DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to the application filed received on Oct. 16, 2024.
The Oath was received on Oct. 16, 2024.
Claims 1-18, 36, and 73 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on Oct. 16, 2024 and Oct. 12, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites “radio resource control, RRC, signalling.” Since commas are used to separate the terms from the apparent abbreviation (for example, “radio resource control” and “RRC” are separated by a comma), it is unclear if “RRC” is the abbreviation for “radio resource control” or a separate element. This objection may be overcome by clearly indicating that “RRC” is abbreviation by using parentheses instead of commas (e.g. “radio resource control (RRC) signaling”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 112 (b) because of the lack of antecedent basis for “the associations between the one or more power control functions and the associated sub-band.” Although Claim 13 recites that “each of the one or more power control functions are associated with one of a plurality-frequency divided sub-bands”, this does not provide proper antecedent basis for the emphasized language above.
Claim 9 is rejected under 112 (b) for the language “known uplink power control function which is defined in the 3GPP specifications.” Given the breadth of available 3GPP specifications and the lack of detail given in the disclosure as to which specification would define this “uplink power control function”, the scope of this claim language is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-13, 15-18, 36, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kai Wu, et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20240040511 A1, hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches that a method of operating a communications device configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a wireless communications network via a wireless radio interface provided by the wireless communications network, the method comprising determining that the communications device is to perform an uplink transmission to the wireless communications network within an allocated set of uplink resources of the wireless radio interface, (Wu, in Fig. 1 and 2 and in Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], teaches that a terminal (a communication device) comprises a processor and a communication interface, and the processor is configured to determine an uplink power according to first information received from the network device (the base station), such as transmission direction of sub-bands, location of guard band, configuration for uplink transmission resource and sub-bands, and the power control information received from network side, and the communication interface is configured to send an uplink channel or an uplink signal configured based on the first information according to the uplink power determined.) determining that the communications device is to perform the uplink transmission within the set of uplink resources in accordance with a non-uniform transmission power, the non-uniform transmission power being non-uniform across the set of uplink resources and comprising at least a first transmission power to be used for transmitting signals representing the uplink transmission in a first portion of the set of uplink resources and a second transmission power, different to the first transmission power, to be used for transmitting signals representing the uplink transmission in a second portion of the set of uplink resources, and (Wu, in Fig. 2, 6, and 7 and in Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], teaches that as described in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0037]-[0048], in step s202, the terminal determine an uplink power according to the first information received from a network device that includes the subband configuration with transmission direction, guard band existence information, uplink transmission resource position in subbands, the location information between uplink transmission resources, downlink subbands, or flexible subbands, or a power control parameters. Based on this information, each uplink transmission power is different according to the condition of the portion of uplink resources. As described in Fig. 5 and in Paragraph [0039]-[0040] and [0100]-[0105], when the subbands meet one of the following two conditions: Condition one: if there are a plurality of sub bands on a time unit, or there are downlink or flexible subbands in the plurality of subbands and Condition two: there is a guard band on the time unit, the terminal determine the second transmission power that is less than and equal to the first transmission power (the first transmission power is the transmission power determined according to the current uplink power determination method (ordinary uplink transmission power)). In addition, as described in Fig. 6 and in Paragraphs [0041]-[0042] and [0106]-[0109], if there is a downlink or flexible subband on the time unit, and the frequency interval between the subband which is sent by the terminal and the downlink subband is less than the preset threshold, the third transmission power is determined and used for transmission, where the third transmission power is less than or equal to the first/second transmission power. Thus, according to the first information and the subband or resource configuration, the uplink transmission power for each portion of a uplink resource set, based on the resource configuration and the subband configuration is determined and used as the different power values.) performing the uplink transmission to the wireless communications network within the set of uplink resources in accordance with the non-uniform transmission power (Wu, in Fig. 2, 5, and 6 and in Paragraphs [0049], teaches that as explained in the above with Fig. 5 and Fig. 6, based on the first information and the configuration of uplink transmission resource set and subbands, the uplink transmission power is determined non-uniformly and according to the determined uplink power, the terminal send an uplink channel or an uplink signal as described in step s204 in Fig. 2.)
