DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The response from the applicant dated 14 September 2026 has been entered into the record and is considered fully responsive. No claim amendments were made. Claims 2 and 4 have been cancelled by the applicant. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13 are currently pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al.
Adolphsen et al. (“Oxygen Evolution Activity and Chemical Stability of Ni and Fe Based Perovskites in Alkaline Media,” J. Electrochem. Soc. 2018, 165(10), F827-F835 – previously presented) is directed toward ceramic OER catalysts comprised of Perovskites (pg.: F827: title). Zhao et al. (“Vertical Growth of Porous Perovskite Nanoarrays on Nickel Foam for Efficient Oxygen Evolution Reaction,” ACS Sustainable Chem. Eng. 2020, 8, 4863−4870 – previously presented) is directed toward OER catalyst comprised of Perovskites on Ni foam (pg. 4863: abstract). Zhu et al. (“Perovskites decorated with oxygen vacancies and Fe–Ni alloy nanoparticles as high-efficiency electrocatalysts for the oxygen evolution reaction,” J. Mater. Chem. A 2017, 5, 19836-45 – previously presented) is directed toward the use of Fe-Ni alloy nanoparticles to improve the OER performance for Perovskite (pg. 19836: title and abstract).
Regarding Claim 1, Adolphsen et al. discloses a series of ceramic lanthanum-based Perovskite materials for use as catalysts in the oxygen evolution reaction in alkaline water (pg. F827: abstract). One compound having the formula La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3 displayed a relatively low overpotential during the evaluation of OER of ~325 mV at 1 mA/cm2 (Figure 6). La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3 can be rewritten in the form of formula (I) as: [(La)1]0.97(Ni)0.6(Fe)0.4O3 as per Claim 1 meaning that:
A is La and x =1, so there is no A’ is present in this compound since 1-x = 0;
y is 0.97;
B is Ni and B’ is Fe with z = 0.6 and 1-z = 0.4;
O is oxygen with δ = 0 since the subscript for oxygen is 3.
In order to calculate the SF parameter, a few terms must be specified based on the equation limitation claimed in Claim 1. The following parameters are listed in the table below and were used to calculate the SF for La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3 which was 1.95. It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when an example disclosed in the prior art is within the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I) - OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS.
[AltContent: textbox (Table A. Parameters used to tabulate SF for La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3
Compound
rA,av (angstroms)
rB,av (angstroms)
nA,av
r0(3- δ)/3
SF
La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3
1.3192
0.556
2.91
1.35
1.95)]
Adolphsen et al. further discloses the use of a current collector made from gold used during electrochemical testing (pg. F828: electrochemical measurements section). However, Adolphsen et al. does not disclose a second material as part of the electrode as metallic nickel.
Zhao et al. discloses the deposition of a Perovskite material (LaCoO3) deposited onto nickel foam and sintered in Figures 1a, 1b, 1c, and 1d to form an electrode (pg. 4864). Zhao et al. indicates that the deposition of LaCoO3 improves the electrochemical performance relative to the bulk material as the OER overpotential is lower in the former case particularly at high potentials (pgs. 4866-7: Results and Discussion Section). Moreover, Zhao et al. discloses the deposition process of the LaCoO3 results in oxygen vacancies which are known to improve OER activity (pg. 4868: Results and Discussion Section). The improved catalytic activity of the Ni-foam supported LaCoO3 is a result of the good charge transfer ability of LaCoO3/NF ascribed to the uniform growth of porous LaCoO3 nanosheet on the conductive NF, which provides electron transfer pathways and superb electrical contact (Zhao on pg. 4868: Results and Discussion section).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the Au/Perovskite electrode disclosed in Adolphsen et al. by depositing the Perovskite (i.e.: La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) onto nickel foam in the manner taught by Zhao et al. with the reasonable expectation of forming an electrode with enhanced OER activity (Zhao on pg. 4868). Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. does not disclose the wherein the particles of ceramic material are immobilized and partly encapsulated by the second material.
