DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to the application filed received on Oct. 16, 2024.
The Oath was received on Oct. 16, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on Oct. 16, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liqing Liu, et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20240349284 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches that a processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to perform operations comprising: receiving a configuration from a network for parameters including time and frequency resource parameters for a first bandwidth part (BWP) and frequency hopping (FH) parameters for determining time and frequency resource parameters for one or more FH BWPs from the first BWP; (Liu, in Fig. 2, 9, and 11 and in Paragraphs [0122], [0247]-[0248], [0250], and [0256], teaches that as shown in Fig. 2 and in Paragraph [0122], for each numerology and carrier, a resource grid of Ngrid,x size,μ NSCRB subcarriers in the frequency domain and Nsymb subframe,μ OFDM symbols in the time domain is defined, starting at common resource block Ngridstart,μ indicated by higher layer signaling, for downlink and uplink, respectively. In Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs [0247]-[0248], the UE 102 receives step 1102, from a base station 160 (network device), system information including a first RRC parameter. The system information is SIB 1. Or the system information is other system information broadcasted by the base station 160. (e.g., MIB or other SIBs). The first RRC parameter configures or provides the UE 102 a first PUCCH resource set which is used for transmission of HARQ-ACK information on a PUCCH in the initial UL BWP. Each PUCCH resource is identified or determined by at least a PUCCH format, a first (starting) symbol, a duration, a PRB offset, and an initial cyclic shift index in a set of initial cyclic shift indexes as shown in the table in Fig. 9. Further, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraph [0250], UE 102 and/or the base station 160 determines step 1106, whether or not to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping based on one or more factors. To be specific, the UE 102 and/or the base station 160 determines whether frequency hopping is applied to the PUCCH transmission based on one, more or all of a first DCI field of a first DCI format with CRC scrambled by a first RNTI, RRC parameter(s), a predefined rule, a MAC CE, or the broadcasted system information. For example, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraph [0256], specifically, the PUCCH frequency hopping flag field in the first DCI field is used to indicate the UE 102 whether the PUCCH is transmitted with frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a first value (e.g. '0'), the UE 102 determines step 1110 to transmit the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a second value (e.g. '1 '), the UE 102 determines step 1108 to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. Thus, UE receives the time and frequency resource parameters from a network device to configure in BWP or BWP with frequency hopping.) determining the time and frequency resource parameters for the one or more FH BWPs based in part on information included in the configuration from the network, the time and frequency resource parameters for the FH BWPs including at least a first physical resource block (PRB) offset between the first BWP and a first determined FH BWP; (Liu, in Fig. 9 and 10 in Paragraphs [0235]-[0236] and [0237]-[0239], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0235], UE 102 determines a PUCCH resource set for PUCCH transmission in the initial UL BWP of NBwPsize PRBs based on the RRC parameter pucch-Resource Common received from the base station (network device) and the predefined table (as shown in Fig. 9) associated to the cell specific PUCCH resource configuration. Further, in Paragraph [0236], in Fig. 10, according to each row of Table 900 (as an example, with row index 8), UE 102 is provided one PUCCH resource configuration relating to PUCCH format, first symbol, number of symbols, PRB offset, and set of initial CS (Cyclic Shift) indexes. Here, PRB offset, i.e. RBBWP offset=0, is used to determine the frequency location of PUCCH resources included in the PUCCH resource set. The PRB offset, RBBWP offset indicates an offset in PRBs relative to PRB0 of the initial UL BWP. PRB index for PUCCH resource(s) with certain index(es) is PRB0 of the initial UL BWP. PRB index of one PUCCH resource is different from that for another PUCCH resource. When frequency hopping is used for PUCCH transmission, one PUCCH resource is divided into two hops, i.e. the first hop and the second hop. The frequency offset (frequency distance: PRB offset) between two hops of one PUCCH resource for PUCCH transmission is configured as large as possible, which can harvest frequency diversity gain as much as possible and can avoid the fragmentation of data transmission. As shown in Fig 10, two hops of one PUCCH resource is configured on two edges of the initial UL BWP: one hop of one PUCCH resource is configured on one edge of the initial UL BWP and the other hop of the PUCCH resource is configured on the other edge of the initial ULBWP.) receiving a scheduling downlink control information (DCI) indicating the first BWP and a subset of the determined FH BWPs are activated for a first channel; and performing uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) communications on the first channel in the activated first BWP and the determined one or more FH BWPs (Liu, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs in [0117], [0251] and [0256], teaches that in Paragraph [0117], UE is configured by the based station, at least one initial BWP and up to 4 additional BWP(s). One of the initial BWP and the configured additional BWP(s) is activated as an active BWP. The UE monitors DCI format, and/or receive PDSCH in the active DL BWP and transmits PUSCH and/or PUCCH in the active UL BWP. In Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs [0251], dynamic indication of PUCCH frequency hopping is introduced to indicate a UE 102 whether to transmit a PUCCH using frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. The base station 160 uses the first DCI field included in the first DCI format to indicate UE 102 whether to transmit a PUCCH (the first channel) using frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. The PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in response to the reception of a PDSCH scheduled by the first DCI format is transmitted in the determined cell specific PUCCH resource with index rpuccH. Further, in Paragraph [0256], in the example, the PUCCH frequency hopping flag field in the first DCI is used to indicate the UE 102 whether the PUCCH is transmitted with frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a first value (e.g. '0'), the UE 102 determines step 1110 to transmit the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP (non-FH BWP) and the base station 160 receives the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a second value (e.g. '1 '), the UE 102 determines step 1108 to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP (FH BWP) and the base station 160 receives the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. Thus, based on the information in the DCI field in a received DCI from base station (DL communication), the first channel (PUCCH) is by UE (UL communication) transmitted through BWP and/or FH BWP.)
