DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in CHINA 202210710621.3 filed on 06/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024, 09/25/2025 and 04/29/2026 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the title of the invention is repeated in the abstract.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5-7, 11, 16 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 16 “the continued inactive time of the UE at the source bearer node” should read “the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node”
Claim 5 “ wherein a MN serves as a current node... a target SN” should read “wherein a master node (MN) serves as a current node... a target secondary node (SN)” to address antecedent basis.
Claims 11 and 16 have similar informalities as claim 5, therefore the same objections are applied.
Claims 5-7 and 11 “the continued inactive time at the source bearer node” should read “the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node”
Claim 14 “detected at the SN” should read “detected at the target SN”
Claim 19 “ I/O interface ” should read “ Input/Output (I/O) interface”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “ determining continued inactive time... sending a message” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the UE”, “the target SN” or “the MN” is the one being referred to “determining... sending”. For the purpose of examination, “determining... sending” will be interpreted as “determining, by the MN,... sending, from the MN,”.
Claims 3-4, 8-10 have the similar indefiniteness; therefore, the examiner applied the same reasoning for the rejection as claim 2.
Claim 5 recites “receiving a message... subtracting the continued inactive time” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the UE”, “the target SN” or “the MN” is the one being referred to “receiving... subtracting”. For the purpose of examination, “receiving... subtracting” will be interpreted as “receiving, by the MN,... subtracting, by the MN”.
Claims 6-7 have the similar indefiniteness; therefore, the examiner applied the same reasoning for the rejection as claim 5.
Claim 11 recites “receiving a message... subtracting the continued inactive time” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the UE”, “the target SN” or “the MN” is the one being referred to “receiving... subtracting”. For the purpose of examination, “receiving... subtracting” will be interpreted as “receiving, by the target SN,... subtracting, by the target SN”.
Claims 12-15 have the similar indefiniteness; therefore, the examiner applied the same reasoning for the rejection as claim 11.
Claim 16 recites “determining continued inactive time... sending a message” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the UE”, “the target SN” or “the MN” is the one being referred to “determining... sending”. For the purpose of examination, “determining... sending” will be interpreted as “determining, by the target SN,... sending, from the target SN,”.
Claims 17-18 have the similar indefiniteness; therefore, the examiner applied the same reasoning for the rejection as claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by RYOO et al. (US 20200163144 A1, Date Published 05/21/2020, filed in IDS, hereinafter, RYOO).
Regarding claim 1, RYOO discloses:
A resource management method (Fig. 7A-8B; [0043] The disclosure relates to a connection management function between independent network entities ... including a master node... and a secondary node... includes a method for an MN base station and an SN base station to control an SN addition and SN release and radio resource control (RRC) release through such connection management; [0168] Mode (3) Method of supporting the two modes so that both an SgNB and an MeNB can request SgNB release; [0046]and an MN and an SN are connected to a network and are main agents for resource allocation for a terminal), comprising:
determining (Fig. 7A – S730) whether remaining inactive time of user equipment (UE) ([0133] the SgNB 720 identifies whether the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired (at operation S730); [0142] An SgNB activity notification message may be periodically transmitted. The message may include at least one of whether an SgNB inactivity timer for each UE has expired) for a target bearer node (Fig. 7A – SgNB 720; [0120] Third, an MeNB controls to guarantee the continuity of UE service (by minimizing an interruption time) by performing a bearer type change from SCG bearers to MCG bearers prior to SN release. Thereafter, when an SgNB not having SCG traffic transmits SgNB activity notification information to the MeNB through an X2 interface, the MeNB may transmit an SN RELEASE REQUEST message to the SgNB through the X2 interface so that the SgNB can perform SN release); and
in response (Fig. 7A – S750) to that the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is exhausted ([0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750)), releasing (Fig. 7A – S780) resources allocated to the UE ([0133] the MeNB 710 and the terminal 700 perform an RRC release procedure because the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired (at operation S780)), wherein the remaining inactive time (Fig. 7A – S730) comprises a result of subtracting a sum of continued inactive time of the UE occurred at all nodes ([0161] the CU-UP of the SgNB sets the same traffic inactivity timer value in the DU of the SgNB (CU and DU are both nodes of the SgNB)... The CU and the DU can mutually obtain whether corresponding timers have expired without a status report on the traffic inactivity timer through an operation of resetting a traffic inactivity timer value based on the last arrived packet (hence there is a timer for continuous inactivity (e.g., sum) that gets reset when a packet arrives). That is, the CU-CP and the DU can be aware of their traffic states (active or not active) using the same value as the setting value (e.g., a preset time of when the inactivity timer expires after a set duration of continuous inactivity) of the traffic inactivity timer although the CU-UP and the DU do not share traffic state information through an F1 interface) from a total preset inactive time duration ([0136] For example, if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set to 10 seconds, SN release and addition do not occur during the at least 10 seconds), the total preset inactive time duration corresponds to the target bearer node ([0136]; [0162] if the SgNB inactivity timer expires, the SgNB CU transmits an SgNB activity notification message to the MeNB through an X2 interface. The SgNB activity notification message may include information indicating whether the SgNB is active. The SgNB inactivity timer may be understood as the user inactivity timer of FIGS. 8A and 8B).