Zhu et al. discloses the formation of oxygen vacancies and Fe-Ni alloy nanoparticles (i.e.: the second material) decorating (i.e.: partially encapsulating and immobilizing) the surface of the Perovskite material which is comprised of Fe and Ni (pg. 19837: introduction and pg. 19840: Figs. 4 and 5). The Fe-Ni nanoparticles are formed via an exsolution method by treating the precipitated and annealed Perovskite material with a reducing atmosphere of H2 or 5% H2 in argon as per pg. 18937 in the introduction and experimental/synthesis sections of Zhu et al. In Zhu et al., the formation of oxygen vacancies and Ni-Fe alloyed nanoparticles improves the OER electrochemical performance with results on par with iridium oxide (pg. 19841: results and discussion) and pg. 19844: conclusion).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the surface of the ceramic material (e.g.: La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) on nickel foam as disclosed by Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. by treatment of the annealed electrode with a reducing (partial) hydrogen atmosphere as taught by Zhu et al. with the reasonable expectation of forming an electrode with improved OER performance due to the formation of oxygen vacancies and Ni-Fe alloyed nanoparticles. The electrode disclosed by the combination of Adolphsen et al. and Zhao et al. is capable of forming Ni-Fe nanoparticles on the surface of La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3 because said ceramic material has both Ni and Fe present in the ceramic like the material disclosed in Zhu.
Regarding Claim 3, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses the electrode according to Claim 1 wherein the ceramic material of the formula (I) (e.g.: La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) is uniformly distributed onto the surface of the second material (e.g.: Ni foam) as evidenced by the SEM image and schematic from Zhao et al. showing the structure of the Perovskite material (LaCoO3) deposited onto nickel foam and sintered in Figures 1a, 1b, 1c, and 1d (pg. 4864).
Regarding Claim 5, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses the electrode according to Claim 1, wherein A is La, A’ is not present since x is 1 (so 1-x is 0) and wherein B is Ni and B’ is Fe as evidenced by the Perovskite compound La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3 disclosed in Adolphsen et al. (pg. F827: abstract and pg. F831: Table 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses the electrode according to Claim 1, wherein y is 0.97 as evidenced by the Perovskite compound La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3 in Adolphsen et al. (pg. F827: abstract and pg. F831: Table 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses the electrode as per Claim 1, wherein the average particle size of the ceramic material is between 10 and 300 nm as evidenced by the as evidenced by the SEM image and schematic from Zhao et al. showing the nano-structure of the Perovskite material (LaCoO3) deposited onto nickel foam and sintered in Figures 1d (pg. 4864).
Regarding Claim 8, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses the electrode as per Claim 1, wherein the ceramic material of the formula (I) has a Perovskite crystal structure as indicated on pg. 827 in the introduction (“Perovskite type materials”) and supported by XRD (pg. F829: Figure 1 “L97NF”).
Regarding Claim 9, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses the electrode according to Claim 1, wherein the electrode overpotential toward oxygen evolution reaction is less than or equal to 400 millivolts at a current density of 1 mA/cm2 as evidenced by Figure 6 on pg. F831 which shows the overpotential for La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3 is ~325 mV at 1.0 mA/cm2. However, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. is silent on the OER overpotential at a current density of 1.0 mA/cm2 using a rotating disk electrode at a rotation rate of 1500 rpm in 20-35% KOH and at a temperature of 75-85 degrees Celsius.
According to at least the specification of the present application (cited as US App. No. 18/857384), ceramic materials that satisfy formula(I) which have intermediate SF values (i.e.: between 1.67 inclusive and 2.8 inclusive) simultaneously have inherently sufficient electrochemical activity (i.e.: low electrode overpotential toward OER) and inherently sufficient stability phase stability (pg. 5 lines 15-31). The instant application further clarifies sufficient electrochemical activity as an electrode overpotential towards oxygen evolution reaction is less than or equal to 400 mV at a current density of 1.0 mA/cm2, where the oxygen evolution reaction is carried out using a rotating disk electrode at a rotation rate of 1500 rpm in 20-35% KOH and at a temperature of 75-85 degrees Celsius (pg. 15 lines 26-34). Moreover, the specification of the instant application indicates that the aforementioned conditions are industrially relevant and has an OER overpotential on par with the state-of-the-art catalyst, IrO2 (pg. 16 lines 1-5).
Therefore, the combination of the ceramic material (e.g.: La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) having an SF value ranging from 1.67 inclusive to 2.8 inclusive (e.g.: SF = 1.95 for La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) on nickel foam (i.e.: the second material) would inherently have an oxygen evolution overpotential less than or equal to 400 millivolts at the claimed conditions as evidenced by, at least, the Applicant’s own disclosure (pg. 15 lines 26-34 to pg. 16 lines 1-5). See MPEP 2112-III.
Regarding Claim 10, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses the electrode according to Claim 1, wherein the ceramic material of formula (I) La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3. Adolphsen et al. suggests that La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3 and related compounds evaluated in the study could be used a OER catalysts at temperatures under 100 degrees Celsius (pg. F827: abstract). However, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. is silent on the phase-stability of ceramic compounds of formula (I) (e.g.: La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) in 6 M KOH at 80 degrees Celsius for 100 hours.