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Liu further teaches that wherein the first PRB offset is defined relative to a smallest or largest RB index of the first BWP and configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Liu, in Fig. 9 and 10 and in Paragraphs [0235]-[0236], teaches that in Fig. 9 and 10 and in Paragraphs [0235]-[0236], UE 102 determines a PUCCH resource set for PUCCH transmission in the initial UL BWP of NBwPsize PRBs based on the RRC parameter pucch-Resource-Common and the predefined table associated to the cell specific PUCCH resource configuration, using the table shown in Fig. 9. Namely, UE 102 is provided one PUCCH resource configuration relating to PUCCH format, first symbol, number of symbols, PRB offset, and set of initial CS indexes. In Fig. 10 and in Paragraph [0236], based on the index 8 (indicated by RRC parmeter pucch-Resource-Common), PRB offset, i.e. RBBWPoffset =0, is used to determine the frequency location of PUCCH resources included in the PUCCH resource set. The PRB offset indicates an offset in PRBs relative to PRB0 (the smallest index) of the initial UL BWP, where PRB offset, i.e. RBBWPoffset =0 means some PUCCH resources are configured in the PRB0 of the initial UL BWP. That is, PRB index for PUCCH resource(s) with certain index(es) is PRB0 of the initial UL BWP. In this example, the PRB offset is determined relative to PRB0 (the smallest PRB index) based on the indication of RRC parameter pucch-Resource-Common.)
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches that a processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to perform operations comprising: receiving a configuration from a network for parameters including time and frequency resource parameters for a first bandwidth part (BWP) and frequency hopping (FH) parameters for determining time and frequency resource parameters for one or more FH BWPs from the first BWP; (Liu, in Fig. 2, 9, and 11 and in Paragraphs [0122], [0247]-[0248], [0250], and [0256], teaches that as shown in Fig. 2 and in Paragraph [0122], for each numerology and carrier, a resource grid of Ngrid,x size,μ NSCRB subcarriers in the frequency domain and Nsymb subframe,μ OFDM symbols in the time domain is defined, starting at common resource block Ngridstart,μ indicated by higher layer signaling, for downlink and uplink, respectively. In Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs [0247]-[0248], the UE 102 receives step 1102, from a base station 160 (network device), system information including a first RRC parameter. The system information is SIB 1. Or the system information is other system information broadcasted by the base station 160. (e.g., MIB or other SIBs). The first RRC parameter configures or provides the UE 102 a first PUCCH resource set which is used for transmission of HARQ-ACK information on a PUCCH in the initial UL BWP. Each PUCCH resource is identified or determined by at least a PUCCH format, a first (starting) symbol, a duration, a PRB offset, and an initial cyclic shift index in a set of initial cyclic shift indexes as shown in the table in Fig. 9. Further, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraph [0250], UE 102 and/or the base station 160 determines step 1106, whether or not to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping based on one or more factors. To be specific, the UE 102 and/or the base station 160 determines whether frequency hopping is applied to the PUCCH transmission based on one, more or all of a first DCI field of a first DCI format with CRC scrambled by a first RNTI, RRC parameter(s), a predefined rule, a MAC CE, or the broadcasted system information. For example, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraph [0256], specifically, the PUCCH frequency hopping flag field in the first DCI field is used to indicate the UE 102 whether the PUCCH is transmitted with frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a first value (e.g. '0'), the UE 102 determines step 1110 to transmit the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a second value (e.g. '1 '), the UE 102 determines step 1108 to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. Thus, UE receives the time and frequency resource parameters from a network device to configure in BWP or BWP with frequency hopping.) receiving a scheduling downlink control information (DCI) indicating the first BWP is activated for a first channel; receiving an indication that at least one of the one or more FH BWPs is activated; performing uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) communications on the first channel in the activated first BWP and the determined one or more FH BWPs (Liu, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs in [0117], [0251] and [0256], teaches that in Paragraph [0117], UE is configured by the based station, at least one initial BWP and up to 4 additional BWP(s). One of the initial BWP and the configured additional BWP(s) is activated as an active BWP (the first BWP). The UE monitors DCI format, and/or receive PDSCH in the active DL BWP and transmits PUSCH and/or PUCCH in the active UL BWP. In Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs [0251], dynamic indication of PUCCH frequency hopping is introduced to indicate a UE 102 whether to transmit a PUCCH using frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. The base station 160 uses the first DCI field included in the first DCI format to indicate UE 102 whether to transmit a PUCCH (the first channel) using frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. The PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in response to the reception of a PDSCH scheduled by the first DCI format is transmitted in the determined cell specific PUCCH resource with index rpuccH. Further, in Paragraph [0256], in the example, the PUCCH frequency hopping flag field in the first DCI is used to indicate the UE 102 whether the PUCCH is transmitted with frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a first value (e.g. '0'), the UE 102 determines step 1110 to transmit the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP (non-FH BWP) and the base station 160 receives the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a second value (e.g. '1 '), the UE 102 determines step 1108 to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP (FH BWP) and the base station 160 receives the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. Thus, based on the information in the DCI field in a received DCI from base station (DL communication), the first channel (PUCCH) is by UE (UL communication) transmitted through BWP and/or FH BWP.) determining the time and resource parameters for the one or more activated FH BWPs by excluding the deactivated one or more FH BWPs based on information included in the configuration from the network and the scheduling DCI; (Liu, in Paragraph [0256], teaches that in the above, the PUCCH frequency hopping flag field in the first DCI is used to indicate the UE 102 whether the PUCCH is transmitted with frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag in DCI is set to a first value (e.g. '0'), the UE 102 determines step 1110 to transmit the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP (non-FH BWP) and the base station 160 receives the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag in DCI is set to a second value (e.g. '1 '), the UE 102 determines step 1108 to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP (FH BWP) and the base station 160 receives the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. Thus, based on the flag of the frequency hopping in DCI, FH BWP is activated and configured and also FH BWP is deactivated according to this flag in DCI.)
