DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2023/0309093 A1), hereinafter “WEI” in view of Yi et al. (US 2024/0032031 A1), hereinafter “YI”
Regarding claim 1, WEI teaches, ‘A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:’ (Paragraph [0005]: a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for performing a plurality of receptions or transmissions on a plurality of serving cells is provided):
‘receiving downlink control information for scheduling a data channel from the base station, wherein the downlink control information includes a cell index indicator and a TDRA field, and the TDRA field indicates one row among the plurality of rows;’ (Paragraph [0005]: receiving control information for scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) or a plurality of physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) on the plurality of serving cells… The control information includes a plurality of fields, the plurality of fields include at least one of… a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field, and the TDRA field; Paragraphs [0139]-[0140]: In NR, a carrier indicator field (CIF) may be carried by scheduling DCI… the number of bits of the CIF may be determined based on the number of scheduled cells; Paragraph [0206]: the TDRA field value m of the DCI may provide a row index m+1 corresponding to an allocation table based on the scheduling configuration or the resource configuration);
‘and based on one or more pieces of data channel scheduling information included in the indicated row and one or more cell indexes indicated by the cell index indicator, transmitting or receiving a data channel in each of cells corresponding to the one or more cell indexes.’ (Paragraph [0005]: performing, based on the control information, receptions of the plurality of PDSCHs on the
plurality of serving cells or transmissions of the plurality of PUSCHs on the plurality of serving cells; Paragraph [0065]: Each of the multiple PDSCH (or PUSCH) scheduling may be indicated to be transmitted/received on a serving cell. For example, if there are three PDSCH receptions scheduled by the DCI, each PDSCH may be indicated to be received on a different serving cell; Paragraph [0206]: The row index may correspond to at least one of (a) SLIVs, (b) start symbol S, (c) allocation length L, (d) K0, (e) mapping type, (f) HARQ-process ID, (g) serving cell ID… for the multiple (or a plurality of) PDSCHs).
WEI does not explicitly teach but YI teaches, ‘receiving time domain resource allocation (TDRA) configuration information from a base station through higher layer signaling, wherein the TDRA configuration information comprises a plurality of rows, and each row comprises one or more pieces of data channel scheduling information;’ (YI - Paragraph [0333]: A base station may transmit one or more RRC messages comprising/indicating configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a list of time domain resource allocation or a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table. The list of TDRA or the TDRA table may comprise one or more entries/rows of TDRA. Each entry/row TDRA of the list of TDRA or the TDRA table comprises a slot offset (e.g., a scheduling offset, KO) and one or more SLIV values (e.g., indicating a starting symbol and a length). The each entry/row may comprise additionally/optionally a PDSCH mapping type; Paragraph [0337]: first TDRA entry may have a first number of SLIV values, scheduling up to the first number of PDSCHs. A DCI, indicating the first TDRA entry, may schedule up to the first number of PDSCH(s));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of YI with WEI because both are in the same/ similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of YI into WEI is that YI provides a TDRA table structure where higher-layer RRC signaling pre-configures a TDRA table containing multiple rows, wherein each row can specify one or a plurality of SLIV (Starting and a Length Indicator Value) values (data channel scheduling pieces of information).This optimizes control payload size, conserves downlink control channel resources, and enhanced overall scheduling flexibility without increasing DCI field sizes (See paragraph [0333], [0337], YI).
Regarding claims 2, 6, 10 and 14, WEI and YI teach, The method of claim 1,WEI further teaches, ‘wherein the downlink control information further comprises a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) field,’ (Paragraph [0126]: In NR, the allocated frequency resource for a scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH may be indicated via the frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) field. To schedule multiple PDSCHs/PUSCHs on multiple cells, the FDRA field may need to be extended or separate FDRA fields for the multiple cells may need to be defined. For example, if Pcell, Scell 1, and Scell 2 are scheduled by DCI, the FDRA field may include three set of bits),
‘and in case that the FDRA field is configured to be a predetermined value, the FDRA field indicates that a cell corresponding to the FDRA field is not scheduled.’ (Paragraph [0126]: Some sets of bits of the FDRA field may be set to an invalid value to indicate that a PDSCH or a PUSCH is not scheduled on the cell corresponding to the sets of bits. For resource allocation type 0 or for dynamic indication of resource allocation type, the invalid value may be all '0's. For resource allocation type 1, the invalid value may be all '1's).
Regarding claims 5, 9 and 13, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding method by base station, system by terminal and system by base station, and the rejection to claim 1 are applied hereto.
