DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Currently claims 1-5 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is recommended to expand the acronym "RTM" to read --resin transfer molding-- to assist in the understanding the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 further limits the fiber structure of claim 1 stating “wherein the interlayer binding yarns located in the end regions are melted by impregnating the fiber structure with a thermosetting resin using an RTM method. However, claim 1 requires the binding yarns located in the end regions to be present (see e.g., lines 21-27). Therefore, claim 5 fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends (i.e., binding yarns located in the end regions).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Combier (US 4748996) in view of Nishimura (US 4622254).
With respect to claim 1, Combier teaches a multilayered woven textile comprising first, second, and third layers all formed out of straight yarns (Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 5-15). The first and third layers (first yarn layers) are filling yarns arranged parallel to each other (first yarns each having a main axis extending in a first direction and are arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction) and with the respective filling yarns arranged in superposed relation with a layer of straight warp yarns (second layer) extending perpendicular thereto (second layers having a yarn main axis extending in a second direction, the second yarns being arranged in the first direction) and positioned between the layers of filling yarns (one of the first yarns layers is located at each op opposite ends of the fiber structure in the stacking direction) (Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 5-15). Binder yarns are provided for interconnecting the three layers of yarns (Fig. 1; col. 1, lines 16-27).
As can be seen in Figs. 1-3, the binder yarns 50 extend in a second direction (i.e., parallel to the warp direction (second direction) and perpendicular to the filling direction (first direction)) and is engaged with the yarns of the first and third filling layers (first yarns layers) located at opposite ends of the fiber structure in the stacking direction. As seen in the annotated Fig. 1 below, the fiber structure comprises a central region and two adjacent end regions which include multiple warp layer ends (end second yarns), and both the central region and the end regions comprise binder yarns 50. As also seen in Figs. 1 and 2, the pairs of binding yarns 50 pass through mutually exclusive paths.
Combier is silent as to a pitch in the first direction between the interlayer binding yarns in the end regions being smaller than a pitch in the first direction between interlayer binding yarns in the central region.
Nishimura teaches a fiber material for reinforcing plastics prepared by laminating a plurality of fiber substrates and having quasiisotropy within its surface, where delamination between the fiber substrates does not occur (col. 2, lines 3-10). The fibers are integrated with each other by stitch yarns passing through repeatedly in the direction of the fiber substrates (col. 2, lines 23-28). Nishimura further teaches that the positions of the stitch yarns relative to the reinforcing fibers of the fiber substrates are not necessarily regular but can be random (col. 3, lines 41-47). It is possible to apply additional stitch yarns to areas for which further reinforcement integration is necessary (col. 3, lines 41-47).
Since both Combier and Nishimura teach stacked fiber layers for fiber reinforced plastics connecting by binding yarns, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the binding yarns of Combier to be more frequent in areas that require additional reinforcement, in order to reduce delamination of the layers. It further would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to try the location of the additional binder yarns, in either the central region or the end regions, in order to determine which provides the desired reinforcement and delamination properties. See MPEP 2143. It is noted that an increased amount of binder yarns in a specific region would necessarily decrease the pitch between adjacent binder yarns in that region.
With respect to claim 2, Combier in view of Nishimura teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. As can be seen in Fig. 1, the central region includes two binder yarns which pass through mutually different paths, and in the end regions one or more of the binder yarns pass through the same pass as the first and second binder yarns in the central region.
With respect to claim 3, Combier in view of Nishimura teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Combier further teaches the binder yarns are preferably of a much smaller size yarn than the yarns forming the various layers so that the woven fabrics may be more readily tailor made for a wide variety of different purposes (col. 1, lines 16-27).
With respect to claim 5, Combier in view of Nishimura teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Combier further teaches the multilayer fabric may be used as a reinforcing media with a plastic matrix material (col. 1, lines 54-66).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Murakami (JP 2017-106128)1,2 discloses a three-dimensional reinforced fiber fabric in which fibers run in any of the first, second, and third directions that intersect each other in three dimensions comprises a plurality of first layers, each consisting of a plurality of first fiber bundles made of first fibers running in the first direction and arranged in the second direction, and a plurality of second layers, each consisting of a plurality of second fiber bundles made of second fibers running in the second direction and arranged in the first direction (paragraph [0007]). The material comprises a plurality of third fibers that meander between the plurality of first fiber bundles and the plurality of second fiber bundles, at least partially running in the first direction and the third direction, wherein the plurality of first layers and the plurality of second layers are stacked alternately in the third direction such that two of the plurality of second layers are exposed on the surface, and the third fibers bind the two exposed layers together, and the total cross-sectional area of the plurality of first fibers is substantially the same as the total cross-sectional area of the plurality of second fibers (paragraph [0007]).
Moores (US 4131708) discloses carbon-carbon reinforced composite material selectively modified by one or more implants of a compatible, non-carbon material disposed at selected sites in the material (abstract). The implants of non-carbon material, which should have a melting point below the sublimation temperature of the surrounding carbon matrix and thermal expansibility having a force below the strength of the surrounding carbon matrix, preferably are arranged essentially parallel to one another at selected axial sites in the direction of expected thermal flux (abstract). As can been seen in Fig. 3 the fiber structure comprises multiple stacked fiber layers and multiple interlayer binding yarns (Fig. 3).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Cited in IDS
2 Machine translation used as reference