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the first transmission power is lower than the second transmission power, and wherein the first portion of the set of uplink resources comprises one or more frequency resource units located at a first edge of the set of uplink resources and the second portion of the set of uplink resources comprises one or more frequency resource units located away from the first edge of the set of uplink resources (Wu, in Fig. 2 and 7 and in Paragraph [0043] and [0112], teaches as described in Fig. 2 and 7 and in Paragraphs [0043] and [0112], teaches that as explained in the above, the terminal determines the uplink transmission power based on the subband configuration and the resource set configuration, according to the first information received from a network device. In step 202 in Fig. 2, based on the first information, if the uplink transmission resource includes at least one resource block or at least one resource element of an edge of a subband, a fourth transmission power (considered as the first transmission power in the claim) is determined to be used. The fourth transmission power is less than or equal to a first transmission power (considered as the second transmission power in the claim). Further, as shown in Fig. 7, the X RB/RE or the fourth transmission power portion are the edge of this subband and the edges of the subband are located away from the portion for the first/second/third transmission power (non-edge portion of the subband).)
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 2, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the first edge of the set of uplink resources is adjacent in frequency to a second set of resources of the wireless radio interface, the set of uplink resources and the second set of resources at least partially overlapping in time (Wu, in Fig. 6 and 8 and in Paragraphs [0108]-[0109] and [0120], teaches that as shown Fig. 6 and 8 and as described in [0108]-[0109] and [0120], the edge of the subband with uplink resources for uplink transmission (considered as the first edge of the set of uplink resources) is adjacent in frequency to the subbands for downlink resources for downlink transmission (considered as the second set of resources) and in time, two resource sets are overlapped.)
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 3, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the second set of resources is a set of downlink resources of the wireless access interface which is allocated to a second communications device for receiving a downlink signal from a same infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network as is the target of the uplink transmission from the communications device, (Wu, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0037] and [0041]-[0042], teaches that as described in Paragraphs [0037] and [0041], the first information received from the network device includes a positional relationship between an uplink transmission resources and downlink subband (resources) or a flexible subband (resources). In step s202 in Fig. 2, if the frequency interval between the uplink subband with uplink transmission resources and the downlink subband of other terminal or a flexible suband is less than or equal to a preset frequency threshold, a third transmission power is determined and used, the third transmission power is less than or equal to the first transmission power (a second transmission power in the above claim). Namely, transmission power is reduced, so as to avoid the interference of uplink transmission with the reception of other terminals on a downlink subband, thus improving the performance of a communication system.) and wherein the transmission of the downlink signal at the infrastructure equipment at least partially overlaps in time with the reception of the uplink transmission at the infrastructure equipment (Wu, in Fig. 5 to 8 and in Paragraphs [0100] and [0109], teaches that in paragraph [0100], in Fig 5 to 8, the horizontal direction refers to the time domain direction, and the vertical direction refers to the frequency domain direction. The squares filled with slashes represent uplink, and the squares filled with small black dots represent downlink. The time domain length of each square is regarded as one time slot. In FIG. 5, it is considered that there are two time units (that is, five squares make up a time unit), or it is considered
that each square represents a time unit. In addition, Fig. 5 shows that there are four subbands on the frequency domain, and a guard band is present between subbands. Further, as shown in Fig. 6 and as described in Paragraph [0109], the downlink/flexible subband is adjacent to the uplink transmission subband in frequency and is overlapped with the uplink transmission subband in time. Thus, in the network side, the reception of the uplink transmission is overlapped in time the transmission of the downlink signal and due to this, the uplink transmission power is reduced as explained earlier.)