Regarding claim 16, RYOO further discloses:
wherein a target SN serves as a current node (Fig. 7A-8B (e.g., MeNB and SgNB are serving as the current nodes); [0046] An MN, that is, a term used in the disclosure, is a master node, and may be interchangeably used with an MeNB... an SN is a secondary node, and may be interchangeably used with an SeNB, SgNB... and an MN and an SN are connected to a network and are main agents for resource allocation for a terminal; [0133]If the SgNB has been added, the MeNB 710 waits for the reception of an SN RELEASE REQUIRED message (SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED) from the SgNB 720 (at operation S740); [0058] performing an operation of adding an SgNB when a traffic capacity is a given level or more; [0059] If the amount of data accumulated in a buffer is a threshold or more in bearers to be changed into SCG bearers after an SN addition procedure based on a criterion (hence the target SgNB serves as the current node)), a source bearer node for services of the UE is the target SN (Fig. 7A-B – SgNB; [0132] FIG. 7A is a diagram illustrating a control procedure for SN-initiated SN release (hence the source bearer node for services of the UE is the target SN/SgNB) according to an embodiment of the disclosure), the target bearer node is a MN Fig. 7A-B – MeNB; [0135] when the inactivity timer of the SgNB 720 expires, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 in order to perform an SN release procedure although the inactivity timer of the MeNB 710 has not expired (at operation S750). If the SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message is received, the MeNB 710 transmits an SgNB RELEASE CONFIRM message to the SgNB 720 without a condition (at operation S760) (hence the MeNB is the target bearer node)), the method further comprises:
before (Fig. 7A – S710, S780) the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is exhausted ([0133] the MeNB 710 and the terminal 700 perform an RRC release procedure because the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired (at operation S780)), determining continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node (Fig. 7A- S730; [0135] when the inactivity timer of the SgNB 720 expires, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 in order to perform an SN release procedure); and
sending a message (Fig. 7A – S750) carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node to the MN ([0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750) (e.g., the continue inactive time expired at SgNB and the SgNB Release Required message is transmitted, hence the release required message is carrying the continued inactive time expired of the UE occurred)), so that the MN determines the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node according to the inactive time of the UE at the source bearer node ([0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750). The MeNB 710 that has received the SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message transmits an SgNB RELEASE CONFIRM message to the SgNB 720 through the X2 interface (at operation S760). After the SgNB RELEASE CONFIRM message is received, an SN release procedure is performed (e.g., the MeNB obtains the SgNB Release Required message and determines the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is zero/expired and proceeds to the SN Release procedure) between the terminal 700 and the SgNB 720 and the MeNB 710 (at operation S770)).
Regarding claim 18, RYOO further discloses:
wherein sending the message carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node to the MN ([0135] when the inactivity timer of the SgNB 720 expires, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 in order to perform an SN release procedure) comprises:
sending (Fig. 7A – S750) a SN release request message carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node to the MN ([0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750) (e.g., the continue inactive time expired at SgNB and the SgNB Release Required message is transmitted, hence the release required message is carrying the continued inactive time expired of the UE occurred)).
Regarding claim 19, RYOO further discloses:
An electronic device (Fig. 15 - terminal), comprising:
at least one processor;
a memory having at least one computer program stored thereon, the at least one computer program, executed by the at least one processor ([0040] In the disclosure, it will be understood that each of the blocks of the flowchart drawings and combinations of the blocks in the flowchart drawings can be executed by computer program instructions. These computer program instructions may be mounted on the processor of a general purpose computer... These computer program instructions may also be stored in computer-usable or computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing equipment to function in a particular manner... so that the instructions executed by the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus create means for executing the functions specified in the flowchart block(s)), causes the at least one processor ([0200] Referring to FIG. 15, the terminal 1500 may be configured with a transceiver 1510, a controller 1520 and a memory 1530. The transceiver 1510 may transmit and receive signals to and from a base station... the transceiver may transmit and receive signals to and from an MeNB and an SgNB at the same time, and may support 4G communication and 5G communication systems) to implement the resource management method according to claim 1 ([0201] The controller 1520 controls the transceiver 1510 so that the embodiments described in the disclosure may be performed. Specifically, when a measurement configuration is received form an MeNB, the controller 1520 may transmit an MR to the MeNB, and may perform an SN addition and release and an RRC release procedure along with an MeNB and an SgNB. Furthermore, the controller 1520 may use information stored in the memory 1330 in order to perform such a procedure);
and at least one I/O interface connected between the processor and the memory and configured (Fig. 15, (e.g., connection between the controller and memory to handle data transfer, hence there is an I/O interface)) to implement information interaction between the processor and the memory ([0201] the controller 1520 may use information stored in the memory 1330 in order to perform such a procedure).
Regarding claim 20, RYOO further discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program, executed by a processor (0040] In the disclosure, it will be understood that each of the blocks of the flowchart drawings and combinations of the blocks in the flowchart drawings can be executed by computer program instructions... the instructions executed by the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus create means for executing the functions specified in the flowchart block(s). These computer program instructions may also be stored in computer-usable or computer-readable memory that can direct a computer... such that the instructions stored in the computer-usable or computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means that implement the function specified in the flowchart block(s)), causes the processor to implement the resource management method according to claim 1 ([0201] The controller 1520 controls the transceiver 1510 so that the embodiments described in the disclosure may be performed. Specifically, when a measurement configuration is received form an MeNB, the controller 1520 may transmit an MR to the MeNB, and may perform an SN addition and release and an RRC release procedure along with an MeNB and an SgNB. Furthermore, the controller 1520 may use information stored in the memory 1330 in order to perform such a procedure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYOO in view of WANG et al. (WO 2020088091 A1, Date Published 05/07/2020, filed in IDS, hereinafter, WANG).
