, -26, 7}, {10, -40, 213, 95, -29, 7}, {10, -41, 204, 106, -31, 8}, {10, -42, 196, 117, -34, 9}, {10, -41, 187, 127, -35, 8}, {11, -42, 177, 138, -38, 10}, {10, -41, 168, 148, -39, 10}, {10, -40, 158, 158, -40, 10}, {10, -39, 148, 168, -41, 10}, {10, -38, 138, 177, -42, 11}, {8, -35, 127, 187, -41, 10}, {9, -34, 117, 196, -42, 10}, {8, -31, 106, 204, -41, 10}, {7, -29, 95, 213, -40, 10}, {7, -26, 84, 220, -38, 9}, {5, -22, 73, 227, -35, 8}, {4, -19, 62, 234, -32, 7}, {4, -17, 53, 239, -30, 7}, {2, -12, 42, 244, -25, 5}, {2, -10, 33, 248, -21, 4}, {1, -6, 23, 251, -16, 3}, {1, -4, 15, 253, -11, 2}, {0, -2, 7, 256, -6, 1};
However in the same field of endeavor, Table 1 of Xie discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
using the set of 32 interpolation filters:
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao with Xie to implement the set of 32 interpolation filters of Xie.
Therefore, the combination of Gao with Xie will reduce the artifacts and improve visual quality [Xie: Abstract, Tables 2 & 3].
Regarding claims 2, 22, and 29, Gao meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1, 21, and 28. Gao further discloses the following claim limitations.
performing motion compensation for the current frame using the set of 32 interpolation filters.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
using the set of 32 interpolation filters.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xie further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
using the set of 32 interpolation filters (Note: Please see the set of 32 interpolation filters listed in the Table 1 of Xie) [Xie: Table 1].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao with Xie to implement the set of 32 interpolation filters of Xie.
Therefore, the combination of Gao with Xie will reduce the artifacts and improve visual quality [Xie: Abstract, Tables 2 & 3].
Regarding claims 3, 23, and 30, Gao meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 2, 22, and 29. Gao further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the set of 32 interpolation filters are interpolation filters (FIG. 13A is a schematic diagram of performing interpolation on a reference frame in an embodiment of this application) [Gao: col. 3, line 6-9] for a chroma component of the video.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the set of 32 interpolation filters are interpolation filters for a chroma component of the video.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xie further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein the set of 32 interpolation filters are interpolation filters for a chroma component of the video (Note: Please see the set of 32 6-tap interpolation filter for chroma components listed in Table 1) [Xie: Table 1].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao with Xie to implement the set of 32 interpolation filters of Xie.
Therefore, the combination of Gao with Xie will reduce the artifacts and improve visual quality [Xie: Abstract, Tables 2 & 3].
Regarding claims 4, 24, and 31, Gao meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1, 21, and 28. Gao further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the filter is selected (Common sampling methods include: point sampling, direct averaging, a filter, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, a convolutional neural network (CNN) based algorithm, a method based on statistical characteristics, and the like) [Gao: col. 8, line 48-52] from the set of 32 interpolation filters by: determining an upsampling ratio and upsampled locations for the reference frame (The sampling proportion may be represented by a ratio of a resolution after sampling to a resolution before the sampling, or may be represented by a ratio of a resolution before sampling to a resolution after sampling) [Gao: col. 8, line 6-10]; and identifying the filter from the set of 32 interpolation filters based on the upsampling ratio and the upsampled locations (The sampling proportion may be represented by a ratio of a resolution after sampling to a resolution before the sampling, or may be represented by a ratio of a resolution before sampling to a resolution after sampling) [Gao: col. 8, line 6-10].
Gao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
identifying the filter from the set of 32 interpolation filters.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xie further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
identifying the filter from the set of 32 interpolation filters (Discrete cosine transform interpolation filter(DCT-lF) has proven to be an effective interpolation filter for
motion compensation in H.265 and H.266. ln this proposal, the 6-tap filter coefficients is also derived by using DCT-lF for chroma components) [Xie: Page 1; Please also see the set of 32 6-tap interpolation filter for chroma components listed in Table 1].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao with Xie to implement the set of 32 interpolation filters of Xie.
Therefore, the combination of Gao with Xie will reduce the artifacts and improve visual quality [Xie: Abstract, Tables 2 & 3].