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 3, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein a third set of resources is located in frequency between the second set of resources and the set of uplink resources, wherein the third set of resources acts as a guard frequency band (Wu, in Fig. 5 and in Paragraphs [0100] and [0103]-[0104], teaches that as shown in Fig. 5, there are the uplink subband with uplink resource set and the downlink subband with downlink resource set or flexible subband with resource sets and in between subbands, the guard band is present with resources (in Fig. 5, the empty space is between a uplink subband and a downlink subband).)
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the non-uniform transmission power is determined by the communications device based on a power control function selected by the communications device from among one or more power control functions (Wu, in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], teaches that in Paragraphs [0063]-[0067], the first transmission power is determined by the terminal (the communication device) as one of the following: 1) a transmission power when all the subbands on the first time unit are uplink subbands or flexible subbands, where the first time unit includes at least one symbol, at least one slot, at least one sub-slot or at least one sub-frame as described in Paragraph [0038]; 2) a transmission power when no downlink subband or guard band exist on the first time unit; 3) a transmission power when the first time unit is an uplink time unit; or 4) a transmission power determined according to a power control parameter configured by an uplink bandwidth part (BWP). The first transmission power determined is performed as a reference transmission power and based on the first transmission power, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], other non-uniform transmission powers are determined by the terminal (the communications device) by selecting or determining the difference between the first transmission power and other transmission power (non-uniform transmission power) using one of the following methods (power control function or power control method mentioned in the claim): 1) a preset value or a preset value range; 2) a value configured or indicated by a network side device; 3) a value determined according to quantity and/or position of downlink subbands or the flexible subbands, or 4) a value is determined according to the size of the guard band. As mentioned in Paragraphs [0068], [0079], and [0089], other non-uniform transmission power is less than or equal to the first transmission power to avoid the interference between the uplink transmission and the reception of other terminals on a downlink subband. Further, in Paragraph [0113]-[0115], after a terminal determines a relative (non-uniform) power difference, the actual sending power is represented by the formula in Paragraphs [0114]-[0115].)
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the selected power control function is selected by the communications device from among the one or more power control functions based on the communications device receiving an indication of the selected power control function from the wireless communications network (Wu, as explained in claim 6, teaches that in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], the first transmission and non-uniform transmission power based on the first transmission power are determined by the terminal (communications device) using one of the mentioned methods (power control functions). Further, as described in Paragraph [0105], the methods to determine the difference between the first transmission power and other non-uniform transmission powers is indicated by power control parameters provided from the network device (as explained in Paragraphs [0097]-[0098]).).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the one or more power control functions are each defined as relative to a reference power known to the communications device (Wu, in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0063]-[0067], the first transmission power is determined by the terminal (the communication device) as one of the following: 1) a transmission power when all the subbands on the first time unit are uplink subbands or flexible subbands, where the first time unit includes at least one symbol, at least one slot, at least one sub-slot or at least one sub-frame as described in Paragraph [0038]; 2) a transmission power when no downlink subband or guard band exist on the first time unit; 3) a transmission power when the first time unit is an uplink time unit; or 4) a transmission power determined according to a power control parameter configured by an uplink bandwidth part (BWP). The first transmission power determined is performed as a reference transmission power and based on the first transmission power, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], other non-uniform transmission powers are determined by the terminal (the communications device) by selecting or determining the difference between the first transmission power and other transmission power (non-uniform transmission power) using one of the following methods (power control function or power control method mentioned in the claim): 1) a preset value or a preset value range; 2) a value configured or indicated by a network side device; 3) a value determined according to quantity and/or position of downlink subbands or the flexible subbands, or 4) a value is determined according to the size of the guard band. Thus, the first transmission power is a reference transmission power and other non-uniform transmission powers are made by subtracting the difference values indicated by the power control function (provided or indicated by the network device) from the first transmission power.)