Regarding claim 2, RYOO further discloses:
wherein a master node (MN) serves as a current node (Fig. 8A-B (e.g., MeNB and SgNB are serving as the current nodes); [0046] An MN, that is, a term used in the disclosure, is a master node, and may be interchangeably used with an MeNB... an SN is a secondary node, and may be interchangeably used with an SeNB, SgNB... and an MN and an SN are connected to a network and are main agents for resource allocation for a terminal)), a source bearer node for services of the UE is the MN (Fig. 8A-B MeNB; [0138] FIG. 8A is a diagram illustrating a control procedure for MN-initiated SN release (hence the source bearer node for services of the UE is the MN/MeNB) according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0183] If the SN release condition has been satisfied, the MeNB may perform a bearer type change from a current SCG bearer into an MCG bearer (1040) [0138];), the target bearer node is a target secondary node (SN) (Fig. 8A-B SgNB; [0046] an SN is a secondary node, and may be interchangeably used with an SeNB, SgNB or gNB in an embodiment of the disclosure; [0075] A base station configures a measurement for an SN target in a terminal... the base station identifies a traffic state condition, and performs an SgNB addition if the traffic state is a threshold or more), the method further comprises:
before (Fig. 8A – S810) the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is exhausted (Fig. 8A – S830, S850; [0139] If the timer has expired, the SgNB 820 transmits an SgNB activity notification message to the MeNB 810 through an X2 interface (at operation S850)), determining continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node ([0139] Referring to FIG. 8A, an MeNB 810 identifies whether the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired (at operation S810). If the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired, the MeNB 810 identifies whether an SgNB has been added (at operation S820)); and
sending a message (Fig. 80 – S820) at the source bearer node to the target SN ([0178] An MeNB may transmit, to an SgNB, SPID IE information within cell group configuration information (CG-config Info) through the X2 interface when performing an SN addition (SGNB ADDITION REQUEST on the X2 interface) or/and an SN modification (SGNB MODIFICATION REQUEST on the X2 interface). A separate data inactivity timer may be configured in the CU-UP with respect to a corresponding terminal through such information), so that the target SN determines the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node ([0136] an SgNB may be immediately added again and the inactivity timer of the SgNB may be started again from the beginning).
RYOO does not explicitly disclose sending the message includes the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node; and
determining the remaining inactive time according to the continued inactive time of the UE at the source bearer node.
However, WANG discloses a message includes a continued inactive time of a UE occurred at a source bearer node ([0107] The MN initiates a SN addition request message, which includes information on the bearer type (MCG, SCG, Split); [0108] Scenario (1): MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 according to UE level; [0146] In the SN addition process triggered by MN, MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 or the user inactivity state maintenance time T2 in the SN ADD request message, according to the service bearer level or UE level); and
determining a remaining inactive time according to the continued inactive time of the UE at the source bearer node ([0103] In this embodiment of the disclosure, after receiving the first indication message from the master node MN, the method further includes: inheriting the remaining UE inactivity timer time through the SN, or setting a new timer time through the SN, or modifying the current inactivity timer duration of the SN; [0108] Scenario (1): MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 according to UE level; [0111] The SN uses the remaining UE inactivity time T1 as the current bearer user inactivity timer duration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify sending the message and determining the remaining inactive time of RYOO to include the message including the continued inactive time of the UE occurred; and determining the remaining inactive time according to the continued inactive time of the UE at the source bearer node as taught by WANG in order to enable the master node to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE and make a unified decision of when to release the user inactivity status, and thus reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (WANG - [0177] through the technical solutions of the above embodiments, the MN makes a unified decision to release the user inactivity status based on the user inactivity status information transmitted by the SN and in combination with the RLC bearer status of other remaining bearers on the MN side. After the SN is added, it inherits the user inactivity status information of the MN, and the SN takes effect within the timer range according to the UE level...The MN makes a unified decision, thereby enabling the wireless network to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE; RYOO – [0136] In order to reduce signaling overhead attributable to such an unnecessary SN release and addition operation, the inactivity timer of an SgNB may be set as a given value... Accordingly, signaling overhead may be reduced if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set as a value higher than a current value as described above).
Regarding claim 3, RYOO further discloses:
wherein sending the message at the source bearer node to the target SN (Fig. 80 – S820) comprises:
sending a SN addition request message at the source bearer node to the target SN ([0139] Referring to FIG. 8A... If the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired, the MeNB 810 identifies whether an SgNB has been added (at operation S820); [0178] An MeNB may transmit, to an SgNB, SPID IE information within cell group configuration information (CG-config Info) through the X2 interface when performing an SN addition (SGNB ADDITION REQUEST on the X2 interface) or/and an SN modification (SGNB MODIFICATION REQUEST on the X2 interface)).
RYOO does not explicitly disclose wherein sending the message and the SN addition request message both include the continued inactive time of the UE occurred.
WANG discloses sending a message and SN addition request message both include a continued inactive time of a UE occurred ([0107] The MN initiates a SN addition request message, which includes information on the bearer type (MCG, SCG, Split); [0108] Scenario (1): MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 according to UE level; [0146] In the SN addition process triggered by MN, MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 or the user inactivity state maintenance time T2 in the SN ADD request message, according to the service bearer level or UE level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify sending the message and the SN addition request message of RYOO to include the continued inactive time of a UE occurred as taught by WANG in order to enable the master node to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE and make a unified decision of when to release the user inactivity status, and thus reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (WANG - [0177] through the technical solutions of the above embodiments, the MN makes a unified decision to release the user inactivity status based on the user inactivity status information transmitted by the SN and in combination with the RLC bearer status of other remaining bearers on the MN side. After the SN is added, it inherits the user inactivity status information of the MN, and the SN takes effect within the timer range according to the UE level...The MN makes a unified decision, thereby enabling the wireless network to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE; RYOO – [0136] In order to reduce signaling overhead attributable to such an unnecessary SN release and addition operation, the inactivity timer of an SgNB may be set as a given value... Accordingly, signaling overhead may be reduced if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set as a value higher than a current value as described above).
