Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MAZLOUM et al. (US 20210022077 A1).
MAZLOUM et al. discloses a communication system comprising: regarding claim 16, A method of operating a base station associated with a cell of a plurality of cells of a cellular network, each cell of the plurality of cells broadcasting a cell-specific high-power reference signal ([0079], “BSs 112 are illustrated for the cells 161 and162… The remaining cells 163-168 are also served by one or more BSs 112 ”), the method comprising: providing, to a wireless communication device, an indication of multiple cells of the plurality of cells, base stations of the multiple cells respectively broadcasting a cell-specific low-power reference signal that enables cell re-selection amongst the multiple cells at the wireless communication device ([0050], “the configuration data may indicate that the WUS includes a first part and a second part. For example, the first part may implement a preamble. It is possible that the first part is related to the cell of the BS which transmits the respective WUS. For example, the first part may be cell-specific. The first part may include a reference signal”), and broadcasting the low-power reference signal ([0145], “For example, a first part of the WUS 4003 communicated at 3055 may include the reference signal. Then, depending on the channel quality, the UE 101 may decide to camp on the cell 162 and continue to receive an information block broadcasted by the BS 112 of the cell 162”).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the multiple cells from a fraction of a tracking area associated with the wireless communication device ([0064] “the configuration data may be provided for a subset of all cells of the cellular network. For example, the cell and the at least one further cell may define a tracking area of the cellular network”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, 7, 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZLOUM et al. (US 20210022077 A1) in view of JUNG et al. (US 20200145177 A1).
MAZLOUM et al. discloses a communication system comprising the followings: regarding claim 1, a method of operating a wireless communication device in a cellular network comprising a plurality of cells, each cell of the plurality of cells broadcasting a cell-specific high-power reference signal, (see [0035] “The cellular network includes multiple cells. Each cell corresponds to a respective sub-area of the overall coverage area”; [0005] “it is then required to identify a cell identity of the respective cell in the proximity of the UE; this is typically achieved by receiving broadcasted information blocks from the respective serving base station (BS). Based on reference signals, it is also possible to perform channel sensing in order to verify that the signal quality provided by the serving BS is sufficient”) the method comprising: obtaining, from the cellular network, an indication of multiple cells of the plurality of cells, wherein base stations of the multiple cells respectively broadcast a cell-specific low-power reference signal (see FIG. 5, FIG 16 (block 2111), [0088], “receiving configuration data for WUS transmission in multiple cells”; [0052] “the first part consists of the reference signal”; [0203] “The first part is typically the same for all the UEs within the serving cell, i.e. it is cell specific”, also see FIG 14, (REF 723)), monitoring, while operating in an idle mode, for the cell-specific low-power reference signal ([0003], “The low-power receiver can be activated when the main receiver has transitioned into an inactive state. Then, the low-power receiver can receive the wake-up signal (WUS)”; [0037], “The inactive state can be associated with various operational modes of the UE, e.g., a disconnected mode or idle mode”),
upon succeeding to receive the cell-specific low-power reference signal from at least one base station of at least one of the multiple cells, performing a cell re-selection from amongst the multiple cells based on the cell-specific low-power reference signal (see FIG. 17 (Block 2129); [0197] “Then, at block 2129, it is checked whether a WUS—e.g., a cell-related part thereof or any WUS at all—has been received in the current cell”; [0068] “mobility measurements and/or a cell re-selection may be supported”; “based on said listening, the channel quality of the channel between the UE and the further BS of the at least one further cell can be estimated. This may correspond to a mobility measurement.”); upon failing to receive the cell-specific low-power reference signal (see [0068], “ if a UE activates its low-power receiver but cannot receive the WUS of the previously serving cell, it is possible to continue searching for the WUS transmission of the at least one further cell in accordance with the configuration data”).
MAZLOUM et al. does not disclose, but JUNG et al. discloses: monitoring for the cell-specific high-power reference signal for performing the cell reselection (see [0330] “In operation 3b-15, the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode may wake up in a discontinuous reception (DRX) period and may measure reference signal received power (RSRP) Q.sub.rxlevmeas and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) Q.sub.qualmeas (operation 3b-15). The UE may calculate, based on the measurement values, a reception level Srxlev and a reception quality Squal of the serving cell by using the parameters received from the SIB 1. The UE may compare the calculated values with threshold values and then may determine whether to perform neighbor cell measurement for cell reselection”; [0332] “When the reception level Srxlev and the reception quality Squal of the serving cell which are measured in operation 3b-15 are lower than a threshold value (Srxlev≤S.sub.IntraSearchP and Squal≤S.sub.IntraSearchQ), the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode may measure intra-frequency cells using a same frequency as the serving cell (operation 3b-20)”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MAZLOUM et al., by using the features as taught by JUNG et al., in order to support more robust, efficient cell reselection decisions, thereby improving network performance.