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Liu further teaches that wherein the indication is carried in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Liu, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs [0250], teaches that in Paragraph [0250], in Fig. 11, UE 102 and/or the base station 160 determines whether frequency hopping is applied to the PUCCH transmission based on one or more or all of a first DCI field of a first DCI format with CRC scrambled by a first RNTI, RRC parameter(s), a predefined rule, a MAC CE, the broadcasted system information, the transmitted preamble index, the PRACH resource where the preamble is transmitted, the RSRP of the selected SS/PBCH block, one or more RSRP thresholds. Here, a MAC CE is included in a PDSCH scheduled by the format with CRC scrambled by the first RNTI. Thus, it is indicated by MAC CE included in PDSCH whether the frequency hopping is applied in PUCCH transmission or not.).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Liu further teaches that wherein the indication is carried in the scheduling DCI (Liu, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs [0249] and [0256], teaches that in Fig. 11 and in Paragraph [0249], The UE 102 receives step 1104, from a base station160, a PDCCH with a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH and the DCI format herein is a DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by TC-RNTI (Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier). The first DCI field, ‘PUCCH frequency hopping flag field’ is used to indicate the UE 102 whether the PUCCH is transmitted with frequency hopping or without frequency hopping in initial UL BWP. In a case that the flag is set to a first value (e.g. '0'), the UE 102 determines step 1110 to transmit the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In this case, the base station 160 determines to receive the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In a case that the flag is set to a second value (e.g. '1 '), the UE 102 determines step 1108 to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In this case, the base station 160 determines to receive the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. Thus, the indication (PUCCH frequency hopping flag field) is carried in scheduling DCI.).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 12, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Liu further teaches that wherein a new bitmap field is added to the scheduling DCI, wherein each bit is used to indicate an activation or deactivation status for an ith FH BWP or sub-band. (Liu, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs [0249] and [0256], teaches that in Fig. 11 and in Paragraph [0249], The UE 102 receives step 1104, from a base station160, a PDCCH with a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH and the DCI format herein is a DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by TC-RNTI (Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier). The first DCI field, ‘PUCCH frequency hopping flag field’ (the added bitmap field for FH BWP) is used to indicate the UE 102 whether the PUCCH is transmitted with frequency hopping or without frequency hopping in initial UL BWP. In a case that the flag is set to a first value (e.g. '0'), the UE 102 determines step 1110 to transmit the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In this case, the base station 160 determines to receive the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In a case that the flag is set to a second value (e.g. '1 '), the UE 102 determines step 1108 to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In this case, the base station 160 determines to receive the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. Thus, the activation or deactivation of FH BWP is indicated by the new field “PUCCH frequency hopping flag field in scheduling DCI.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liqing Liu et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20240349284 A1, hereinafter “Liu”) in a view of Weijie Xu et. al. (USPub. No: US 20220352923 A1, hereinafter, “Xu”).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 2, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Liu teaches about the BWP, FH BWP, and PRB offset, to further teaches closely,
Xu teaches that wherein a second PRB offset is determined between a smallest PRB or a largest RB index of the first BWP and a smallest PRB or a largest RB index of a second determined FH BWP (Xu, in Fig. 7 and in Paragraphs [0035]-[0037], and [0071]-[0073], teaches that Fig 1 or 5 show the inter-slot frequency hopping procedure of the BWP based on the equations (2) or (7), respectively. From the figure and the formula, the second offset mentioned in the claim is determined by the (P)RBoffset + M x NBWPsize, where depending on the starting location of the second BWP (FH BWP: considering as the second determined FH BWP), M is determined. (P)RBstart (considered as the smallest PRB of either the first BWP or the first FH BWP) is the starting PRB allocated to the PUSCH transmission in the uplink BWP, and is indicated by the uplink grant based on the first resource allocation type, and (P)RBoffset is the frequency offset between two hops (the first hop is the reference BWP and the second hop is the determined second FH BWP), and is represented by the number of PRBs. Further, NBWPsize is the size of the second BWP (FH BWP) and it is either same or not same as the size of the first BWP (the reference BWP). Thus, the second offset is determined by the smallest PRBs ((P)RBstart) of the first BWP (the first hop) and the determined second FH BWP (the second hop).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Xu to include the technique of wherein a second PRB offset is determined between a smallest PRB or a largest RB index of the first BWP and a smallest PRB or a largest RB index of a second determined FH BWP of Xu in the system of Liu to provides a method for frequency hopping for data or resources in BWP to improve the frequency selective gain of the uplink transmission such as the transmission on the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) of the NR system (Xu, see Paragraphs [0004] and [0080]).).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 2, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Liu teaches about the BWP, FH BWP, and PRB offset, to further teaches closely,