Regarding claims 6, 26, and 33, Gao meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 4, 24, and 31. Gao further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the upsampling ratio is 2 (The sampling proportion may be represented by a ratio of a resolution after sampling to a resolution before the sampling, or may be represented by a ratio of a resolution before sampling to a resolution after sampling) [Gao: col. 8, line 6-10] and the selected filter is one of {10, -40, 158, 158, -40, 10}, {8, -35, 227, 73, -22, 5}, or {5, -22, 73, 227, -35, 8}.
Gao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
one of {10, -40, 158, 158, -40, 10}, {8, -35, 227, 73, -22, 5}, or {5, -22, 73, 227, -35, 8}.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xie further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
(Note: Filter {10, -40, 158, 158, -40, 10} is the 14th filter in Table 1; Filter {8, -35, 227, 73, -22, 5} is the 6th filter in Table 1; and Filter {5, -22, 73, 227, -35, 8} is the 22nd filter in Table 1) [Xie: Please see these filters listed in Table 1].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao with Xie to implement the set of 32 interpolation filters of Xie.
Therefore, the combination of Gao with Xie will reduce the artifacts and improve visual quality [Xie: Abstract, Tables 2 & 3].
Regarding claim 21, Gao meets the claim limitations as follow.
A method for encoding a video (a video encoding method) [Gao: col. 3, line 17], the method (a video encoding method) [Gao: col. 3, line 17] comprising: accessing (input video frame) [Gao: col. 3, line 55-57] a plurality of frames of the video (A terminal on which the application program is installed may capture frames of a video by using a camera, then encode the frames of the video by using a video encoding function) [Gao: col. 6, line 55-57]; performing inter prediction (inter-prediction may be performed) [Gao: col. 4, line 14] for the plurality of frames to generate prediction residuals for the plurality of frames ((inter-prediction may be performed on each coded block of the current frame at a resolution of the current frame, and a predicted value and a corresponding motion vector are obtained according to an image value of a reference block corresponding to the coded block, and the predicted value is subtracted from an actual value of the coded block to obtain a prediction residual, where the motion vector represents displacement of the coded block relative to the reference block) [Gao: col. 4, line 16-22]; (A reference frame is obtained by reconstructing a frame by using units of the reconstruction path) [Gao: col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, line 2]), wherein performing the inter prediction comprises ((inter-prediction may be performed) [Gao: col. 4, line 14]: performing reference picture (A reference frame is obtained by reconstructing a frame by using units of the reconstruction path) [Gao: col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, line 2] resampling by upsampling a reference frame for a current frame in the plurality of frames (When the resolution of the reference frame is lower than the resolution of the current frame, upsampling is performed on the reference frame to obtain a target reference frame) [Gao: col. 15, line 27-30] using at least a filter selected from a set of 32 interpolation filters having coefficients (Common sampling methods include: point sampling, direct averaging, a filter, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, a convolutional neural network (CNN) based algorithm, a method based on statistical characteristics, and the like) [Gao: col. 8, line 48-52]: {0, 0, 256, 0, 0, 0}, {1, -6, 256, 7, -2, 0}, {2, -11, 253, 15, -4, 1}, {3, -16, 251, 23, -6, 1}, {4, -21, 248, 33, -10, 2}, {5, -25, 244, 42, -12, 2}, {7, -30, 239, 53, -17, 4}, {7, -32, 234, 62, -19, 4}, {8, -35, 227, 73, -22, 5}, {9, -38, 220, 84, -26, 7}, {10, -40, 213, 95, -29, 7}, {10, -41, 204, 106, -31, 8}, {10, -42, 196, 117, -34, 9}, {10, -41, 187, 127, -35, 8}, {11, -42, 177, 138, -38, 10}, {10, -41, 168, 148, -39, 10}, {10, -40, 158, 158, -40, 10}, {10, -39, 148, 168, -41, 10}, {10, -38, 138, 177, -42, 11}, {8, -35, 127, 187, -41, 10}, {9, -34, 117, 196, -42, 10}, {8, -31, 106, 204, -41, 10}, {7, -29, 95, 213, -40, 10}, {7, -26, 84, 220, -38, 9}, {5, -22, 73, 227, -35, 8}, {4, -19, 62, 234, -32, 7}, {4, -17, 53, 239, -30, 7}, {2, -12, 42, 244, -25, 5}, {2, -10, 33, 248, -21, 4}, {1, -6, 23, 251, -16, 3}, {1, -4, 15, 253, -11, 2}, {0, -2, 7, 256, -6, 1}; and encoding (encode the frames of the video by using a video encoding function) [Gao: col. 6, line 56] the prediction residuals for the plurality of frames (inter-prediction may be performed on each coded block of the current frame at a resolution of the current frame, and a predicted value and a corresponding motion vector are obtained according to an image value of a reference block corresponding to the coded block, and the predicted value is subtracted from an actual value of the coded block to obtain a prediction residual, where the motion vector represents displacement of the coded block relative to the reference block) [Gao: col. 4, line 16-22] into a bitstream representing the video (information encoded in a bitstream) [Gao: col. 40, line 39-44].
