DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 16 October 2024. Claims 1-5 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimoda et al. (US 2026/0173020 A1) (hereinafter Shim).
In regards to claim 5, Shim teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) having PC5-RRC connection with other UE, comprising:
transmitting, to the other UE, a reference signal for sidelink positioning (Shim, fig. 14-22, fig. 25, [0124]-[0145], [0156]-[0179], [0180]-[0232], [0233]-[0281], [0282]-[0310], [0311]-[0377], [0378]-[0452], [0453]-[0464]: [0238] The example illustrated in FIG. 14 represents a case in which the positioning signal transmission/reception request denoted by step ST1429 is made after the positioning resource notification denoted by steps ST1423 and ST1427. However, UE#1 and UE#2 may give the positioning resource notification after the positioning signal transmission/reception request. The positioning resource notification from UE#1 and UE#2 may be given using, for example, sidelink (SL) control information (SCI). As a result, for example, UE#1 and UE#2 can transmit and receive positioning signals immediately after receiving the positioning resource notification, and consequently transmission and reception of unnecessary positioning signals can be prevented.; and
acquiring a PC5-RRC message including a measurement result of sidelink positioning (Shim, fig. 14-22, fig. 25, [0124]-[0145], [0156]-[0179], [0180]-[0232], [0233]-[0281], [0282]-[0310], [0311]-[0377], [0378]-[0452], [0453]-[0464]: [0198] In addition, SL communication is designed to support RRC signaling (see Non Patent Literature 22 (3GPP TS23.287)). RRC signaling in SL communication is also referred to as PC5 RRC signaling. Examples of proposed techniques include notification of UE capabilities between UEs that perform PC5 communication, and notification of AS layer settings for performing V2X communication using PC5communication. [0214] A positioning protocol (hereinafter may be referred to as PC5 Positioning Protocol or PCPP) that terminates between UEs may be provided. The request may be transmitted using PCPP signaling. As a result, for example, flexibility in the communication system can be improved. [0244] In step ST1508 in FIG. 15, UE#1 makes an inquiry to a UE having the LMF function. The inquiry may be made by broadcast, individual notification to UEs, or simultaneous notification to the UEs in a predetermined group. For the inquiry, for example, a solicitation message disclosed in Non Patent Literature 23 (3GPP TS23.303) may be used. The message may include information indicating that the positioning of UE#1 is requested. UE#2 may recognize that UE#1 is requesting positioning in response to step ST1508. In step ST1510, UE#2 may notify UE#1 of information indicating that UE#2 has the positioning function. The notification may be given, for example, using a response message disclosed in Non Patent Literature 23 (3GPP TS23.303).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda et al. (US 2026/0173020 A1) (hereinafter Shim) in view of Karjalainen et al. (US 2020/0336194 A1) (hereinafter Kar).
In regards to claim 1, Shim-Kar teaches a user equipment (UE) having PC5-RRC connection with other UE, comprising:
transmission circuitry configured to transmit, to the other UE, a reference signal for sidelink positioning (Shim, fig. 14-22, fig. 25, [0124]-[0145], [0156]-[0179], [0180]-[0232], [0233]-[0281], [0282]-[0310], [0311]-[0377], [0378]-[0452], [0453]-[0464]: [0238] The example illustrated in FIG. 14 represents a case in which the positioning signal transmission/reception request denoted by step ST1429 is made after the positioning resource notification denoted by steps ST1423 and ST1427. However, UE#1 and UE#2 may give the positioning resource notification after the positioning signal transmission/reception request. The positioning resource notification from UE#1 and UE#2 may be given using, for example, sidelink (SL) control information (SCI). As a result, for example, UE#1 and UE#2 can transmit and receive positioning signals immediately after receiving the positioning resource notification, and consequently transmission and reception of unnecessary positioning signals can be prevented.); and
higher layer processing circuitry configured to acquire a PC5-RRC message including a measurement result of sidelink positioning (Shim, fig. 14-22, fig. 25, [0124]-[0145], [0156]-[0179], [0180]-[0232], [0233]-[0281], [0282]-[0310], [0311]-[0377], [0378]-[0452], [0453]-[0464]: [0198] In addition, SL communication is designed to support RRC signaling (see Non Patent Literature 22 (3GPP TS23.287)). RRC signaling in SL communication is also referred to as PC5 RRC signaling. Examples of proposed techniques include notification of UE capabilities between UEs that perform PC5 communication, and notification of AS layer settings for performing V2X communication using PC5communication. [0203] UE positioning may be performed using SL. [0358] In step ST2243 illustrated in FIG. 22, the base station notifies the LMF of information related to the positioning signal reception result. The notification may be given using, for example, NRPPa signaling. For the notification, for example, signaling of NRPPa MEASUREMENT RESPONSE disclosed in Non Patent Literature 24 (3GPP TS38.305) may be used. The notification may include information related to the positioning signal reception result of UE#1 and/or UE#2. In step ST2245, the LMF calculates the position of UE#1.).