Xu teaches that wherein a second PRB offset is determined between a smallest PRB or a largest RB index of the first determined FH BWP and a smallest PRB or a largest RB index of a second determined FH BWP (Xu, in Paragraphs [0085]-[0090], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0085], the first BWP transmission is repeated using frequency hopping with the second hop transmission (the first determined FH BWP) and the third hop transmission (the second determined FH BWP). For this case, based on (P)RBstart and (P)RBoffset, the second offset indicated in the claim is determined, using the second and the third equation in the equation (11), as the difference of M x NBWP2size and N x NBWP3size, where M and N are the starting locations (considering as the location of smallest PRB) of the second hop (the first determined FH BWP) and the third hop (the second determined FH BWP), respectively. Thus, the second offset between two FH BWPs is determined based on the smallest PRBs of each.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Xu to include the technique of wherein a second PRB offset is determined between a smallest PRB or a largest RB index of the first determined FH BWP and a smallest PRB or a largest RB index of a second determined FH BWP of Xu in the system of Liu to provides a method for frequency hopping for data or resources in BWP to improve the frequency selective gain of the uplink transmission such as the transmission on the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) of the NR system (Xu, see Paragraphs [0004] and [0080]).).
Claims 5-7, 10-11, and 14-20 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liqing Liu et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20240349284 A1, hereinafter “Liu”) in a view of Nazanin Rastegardoost et. al. (USPub. No: US 20230189232 A1, hereinafter, “Rastegardoost”).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Liu teaches about the BWP, FH BWP, and their configurations, to further teaches closely,
Rastegardoost teaches that wherein first BWP is configured in a component carrier, (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0116], teaches that in Paragraph [0116], a BWP is defined by a subset of contiguous (P)RBs on a carrier (considered as a component carrier). A UE is configured via RRC layer message with one or more downlink BWPs and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell (e.g., up to four downlink BWPs and up to four uplink BWPs per serving cell).) wherein the operations further comprise: dividing the component carrier into a number of sub-bands based on a size of the component carrier and a size of the sub-bands expressed in units of PRBs, (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0291], teaches that in Paragraph [0291], the base station configures/defines/indicates the subbands based on a first numerology/SCS. The configuration parameters indicate the plurality of subbands within the cell/carrier (considered as component carrier) and resource blocks (e.g., start (P)RB and size) of the multiple subbands within the carrier bandwidth (considered as component carrier or size of the component carrier). Namely, the size of component carrier, that is, component bandwidth and the size of each subbands are expressed by (P)RB (as described in Paragraph [0292]). Thus, the wireless device determines the plurality of sub bands of the carrier based on a predefined rule, e.g., by dividing the carrier bandwidth into a predefined or preconfigured number of subbands. The base station configures intra-cell guard-bands in between the subbands of the carrier/cell. Thus, the component carrier (carrier or carrier bandwidth) is divided into the plurality of subbands and the size of component carrier or the size of each subband is represented by the PRBs.) wherein the first BWP is carried in a first sub-band and each of the one or more FH BWPs is carried in a respective further sub-band (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0296]-[0297], teaches that in Paragraph [0297], the wireless device receives the BWP configuration parameters from the base station and determine the (P)RBs of the BWP (the first BWP). Further, the wireless device determines that subband#2, subband#3 and subband#4 overlap with the BWP (the first BWP). Subband#2, subband#3, and subband#4 of the cell/carrier is determines by the wireless device as the set of subbands for subband hopping within the configured BWP. Thus, the first BWP and the FH BWP is carried in different subbands, respectively.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of wherein first BWP is configured in a component carrier, wherein the operations further comprise: dividing the component carrier into a number of sub-bands based on a size of the component carrier and a size of the sub-bands expressed in units of PRBs, wherein the first BWP is carried in a first sub-band and each of the one or more FH BWPs is carried in a respective further sub-band of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Liu teaches about the subbands and their configurations, to further teaches closely,
Rastegardoost teaches that wherein first BWP is configured in a component carrier, (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0116], teaches that in Paragraph [0116], a BWP is defined by a subset of contiguous (P)RBs on a carrier (considered as a component carrier). A UE is configured via RRC layer message with one or more downlink BWPs and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell (e.g., up to four downlink BWPs and up to four uplink BWPs per serving cell).) wherein the operations further comprise: dividing the component carrier into a number of sub-bands based on a size of the component carrier and a size of the sub-bands expressed in units of PRBs, (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0291], teaches that in Paragraph [0291], the base station configures/defines/indicates the subbands based on a first numerology/SCS. The configuration parameters indicate the plurality of subbands within the cell/carrier (considered as component carrier) and resource blocks (e.g., start (P)RB and size) of the multiple subbands within the carrier bandwidth (considered as component carrier or size of the component carrier). Namely, the size of component carrier, that is, component bandwidth and the size of each subbands are expressed by (P)RB (as described in Paragraph [0292]). Thus, the wireless device determines the plurality of sub bands of the carrier based on a predefined rule, e.g., by dividing the carrier bandwidth into a predefined or preconfigured number of subbands. The base station configures intra-cell guard-bands in between the subbands of the carrier/cell. Thus, the component carrier (carrier or carrier bandwidth) is divided into the plurality of subbands and the size of component carrier or the size of each subband is represented by the PRBs.) wherein the first BWP is carried in a first sub-band and each of the one or more FH BWPs is carried in a respective further sub-band (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0296]-[0297], teaches that in Paragraph [0297], the wireless device receives the BWP configuration parameters from the base station and determine the (P)RBs of the BWP (the first BWP). Further, the wireless device determines that subband#2, subband#3 and subband#4 overlap with the BWP (the first BWP). Subband#2, subband#3, and subband#4 of the cell/carrier is determines by the wireless device as the set of subbands for subband hopping within the configured BWP. Thus, the first BWP and the FH BWP is carried in different subbands, respectively.) wherein the network configuration further includes a set of candidate values for the size of the sub-bands; (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0294], teaches that the base station configures the sub bands ( e.g., the SCS of subbands and/or the size/width of subbands and/or the number of subbands) for a wireless device in response to its indicated
