DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 8-14 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. The application claims benefit to the foreign priority date of 29 June 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 10/16/2024, 11/13/2025, and 02/18/2026 has been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is hereby attached.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 7, line 19 – has a typographical error in “radiofrequency bushing 24”, which should recite as “radiofrequency bushing 22”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 9, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 (line 3) recites “on one side.”, which should recite “on one side,”.
Claim 8 (line 4) recites “a radiofrequency source/sink”, which should recite “a radiofrequency source or a radiofrequency sink, i.e., a receiver” for clarity.
Claim 9 (line 1) recites “sensora”, which should recite either “sensor” or “sensor, a”.
Claim 9 (line 2) recites “on one side.”, which should recite “on one side,”.
Claim 9 (line 3) recites “a radiofrequency source/sink”, which should recite “a radiofrequency source or a radiofrequency sink, i.e., a receiver” for clarity.
Claim 11 (line 2) recites “ie”, which should recite “lie”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (US 2010/0141350 A1), hereinafter Sasaki.
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki discloses,
A radar sensor, comprising: (see paragraphs [0051]-[0055] , “…the invention is directed to a radar apparatus…”)
a plate-like substrate which has at least one layer including electrically non- conductive material (see Fig. 2 (element 3) and paragraph [0080], “…The dielectric substrate 3 is made of a dielectric ceramics, a glass ceramics, glass, a resin material, a liquid crystal polymer, a mixture of resin and ceramics, or the like. The dielectric substrate 3 is configured by layering one or a plurality of layers…” and further see paragraph [0125], “…an antenna-dielectric substrate 48 that is formed in the shape of an elongated thin plate…”) and, on one side. has a waveguide structure (see Fig. 12 (element 45) and paragraph [0131], “…The transmitter of this embodiment has a configuration in which the transmitting antenna 45 of the transmitter 41 shown in FIGS. 9 and 10 is implemented by means of a horn antenna, and the other portions of the configuration are similar to those of the transmitter 41…”) and on an opposite side, has a radiofrequency source/sink, (see Fig. 9 (element 43) and paragraphs [0122]-[0123], “…The high-frequency oscillator 43 includes, for example, an MMIC that functions as a Gunn oscillator using a Gunn diode…”) which is connected to the waveguide structure via a radiofrequency bushing which passes through the substrate; (see Fig. 4 (elements 2, 17), Fig. 9 (elements 43, 45) and paragraphs [0122]-[0125], the cylindrical through holes 17 defining the substrate waveguide element 5 (bushing) to connect the oscillator 43 to the antenna 45)
wherein a wall of the radiofrequency bushing is formed by a sequence of circular-cylindrically curved surface segments which have a uniform cross section over at least part of a length of the radiofrequency bushing (see Fig. 2 (elements 17, 24) and paragraph [0087], “…A cross-section of each of the waveguide-forming conductive columns 17 perpendicular to the vertical direction Z is in the shape of a circle, a polygon, an ellipse, or the like, and the shape may vary depending on the position in the vertical direction Z. The waveguide-forming conductive columns 17 in this embodiment are formed in the shape of cylinders…”. Further see paragraph [0090], “…The heat-radiating conductive columns 24 are formed in a similar manner to that of the waveguide-forming conductive columns 17…”).
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki discloses,
A method for producing a radar sensor, a plate-like substrate which has at least one layer including electrically non-conductive material (see Fig. 2 (element 3) and paragraph [0080], “…The dielectric substrate 3 is made of a dielectric ceramics, a glass ceramics, glass, a resin material, a liquid crystal polymer, a mixture of resin and ceramics, or the like. The dielectric substrate 3 is configured by layering one or a plurality of layers…” and further see paragraph [0125], “…an antenna-dielectric substrate 48 that is formed in the shape of an elongated thin plate…”) and, on one side. has a waveguide structure (see Fig. 12 (element 45) and paragraph [0131], “…The transmitter of this embodiment has a configuration in which the transmitting antenna 45 of the transmitter 41 shown in FIGS. 9 and 10 is implemented by means of a horn antenna, and the other portions of the configuration are similar to those of the transmitter 41…”) and on an opposite side, has a radiofrequency source/sink (see Fig. 9 (element 43) and paragraphs [0122]-[0123], “…The high-frequency oscillator 43 includes, for example, an MMIC that functions as a Gunn oscillator using a Gunn diode…”), which is connected to the waveguide structure via a radiofrequency bushing which passes through the substrate (see Fig. 4 (elements 2, 17), Fig. 9 (elements 43, 45) and paragraphs [0122]-[0125], the cylindrical through holes 17 defining the substrate waveguide element 5 (bushing) to connect the oscillator 43 to the antenna 45); wherein a wall of the radiofrequency bushing is formed by a sequence of circular-cylindrically curved surface segments which have a uniform cross section over at least part of a length of the radiofrequency bushing (see Fig. 2 (elements 17, 24) and paragraph [0087], “…A cross-section of each of the waveguide-forming conductive columns 17 perpendicular to the vertical direction Z is in the shape of a circle, a polygon, an ellipse, or the like, and the shape may vary depending on the position in the vertical direction Z. The waveguide-forming conductive columns 17 in this embodiment are formed in the shape of cylinders…”. Further see paragraph [0090], “…The heat-radiating conductive columns 24 are formed in a similar manner to that of the waveguide-forming conductive columns 17…”), the method comprising:
producing the radiofrequency bushing by arranging in a row a plurality of holes running at right angles to a plane of the substrate, such that the circumferential walls of the holes form the wall segments (see paragraphs [0087]-[0090], “…the plurality of waveguide-forming conductive columns 17 arranged in each line function as a pair of side walls…” and “…The heat-radiating conductive columns 24 are formed in a similar manner to that of the waveguide-forming conductive columns 17…”).