Regarding claim 2, MAZLOUM et al. discloses: obtaining, from the cellular network, a cell-specific transmission configuration of the cell-specific low-power reference signal for the multiple cells, wherein said monitoring for the cell-specific low-power reference signal is in accordance with the cell-specific transmission configuration (see [0048] “The configuration data may be cell specific. Hence, different configurations for the WUS transmission may be used in the cell and the at least one further cell”).
Regarding claim 7, MAZLOUM et al. discloses: wherein the indication of the multiple cells is broadcasted in a system information block by the base station of a respective cell of the multiple cells (see [0047] “For example, the configuration data may be broadcasted by the BS, e.g., as a system information block”).
Regarding claim 9, MAZLOUM et al. discloses: controlling a low-power receiver of the wireless communication device to execute said monitoring for the cell-specific low-power signal, and controlling a main receiver of the wireless communication device to execute said monitoring for the cell-specific high-power reference signal ([0089] “In FIG. 6, the main receiver 1351 and the low-power receiver 1352 are implemented as separate entities”; [0005] “it is possible that UE mobility occurs while operating one or more receivers of the UE in the inactive state such as an RRC idle state. Once the respective receiver is transitioned into the active state, according to reference implementations, it is then required to identify a cell identity of the respective cell in the proximity of the UE; this is typically achieved by receiving broadcasted information blocks from the respective serving base station (BS). Based on reference signals, it is also possible to perform channel sensing in order to verify that the signal quality provided by the serving BS is sufficient”).
Regarding claim 10, MAZLOUM et al. discloses: while monitoring for the cell-specific low-power reference signal and until after performing the cell re-selection, continuously operating the main receiver in an inactive state ([0153], “Hence, during the modes 304, 305, the main receiver 1351 is persistently switched off and, in particular, not switched on during any on durations”).
Regarding claim 11, MAZLOUM et al. discloses: wherein said monitoring for the cell-specific low-power reference signal comprises performing time-domain processing of baseband waveforms ([0038] For example, the WUS may be received by a dedicated low-power receiver of the UE. The WUS may have a comparably simple modulation, e.g., On-Off Keying or the like, which facilitates a simple time-domain operation by the low-power receiver).
Regarding claim 12, MAZLOUM et al. discloses: wherein if the one or more trigger criteria are not fulfilled, said monitoring for the cell-specific high-power reference signal is executed for performing the cell re-selection ([0199] “Otherwise, block 2131 is executed. At block 2131, the UE 101 continues to listen for system information broadcasted by the current cell”). MAZLOUM et al. does not disclose; but JUNG et al. discloses wherein the cell re-selection is selectively performed based on the cell-specific reference signal if one or more trigger criteria are fulfilled ([0332] “The UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode may not constantly perform the neighbor cell measurement but may determine whether to perform the neighbor cell measurement based on measurement rules so as to minimize consumption of a battery power (operation 3b-20)”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MAZLOUM et al., by using the features as taught by JUNG et al., in order to provide a more adaptive, condition-driven reselection mechanism that improves mobility management, network efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, MAZLOUM et al. does not disclose; but JUNG et al. discloses wherein the one or more trigger criteria comprise at least one of a power efficiency requirement ([0332] The UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode may not constantly perform the neighbor cell measurement but may determine whether to perform the neighbor cell measurement based on measurement rules so as to minimize consumption of a battery power), a mobility of level of the wireless communication device, or a service requirement of a service associated with payload data scheduled for transmission. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MAZLOUM et al., by using the features as taught by JUNG et al., in order to enable more adaptive reselection decisions that conserve energy, improve operational efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, MAZLOUM et al. discloses: upon succeeding to receive the cell-specific low-power reference signal from at least one base station of at least one of the multiple cells, evaluating whether one or more cell re-selection criteria are fulfilled based on the cell-specific low-power reference signal ([0197] “Then, at block 2129, it is checked whether a WUS—e.g., a cell-related part thereof or any WUS at all—has been received in the current cell”; [0198] “At block 2130, a channel quality of the channel between the UE 101 and the BS 112 of the current cell 162-168 is estimated and compared with a threshold”); wherein the cell re-selection is selectively performed if the one or more cell reselection criteria are fulfilled ([0199] “If at block 2130 it is checked that the channel quality is insufficient, then block 2127 is re-executed and a new current cell is selected”).
Regarding claim 15, MAZLOUM et al. discloses: upon succeeding to receive the cell-specific low-power reference signal from the at least one base station of the at least one of the multiple cells and if a signal level or a signal quality of the cell-specific low-power reference signal is below a predetermined threshold ([0199] “If at block 2130 it is checked that the channel quality is insufficient, then block 2127 is re-executed and a new current cell is selected. Otherwise, block 2131 is executed. At block 2131, the UE 101 continues to listen for system information broadcasted by the current cell”). MAZLOUM et al. does not disclose; but JUNG et al. discloses: monitoring for the cell-specific high-power reference signal for performing the cell re-selection ([0330] “In operation 3b-15, the UE in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode may wake up in a discontinuous reception (DRX) period and may measure reference signal received power (RSRP) Q.sub.rxlevmeas and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) Q.sub.qualmeas (operation 3b-15). The UE may calculate, based on the measurement values, a reception level Srxlev and a reception quality Squal of the serving cell by using the parameters received from the SIB 1. The UE may compare the calculated values with threshold values and then may determine whether to perform neighbor cell measurement for cell reselection” ). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MAZLOUM et al., by using the features as taught by JUNG et al., in order to improve the basis for cell reselection decisions, and support more reliable mobility management.
5. Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZLOUM et al. (US 20210022077 A1) in view of JUNG et al. (US 20200145177 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cox et al. (US 20200029302 A1).
MAZLOUM et al. and JUNG et al. disclose the claimed limitations above. They do not disclose, but Cox et al. discloses: regarding claim 3, obtaining, from the cellular network, a cell-specific transmission configuration of a wake-up signal for the multiple cells, ([0177] “the WUS may be repeated. In this case, the eNB may configure, in a cell-specific manner, the maximum number of repetitions to be used for WUS” ); and monitoring, while operating in the idle mode, for the wake-up signal in accordance with the cell-specific transmission configuration ([0190] “When the eNB is unaware of the UE's coverage level during the idle mode, the WUS SS may be set to the maximum repetition value for the coverage level offered by the given cell”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MAZLOUM et al., and JUNG et al. by using the features as taught by Cox et al., in order to enable more flexible and coordinated network control across multiple cells, improve signaling efficiency.
6. Claims 4-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZLOUM et al. (US 20210022077 A1) in view of JUNG et al. (US 20200145177 A1) as applied to claim 1above, and further in view of KUMAR et al. (US 20230171659 A1).
MAZLOUM et al. and JUNG et al. disclose the claimed limitations above. They do not disclose, but KUMAR et al. discloses: regarding claim 4, obtaining, from the cellular network, cell re-selection information for the multiple cells and associated with the cell-specific low-power reference signal, wherein the cell re-selection is performed in accordance with the cell re-selection information ([0065], “The system information may identify one or more neighboring cells, and indicate, for each of the one or more neighboring cells, a value associated with the reselection priority of that cell”); regarding claim 5, wherein the cell re-selection information comprises at least one information element valid for two or more of the multiple cells ([0065], “the first cell reselection priority configuration may indicate an integer value from 0 to 7, where 7 is the highest priority value and 0 is the lowest priority value”); regarding claim 6, wherein the cell re-selection information specifies one or more cell re-selection criteria evaluated at the wireless communication device prior to performing the cell reselection ([0065], “the UE 415 may be configured to evaluate a neighboring cell with a higher priority than the connected cell to determine if the higher-priority neighboring cell meets the signal energy and/or quality criteria for reselection”); regarding claim 8, wherein the indication of the multiple cells is included in a connection release message triggering the operation in the idle mode ([0025], “ a UE may occasionally monitor neighboring cells to determine whether a higher priority cell, or a more suitable cell, is available for connection. In one example, the UE may perform a mobility procedure after moving into an idle mode or state. The UE may change to the idle state in response to receiving dedicated signaling from the BS on the first cell, such as a connection release message”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MAZLOUM et al., and JUNG et al. by using the features as taught by KUMAR et al., in order to enable the wireless communication device to make more consistent and timely reselection decisions based on network-provided criteria.
7. Claim(s) 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZLOUM et al. (US 20210022077 A1) in view of WON et al. (US 20160316467 A1).
MAZLOUM et al. discloses the claimed limitations above. MAZLOUM et al. does not disclose, but WON et al. discloses: regarding claim 17, determining the indication of the multiple cells based on information exchanged between the base station and one or more further base stations of the cellular network ([0101] “The controller 720 is capable of: identifying whether at least one cell under a peer eNB neighbors the eNB 100; determining whether it includes information regarding a neighboring cell in an eNB-related message based on the identification result; and transferring the eNB-related message to the peer eNB based on the determination result. The controller 720 is capable of determining whether at least one cell under the peer eNB is contained in a list of neighboring cells of the eNB. When the controller 720 ascertains that at least one cell under the peer eNB neighbors the eNB, it may include the information regarding the neighboring cell in the eNB-related message. When the controller 720 ascertains that at least one cell under the peer eNB does not neighbor the eNB, it may not contain the information regarding a neighboring cell in the eNB-related message”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of MAZLOUM et al., by using the features as taught by WON et al., in order to improve coordination across neighboring cells, and support more efficient and reliable reselection decisions based on network-wide signaling.
Regarding claim 18, MAZLOUM et al. discloses: obtaining the indication of the multiple cells from a mobility control node of a core of the cellular network ([0081] “The network 100 is configured to provide paging of the UE 101 throughout the cells 161-168, 661, 662 of the tracking area 160”).
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473