bandwidth capability. Thus, the network configuration includes candidate values for the size of each subband.) receiving an indication of one of the set of candidate values, wherein the indication of one of the set of candidate values is received in a system information block 1 (SIB1) (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0290]-[0291], teaches that in Paragraph [0290], a wireless device receives one or more RRC messages (including system information blocks (SIB1) as described in Paragraphs [0079] and [0141]) comprising configuration parameters indicating a cell/carrier (component carrier). The configuration parameters indicates a plurality of cell-specific subbands/narrowbands/(P)RB set/blocks within the bandwidth of the carrier (system bandwidth) including the indication of resource blocks such as starting (P)RB and/or a size for each subband. Thus, the indication for the candidate values of subband size is received through RRC message including SIB1.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of wherein first BWP is configured in a component carrier, wherein the operations further comprise: dividing the component carrier into a number of sub-bands based on a size of the component carrier and a size of the sub-bands expressed in units of PRBs, wherein the first BWP is carried in a first sub-band and each of the one or more FH BWPs is carried in a respective further sub-band, wherein the network configuration further includes a set of candidate values for the size of the sub-bands; receiving an indication of one of the set of candidate values, wherein the indication of one of the set of candidate values is received in a system information block 1 (SIB1) of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Liu teaches about the subbands and their configurations, to further teaches closely,
Rastegardoost teaches that wherein first BWP is configured in a component carrier, (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0116], teaches that in Paragraph [0116], a BWP is defined by a subset of contiguous (P)RBs on a carrier (considered as a component carrier). A UE is configured via RRC layer message with one or more downlink BWPs and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell (e.g., up to four downlink BWPs and up to four uplink BWPs per serving cell).) wherein the operations further comprise: dividing the component carrier into a number of sub-bands based on a size of the component carrier and a size of the sub-bands expressed in units of PRBs, (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0291], teaches that in Paragraph [0291], the base station configures/defines/indicates the subbands based on a first numerology/SCS. The configuration parameters indicate the plurality of subbands within the cell/carrier (considered as component carrier) and resource blocks (e.g., start (P)RB and size) of the multiple subbands within the carrier bandwidth (considered as component carrier or size of the component carrier). Namely, the size of component carrier, that is, component bandwidth and the size of each subbands are expressed by (P)RB (as described in Paragraph [0292]). Thus, the wireless device determines the plurality of sub bands of the carrier based on a predefined rule, e.g., by dividing the carrier bandwidth into a predefined or preconfigured number of subbands. The base station configures intra-cell guard-bands in between the subbands of the carrier/cell. Thus, the component carrier (carrier or carrier bandwidth) is divided into the plurality of subbands and the size of component carrier or the size of each subband is represented by the PRBs.) wherein the first BWP is carried in a first sub-band and each of the one or more FH BWPs is carried in a respective further sub-band (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0296]-[0297], teaches that in Paragraph [0297], the wireless device receives the BWP configuration parameters from the base station and determine the (P)RBs of the BWP (the first BWP). Further, the wireless device determines that subband#2, subband#3 and subband#4 overlap with the BWP (the first BWP). Subband#2, subband#3, and subband#4 of the cell/carrier is determines by the wireless device as the set of subbands for subband hopping within the configured BWP. Thus, the first BWP and the FH BWP is carried in different subbands, respectively.) wherein the network configuration further includes a set of candidate values for the size of the sub-bands, (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0294], teaches that the base station configures the sub bands ( e.g., the SCS of subbands and/or the size/width of subbands and/or the number of subbands) for a wireless device in response to its indicated
bandwidth capability. Thus, the network configuration includes candidate values for the size of each subband.) wherein the network configuration further includes a starting PRB of one of the sub-bands having a lowest RB index (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0290]-[0291], teaches that in Paragraph [0290], a wireless device receives one or more RRC messages (including system information blocks (SIB1) as described in Paragraphs [0079] and [0141]) comprising configuration parameters indicating a cell/carrier (component carrier). The configuration parameters indicates a plurality of cell-specific subbands/narrowbands/(P)RB set/blocks within the bandwidth of the carrier (system bandwidth) including the indication of resource blocks such as starting (P)RB and/or a size for each subband. Thus, the network configuration parameters include the starting PRB for each subband.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of wherein first BWP is configured in a component carrier, wherein the operations further comprise: dividing the component carrier into a number of sub-bands based on a size of the component carrier and a size of the sub-bands expressed in units of PRBs, wherein the first BWP is carried in a first sub-band and each of the one or more FH BWPs is carried in a respective further sub-band, wherein the network configuration further includes a set of candidate values for the size of the sub-bands, wherein the network configuration further includes a starting PRB of one of the sub-bands having a lowest RB index of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the features defined in the claim 9, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Although Liu mentioned MAC CE, Liu does not explicitly teach about the sub-header configuration of MAC CE.