Regarding claim 4, RYOO further discloses:
wherein sending the message from the source bearer node to the target SN (Fig. 80 – S820) comprises:
sending a SN modification request message from the source bearer node to the target SN ([0139] Referring to FIG. 8A... If the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired, the MeNB 810 identifies whether an SgNB has been added (at operation S820); [0178] An MeNB may transmit, to an SgNB, SPID IE information within cell group configuration information (CG-config Info) through the X2 interface when performing an SN addition (SGNB ADDITION REQUEST on the X2 interface) or/and an SN modification (SGNB MODIFICATION REQUEST on the X2 interface)).
RYOO does not explicitly disclose wherein sending the message and the SN modification request message both include the continued inactive time of the UE occurred.
WANG discloses sending a message and a SN modification request message both include a continued inactive time of a UE occurred ([0107] The MN initiates a SN addition request message, which includes information on the bearer type (MCG, SCG, Split); [0108] Scenario (1): MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 according to UE level; [0146] In the SN addition process triggered by MN, MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 or the user inactivity state maintenance time T2 in the SN ADD request message, according to the service bearer level or UE level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify sending the message and the SN modification request message of RYOO to include the continued inactive time of the UE occurred as taught by WANG in order to enable the master node to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE and make a unified decision of when to release the user inactivity status, and thus reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (WANG - [0177] through the technical solutions of the above embodiments, the MN makes a unified decision to release the user inactivity status based on the user inactivity status information transmitted by the SN and in combination with the RLC bearer status of other remaining bearers on the MN side. After the SN is added, it inherits the user inactivity status information of the MN, and the SN takes effect within the timer range according to the UE level...The MN makes a unified decision, thereby enabling the wireless network to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE; RYOO – [0136] In order to reduce signaling overhead attributable to such an unnecessary SN release and addition operation, the inactivity timer of an SgNB may be set as a given value... Accordingly, signaling overhead may be reduced if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set as a value higher than a current value as described above).
Regarding claim 5, RYOO further discloses:
wherein a MN serves as a current node (Fig. 7A-B MeNB, (e.g., MeNB and SgNB are serving as the current nodes); [0046] An MN, that is, a term used in the disclosure, is a master node, and may be interchangeably used with an MeNB... an SN is a secondary node, and may be interchangeably used with an SeNB, SgNB... and an MN and an SN are connected to a network and are main agents for resource allocation for a terminal; [0183] If the SN release condition has been satisfied, the MeNB may perform a bearer type change from a current SCG bearer into an MCG bearer (1040)), a source bearer node for services of the UE is a target SN (Fig. 7A-B – SgNB; [0132] FIG. 7A is a diagram illustrating a control procedure for SN-initiated SN release (hence the source bearer node for services of the UE is the target SN/SgNB) according to an embodiment of the disclosure), the target bearer node is the MN (Fig. 7A-B – MeNB; [0135] when the inactivity timer of the SgNB 720 expires, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 in order to perform an SN release procedure although the inactivity timer of the MeNB 710 has not expired (at operation S750). If the SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message is received, the MeNB 710 transmits an SgNB RELEASE CONFIRM message to the SgNB 720 without a condition (at operation S760) (hence the MeNB is the target bearer node)), the method further comprises:
before (Fig. 7A – S710, S780) the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is exhausted ([0133] the MeNB 710 and the terminal 700 perform an RRC release procedure because the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired (at operation S780)), receiving a message (Fig. 7 – S750) carrying continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node from the target SN (7A-B – SgNB; [0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750). The MeNB 710 that has received the SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message transmits an SgNB RELEASE CONFIRM message to the SgNB 720 through the X2 interface (at operation S760)); and
determining (Fig. 7A – S750, S760), based on the continued inactive time at the source bearer node ([0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750)) and the total preset inactive time duration at the MN ([0133] Referring to FIG. 7A, an MeNB 710 identifies whether the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired (at operation S710). If the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired, the MeNB 710 identifies whether an SgNB has been added (at operation S720). If the SgNB has been added, the MeNB 710 waits for the reception of an SN RELEASE REQUIRED message (SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED) from the SgNB 720 (at operation S740) (e.g., the expiration of the total preset inactive time duration at the MeNB (S710) triggers the addition of the SgNB (S720))), to obtain the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node ([0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750). The MeNB 710 that has received the SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message transmits an SgNB RELEASE CONFIRM message to the SgNB 720 through the X2 interface (at operation S760). After the SgNB RELEASE CONFIRM message is received, an SN release procedure is performed (e.g., the MeNB obtains the SgNB Release Required message and determines the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is zero/expired and proceeds to the SN Release procedure) between the terminal 700 and the SgNB 720 and the MeNB 710 (at operation S770)).
RYOO does not explicitly disclose obtaining the remaining inactive time of the UE includes subtracting the continued inactive time at the source bearer node from the total preset inactive time duration at the MN.
However, WANG discloses obtaining a remaining inactive time of the UE for a target bearer node (e.g., remaining UE inactivity time T1) including subtracting the continued inactive time at the source bearer node from a total preset inactive time duration at a MN ([0151] Figure 7 is a flowchart of the SN modification process triggered by the SN according to the example of this disclosure, as shown in Figure 7; [0152] In the SN modification process triggered by SN, MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 or the user inactivity state maintenance time T2 in the SN ADD request message, according to the user level or service bearer level; [0108]; [0110] The SN can inherit the remaining UE inactivity timer T1 and the UE inactivity duration T2, or it can set a new timer T3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify obtaining the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node of RYOO to include obtaining the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node including subtracting the continued inactive time at the source bearer node from the total preset inactive time duration at the MN as taught by WANG in order to enable the master node to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE and make a unified decision of when to release the user inactivity status, and thus reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (WANG - [0177] through the technical solutions of the above embodiments, the MN makes a unified decision to release the user inactivity status based on the user inactivity status information transmitted by the SN and in combination with the RLC bearer status of other remaining bearers on the MN side. After the SN is added, it inherits the user inactivity status information of the MN, and the SN takes effect within the timer range according to the UE level...The MN makes a unified decision, thereby enabling the wireless network to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE; RYOO – [0136] In order to reduce signaling overhead attributable to such an unnecessary SN release and addition operation, the inactivity timer of an SgNB may be set as a given value... Accordingly, signaling overhead may be reduced if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set as a value higher than a current value as described above).