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the one or more power control functions each define, for a range of frequencies, a power level which is to be applied to a frequency resource unit within that range of frequencies (Wu, in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0063]-[0067], the first transmission power is determined by the terminal (the communication device) as one of the following: 1) a transmission power when all the subbands on the first time unit are uplink subbands or flexible subbands, where the first time unit includes at least one symbol, at least one slot, at least one sub-slot or at least one sub-frame as described in Paragraph [0038]; 2) a transmission power when no downlink subband or guard band exist on the first time unit; 3) a transmission power when the first time unit is an uplink time unit; or 4) a transmission power determined according to a power control parameter configured by an uplink bandwidth part (BWP). The first transmission power determined is performed as a reference transmission power and based on the first transmission power, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], other non-uniform transmission powers are determined by the terminal (the communications device) by selecting or determining the difference between the first transmission power and other transmission power (non-uniform transmission power) using one of the following methods (power control function or power control method mentioned in the claim): 1) a preset value or a preset value range; 2) a value configured or indicated by a network side device; 3) a value determined according to quantity and/or position of downlink subbands or the flexible subbands, or 4) a value is determined according to the size of the guard band. Further, these non-uniform transmission powers are determined by the terminal based on each different frequency range according to the subband configuration and the uplink resource set configuration as shown in Fig. 5-8.)
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 10, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the frequency resource units are resource blocks (Wu, in Paragraphs [0059], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0059], the frequency domain resources is described by the number of RBs/resource elements (RE) and the position of RB/RE, or a frequency range. Thus, the frequency resource units are resource blocks.)
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 10, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the frequency resource units are subcarriers (Wu, in Paragraphs [0077], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0077], the frequency interval includes one of the following: at least one sub-carrier, at least one resource block, at least one subband, and the absolute frequency width. Thus, the frequency resource units are sub-carriers.)
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein each of the one or more power control functions are associated with one of a plurality of frequency-divided sub-bands of the wireless radio interface, and (Wu, in example section 1, 2, and 3, teaches that as shown in examples, non-uniform transmission powers, namely, the second transmission power, the third transmission power, or the fourth transmission power are determined and selected based on the subband configuration or condition between the uplink transmission subband, downlink subbands or flexible subbands, guard bands, or the edge of the subband. Thus, the power control function for each non-uniform transmission power, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], is depending on the configuration or the condition of the subbands (the frequency divided subbands).) wherein the selected power control function is selected by the communications device from among the one or more power control functions based on the one of the plurality of sub-bands which comprises the allocated set of uplink resources (Wu, in example section 1, 2, and 3, teaches that as shown in examples, non-uniform transmission powers, namely, the second transmission power, the third transmission power, or the fourth transmission power are determined and selected based on the subband configuration or condition between the uplink transmission subband, downlink subbands or flexible subbands, guard bands, or the edge of the subband. Thus, the power control function for each non-uniform transmission power, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], is determined and selected based on the configuration or resource sets of the subbands (the frequency divided subbands).)
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 13, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein more than one of the power control functions are associated with a same one of the plurality of sub-bands (Wu, in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], [0089]-[0094], and [0113]-[0114], teaches that based on the subband configuration or condition, each different non-uniform transmission power is determined by the selected power control function that is indicated by the network device (as explained in Paragraphs [0097]-[0098]).)
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 15, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein more than one of the power control functions are associated with the one of the plurality of sub-bands which comprises the allocated set of uplink resources, and (Wu, in example section 1, 2, and 3, teaches that as shown in examples, non-uniform transmission powers, namely, the second transmission power, the third transmission power, or the fourth transmission power are determined and selected based on the subband configuration or condition between the uplink transmission subband, downlink subbands or flexible subbands, guard bands, or the edge of the subband. Thus, the power control function for each non-uniform transmission power, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], is depending on the configuration or the condition of the subbands, where the subband comprises uplink transmission resources (for example, the description in Paragraph [0111]).) wherein the selected power control function is selected by the communications device from among the more than one of the power control functions which are associated with the one of the plurality of sub-bands which comprises the allocated set of uplink resources based on the communications device receiving an indication of the selected power control function from the wireless communications network. (Wu, in Paragraph [0057]-[0059], the terminal receives the indication information by higher-layer signaling such as RRC signaling, MAC CE (Media Access Control-Control Element), or DCI (Downlink Control Information) from the network device. The indication information is used to notify which time unit the terminal is located on, which slots/symbols the terminal is located on, which frequency the terminal is located on, which subband, sub-carrier, which transmission/reception direction of a resource block (uplink, downlink, flexible). Namely, based on the information indicated by the indication information, the subband configuration or condition for the uplink is configured by uplink transmission resources. Based on the subband configuration, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], [0089]-[0094], and [0113]-[0114], the non-uniform transmission power is determined by the selected power control function that is indicated by the network device (as explained in Paragraphs [0097]-[0098]).)