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki, as shown above, discloses claim 9.
Sasaki further discloses,
wherein the holes are formed all the way from one side of the substrate to the other side of the substrate (see Fig. 2 (elements 6, 17, 24), paragraph [0096], “…, through-holes for the waveguide-forming conductive columns 17…” and further see Fig. 8 (elements 3, 6), paragraph [0120], “…The dielectric substrate 3 has a through-hole that is continued from the one surface 3a to the cavity…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2010/0141350 A1), in view of Zhang et al. (CN 113784519 A), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki, as shown above, teaches claim 9.
Zhang further teaches,
wherein the radiofrequency bushing is formed as a slot by the arrangement of the holes in a row, (see page 2, lines 9-10, “…the extending path of the slot hole is a straight line, the center line is a straight-line segment; and the lower tool points are arranged at equal intervals along the center line…” of Zhang) a width of the slot corresponding to a diameter of the holes (see page 6, lines 33-34, “…The second lower tool point also takes the slot width 2 as the diameter, the center is on the center line of the slot length 1…” of Zhang).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Zhang into the invention of Sasaki. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques for manufacturing printed circuit board. Sasaki discloses in paragraph [0088], “…plurality of waveguide-forming conductive columns 17 arranged in each line function as a pair of side walls …”. Therefore, Sasaki mentions bushing arrangement as a line but fails to explicitly disclose the row arrangement and the diameter of the slots/holes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the arrangement in the line as disclosed by Sasaki by incorporating the arrangement and size of holes/slots as taught by Zhang. The combination of Sasaki in view of Zhang would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively design and manufacture the slot holes for the printed circuit boards. (see page 2, lines 50-54 of Zhang).
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki, as shown above, teaches claim 9.
Zhang further teaches,
wherein axes of the successively produced holes lie on a straight line (see page 2, lines 9-10, “…the extending path of the slot hole is a straight line, the center line is a straight-line segment; and the lower tool points are arranged at equal intervals along the center line…” of Zhang).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Zhang into the invention of Sasaki. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques for manufacturing printed circuit board. Sasaki discloses in paragraph [0088], “…plurality of waveguide-forming conductive columns 17 arranged in each line function as a pair of side walls …”. Therefore, Sasaki mentions bushing arrangement as a line but fails to explicitly disclose the row arrangement and the diameter of the slots/holes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the arrangement in the line as disclosed by Sasaki by incorporating the arrangement and size of holes/slots as taught by Zhang. The combination of Sasaki in view of Zhang would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively design and manufacture the slot holes for the printed circuit boards. (see page 2, lines 50-54 of Zhang).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2010/0141350 A1), in view of Ohno Araki et al. (WO2005083832 A1), hereinafter Araki.
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki, as shown above, teaches claim 9.
Araki further teaches,
wherein the holes have different diameters (see page 7, lines 30-31, “…The diameter and arrangement interval of these through holes 18 are not all the same…” of Araki).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Araki into the invention of Sasaki. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques for manufacturing printed circuit board. Sasaki discloses in paragraph [0088], “…plurality of waveguide-forming conductive columns 17 arranged in each line function as a pair of side walls …”. Therefore, Sasaki mentions bushing arrangement as a line but fails to explicitly disclose the diameter of the slots/holes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the line arrangement as disclosed by Sasaki by incorporating the different size of holes/slots as taught by Araki. The combination of Sasaki in view of Araki would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively plan and develop the conversion circuit between a waveguide and a microwave transmission line formed on a dielectric substrate. (see page 7, lines 20-38 of Araki).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2010/0141350 A1), in view of De Los Santos et al. (US 6467152 B1), hereinafter Santos.
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki, as shown above, teaches claim 9.
Santos further teaches,
wherein the substrate is metallized after the holes have been produced, wherein a metallization with a layer thickness of 1 µm or more is formed on the walls of the radiofrequency bushing (see col 4, lines 53-61, “…A bottom metallization 90 is deposited on the top side 34 of the substrate 32, numeral 62. (It is termed a "bottom metallization" because it eventually forms the bottom of the waveguide 24.) The bottom metallization 90 is a metal such as an alloy of titanium and tungsten, preferably having a composition of 10 weight percent titanium-90 weight percent tungsten, with a gold coating ("TiW--Au"). The bottom metallization 90 is preferably from about 1 micrometer to about 2 micrometers thick…” of Santos).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Santos into the invention of Sasaki. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose techniques for manufacturing printed circuit board. Sasaki discloses in paragraph [0091], “…the dielectric substrate 3 in this embodiment has metallized layers 25…”. Therefore, Sasaki mentions metallized layer but fails to explicitly disclose the thickness of the layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metallized layer as disclosed by Sasaki by incorporating the layer thickness as taught by Santos. The combination of Sasaki in view of Santos would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the fabrication of the microwave microstrip/waveguide transition structure. (see col 2-lines 35-55, col 4-lines 53-67, and col 5-lines 1-13 of Santos).
Conclusion
/NIMISH P. HATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648