Rastegardoost further teaches that wherein the MAC-CE is a fixed size of one octet and is identified by a MAC sub-header with a dedicated Logical Channel Identifier (LCID) (Rastegardoost,, in Fig. 4B and in Paragraphs [0074], teaches that in Fig. 4B and in Paragraph [0074], FIG. 4B illustrates an example format of a MAC subheader in a MAC PDU. The MAC subheader includes: an SDU length field for indicating the length (e.g., in bytes) of the MAC SDU to which the MAC subheader corresponds; a logical channel identifier (LCID) field for identifying the logical channel from which the MAC SDU originated to aid in the demultiplexing process; a flag (F) for indicating the size of the SDU length field; and a reserved
bit (R) field for future use. Thus, MAC CE is identified by MAC CE sub-header with LCID.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of wherein the MAC-CE is a fixed size of one octet and is identified by a MAC sub-header with a dedicated Logical Channel Identifier (LCID) of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 11, combination of Liu and Rastegardoost teaches the features defined in the claim 10, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Rastegardoost further teaches that wherein a Ci field indicates an activation or deactivation status for an ith, FH BWP or sub-band (Rastegardoost, in Fig. 19 and in Paragraphs [0317], teaches that the UE starts the subband hopping within the BWP from the reference subband. The UE stays on the reference subband, e.g., until a first event triggers subband hopping and starts hopping within the BWP across the one or more subbands of the BWP in response to the triggering event. Further, the UE limits its transmission/reception/communication via the BWP to the PRB(s) overlapped with the reference subband, e.g., until a first event triggers subband hopping. The triggering event is reception of a
first signal (e.g., DCI/MAC-CE/RRC signal) including an indication indicating that subband hopping is enabled/activated or BWP activation/switching. Thus, the FH BWP or the subband is activated by the indication in MAC CE signal.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of wherein a Ci field indicates an activation or deactivation status for an ith, FH BWP or sub-band of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches that a processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to perform operations comprising: receiving a configuration from a network for parameters including time and frequency resource parameters for a first bandwidth part (BWP) and frequency hopping (FH) parameters for determining time and frequency resource parameters for one or more FH BWPs from the first BWP; (Liu, in Fig. 2, 9, and 11 and in Paragraphs [0122], [0247]-[0248], [0250], and [0256], teaches that as shown in Fig. 2 and in Paragraph [0122], for each numerology and carrier, a resource grid of Ngrid,x size,μ NSCRB subcarriers in the frequency domain and Nsymb subframe,μ OFDM symbols in the time domain is defined, starting at common resource block Ngridstart,μ indicated by higher layer signaling, for downlink and uplink, respectively. In Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs [0247]-[0248], the UE 102 receives step 1102, from a base station 160 (network device), system information including a first RRC parameter. The system information is SIB 1. Or the system information is other system information broadcasted by the base station 160. (e.g., MIB or other SIBs). The first RRC parameter configures or provides the UE 102 a first PUCCH resource set which is used for transmission of HARQ-ACK information on a PUCCH in the initial UL BWP. Each PUCCH resource is identified or determined by at least a PUCCH format, a first (starting) symbol, a duration, a PRB offset, and an initial cyclic shift index in a set of initial cyclic shift indexes as shown in the table in Fig. 9. Further, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraph [0250], UE 102 and/or the base station 160 determines step 1106, whether or not to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping based on one or more factors. To be specific, the UE 102 and/or the base station 160 determines whether frequency hopping is applied to the PUCCH transmission based on one, more or all of a first DCI field of a first DCI format with CRC scrambled by a first RNTI, RRC parameter(s), a predefined rule, a MAC CE, or the broadcasted system information. For example, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraph [0256], specifically, the PUCCH frequency hopping flag field in the first DCI field is used to indicate the UE 102 whether the PUCCH is transmitted with frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a first value (e.g. '0'), the UE 102 determines step 1110 to transmit the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a second value (e.g. '1 '), the UE 102 determines step 1108 to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. Thus, UE receives the time and frequency resource parameters from a network device to configure in BWP or BWP with frequency hopping.) receiving a scheduling downlink control information (DCI) indicating the first BWP is activated for a first channel; performing uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) communications on the first channel in the activated first BWP and the determined one or more FH BWPs (Liu, in Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs in [0117], [0251] and [0256], teaches that in Paragraph [0117], UE is configured by the based station, at least one initial BWP and up to 4 additional BWP(s). One of the initial BWP and the configured additional BWP(s) is activated as an active BWP (the first BWP). The UE monitors DCI format, and/or receive PDSCH in the active DL BWP and transmits PUSCH and/or PUCCH in the active UL BWP. In Fig. 11 and in Paragraphs [0251], dynamic indication of PUCCH frequency hopping is introduced to indicate a UE 102 whether to transmit a PUCCH using frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. The base station 160 uses the first DCI field included in the first DCI format to indicate UE 102 whether to transmit a PUCCH (the first channel) using frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. The PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in response to the reception of a PDSCH scheduled by the first DCI format is transmitted in the determined cell specific PUCCH resource with index rpuccH. Further, in Paragraph [0256], in the example, the PUCCH frequency hopping flag field in the first DCI is used to indicate the UE 102 whether the PUCCH is transmitted with frequency hopping or without frequency hopping. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a first value (e.g. '0'), the UE 102 determines step 1110 to transmit the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP (non-FH BWP) and the base station 160 receives the PUCCH without frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. In a case that the value of the PUCCH frequency hopping flag is set to a second value (e.g. '1 '), the UE 102 determines step 1108 to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP (FH BWP) and the base station 160 receives the PUCCH using frequency hopping in the initial UL BWP. Thus, based on the information in the DCI field in a received DCI from base station (DL communication), the first channel (PUCCH) is by UE (UL communication) transmitted through BWP and/or FH BWP.)