Regarding claim 6, RYOO further discloses:
wherein receiving the message carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node from the target SN (Fig. 7 – S750, Fig. 7A-B – SgNB); [0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750). The MeNB 710 that has received the SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message transmits an SgNB RELEASE CONFIRM message to the SgNB 720 through the X2 interface (at operation S760).
RYOO does not explicitly disclose wherein the message comprises:
receiving a SN modification request message carrying the continued inactive time at the source bearer node from the target SN.
However, WANG discloses a message ([0133] In this embodiment of the disclosure, after receiving the second indication message from the secondary node SN, the method further includes) comprises:
receiving a SN modification request message ([0151] Figure 7 is a flowchart of the SN modification process triggered by the SN according to the example of this disclosure, as shown in Figure 7) carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node from the target SN ([0152] In the SN modification process triggered by SN, MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 or the user inactivity state maintenance time T2 in the SN ADD request message, according to the user level or service bearer level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify receiving the message of RYOO to include the message comprises receiving the SN modification request message carrying the continued inactive of the UE occurred at the source bearer node from the target SN as taught by WANG in order to enable the master node to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE and make a unified decision of when to release the user inactivity status, and thus reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (WANG - [0177] through the technical solutions of the above embodiments, the MN makes a unified decision to release the user inactivity status based on the user inactivity status information transmitted by the SN and in combination with the RLC bearer status of other remaining bearers on the MN side. After the SN is added, it inherits the user inactivity status information of the MN, and the SN takes effect within the timer range according to the UE level...The MN makes a unified decision, thereby enabling the wireless network to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE; RYOO – [0136] In order to reduce signaling overhead attributable to such an unnecessary SN release and addition operation, the inactivity timer of an SgNB may be set as a given value... Accordingly, signaling overhead may be reduced if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set as a value higher than a current value as described above).
Regarding claim 7, RYOO further discloses:
wherein receiving the message carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node from the target SN (Fig. 7 – S750, Fig. 7A-B – SgNB); [0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750). The MeNB 710 that has received the SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message transmits an SgNB RELEASE CONFIRM message to the SgNB 720 through the X2 interface (at operation S760):
receiving a SN release request message carrying the continued inactive time at the source bearer node from the target SN (Fig. 7 – S750; [0133];).
Regarding claim 8, RYOO further discloses:
wherein determining (Fig. 8A – S840, Fig. 8B – S852) whether the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is exhausted ([0139] If an SgNB has been added, the MeNB 810 waits for the reception of an SN RELEASE REQUIRED message from the SgNB 820 (at operation S840)... If the timer has expired, the SgNB 820 transmits an SgNB activity notification message to the MeNB 810 through an X2 interface (at operation S850). The MeNB 810 that has received the SgNB activity notification message transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUEST message (e.g., MeNB determines the remaining inactive time of the UE for the SgNB is exhausted) to the SgNB 820 through an X2 interface (at operation S860)) comprises:
in response to that the services of the UE is currently carried by the MN (Fig. 8A-B; [0138] FIG. 8A is a diagram illustrating a control procedure for MN-initiated SN release (hence release services of the UE is currently carried by the MN) according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0183] If the SN release condition has been satisfied, the MeNB may perform a bearer type change from a current SCG bearer into an MCG bearer (1040)), detecting, by the MN (Fig. 8A – S840, Fig. 8B – S852), whether the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is exhausted ([0142] An SgNB activity notification message may be periodically transmitted. The message may include at least one of whether an SgNB inactivity timer for each UE has expired; [0153] The MeNB 810 identifies whether to perform an MN-initiated SN release operation based on the received SgNB activity notification information. Specifically, the MeNB 810 may identify whether to perform an SN release operation based on whether an SgNB inactivity timer has expires (at operation S852) (e.g., MeNB determines the remaining inactive time of the UE for the SgNB is exhausted) and/or whether an MeNB inactivity timer has expired (at operation S854) and/or a result of a comparison between the BO of the MeNB and a threshold (at operation S856)).
Regarding claim 9, RYOO further discloses:
wherein determining (Fig. 8A – S840, Fig. 8B – S852) whether the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is exhausted ([0139] If an SgNB has been added, the MeNB 810 waits for the reception of an SN RELEASE REQUIRED message from the SgNB 820 (at operation S840)... If the timer has expired, the SgNB 820 transmits an SgNB activity notification message to the MeNB 810 through an X2 interface (at operation S850). The MeNB 810 that has received the SgNB activity notification message transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUEST message (e.g., MeNB determines the remaining inactive time of the UE for the SgNB is exhausted) to the SgNB 820 through an X2 interface (at operation S860)) comprises:
in response to that the services of the UE is currently carried by the target SN ([0139] If an SgNB has been added, the MeNB 810 waits for the reception of an SN RELEASE REQUIRED message from the SgNB 820 (at operation S840) (hence the services of the UE is currently carried by the SgNB after the SgNB has been added)... If the timer has expired, the SgNB 820 transmits an SgNB activity notification message to the MeNB 810 through an X2 interface (at operation S850); [0058]This is a method of performing an operation of adding an SgNB when a traffic capacity is a given level or more. A criterion for identifying whether a traffic capacity is a given level or more includes the following criteria. [0059] If the amount of data accumulated in a buffer is a threshold or more in bearers to be changed into SCG bearers after an SN addition procedure based on a criterion), and the MN receives a SN activity notification message carrying an inactive indication indicating that the UE is inactive (Fig. 8A-B – S850; [0139] If the timer has expired, the SgNB 820 transmits an SgNB activity notification message to the MeNB 810 through an X2 interface (at operation S850)), determining that the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is exhausted ([0139] If an SgNB has been added, the MeNB 810 waits for the reception of an SN RELEASE REQUIRED message from the SgNB 820 (at operation S840)... If the timer has expired, the SgNB 820 transmits an SgNB activity notification message to the MeNB 810 through an X2 interface (at operation S850). The MeNB 810 that has received the SgNB activity notification message transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUEST message (e.g., MeNB determines the remaining inactive time of the UE for the SgNB is exhausted) to the SgNB 820 through an X2 interface (at operation S860)).