Gao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a set of 32 interpolation filters having coefficients:
{0, 0, 256, 0, 0, 0}, {1, -6, 256, 7, -2, 0}, {2, -11, 253, 15, -4, 1}, {3, -16, 251, 23, -6, 1}, {4, -21, 248, 33, -10, 2}, {5, -25, 244, 42, -12, 2}, {7, -30, 239, 53, -17, 4}, {7, -32, 234, 62, -19, 4}, {8, -35, 227, 73, -22, 5}, {9, -38, 220, 84, -26, 7}, {10, -40, 213, 95, -29, 7}, {10, -41, 204, 106, -31, 8}, {10, -42, 196, 117, -34, 9}, {10, -41, 187, 127, -35, 8}, {11, -42, 177, 138, -38, 10}, {10, -41, 168, 148, -39, 10}, {10, -40, 158, 158, -40, 10}, {10, -39, 148, 168, -41, 10}, {10, -38, 138, 177, -42, 11}, {8, -35, 127, 187, -41, 10}, {9, -34, 117, 196, -42, 10}, {8, -31, 106, 204, -41, 10}, {7, -29, 95, 213, -40, 10}, {7, -26, 84, 220, -38, 9}, {5, -22, 73, 227, -35, 8}, {4, -19, 62, 234, -32, 7}, {4, -17, 53, 239, -30, 7}, {2, -12, 42, 244, -25, 5}, {2, -10, 33, 248, -21, 4}, {1, -6, 23, 251, -16, 3}, {1, -4, 15, 253, -11, 2}, {0, -2, 7, 256, -6, 1};
However in the same field of endeavor, Table 1 of Xie discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
using the set of 32 interpolation filters:
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao with Xie to implement the set of 32 interpolation filters of Xie.
Therefore, the combination of Gao with Xie will reduce the artifacts and improve visual quality [Xie: Abstract, Tables 2 & 3].
Regarding claim 28, Gao meets the claim limitations as follow.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium (a memory) [Gao: col. 59, line 55] having program code that is stored thereon (The program may be stored in a non-volatile computer-readable storage medium) [Gao: col. 61, line 11-12], the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations comprising (When the program is executed, the processes of the foregoing method embodiments are performed ) [Gao: col. 61, line 11-13]: accessing (input video frame) [Gao: col. 3, line 55-57] a plurality of frames of the video (A terminal on which the application program is installed may capture frames of a video by using a camera, then encode the frames of the video by using a video encoding function) [Gao: col. 6, line 55-57]; performing inter prediction (inter-prediction may be performed) [Gao: col. 4, line 14] for the plurality of frames to generate prediction residuals for the plurality of frames ((inter-prediction may be performed on each coded block of the current frame at a resolution of the current frame, and a predicted value and a corresponding motion vector are obtained according to an image value of a reference block corresponding to the coded block, and the predicted value is subtracted from an actual value of the coded block to obtain a prediction residual, where the motion vector represents displacement of the coded block relative to the reference block) [Gao: col. 4, line 16-22]; (A reference frame is obtained by reconstructing a frame by using units of the reconstruction path) [Gao: col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, line 2]), wherein performing the inter prediction comprises ((inter-prediction may be performed) [Gao: col. 4, line 14]: performing reference picture (A reference frame is obtained by reconstructing a frame by using units of the reconstruction path) [Gao: col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, line 2] resampling by upsampling a reference frame for a current frame in the plurality of frames (When the resolution of the reference frame is lower than the resolution of