Although Liu teaches about FH BWP configuration with the network configuration and DCI, to further show the detail,
Rastegardoost teaches that determining the time and frequency resource parameters for the one or more FH BWPs based on information included in the network configuration and the scheduling DCI, the determined time and frequency resource parameters including an interval value for FH comprising a number of slots where a same RB location of the BWP is maintained; (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0282], [0320]-[0321], and [0337], teaches that in Paragraph [0337], the UE is hopping within the BWP based on a first hopping pattern that is configured/indicated via RRC signaling (e.g., semi-static hopping pattern). Then, the UE monitors PDCCH based on the first hopping pattern and the UE hops (determine the available PRBs of the BWP at each hopping interval) based on the first hopping pattern at least before receiving a DCI scheduling UL grant/DL assignment and/or activation of UL configured grant transmission or DL SPS (Semi-Persistent Scheduling) PDSCH reception. The DCI indicates a second hopping pattern and the UE transmits and/or receives based on the UL grant and/or DL assignment and/or the second hopping pattern. Further, the UE hops/determines available PRBs of the BWP for the transmission/reception based on the second hopping pattern in response to receiving the DCI. Thus, the FH BWP is configured by hopping pattern that is comprised by the RRC signaling (network configuration) or scheduling DCI. As described in Paragraph [0320], the hopping interval comprises one or more slots/OFDM symbols defined using the numerology of the BWP or subbands of the BWP. Namely, the hopping interval is defined as one or more subframes/frames, an absolute value (e.g., one or more milli-seconds), half a slot (e.g., intra-slot hopping), or one slot (e.g., inter-slot hopping). As described in Paragraph [0282], the dynamic or hopped BWP configuration enable subband hopping within the active BWP by maintaining a same numerology/SCS while aligning the communicatin of multiple UE. In addition, in Paragraph [0321], the hopping pattern indicates one or more hopping offsets/frequency offsets. The hopping offset comprise one or more PRBs (e.g., a number of PRBs) or one or more subbands (e.g., a number of subbands) based on the numerology/SCS of the BWP/subbands of the BWP. The UE determines the next hop/subband/starting PRB by applying the hopping offset to the current hop/subband/starting PRB and the hopping offset is wrapped in the bandwidth of the BWP (e.g., using a modulo function). Thus, the same RB location of the BWP is maintained in FH BWP.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of determining the time and frequency resource parameters for the one or more FH BWPs based on information included in the network configuration and the scheduling DCI, the determined time and frequency resource parameters including an interval value for FH comprising a number of slots where a same RB location of the BWP is maintained of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 15, combination of Liu and Rastegardoost teaches the features defined in the claim 14, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Rastegardoost further teaches that wherein a set of interval values is hard-encoded in specification and (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0321], teaches that the hopping interval can be an absolute value (e.g., one or more milli-seconds)). the interval value is determined based on a channel type activated for the first BWP, (Rastegardoost, in Fig. 22 and in Paragraphs [0334], teaches that as shown in Fig. 22, based on the channel type such as PDSCH or PUCCH, the hopping interval is determined differently, according to Paragraph [0334].) wherein the set of interval values comprises {1,2,4,8} (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0322], teaches that the hopping pattern comprises the hopping interval and the hopping offset, where the hopping interval is ½ or 1 or 2 or more slots. Thus, the interval value can be 1, 2, 4, or 8 slots.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of wherein a set of interval values is hard-encoded in specification and the interval value is determined based on a channel type activated for the first BWP, wherein the set of interval values comprises {1,2,4,8} of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 16, combination of Liu and Rastegardoost teaches the features defined in the claim 14, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Rastegardoost further teaches that receiving the interval value in a system information block (SIB) broadcast (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0254], teaches that the network inform the UE of the details of hopping pattern via system information block (such as SIB 2) broadcast and/or DCI, where, as described in Paragraph [0320], the hopping pattern includes the hopping interval. Thus, the interval value is included in the system information block such as SIB 2 broadcast.