Regarding claim 10, RYOO further discloses:
before releasing the resources allocated to the UE (Fig. 8A-B – S880, S890; [0139] After the MeNB 810 receives the SN RELEASE REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message, an SN release procedure is performed between the terminal 800 and the SgNB 820 and the MeNB 810 (at operation S880). If an SgNB has not been added at operation S820, the MeNB 810 and a terminal 800 perform an RRC release procedure because the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired (at operation S890)), in response to that a SN activity notification message carrying an indication indicating that the UE is reactivated is received from the target SN ([0150] If the expiration state of an inactivity timer for at least one PDU session has changed, an SgNB activity notification message may be transmitted. In this case, an Active or Not active indication may be included in the message), revoking a release decision made for the UE ([0164] if traffic is present in an SN, the MeNB can stably support service by maintaining an EN-DC terminal in an RRC connected mode (hence the SN release procedure is not performed e.g., revoked)).
Regarding claim 11, RYOO further discloses:
wherein a target SN serves as a current node (Fig. 7A-8B (e.g., MeNB and SgNB are serving as the current nodes); [0046] An MN, that is, a term used in the disclosure, is a master node, and may be interchangeably used with an MeNB... an SN is a secondary node, and may be interchangeably used with an SeNB, SgNB... and an MN and an SN are connected to a network and are main agents for resource allocation for a terminal; [0133]If the SgNB has been added, the MeNB 710 waits for the reception of an SN RELEASE REQUIRED message (SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED) from the SgNB 720 (at operation S740); [0058] performing an operation of adding an SgNB when a traffic capacity is a given level or more; [0059] If the amount of data accumulated in a buffer is a threshold or more in bearers to be changed into SCG bearers after an SN addition procedure based on a criterion (hence the target SgNB serves as the current node)), a source bearer node for services of the UE is a MN (Fig. 8A-B MeNB; [0138] FIG. 8A is a diagram illustrating a control procedure for MN-initiated SN release (hence the source bearer node for services of the UE is the MN/MeNB) according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [0183] If the SN release condition has been satisfied, the MeNB may perform a bearer type change from a current SCG bearer into an MCG bearer (1040) [0138];), the target bearer node is the target SN ((Fig. 8A-B SgNB; [0046] an SN is a secondary node, and may be interchangeably used with an SeNB, SgNB or gNB in an embodiment of the disclosure; [0075] A base station configures a measurement for an SN target in a terminal... the base station identifies a traffic state condition, and performs an SgNB addition if the traffic state is a threshold or more), the method further comprises:
before (Fig. 8A – S810) the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node is exhausted (Fig. 8A – S830, S850; [0139] If the timer has expired, the SgNB 820 transmits an SgNB activity notification message to the MeNB 810 through an X2 interface (at operation S850)), receiving a message from the MN ([0178] An MeNB may transmit, to an SgNB, SPID IE information within cell group configuration information (CG-config Info) through the X2 interface when performing an SN addition (SGNB ADDITION REQUEST on the X2 interface) or/and an SN modification (SGNB MODIFICATION REQUEST on the X2 interface). A separate data inactivity timer may be configured in the CU-UP with respect to a corresponding terminal through such information); and
determining, based on the total preset inactive time duration at the target SN ([0136] For example, if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set to 10 seconds, SN release and addition do not occur during the at least 10 seconds; [0136] an SgNB may be immediately added again and the inactivity timer of the SgNB may be started again from the beginning) to obtain the remaining inactive time of the UE (Fig. 7A – S730) for the target bearer node ([0161] the CU-UP of the SgNB sets the same traffic inactivity timer value in the DU of the SgNB... The CU and the DU can mutually obtain whether corresponding timers have expired without a status report on the traffic inactivity timer through an operation of resetting a traffic inactivity timer value based on the last arrived packet (hence there is a timer for continuous inactivity (e.g., sum) that gets reset when a packet arrives). That is, the CU-CP and the DU can be aware of their traffic states (active or not active) using the same value as the setting value (e.g., a preset time of when the inactivity timer expires after a set duration of continuous inactivity) of the traffic inactivity timer although the CU-UP and the DU do not share traffic state information through an F1 interface).
RYOO does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the message including the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node; and
obtaining the remaining inactive time of the UE includes subtracting the continued inactive time at the source bearer node from the total preset inactive time duration at the target SN.