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein each of the one or more power control functions are associated with one of a plurality of sets of uplink resources of the wireless radio interface, and (Wu, in example section 1, 2, and 3, teaches that as shown in examples, non-uniform transmission powers, namely, the second transmission power, the third transmission power, or the fourth transmission power are determined and selected based on the subband configuration or condition between the uplink transmission subband, downlink subbands or flexible subbands, guard bands, or the edge of the subband. Thus, the power control function for each non-uniform transmission power, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], is depending on the configuration or the condition of the subbands, where the subband comprises uplink transmission resources (for example, the description in Paragraph [0111]).) wherein the selected power control function is selected by the communications device from among the one or more power control functions based on the allocated set of uplink resources (Wu, in Paragraph [0057]-[0059], the terminal receives the indication information by higher-layer signaling such as RRC signaling, MAC CE (Media Access Control-Control Element), or DCI (Downlink Control Information) from the network device. The indication information is used to notify which time unit the terminal is located on, which slots/symbols the terminal is located on, which frequency the terminal is located on, which subband, sub-carrier, which transmission/reception direction of a resource block (uplink, downlink, flexible). Namely, based on the information indicated by the indication information, the subband configuration or condition for the uplink is configured by uplink transmission resources. Based on the subband configuration, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], [0089]-[0094], and [0113]-[0114], the non-uniform transmission power is determined by the selected power control function that is indicated by the network device (as explained in Paragraphs [0097]-[0098]).)
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein each of the one or more power control functions are associated with one of a plurality of uplink transmissions to the wireless communications network, and (Wu, in example section 1, 2, and 3, teaches that as shown in examples, non-uniform transmission powers, namely, the second transmission power, the third transmission power, or the fourth transmission power are determined and selected based on the subband configuration or condition between the uplink transmission subband, downlink subbands or flexible subbands, guard bands, or the edge of the subband. Thus, the power control function for each non-uniform transmission power, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], and [0089]-[0094], is depending on the configuration or the condition of the subbands, where the subband comprises uplink transmission resources (for example, the description in Paragraph [0111]).) wherein the selected power control function is selected by the communications device from among the one or more power control functions based on an indication received by the communications device from the wireless communications network specifically for the uplink transmission performed by the communications device (Wu, in Paragraph [0057]-[0059], the terminal receives the indication information by higher-layer signaling such as RRC signaling, MAC CE (Media Access Control-Control Element), or DCI (Downlink Control Information) from the network device. The indication information is used to notify which time unit the terminal is located on, which slots/symbols the terminal is located on, which frequency the terminal is located on, which subband, sub-carrier, which transmission/reception direction of a resource block (uplink, downlink, flexible). Namely, based on the information indicated by the indication information, the subband configuration or condition for the uplink is configured by uplink transmission resources. Based on the subband configuration, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], [0089]-[0094], and [0113]-[0114], the non-uniform transmission power is determined by the selected power control function that is indicated by the network device (as explained in Paragraphs [0097]-[0098]).)