For claim 5, WEI teaches, ‘A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:’ (Paragraph [0015]: In a third aspect of the present disclosure, a BS for
performing a plurality of receptions or transmissions on a plurality of serving cells is provided; Paragraph [0301]: In action 402, the BS may transmit, to a UE, control information for scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) or a plurality of physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) on the plurality of serving cells):
For claim 9, WEI teaches, ‘A terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to:’ (Paragraph [0014]: In a second aspect of the present disclosure, a UE for performing a plurality of receptions or transmissions on a plurality of serving cells is provided… at least one processor… The at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to):
For claim 13, WEI teaches, ‘A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured:’ (Paragraph [0015]: In a third aspect of the present disclosure, a BS for performing a plurality of receptions or transmissions on a plurality of serving cells is provided; Paragraph [0303]: node 500 may include a transceiver 520, a processor 528, a memory 534):
Claims 3-4, 7-8, 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEI in view of YI in view of Yang et al. (US 2022/0046688 A1), hereinafter “YANG”
Regarding claims 3, 7, 11 and 15, WEI and YI teach, The method of claim 1, WEI does not explicitly teach but YI teaches, ‘…an open-loop power control parameter set indication field, (YI – Paragraph [0245]: A field of open loop power control parameter set indication (open loop power in FIG. 18) may indicate a set of power control configuration parameters. The wireless device is configured with one or more sets of power control configuration parameters),
‘a precoding information field,’ (YI – Paragraph [0245]: A field of precoding information and number of layers (shown as PMI in FIG. 18) may indicate a precoding and a MIMO layer information for the one or more scheduled PUSCHs),
‘and an antenna port field.’ (YI – Paragraph [0245]: A field of antenna ports may indicate DMRS pattem(s) for the one or more scheduled PUSCHs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of YI with WEI because both are in the same/ similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of YI into WEI is that YI provides a TDRA table structure where higher-layer RRC signaling pre-configures a TDRA table containing multiple rows, wherein each row can specify one or a plurality of SLIV (Starting and a Length Indicator Value) values (data channel scheduling pieces of information).This optimizes control payload size, conserves downlink control channel resources, and enhanced overall scheduling flexibility without increasing DCI field sizes (See paragraph [0333], [0337], YI).
WEI and YI do not explicitly teach but YANG teaches, ‘wherein in case that the downlink control information is downlink control information for uplink data channel scheduling,’ (YANG – Paragraph [0075]: DCI format 0_0 may be used to schedule a TB-based (or TB-level) PUSCH… DCI format 0_0/0_1 may be referred to as UL grant DCI or UL scheduling information),
‘the downlink control information further comprises a transmit power control (TPC) command field,’ (YANG – Paragraph [0124]: DCI field Type 2 may include frequency domain RA (FDRA) information, MCS information, NDI/RV information, HARQ process ID information, PRB bundling information, DAI information, TPC information, antenna port information, and so on),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of YANG with WEI and YI because both are in the same/ similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of YANG into WEI and YI is that YANG provides specific DCI field categorization and payload reduction techniques for multi-component carrier (multi-CC) scheduling. In particular, YANG classifies standard PHY-layer parameter fields (e.g., TPC commands, antenna port allocation, precoding, and power control parameters) into well-defined DCI field types designed to accommodate multi-carrier operations without creating excessive control payload overhead (See paragraph [0075], [0124], YANG).
Regarding claims 4, 8, 12 and 15, WEI and YI teach, The method of claim 1, WEI does not explicitly teach but YI teaches, ‘…the downlink control information further comprises a rate matching indicator field, ‘a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field, and an antenna port field.’ (YI – Paragraph [0260]: FIG. 19 shows an example of a DCI format 1_1 and/or 1_2… The DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 may comprise one or more DCI fields such as an identifier for DCI formats (DL/UL), a carrier indicator, bandwidth part indicator (BWP index), a frequency domain resource assignment (frequency domain RA), a time domain resource assignment (time domain RA), a virtual resource block to physical resource block mapping (VRB-PRB), Physical resource block (PRB) bundling size indicator (PRB bundle), rate matching indicator (rate matching), zero power CSI-RS (ZP-CSI)),… an antenna ports, a transmission configuration indication (TCI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of YI with WEI because both are in the same/ similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of YI into WEI is that YI provides a TDRA table structure where higher-layer RRC signaling pre-configures a TDRA table containing multiple rows, wherein each row can specify one or a plurality of SLIV (Starting and a Length Indicator Value) values (data channel scheduling pieces of information).This optimizes control payload size, conserves downlink control channel resources, and enhanced overall scheduling flexibility without increasing DCI field sizes (See paragraph [0333], [0337], YI).
WEI and YI do not explicitly teach but YANG teaches, ‘wherein in case that the downlink control information is downlink control information for downlink data channel scheduling,’ (YANG – Paragraph [0075]: DCI format 1_0 may be used to schedule a TB-based or TB level) PDSCH, and DCI format 1_1 may be used to schedule a TB-based (or TB-level) PDSCH or a CBG-based (or CBG-level) PDSCH (DL grant DCI). DCI format 0_0/0_1 may be referred to as UL grant DCI or UL scheduling information, and DCI format 1_0/1_1 may be referred to as DL grant DCI or DL scheduling information),…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of YANG with WEI and YI because both are in the same/ similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of YANG into WEI and YI is that YANG provides specific DCI field categorization and payload reduction techniques for multi-component carrier (multi-CC) scheduling. In particular, YANG classifies standard PHY-layer parameter fields (e.g., TPC commands, antenna port allocation, precoding, and power control parameters) into well-defined DCI field types designed to accommodate multi-carrier operations without creating excessive control payload overhead (See paragraph [0075], [0124], YANG).
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479