However, WANG discloses a message ([0107] The MN initiates a SN addition request message, which includes information on the bearer type (MCG, SCG, Split)) including a continued inactive time of the UE occurred at a source bearer node ([0108] Scenario (1): MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 according to UE level; [0146] In the SN addition process triggered by MN, MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 or the user inactivity state maintenance time T2 in the SN ADD request message, according to the service bearer level or UE level); and
obtaining a remaining inactive time of the UE for a target bearer node ([0110] The SN can inherit the remaining UE inactivity timer T1 and the UE inactivity duration T2, or it can set a new timer T3) including subtracting the continued inactive time at the source bearer node from a total preset inactive time duration at a target SN ([0112] Scenario (2): Since the SN terminates the node, the SN maintains the PDCP state. The SN receives the UE inactivity state duration T2 from the MN. The SN generates a new user inactivity timer T3 according to the UE's bearer type configuration. The SN uses the absolute difference between T2 and T3 as the new user inactivity effective timer; [0205] The SN receives the add request message and establishes the relevant bearer. The SN configures a new time T3 (40s) based on the service bearer type).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify receiving the message and obtaining the remaining inactive time of the UE of RYOO to include the message including the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node; and obtaining the remaining inactive time of the UE includes subtracting the continued inactive time at the source bearer node from the total preset inactive time duration at the target SN as taught by WANG in order to enable the master node to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE and make a unified decision of when to release the user inactivity status, and thus reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (WANG - [0177] through the technical solutions of the above embodiments, the MN makes a unified decision to release the user inactivity status based on the user inactivity status information transmitted by the SN and in combination with the RLC bearer status of other remaining bearers on the MN side. After the SN is added, it inherits the user inactivity status information of the MN, and the SN takes effect within the timer range according to the UE level...The MN makes a unified decision, thereby enabling the wireless network to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE; RYOO – [0136] In order to reduce signaling overhead attributable to such an unnecessary SN release and addition operation, the inactivity timer of an SgNB may be set as a given value... Accordingly, signaling overhead may be reduced if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set as a value higher than a current value as described above).
Regarding claim 12, RYOO further discloses:
wherein receiving the message from the MN ([0133] If the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired, the MeNB 710 identifies whether an SgNB has been added (at operation S720; [0182] FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an example of an SN release operation performed by an MeNB... the MeNB may identify a traffic threshold (this may be called a third threshold) for performing an SN addition (1000)... Thereafter, the MeNB receives an SgNB activity notification message from the SgNB (1020), and identifies whether an SN release condition has been satisfied (1030) (hence the SgNB receives the SN addition request message from the MN)) comprises:
receiving a SN addition request message from the MN ([0139] Referring to FIG. 8A... If the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired, the MeNB 810 identifies whether an SgNB has been added (at operation S820); [0178] An MeNB may transmit, to an SgNB, SPID IE information within cell group configuration information (CG-config Info) through the X2 interface when performing an SN addition (SGNB ADDITION REQUEST on the X2 interface) or/and an SN modification (SGNB MODIFICATION REQUEST on the X2 interface; [0182];).
RYOO does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiving message and the SN addition request message both carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node.
However, WANG discloses a message including a continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node ([0103] In this embodiment of the disclosure, after receiving the first indication message from the master node MN, the method further includes: inheriting the remaining UE inactivity timer time through the SN, or setting a new timer time through the SN, or modifying the current inactivity timer duration of the SN’; ) and a SN addition request message carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node ([0107] The MN initiates a SN addition request message, which includes information on the bearer type (MCG, SCG, Split); [0108] Scenario (1): MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 according to UE level; [0146] In the SN addition process triggered by MN, MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 or the user inactivity state maintenance time T2 in the SN ADD request message, according to the service bearer level or UE level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify receiving the message and the SN addition request message of RYOO to include the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node as taught by WANG in order to enable the master node to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE and make a unified decision of when to release the user inactivity status, and thus reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (WANG - [0177] through the technical solutions of the above embodiments, the MN makes a unified decision to release the user inactivity status based on the user inactivity status information transmitted by the SN and in combination with the RLC bearer status of other remaining bearers on the MN side. After the SN is added, it inherits the user inactivity status information of the MN, and the SN takes effect within the timer range according to the UE level...The MN makes a unified decision, thereby enabling the wireless network to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE; RYOO – [0136] In order to reduce signaling overhead attributable to such an unnecessary SN release and addition operation, the inactivity timer of an SgNB may be set as a given value... Accordingly, signaling overhead may be reduced if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set as a value higher than a current value as described above).
Regarding claim 13, RYOO further discloses:
wherein receiving the message from the MN ([0133] If the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired, the MeNB 710 identifies whether an SgNB has been added (at operation S720; [0182] FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an example of an SN release operation performed by an MeNB... the MeNB may identify a traffic threshold (this may be called a third threshold) for performing an SN addition (1000)... Thereafter, the MeNB receives an SgNB activity notification message from the SgNB (1020), and identifies whether an SN release condition has been satisfied (1030) (hence the SgNB receives the SN addition request message from the MN))) comprises:
receiving a SN modification request message from the MN ([0139] Referring to FIG. 8A... If the user inactivity timer of the MeNB has expired, the MeNB 810 identifies whether an SgNB has been added (at operation S820); [0178] An MeNB may transmit, to an SgNB, SPID IE information within cell group configuration information (CG-config Info) through the X2 interface when performing an SN addition (SGNB ADDITION REQUEST on the X2 interface) or/and an SN modification (SGNB MODIFICATION REQUEST on the X2 interface; [0182]; ).
RYOO does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiving message and the SN modification request message both carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node.