Regarding claim 36, Wu teaches that a communications device configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a wireless communications network, the communications device comprising transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals and receive signals via a wireless radio interface provided by the wireless communications network, and controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry (Wu, in Fig. 13 and in Paragraph [0154] and [0157], teaches that as shown in Fig. 13, The terminal 1300 includes a radio frequency unit 1301, a network module 1302, an audio output unit 1303, an input unit 1304, a sensor 1305, a display unit 1306, a user input unit 1307, an interface unit 1308, a memory 1309, and a processor 1310. A radio frequency unit 1301 receives downlink data from a network side device and the downlink data is sent to a processor 1310 for processing. In addition, uplink data is sent by the radio frequency unit 1301 to the network side device. Generally, the radio frequency unit 1301 includes an antenna, amplifier, a transceiver, a coupler, a low noise amplifier, a duplexer, etc.) to determine that the communications device is to perform an uplink transmission to the wireless communications network within an allocated set of uplink resources of the wireless radio interface, (Wu, in Fig. 1 and 2 and in Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], teaches that a terminal (a communication device) comprises a processor and a communication interface, and the processor is configured to determine an uplink power according to first information received from the network device (the base station), such as transmission direction of sub-bands, location of guard band, configuration for uplink transmission resource and sub-bands, and the power control information received from network side, and the communication interface is configured to send an uplink channel or an uplink signal configured based on the first information according to the uplink power determined.) to determine that the communications device is to perform the uplink transmission within the set of uplink resources in accordance with a non-uniform transmission power, the non-uniform transmission power being non-uniform across the set of uplink resources and comprising at least a first transmission power to be used for transmitting signals representing the uplink transmission in a first portion of the set of uplink resources and a second transmission power, different to the first transmission power, to be used for transmitting signals representing the uplink transmission in a second portion of the set of uplink resources, and (Wu, in Fig. 2, 6, and 7 and in Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], teaches that as described in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0037]-[0048], in step s202, the terminal determine an uplink power according to the first information received from a network device that includes the subband configuration with transmission direction, guard band existence information, uplink transmission resource position in subbands, the location information between uplink transmission resources, downlink subbands, or flexible subbands, or a power control parameters. Based on this information, each uplink transmission power is different according to the condition of the portion of uplink resources. As described in Fig. 5 and in Paragraph [0039]-[0040] and [0100]-[0105], when the subbands meet one of the following two conditions: Condition one: if there are a plurality of sub bands on a time unit, or there are downlink or flexible subbands in the plurality of subbands and Condition two: there is a guard band on the time unit, the terminal determine the second transmission power that is less than and equal to the first transmission power (the first transmission power is the transmission power determined according to the current uplink power determination method (ordinary uplink transmission power)). In addition, as described in Fig. 6 and in Paragraphs [0041]-[0042] and [0106]-[0109], if there is a downlink or flexible subband on the time unit, and the frequency interval between the subband which is sent by the terminal and the downlink subband is less than the preset threshold, the third transmission power is determined and used for transmission, where the third transmission power is less than or equal to the first/second transmission power. Thus, according to the first information and the subband or resource configuration, the uplink transmission power for each portion of a uplink resource set, based on the resource configuration and the subband configuration is determined and used as the different power values.) to perform the uplink transmission to the wireless communications network within the set of uplink resources in accordance with the non-uniform transmission power (Wu, in Fig. 2, 5, and 6 and in Paragraphs [0049], teaches that as explained in the above with Fig. 5 and Fig. 6, based on the first information and the configuration of uplink transmission resource set and subbands, the uplink transmission power is determined non-uniformly and according to the determined uplink power, the terminal send an uplink channel or an uplink signal as described in step s204 in Fig. 2.)