the current frame, upsampling is performed on the reference frame to obtain a target reference frame) [Gao: col. 15, line 27-30] using at least a filter selected from a set of 32 interpolation filters having coefficients (Common sampling methods include: point sampling, direct averaging, a filter, bilinear interpolation, bicubic interpolation, a convolutional neural network (CNN) based algorithm, a method based on statistical characteristics, and the like) [Gao: col. 8, line 48-52]: {0, 0, 256, 0, 0, 0}, {1, -6, 256, 7, -2, 0}, {2, -11, 253, 15, -4, 1}, {3, -16, 251, 23, -6, 1}, {4, -21, 248, 33, -10, 2}, {5, -25, 244, 42, -12, 2}, {7, -30, 239, 53, -17, 4}, {7, -32, 234, 62, -19, 4}, {8, -35, 227, 73, -22, 5}, {9, -38, 220, 84, -26, 7}, {10, -40, 213, 95, -29, 7}, {10, -41, 204, 106, -31, 8}, {10, -42, 196, 117, -34, 9}, {10, -41, 187, 127, -35, 8}, {11, -42, 177, 138, -38, 10}, {10, -41, 168, 148, -39, 10}, {10, -40, 158, 158, -40, 10}, {10, -39, 148, 168, -41, 10}, {10, -38, 138, 177, -42, 11}, {8, -35, 127, 187, -41, 10}, {9, -34, 117, 196, -42, 10}, {8, -31, 106, 204, -41, 10}, {7, -29, 95, 213, -40, 10}, {7, -26, 84, 220, -38, 9}, {5, -22, 73, 227, -35, 8}, {4, -19, 62, 234, -32, 7}, {4, -17, 53, 239, -30, 7}, {2, -12, 42, 244, -25, 5}, {2, -10, 33, 248, -21, 4}, {1, -6, 23, 251, -16, 3}, {1, -4, 15, 253, -11, 2}, {0, -2, 7, 256, -6, 1}; and encoding (encode the frames of the video by using a video encoding function) [Gao: col. 6, line 56] the prediction residuals for the plurality of frames (inter-prediction may be performed on each coded block of the current frame at a resolution of the current frame, and a predicted value and a corresponding motion vector are obtained according to an image value of a reference block corresponding to the coded block, and the predicted value is subtracted from an actual value of the coded block to obtain a prediction residual, where the motion vector represents displacement of the coded block relative to the reference block) [Gao: col. 4, line 16-22] into a bitstream representing the video (information encoded in a bitstream) [Gao: col. 40, line 39-44].
Gao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a set of 32 interpolation filters having coefficients:
{0, 0, 256, 0, 0, 0}, {1, -6, 256, 7, -2, 0}, {2, -11, 253, 15, -4, 1}, {3, -16, 251, 23, -6, 1}, {4, -21, 248, 33, -10, 2}, {5, -25, 244, 42, -12, 2}, {7, -30, 239, 53, -17, 4}, {7, -32, 234, 62, -19, 4}, {8, -35, 227, 73, -22, 5}, {9, -38, 220, 84, -26, 7}, {10, -40, 213, 95, -29, 7}, {10, -41, 204, 106, -31, 8}, {10, -42, 196, 117, -34, 9}, {10, -41, 187, 127, -35, 8}, {11, -42, 177, 138, -38, 10}, {10, -41, 168, 148, -39, 10}, {10, -40, 158, 158, -40, 10}, {10, -39, 148, 168, -41, 10}, {10, -38, 138, 177, -42, 11}, {8, -35, 127, 187, -41, 10}, {9, -34, 117, 196, -42, 10}, {8, -31, 106, 204, -41, 10}, {7, -29, 95, 213, -40, 10}, {7, -26, 84, 220, -38, 9}, {5, -22, 73, 227, -35, 8}, {4, -19, 62, 234, -32, 7}, {4, -17, 53, 239, -30, 7}, {2, -12, 42, 244, -25, 5}, {2, -10, 33, 248, -21, 4}, {1, -6, 23, 251, -16, 3}, {1, -4, 15, 253, -11, 2}, {0, -2, 7, 256, -6, 1};
However in the same field of endeavor, Table 1 of Xie discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
using the set of 32 interpolation filters:
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao with Xie to implement the set of 32 interpolation filters of Xie.
Therefore, the combination of Gao with Xie will reduce the artifacts and improve visual quality [Xie: Abstract, Tables 2 & 3].