However, WANG discloses a message including a continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node ([0103] In this embodiment of the disclosure, after receiving the first indication message from the master node MN, the method further includes: inheriting the remaining UE inactivity timer time through the SN, or setting a new timer time through the SN, or modifying the current inactivity timer duration of the SN’; ) and a SN modification request message carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node ([0104] In this embodiment of the disclosure, the first indication information includes at least one of the following: SN add request message, MN trigger SN modification request message, SN trigger SN modification requirement confirmation message, SN change request confirmation message, and SN release request message; [0108] Scenario (1): MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 according to UE level; [0149] In the SN modification process triggered by MN, MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 or the user inactivity state maintenance time T2 in the SN modification request message, according to the user level or service bearer level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify receiving the message and the SN modification request message of RYOO to include the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node as taught by WANG in order to enable the master node to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE and make a unified decision of when to release the user inactivity status, and thus reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (WANG - [0177] through the technical solutions of the above embodiments, the MN makes a unified decision to release the user inactivity status based on the user inactivity status information transmitted by the SN and in combination with the RLC bearer status of other remaining bearers on the MN side. After the SN is added, it inherits the user inactivity status information of the MN, and the SN takes effect within the timer range according to the UE level...The MN makes a unified decision, thereby enabling the wireless network to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE; RYOO – [0136] In order to reduce signaling overhead attributable to such an unnecessary SN release and addition operation, the inactivity timer of an SgNB may be set as a given value... Accordingly, signaling overhead may be reduced if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set as a value higher than a current value as described above).
Regarding claim 14, RYOO further discloses:
in response to that the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node being exhausted is detected at the SN (Fig. 8A – S830, S850; [0139] If the timer has expired, the SgNB 820 transmits an SgNB activity notification message to the MeNB 810 through an X2 interface (at operation S850), sending a SN activity notification message carrying an inactive indication indicating that the UE is inactive to the MN (Fig. 8A – S850).
Regarding claim 15, RYOO further discloses:
after sending the SN activity notification message (Fig. 8A – S850) carrying the inactive indication indicating that the UE is inactive to the MN ([0143] If all signaling and data inactivity timers for all types of traffic of a UE have expired, an SgNB activity notification message may be transmitted; [0139];), in response to that service data of the UE appears ([0150] If the expiration state of an inactivity timer for at least one PDU session has changed, an SgNB activity notification message may be transmitted. In this case, an Active or Not active indication may be included in the message) before the resources allocated to the UE are released (Fig. 8A – S890; [0164] if traffic is present in an SN, the MeNB can stably support service by maintaining an EN-DC terminal in an RRC connected mode; [0156] In another embodiment, although the SgNB inactivity timer has already expired, if the BO of the MeNB 810 is greater than a threshold (at operations S852, S856), the MeNB 810 may maintain an SN connection. That is, the MeNB 810 may not perform an SN release request. Thereafter, when the BO of the MeNB becomes a threshold or less, the MeNB 810 may initiate an MN-initiated SN release procedure), clearing the remaining inactive time to zero, and re-taking the total preset inactive time duration as the remaining inactive time of the UE for the target bearer node ([0161] the CU-UP of the SgNB sets the same traffic inactivity timer value in the DU of the SgNB... The CU and the DU can mutually obtain whether corresponding timers have expired without a status report on the traffic inactivity timer through an operation of resetting a traffic inactivity timer value based on the last arrived packet (hence there is a timer for continuous inactivity gets reset to zero when a packet arrives). That is, the CU-CP and the DU can be aware of their traffic states (active or not active) using the same value as the setting value (e.g., a preset time of when the inactivity timer expires after a set duration of continuous inactivity) of the traffic inactivity timer although the CU-UP and the DU do not share traffic state information through an F1 interface; [0136] For example, if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set to 10 seconds, SN release and addition do not occur during the at least 10 seconds); and
sending a SN activity notification message carrying an indication indicating that the UE is reactivated to the MN ([0150] If the expiration state of an inactivity timer for at least one PDU session has changed, an SgNB activity notification message may be transmitted. In this case, an Active or Not active indication may be included in the message).
Regarding claim 17, RYOO further discloses:
wherein sending the message carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node to the MN ([0135] the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710; [0133] If the user inactivity timer of the SgNB has expired, the SgNB 720 transmits an SgNB RELEASE REQUIRED message to the MeNB 710 through an X2 interface (at operation S750)).
RYOO does not explicitly disclose wherein the message comprises:
sending a SN modification request message carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node to the MN.
However, WANG discloses a message ([0133] In this embodiment of the disclosure, after receiving the second indication message from the secondary node SN, the method further includes) comprises:
sending a SN modification request message ([0151] Figure 7 is a flowchart of the SN modification process triggered by the SN according to the example of this disclosure, as shown in Figure 7) carrying the continued inactive time of the UE occurred at the source bearer node to the MN ([0152] In the SN modification process triggered by SN, MN carries the remaining UE inactivity time T1 or the user inactivity state maintenance time T2 in the SN ADD request message, according to the user level or service bearer level).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify sending the message of RYOO to include the message comprises sending the SN modification request message carrying the continued inactive of the UE occurred at the source bearer node to the MN as taught by WANG in order to enable the master node to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE and make a unified decision of when to release the user inactivity status, and thus reduce unnecessary signaling overhead (WANG - [0177] through the technical solutions of the above embodiments, the MN makes a unified decision to release the user inactivity status based on the user inactivity status information transmitted by the SN and in combination with the RLC bearer status of other remaining bearers on the MN side. After the SN is added, it inherits the user inactivity status information of the MN, and the SN takes effect within the timer range according to the UE level...The MN makes a unified decision, thereby enabling the wireless network to more accurately control the inactivity behavior of the UE; RYOO – [0136] In order to reduce signaling overhead attributable to such an unnecessary SN release and addition operation, the inactivity timer of an SgNB may be set as a given value... Accordingly, signaling overhead may be reduced if the inactivity timer of an SgNB is set as a value higher than a current value as described above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form.
Wu et al. (US 20240073980 A1) teaches the UE, the MN, and the C-SN can support procedures for releasing a C-SN as a candidate SN or modifying the configuration data and/or the conditions associated with the C-SN.
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418