Regarding claim 73, Wu teaches that an infrastructure equipment forming part of a wireless communications network configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a communications device, the infrastructure equipment comprising transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals and receive signals via a wireless radio interface provided by the infrastructure equipment, and controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry (Wu, in Fig. 14 and in Paragraph [0165], teaches that as shown in FIG. 14, the network side device 1400 (the infrastructure equipment) includes: an antenna 141, a radio frequency apparatus 142 and a baseband apparatus 143. The antenna 141 is connected to the radio frequency apparatus 142. In the uplink direction, the radio frequency apparatus 142 receives information by means of the antenna 141 from the terminal, and sends the received information to the baseband apparatus 143 for processing. In the downlink direction, the baseband apparatus 143 processes information to be sent and sends same to the radio frequency apparatus 142, and the radio frequency apparatus 142 processes the received information and then sends the same by means of the antenna 141 to the terminal.) to determine that the infrastructure equipment is to receive an uplink transmission from the communications device within an allocated set of uplink resources of the wireless radio interface, (Wu, in Fig. 1 and 2 and in Paragraphs [0011]-[0013], teaches that a network side device (an infrastructure equipment) is provided, including a processor and a communication interface. The communication interface is configured to send configuration information; and the configuration information is used for configuring a power control parameter, the power control parameter is used for a terminal to determine an uplink power, and each subband or each sub band set is configured with its own power control parameters. Further, the configuration interface is configured to receive uplink channel or uplink signal with the uplink power determined by the terminal based on the configuration information and power control parameters.) to determine that the communications device is to perform the uplink transmission within the set of uplink resources in accordance with a non-uniform transmission power, the non-uniform transmission power being non-uniform across the set of uplink resources and comprising at least a first transmission power to be used for transmitting signals representing the uplink transmission in a first portion of the set of uplink resources and a second transmission power, different to the first transmission power, to be used for transmitting signals representing the uplink transmission in a second portion of the set of uplink resources, and (Wu, in Fig. 2, 6, and 7 and in Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], teaches that as described in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0037]-[0048], in step s202, the terminal determine an uplink power according to the first information received from a network device that includes the subband configuration with transmission direction, guard band existence information, uplink transmission resource position in subbands, the location information between uplink transmission resources, downlink subbands, or flexible subbands, or a power control parameters. Based on this information, each uplink transmission power is different according to the condition of the portion of uplink resources. As described in Fig. 5 and in Paragraph [0039]-[0040] and [0100]-[0105], when the subbands meet one of the following two conditions: Condition one: if there are a plurality of sub bands on a time unit, or there are downlink or flexible subbands in the plurality of subbands and Condition two: there is a guard band on the time unit, the terminal determine the second transmission power that is less than and equal to the first transmission power (the first transmission power is the transmission power determined according to the current uplink power determination method (ordinary uplink transmission power)). In addition, as described in Fig. 6 and in Paragraphs [0041]-[0042] and [0106]-[0109], if there is a downlink or flexible subband on the time unit, and the frequency interval between the subband which is sent by the terminal and the downlink subband is less than the preset threshold, the third transmission power is determined and used for transmission, where the third transmission power is less than or equal to the first/second transmission power. Thus, according to the first information and the subband or resource configuration, the uplink transmission power for each portion of a uplink resource set, based on the resource configuration and the subband configuration is determined and used as the different power values.) to receive the uplink transmission from the communications device within the set of uplink resources in accordance with the non-uniform transmission power. (Wu, in Fig. 2, 5, and 6 and in Paragraphs [0049], teaches that as explained in the above with Fig. 5 and Fig. 6, based on the first information and the configuration of uplink transmission resource set and subbands, the uplink transmission power is determined non-uniformly and according to the determined uplink power, the terminal send an uplink channel or an uplink signal to the network device (the infrastructure equipment) as described in step s204 in Fig. 2.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai Wu, et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20240040511 A1, hereinafter “Wu”) in a view of Ahmed Attia Abotabl, et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20230337251 A1, hereinafter “Abotabl”).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the reference power is associated with a known uplink power control function (Wu, in Paragraphs [0039], teaches that the first transmission power (the reference transmission power as explained earlier) is the transmission power determined according to the current uplink power determination method (namely by the current standard (3GPP) method). Thus, the reference power (the first transmission power) is determined by the current standard method (3GPP method) using the current power control function defined in 3GPP.)