Claims 5, 7, 25, 27, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US Patent 11,451,787 B2), (“Gao”), in view of Xie et al. (JVET-Z0117-v3), (“Xie”), in view of Zhao et al. (US Patent 10,382,781 B2), (“Zhao”).
Regarding claims 5, 25, and 32, Gao meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 4, 24, and 31. Gao further meets the claim limitations as follow.
determining a position among 32 positions corresponding to the 32 interpolation filters that is closest to a fractional portion of the upsampled locations (When the resolution of the reference frame is lower than the resolution of the current frame, upsampling is performed on the reference frame to obtain a target reference frame) [Gao: col. 15, line 27-30]; and selecting an interpolation filter from the set of 32 interpolation filters that corresponds to the determined position (The sampling proportion may be represented by a ratio of a resolution after sampling to a resolution before the sampling, or may be represented by a ratio of a resolution before sampling to a resolution after sampling) [Gao: col. 8, line 6-10].
Gao does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determining a position among 32 positions corresponding to the 32 interpolation filters that is closest to a fractional portion of the upsampled locations; and selecting an interpolation filter from the set of 32 interpolation filters that corresponds to the determined position.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xie further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
identifying the filter from the set of 32 interpolation filters (Discrete cosine transform interpolation filter(DCT-lF) has proven to be an effective interpolation filter for
motion compensation in H.265 and H.266. ln this proposal, the 6-tap filter coefficients is also derived by using DCT-lF for chroma components) [Xie: Page 1; Please also see the set of 32 6-tap interpolation filter for chroma components listed in Table 1].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao with Xie to implement the set of 32 interpolation filters of Xie.
Therefore, the combination of Gao with Xie will reduce the artifacts and improve visual quality [Xie: Abstract, Tables 2 & 3].
In addition, in the same field of endeavor Zhao further discloses the deficient claim limitations and the claim limitations as follows:
determining a position (video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may select a first interpolation filter from a plurality of interpolation filters for a block when a width-to-height ratio of the block is within a pre-defined range) [Zhao: col. 27, line 66-67] among 32 positions corresponding to the 32 interpolation filters ((Short g_ailntraGaussFilter[32][4]) [Zhao: col. 17, line 7]; (Short g_ailntraCubicFilter[32][4]) [Zhao: col. 16, line 43]; (Short g_ailntraSexticFilter[32][6]) [Zhao: col. 26, line 45]; (means for selecting an interpolation filter from a plurality of interpolation filters for a block of video data based on a size of the block of video data and based on an intra-prediction mode for the block of video data, wherein the plurality of interpolation filters comprises a Gaussian filter and a discrete cosine transform (DCT) based filter; means for determining, using one or more characteristics of the interpolation filter, a number of reference samples to be stored at a reference buffer; means for generating a plurality of values corresponding to the number of reference samples in the reference buffer, wherein the means for generating the plurality of values comprises means for increasing the number of reference samples in the reference buffer by a threshold along both a row and a colunm of the block of video data) [Zhao: col. 41, line 15 – col. 42, line 13]) that is closest to a fractional portion of the upsampled locations (video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may perform a clipping operation on the reference sample location such that nearest available reference sample may be used for the N-tap interpolation.) [Zhao: col. 27, line 66-67]; and
selecting an interpolation filter (video encoder 20 and/or video decoder 30 may select a first interpolation filter) [Zhao: col. 27, line 66-67] from the set of 32 interpolation filters that corresponds to the determined position (Short g_ailntraSexticFilter[32][6]) [Zhao: col. 26, line 45].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao, Xie, with Zhao to implement Zhao’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Gao, Xie, with Zhao will reduce the computational complexity by reducing or eliminating a number of clipping operations as well as reducing or eliminating intra reference sample mapping processes [Zhao: col. 4, line 31-41].
Regarding claims 7 and 27, Gao meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 21. Gao and Xie do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the upsampled reference frame is stored in a buffer.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xie further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein the upsampled reference frame is stored in a buffer (a number of reference samples to be stored at a reference buffer) [Zhao: col. 39, line 25-26].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gao, Xie, with Zhao to implement Zhao’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Gao, Xie, with Zhao will reduce the computational complexity by reducing or eliminating a number of clipping operations as well as reducing or eliminating intra reference sample mapping processes [Zhao: col. 4, line 31-41].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information