According to at least the specification of the present application (cited as US App. No. 18/857384), ceramic materials that satisfy formula(I) which have intermediate SF values (i.e.: between 1.67 inclusive and 2.8 inclusive) simultaneously have inherently sufficient electrochemical activity (i.e.: low electrode overpotential toward OER) and inherently sufficient stability phase stability (pg. 5 lines 15-31). The instant application further clarifies that sufficient phase stability is measured by exposure to 6 M KOH at 80 degrees Celsius for 100 hours (pg. 16 lines 14-24) and subsequent degradation analysis. According to the specification of the instant application, ceramic materials lacking phase stability, that is those with SF value greater than 2.8, are not suitable for OER electrodes (pg. 17 lines 2-7).
Therefore, the combination of the ceramic material (e.g.: La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) having an SF value ranging from 1.67 inclusive to 2.8 inclusive (e.g.: SF = 1.95 for La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) on nickel foam (i.e.: the second material) would inherently be phase stable in 6 M KOH at 80 degrees Celsius for 100 hours as evidenced by, at least, the Applicant’s own disclosure (pg. 15 lines 26-34 to pg. 16 lines 1-5). See MPEP 2112-III.
Regarding Claim 11, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses the electrode according to Claim 1, wherein the SF value is 1.95 (as calculated above). It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when an example disclosed in the prior art is within the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I) - OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS.
Regarding Claim 12, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses an alkaline electrolysis stack (1 M KOH as per the abstract on pg. F827 of Adolphsen et al.) comprising at least one electrode according to Claim 1 as evidenced by Adolphsen et al. on pg. F828 in the electrochemical measurements section where the electrochemical activity was evaluated using a three-electrode set up with the La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3 (gold or nickel-foam) as the working electrode. Adolphsen et al. further discloses a platinum mesh/wire is the counter electrode (to produce hydrogen from water splitting) on pg. F828 (electrochemical measurements section).
Regarding Claim 13, Adolphsen et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Zhu et al. discloses a method for water electrolysis of water in alkaline conditions using the alkaline electrolysis stack according to Claim 12 as indicated in Adolphsen at al. in the following areas: the abstract on pg. F827, electrochemical measurements section on pg. F828, and the electrochemical activity toward the OER section on pgs. F828-30.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 14 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 1 under 103 as being obvious in light of the combination of Adolphsen et al., Zhao et al. and Zhu et al. is maintained. The rejection of dependent Claims 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13 under 103 in view of the combination of Adolphsen et al., Zhao et al. and Zhu et al. is also maintained.
7. Given the mathematical formula for the determination of the stability factor described by the applicant in at least amended Claim 1, said stability factor is solely directed by the stoichiometry of the ceramic material. In other words, the input variables to calculate the stability factor are based on fundamental properties pertaining to the elements in the ceramic material (e.g.: perovskite), such as Shannon ionic radii and oxidation state. Therefore, the stability factor is a calculated value that is inherent to a specific ceramic of a given elemental composition or molecular formula. Provided a ceramic material has a value within the claimed range for stability factor (e.g.: 1.67 to 2.8) and meets the compositional limitation (i.e.: molecular formula) of amended Claim 1, said ceramic material will have the capacity to carry out the oxygen evolution reaction, regardless of the method of formation (e.g.: wet chemical synthesis, solid phase synthesis, CVD, etc.). The applicant has further argued in their most recent response that Adolphsen’s material decomposes under specific testing conditions and therefore fails to meet the limitations of Claim 1; however, the limitations of Claim 1 are directed toward an electrode composition, not said electrode composition under a set of specified operation conditions. If the applicant wishes to draw a distinction between the method of synthesis of the ceramic material (and the second material) and the stability of a Perovskite material under specified operation conditions, then these limitations should be explicitly included in the claim limitations. The applicant is reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
8. Regarding the selection of the SF value, the applicant has provided a series of comparative and inventive examples in the Tables on pg. 17-25 of the instant application. Of particular relevance is Table 10 on pg. 24 of the instant application which has three ceramic materials that are experimentally evaluated for both alkali resistance and electrochemical performance. The three ceramics have SF values of 2.91 (Gd/Co oxide), 2.10 (La/Ni/Fe oxide), and 1.65 (La/Fe oxide). The applicant seems to be arguing for unexpected results in the selection of the SF parameter, i.e., a very specific range of SF values are carefully selected based on balancing the performance properties of alkali resistance and electrochemical activity. The applicant has claimed/disclosed an SF value of 1.67 and an SF value of 2.8 as the critical values for balancing the two performance properties. However, the applicant has only provided examples where both properties were experimentally evaluated that are just outside the lower critical value (i.e.: 1.65), at the center of the alleged critical value range (i.e.: 2.10), and just outside the upper critical value(i.e.: 2.91). The support for the criticality of SF values of 1.67 and 2.8 are not sufficiently established given the experimental support (i.e.: evaluating both the alkali stability and the electrochemical performance) as only one SF value (2.10 La/Ni/Fe oxide) falling within the range is fully characterized for alkali resistance and electrochemical activity. The applicant may consider providing further experimental support (i.e.: alkali resistance and electrochemical data) to sufficiently support an argument for the criticality of the SF values of 1.67 and 2.8. From the examples, Table 5 has a Gd/Sr/Co/Fe oxide with an SF value of 2.77; Table 6 has La/Sr/Co/Fe oxides with an SF value of 1.76 and other with an SF value of ~2.7; Table 8 has a La/Sr/Co oxide with an SF value of 2.4. The applicant did not address providing more data to further support their argument for unexpected results deriving from the careful selection of the SF factor.