Although Wu teaches the reference power is associated with the current uplink power determination method and it can be consider that it indicates or mentions the determination method of the uplink power defined in 3GPP, Wu does not explicitly indicate the uplink power control function in 3GPP standard.
However, Abotabl teaches that which is defined in the 3GPP specifications (Abotabl, in Paragraph [0068] and Equation 1, teaches that according to 3GPP TS38.213 as mentioned by Abotabl, the uplink transmission power is determined by UE by using the equation 1 (eventually, the equation 1 is same as the power control function in the section of uplink power control in Specification of this Application). Since it is currently defined in 3GPP for power control function to determine the uplink transmission power, based on this power control function, the first transmission power (the reference power) of Wu can be determined.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Wu and Abotabl to include the technique which is defined in the 3GPP specifications of Abotabl in the system of Wu to provide a method of wireless communication performed by UE, receiving downlink control information (DCI) that schedules an uplink communication in an uplink frequency band and transmitting, at an uplink frequency within the uplink frequency band, the uplink communication with a power that varies over the uplink frequency band based on a location of the uplink frequency relative to a downlink frequency band associated with the UE, not only to improve the signal strength and the performance of the uplink communication but also to improve the performance of the downlink communication by reducing self-interference in the downlink frequency band (Abotabl, see Paragraphs [0006] and [0070]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches the features defined in the claim 13, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wu further teaches that wherein the associations between the one or more power control functions and the associated sub-band is determined by the communications device (Wu, in Paragraph [0057]-[0059], the terminal receives the indication information by higher-layer signaling, MAC CE (Media Access Control-Control Element), or DCI (Downlink Control Information) from the network device. The indication information is used to notify which time unit the terminal is located on, which slots/symbols the terminal is located on, which frequency the terminal is located on, which subband, sub-carrier, which transmission/reception direction of a resource block (uplink, downlink, flexible). Namely, based on the information indicated by the indication information, the subband configuration or condition is determined. Based on the subband configuration, as described in Paragraphs [0063]-[0073], [0079]-[0084], [0089]-[0094], and [0113]-[0114], the non-uniform transmission power is determined by the selected power control function that is indicated by the network device (as explained in Paragraphs [0097]-[0098]).)
Although Wu indicates the indication information for the subband configuration, resource configuration, etc is received by UE from the network device through a higher layer signaling and the higher layer signaling seems to be RRC signaling, Wu does not explicitly mention about RRC signaling.
However, Abotabl further teaches that based on radio resource control, RRC, signalling received from the wireless communications network (Abotabl, in Fig. 6A and in Paragraph [0072], teaches that as shown by procedure 605 in Fig. 6A, the base station 110 transmits (e.g., via radio resource control (RRC) signaling), and the UE 120 receives power offset configurations and/or power scaling configurations. A power offset configuration includes information (e.g., a table, a mapping, and/or the like) that identifies sets of power offset values for a plurality of sub-bands of an uplink frequency band (e.g., an uplink frequency band of an FD resource, a component carrier, a bandwidth part, and/or the like). Thus, the associations between power control functions and the associated sub-band is determined by the communications device based on RRC signaling from the network device (base station).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Wu and Abotabl to include the technique based on radio resource control, RRC, signalling received from the wireless communications network of Abotabl in the system of Wu to provide a method of wireless communication performed by UE, receiving downlink control information (DCI) that schedules an uplink communication in an uplink frequency band and transmitting, at an uplink frequency within the uplink frequency band, the uplink communication with a power that varies over the uplink frequency band based on a location of the uplink frequency relative to a downlink frequency band associated with the UE, not only to improve the signal strength and the performance of the uplink communication but also to improve the performance of the downlink communication by reducing self-interference in the downlink frequency band (Abotabl, see Paragraphs [0006] and [0070]).
Conclusion
/JAEYOUNG KWAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472