DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: "reading unit” in claims 1-2 and all claims dependent on, “rearrangement unit” in claims 1-2 and 9 and all claims dependent on, “row direction rearrangement unit” in claims 2-3 and 5-6 and all claims dependent on, “column direction rearrangement unit” in claims 2 and 4-7 and all claims dependent on, “first storage unit” in claims 3-5, “second storage unit” in claims 6-7 and all claims dependent on and “interpolation unit” in claims 9-10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim recites, inter alia, "A program causing a computer that controls an imaging device including a pixel array unit in which pixels that generate charges according to an amount of light received and output signals according to the charges are arrayed in a matrix in a row direction and a column direction, to execute processing including the steps of:” Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include: Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations (See MPEP 2106.03). Claim 12 is directed to a computer program per se and therefore the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2021/256073.
Re claims 1 and 11-12, WO2021/256073 discloses an imaging device (solid state image sensor 200) and an imaging method comprising: a pixel array unit (212) in which pixels that generate charges according to an amount of light received and output signals according to the charges are arrayed in a matrix in a row direction and a column direction; a reading unit (reading circuit 250) that divides the pixel array unit (212) into a plurality of blocks (FD shared blocks 220) and reads the signal from the pixel at a same position in the block from each of the plurality of blocks (figure 2; paragraphs 19-32); and a rearrangement unit (251, 340) that performs rearrangement such that an array of the signals read by the reading unit is equivalent to an array of the pixels in the pixel array unit (212)(switching circuit 251 changes the order of output signals and performs processing on each digital signal to correct noise and sorting processing unit 340 sorts each of the noise corrected signals into the arrangement of the pixel array)(figures 2-5; paragraphs 19-70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2021/256073 in view of JP2019-024172.
Re claims 9-10, the WO2021/256073 reference discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above. However, although the WO2021/256073 reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose an interpolation unit that, in a case where the signal output from the rearrangement unit is a signal from a row having a smaller number of pixels than other rows, performs interpolation by generating signals corresponding to missing pixels, wherein an array of the pixels output from the interpolation unit is an array in a case where the signal is read by raster scanning from the pixel array unit.
JP2019-024172 discloses that it is well known in the digital imaging art for an imaging device to include an interpolation unit that performs interpolation by generating signals corresponding to missing pixels and to supply image signals generated by interpolation to a development unit in the order of a raster scan of the image sensor (paragraphs 61-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include the teaching of performing interpolation by generating signals corresponding to missing pixels and to read the signals by raster scanning as disclosed by the JP2019-024172 reference in the imaging device and method disclosed by the WO2021/256073. Doing so would provide a means for generating signals corresponding to missing pixels in an image sensor in order to generate image signals of high quality and free from errors or noise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claims 2-8, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, an imaging device having the specific configurations disclosed in claims 2-8, wherein the imaging device comprises: a pixel array unit in which pixels that generate charges according to an amount of light received and output signals according to the charges are arrayed in a matrix in a row direction and a column direction; a reading unit that divides the pixel array unit into a plurality of blocks and reads the signal from the pixel at a same position in the block from each of the plurality of blocks; and a rearrangement unit that performs rearrangement such that an array of the signals read by the reading unit is equivalent to an array of the pixels in the pixel array unit, wherein the rearrangement unit includes: a row direction rearrangement unit that rearranges the array of the pixels read from the reading unit such that the array in a row direction is equivalent to the array in the row direction of the pixels in the pixel array unit; and a column direction rearrangement unit that rearranges the array of the pixels read from the reading unit such that the array in a column direction is equivalent to the array in the column direction of the pixels in the pixel array unit. The prior art fails to specifically disclose an imaging device including a pixel array unit, a reading unit and a rearrangement unit including a row direction rearrangement unit and a column direction rearrangement unit configured and arranged in the exact configuration disclosed in the specification and the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. US 2020/0186723 discloses an image sensor for reading out data from selected groups of pixels and a converter for rearranging the digital pixel data.
Matsumoto et al. US 2008/0170137 discloses a solid-state imaging apparatus capable of reading out and performing addition processing on rows and columns of pixels and rearranging the order of readout.
Araki et al. US 2010/0283881 discloses a solid-state imaging apparatus including a readout structure wherein pixel data is rearranged in order of pixel row and column scan order.
Choi US 2015/0373289 discloses an image sensor including a pixel array including a readout structure to rearrange pixel data in row and column order.
Contacts
/KELLY L JERABEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699