Thus, the system of Shim does not explicitly teach the term higher layer.
Similar to the system of Shim, Kar teaches higher-layer configuration communicated to the UE via an RRC message (Kar, [0088]), which can be seen as, higher layer (Kar, fig. 2-3, [0025]-[0050], [0051]-[0100], [0101]-[0147]: See fig. 2. [0075] FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating shows an example of a joint quasi-colocated (QCL) SSB-CSI-RS beam report pair in spatial beam domain in spatial beam domain according to an example implementation. In this example shown in FIG. 2, SSB resources are presented as “wide” beams 212 and CSI-RS resources shown as “narrow” beams. However, this is merely provided as an example, and other beam widths may be used, as the SSB and CSI-RS beams may be any beam widths. A network has higher layer configured CSI-RS resources: 2, 5, 7 and 9 to be spatially QCL:ed with SSB resource 20. Furthermore, network has configured CSI-RS and SSB to be jointly to be reported and the number of SSB resources (1) and the number of CSI-RS resources (4) to be reported as part of a resource pair. For example, the following resources and RSRP values may be communicated (e.g., using differential power offsets, with respect to a reference RSRP) via a joint quasi-colocated (QCL) SSB-CSI-RS report pair (or joint quasi-colocated (QCL) SSB-CSI-RS beam report) for resource pair 1: SSB-20 (−80 dBm), CRI-2 (−78 dBm), CRI-5 (−70 dBm), CRI-7 (−54 dBm), CRI-9 (−58 dBm). [0076] In this example, network has configured higher layer parameter to UE to select L-strongest QCL-SSB-CSI-RS pairs as ‘SSB-only’ (selecting a resource pair based on a strongest SSB RSRP). UE has performed L1-RSRP measurements over configured SSB and CSI-RS resources. Then, configured number of reported SSBs, i.e., L=1 and CSI-RS resources, N=4, has been selected for a joint QCL SSB-CSI-RS report pair with SSB and CSI-RS resources or resource sets. CSI-RS resource indices 2, 5, 7, and 9 in conjunction with SSB resource indicator 20 and their L1-RSRP values form the joint beam report QCL-pair. [0088] UE may be informed via RRC (radio resource control) message of what resources are QCLed (higher layer configuration). K corresponds the total number of configured SSB resources out of which L QCL-SSB-CSI-RS are selected. [0088] UE may be informed via RRC (radio resource control) message of what resources are QCLed (higher layer configuration). K corresponds the total number of configured SSB resources out of which L QCL-SSB-CSI-RS are selected.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shim with Far to to improve reporting efficiency by combining beam reports for multiple resources, similar to SSB and CSI-RS resources (Kar, [0041]).
In regards to claim 2, Shim teaches the UE according to the claim 1:
the measurement result of sidelink positioning includes RSRPP of the reference signal for sidelink positioning (Shim, fig. 14-22, fig. 25, [0124]-[0145], [0156]-[0179], [0180]-[0232], [0233]-[0281], [0282]-[0310], [0311]-[0377], [0378]-[0452], [0453]-[0464]: [0166] Next, in step ST602, the communication terminal detects, for the synchronized cell, a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), i.e. a reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base station for each cell, and measures the reference signal received power (RSRP) of the RS. For the reference signal (RS), codes corresponding one-to-one to PCIs are used. The cell can be separated from other cells based on the correlation with the code. By deriving the RS code of the cell from the PCI identified in step ST601, it is possible to detect the RS and measure the RS received power. [0167] Next, in step ST603, the communication terminal selects, from among the one or more cells detected by step ST602, a cell having the best RS reception quality, e.g. a cell having the highest RS received power, or the best cell.).
In regards to claim 3, Shim-Kar teaches a user equipment (UE) having PC5-RRC connection with other UE, comprising:
reception circuitry configured to receive, from the other UE, a reference signal for sidelink positioning (Shim, fig. 14-22, fig. 25, [0124]-[0145], [0156]-[0179], [0180]-[0232], [0233]-[0281], [0282]-[0310], [0311]-[0377], [0378]-[0452], [0453]-[0464]: [0238] The example illustrated in FIG. 14 represents a case in which the positioning signal transmission/reception request denoted by step ST1429 is made after the positioning resource notification denoted by steps ST1423 and ST1427. However, UE#1 and UE#2 may give the positioning resource notification after the positioning signal transmission/reception request. The positioning resource notification from UE#1 and UE#2 may be given using, for example, sidelink (SL) control information (SCI). As a result, for example, UE#1 and UE#2 can transmit and receive positioning signals immediately after receiving the positioning resource notification, and consequently transmission and reception of unnecessary positioning signals can be prevented.); and
higher layer processing circuitry configured to send a PC5-RRC message including a measurement result of sidelink positioning (Shim, fig. 14-22, fig. 25, [0124]-[0145], [0156]-[0179], [0180]-[0232], [0233]-[0281], [0282]-[0310], [0311]-[0377], [0378]-[0452], [0453]-[0464]: [0198] In addition, SL communication is designed to support RRC signaling (see Non Patent Literature 22 (3GPP TS23.287)). RRC signaling in SL communication is also referred to as PC5 RRC signaling. Examples of proposed techniques include notification of UE capabilities between UEs that perform PC5 communication, and notification of AS layer settings for performing V2X communication using PC5communication. [0203] UE positioning may be performed using SL. [0358] In step ST2243 illustrated in FIG. 22, the base station notifies the LMF of information related to the positioning signal reception result. The notification may be given using, for example, NRPPa signaling. For the notification, for example, signaling of NRPPa MEASUREMENT RESPONSE disclosed in Non Patent Literature 24 (3GPP TS38.305) may be used. The notification may include information related to the positioning signal reception result of UE#1 and/or UE#2. In step ST2245, the LMF calculates the position of UE#1.).