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of receiving the interval value in a system information block (SIB) broadcast of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Liu and Rastegardoost teaches the features defined in the claim 16, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Rastegardoost further teaches that receiving a new interval value in dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling to override the interval value received in the SIB broadcast (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0228] and [0363]-[0364], teaches that the UE is configured with two modes of operation/hopping. Mode 1 corresponds to hopping over the common/cell-specific/group-specific subbands based on the first hopping pattern. Mode 2 corresponds to hopping over the non-common/dedicated/UE-specific/BWP-specific subbands based on the second hopping pattern. The UE monitors CSS (Common Search Space) sets during mode 1 and monitors USS (User-specific Search Space) sets during mode 2. Mode 1 is activated/enabled in response to receiving MIB and/or SIB1, in response to initiation of a random access procedure. Mode 1 is activated/enabled in response to BWP activation. Mode 2 is activated/enabled in response to a successful completion of a random access procedure. Mode 2 is activated/enabled in response to BWP activation/switching. Mode 2 is activated/enabled in response to receiving an explicit and/or implicit indication from the base station by using dedicated (UE-Specific) RRC signaling (as described [0228]). Mode 2 is activated/enabled after a certain time is passed from Mode 1 activation. The two modes are not activated at a time. The UE deactivate/disable Mode 1 in response to activating/enabling Mode 2, and vice versa. As described in Paragraph [0364], the UE determines which hopping pattern to follow based on a priority between the USS sets and the CSS sets configured for that slot/TTI/hopping interval. Based on this observation, a new interval value (hopping interval) can be received in in dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling by monitoring USS sets (Mode 2) to override the interval value received by monitoring CSS sets in the SIB broadcast (Mode 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of receiving a new interval value in dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling to override the interval value received in the SIB broadcast of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Liu and Rastegardoost teaches the features defined in the claim 14, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Rastegardoost further teaches that wherein the interval value is carried in the scheduling DCI (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0336], teaches that UE receives a DCI indicating one or more parameters of the hopping pattern. The DCI indicates an updated hopping pattern/hopping offset/hopping interval. The UE starts hopping based on the hopping pattern/hopping offset/hopping interval indicated by the DCI. The UE switches the hopping pattern based on the hopping pattern/hopping offset/hopping interval indicated by the DCI. Thus, the interval value is carried in the scheduling DCI.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of wherein the interval value is carried in the scheduling DCI of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 19, combination of Liu and Rastegardoost teaches the features defined in the claim 18, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Rastegardoost further teaches that wherein two reserved bits in the scheduling DCI are used to indicate one from multiple hard-encoded interval values (Rastegardoost, in Paragraphs [0247], [0254], and [0320], teaches that DCI format 0 is used to transport scheduling information for the uplink. DCI format 0 has a 1 bit hopping flag to indicate whether PUSCH frequency hopping is enabled or not. A UE with a scheduling grant performs frequency hopping if this hopping flag is set to 1. Depending on the system bandwidth, 1 or 2 bits are excluded from the resource allocation field in DCI format 0 in case of hopping. Further, the number of hopping bits in the DCI depends on the system bandwidth (e.g., 1 bit for 6-49 RBs, and 2 bits for 50-110 RBs). Further, in Paragraph [0254], the field in the DCI (e.g., hopping bit field) indicates which hopping type/pattern should be used. Based on this, as described in paragraph [0320], since the hopping pattern may comprise one or more hopping interval with absolute values (such as one or more mili-seconds), two reserved bits in DCI are used to indicate one from multiple hard-encoded interval values.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of wherein two reserved bits in the scheduling DCI are used to indicate one from multiple hard-encoded interval values of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Regarding claim 20, combination of Liu and Rastegardoost teaches the features defined in the claim 18, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Rastegardoost further teaches that wherein an interval value of one is indicated in a system information block 1 (SIB1) broadcast for a Msg2 , Msg3 or Msg4 reception (Rastegardoost, in Fig. 13A in Paragraphs [0363]-[0364], teaches that Mode 1 is activated/enabled in response to initiation of random access procedure based on the MIB (Master Information Block) or SIB1 broadcast. Then, The UE determines, at each slot/TTI/hopping interval, a first subband from the plurality of subbands comprising the common/cell-specific/group-specific subbands by monitoring CSS (Common Search Space) sets. Thus, the hopping interval values is indicated by SIB1 for receiving Msg2, Msg3 or Msg4 in four-step contention-based random access procedure shown in Fig. 13A.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Liu and Rastegardoost to include the technique of wherein an interval value of one is indicated in a system information block 1 (SIB1) broadcast for a Msg2 , Msg3 or Msg4 reception of Rastegardoost in the system of Liu to provide mechanisms for a reduced-bandwidth (narrowband) wireless device to communicate with a base station on a wideband BWP using frequency hopping over narrowband subbands within the wideband BWP to improve a channel gain and/or frequency diversity by employing frequency/subband hopping for RedCap UEs (Xu, see Paragraphs [0281]).).
Conclusion
/JAEYOUNG KWAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472