9. In their response, the applicant has further argued that the perovskite formation method described in Zhao et al. (i.e.: wet chemical synthesis) would not be applicable to the composition described by Adolphsen et al. Since Adolphsen’s composition (e.g.: La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) is prepared by combustion spray pyrolysis followed by a high temperature annealing step. The applicant has added emphasis to this point in their most recent response indicating that Adolphsen requires annealing at 1400 degrees C, which is noted by the examiner. However, the examiner disagrees with the applicant’s contention that the method of Zhao et al. would not be capable of forming the composition of Adolphsen. In fact, Jia et al. (“Weakening the strong Fe-La interaction in A-site-deficient perovskite via Ni substitution to promote thermocatalytic synthesis of carbon nanotubes from plastics,” J. Hazard. Mater. 2021, 403, article 123642, pg. 1-11 – previously presented) and Shah et al. (“The effects of stoichiometry on the properties of exsolved Ni-Fe alloy nanoparticles for dry methane reforming,” AIChE J. 2020, 66, article e17078, pg. 1-12 – previously presented) provide clear support for the formation of lanthanum deficient nickel iron oxides using solution methods (Jia et al. on pg. 2: 2.1. Sample Preparation – La0.8NixFe1-xO3-d and Shah et al. on pg. 2: 2.1 Catalyst preparation - La0.9Ni0.1Fe1O3-d). In these two references, the stoichiometry of the perovskite material (e.g.: La0.8NixFe1-xO3-d or La0.9Ni0.1Fe1O3-d) is set by the stoichiometry in the precursor solution. Moreover, both of these references indicate that annealing the resultant gel material from the wet chemical under a reducing atmosphere of hydrogen results in the formation of Ni/Fe nanoparticles. This finding agrees with the Zhu et al. which seems to require a reducing atmosphere of H2 or H2 in argon to form the metallic nanoparticles via exsolvation.
10. The applicant has alleged that the formation of Ni/Fe nanoparticles on the surface of a ceramic material via exsolvation is not equivalent to the “partially encapsulating and immobilizing.” However, the examiner disagrees with this interpretation because partially covering the surface of a ceramic material (e.g.: perovskites like La0.97Ni0.6Fe0.4O3) with a nanoparticle (e.g.: Ni/Fe alloy) would both partially encapsulate and immobilize the ceramic material from interactions between adjacent nanoparticles. The applicant did not address this argument in their response dated 14 September 2026.
11. The applicant has also asserted in their response that the method of formation of the ceramic material reduces the activity of the ceramic material toward oxygen evolution reaction. The examiner disagrees with these assertions as Ni and/or Fe nanoparticles are well-known OER catalysts and are capable of providing the added benefit of electrical conductivity (as they are metallic) that many ceramic materials lack. The applicant has not addressed this argument in their response filed 14 September 2026
12. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
13. The applicant has presented a process for selecting a ceramic material based on adjusting the SF value on pg. 26 lines 25-34 continuing onto pg. 27 lines 1-29. Rewriting that series of steps as a method claim or a process claim for selecting a material would be within the scope of the original invention in the examiner’s opinion. Additionally, a method of selection of a ceramic based on the SF value more accurately captures the applicant’s alleged invention.
Conclusion
14. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SYLVESTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794