Thus, the system of Shim does not explicitly teach the term higher layer.
Similar to the system of Shim, Kar teaches higher-layer configuration communicated to the UE via an RRC message (Kar, [0088]), which can be seen as, higher layer (Kar, fig. 2-3, [0025]-[0050], [0051]-[0100], [0101]-[0147]: See fig. 2. [0075] FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating shows an example of a joint quasi-colocated (QCL) SSB-CSI-RS beam report pair in spatial beam domain in spatial beam domain according to an example implementation. In this example shown in FIG. 2, SSB resources are presented as “wide” beams 212 and CSI-RS resources shown as “narrow” beams. However, this is merely provided as an example, and other beam widths may be used, as the SSB and CSI-RS beams may be any beam widths. A network has higher layer configured CSI-RS resources: 2, 5, 7 and 9 to be spatially QCL:ed with SSB resource 20. Furthermore, network has configured CSI-RS and SSB to be jointly to be reported and the number of SSB resources (1) and the number of CSI-RS resources (4) to be reported as part of a resource pair. For example, the following resources and RSRP values may be communicated (e.g., using differential power offsets, with respect to a reference RSRP) via a joint quasi-colocated (QCL) SSB-CSI-RS report pair (or joint quasi-colocated (QCL) SSB-CSI-RS beam report) for resource pair 1: SSB-20 (−80 dBm), CRI-2 (−78 dBm), CRI-5 (−70 dBm), CRI-7 (−54 dBm), CRI-9 (−58 dBm). [0076] In this example, network has configured higher layer parameter to UE to select L-strongest QCL-SSB-CSI-RS pairs as ‘SSB-only’ (selecting a resource pair based on a strongest SSB RSRP). UE has performed L1-RSRP measurements over configured SSB and CSI-RS resources. Then, configured number of reported SSBs, i.e., L=1 and CSI-RS resources, N=4, has been selected for a joint QCL SSB-CSI-RS report pair with SSB and CSI-RS resources or resource sets. CSI-RS resource indices 2, 5, 7, and 9 in conjunction with SSB resource indicator 20 and their L1-RSRP values form the joint beam report QCL-pair. [0088] UE may be informed via RRC (radio resource control) message of what resources are QCLed (higher layer configuration). K corresponds the total number of configured SSB resources out of which L QCL-SSB-CSI-RS are selected. [0088] UE may be informed via RRC (radio resource control) message of what resources are QCLed (higher layer configuration). K corresponds the total number of configured SSB resources out of which L QCL-SSB-CSI-RS are selected.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shim with Far to to improve reporting efficiency by combining beam reports for multiple resources, similar to SSB and CSI-RS resources (Kar, [0041]).
In regards to claim 4, Shim teaches the UE according to the claim 3:
the measurement result of sidelink positioning includes RSRPP of the reference signal for sidelink positioning (Shim, fig. 14-22, fig. 25, [0124]-[0145], [0156]-[0179], [0180]-[0232], [0233]-[0281], [0282]-[0310], [0311]-[0377], [0378]-[0452], [0453]-[0464]: (Shim, fig. 14-22, [0124]-[0145], [0156]-[0179], [0180]-[0232], [0233]-[0281], [0282]-[0310], [0311]-[0377], [0378]-[0452], [0453]-[0464]: [0166] Next, in step ST602, the communication terminal detects, for the synchronized cell, a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), i.e. a reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base station for each cell, and measures the reference signal received power (RSRP) of the RS. For the reference signal (RS), codes corresponding one-to-one to PCIs are used. The cell can be separated from other cells based on the correlation with the code. By deriving the RS code of the cell from the PCI identified in step ST601, it is possible to detect the RS and measure the RS received power. [0167] Next, in step ST603, the communication terminal selects, from among the one or more cells detected by step ST602, a cell having the best RS reception quality, e.g. a cell having the highest RS received power, or the best cell.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Falkenberg (US 20250261061 A1) discloses wireless communication techniques for managing sidelink communication during handover between base stations. Specifically, configuring sidelink communication using measurement and sidelink configuration parameters, reporting measurements, and maintain the sidelink connection as the UE transitions from a first cell to a second cell.
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468