DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 18-40 are currently pending.
Claim(s) 1-17 have been cancelled.
Claim(s) 18-40 have been added.
Claim Objections
Claim 18, 27 and 38 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For proper form, and consistency in the claims, it is suggested that claims 18, 27 and 38 be amended as follows.
18. A photovoltaic module obtained from a stack comprising:
a first transparent layer forming the front face of the photovoltaic module, intended to receive a luminous flux,
a plurality of photovoltaic cells disposed side by side and electrically connected to each other,
an assembly encapsulating the plurality of photovoltaic cells, obtained by joining a front layer of an encapsulating material and a rear layer of an encapsulating material on either side of the photovoltaic cells, the front layer of an encapsulating material being located between the first layer and the photovoltaic cells,
a second layer forming the rear face of the photovoltaic module, the encapsulating assembly and the plurality of photovoltaic cells being located between the first and second layers,
wherein the first layer comprises:
a polymer front layer made of at least one polymer material
at least one front assembly comprising an interface front layer and a glass front layer, the glass front layer having a thickness less than or equal to 2 mm,
said at least one front assembly being located between the polymer front layer and the encapsulating assembly, and the interface front layer of said at least one front assembly being located between the polymer front layer and the glass front layer,
wherein the front layer of an encapsulating material is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material having a Young's modulus at 25°C comprised between 2 and 20 MPa,
and wherein the rear layer of an encapsulating material is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material having a Young's modulus at 25°C of strictly greater than 200 MPa.
27. The module according to claim 18, wherein the second layer includes:
a polymer rear layer made of at least one polymer material
at least one rear assembly comprising an interface rear layer and a glass rear layer,
said at least one rear assembly being located between the polymer rear layer and the encapsulating assembly, and the interface rear layer of said at least one rear assembly being located between the polymer rear layer and the glass rear layer.
38. The module according to claim 18, wherein the second layer includes:
a polymer rear layer made of at least one polymer material
a first rear assembly comprising an interface rear layer and a glass rear layer,
a second rear assembly comprising an interface rear layer and a glass rear layer,
said first rear assembly being located between the polymer rear layer and the second rear assembly, in turn located between the first rear assembly and the encapsulating assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 33
The limitation “wherein the interface front layer and/or the optional interface rear layer” is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. There is no prior recitation of an optional interface rear layer in the instant claim or in claim 18, from which claim 33 depends. Accordingly, the limitation lacks antecedent basis. For purposes of examination on the merits, the limitation will be treated as “wherein the interface front layer”. Appropriate correction and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-28, 31-35 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013-038321 A, Kadonaga (cited in the IDS, see attached machine translation) in view of US 2017/0338363 A1, Wright (cited in the IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 40
JP 2013038321 A, Kadonaga teaches a photovoltaic module (1), and method of producing thereof, [Fig. 1 and para. 0011], comprising:
a first transparent layer (corresponding to light-receiving surface protection member 11) forming the front face of the photovoltaic module, intended to receive a luminous flux [Figs. 1-2, paras. 0011-0012 and 0017],
a plurality of photovoltaic cells (10) disposed side by side and electrically connected to each other [Fig. 1 and para. 0011],
an assembly (corresponding to filler layer 13) encapsulating the plurality of photovoltaic cells (10) [Fig. 1 and para. 0011], obtained by joining a front layer of an encapsulating material (13) and a rear layer of an encapsulating material (13) on either side of the photovoltaic cells (10) [Fig.1 and para. 0011], the front layer of an encapsulating material (13) being located between the first layer (11) and the photovoltaic cells (10) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0011-0012],
a second layer (corresponding to back surface protection member 12) forming the rear face of the photovoltaic module [Fig. 1 and paras. 0011-0012],
the encapsulating assembly (13) and the plurality of photovoltaic cells (10) being located between the first and second layers (11 and 12) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0011-0012],
wherein the first layer (11) comprises:
a polymer front layer (22) made of at least one polymer material [Fig. 2 and para. 0015], and
at least one front assembly (corresponding to layers 21 and 23) comprising an interface front layer (corresponding to adhesive layer 23) and a glass front layer (21) [Fig. 2 and paras. 0017-0018], the glass front layer (21) having a thickness less than or equal to 2 mm (0.15 mm - 3 mm) [para. 0014], the at least one front assembly (layers 21 and 23) being located between the polymer front layer (22) and the encapsulating assembly (13) [Figs. 1-2],
the interface front layer (23) of the at least one front assembly (layers 21 and 23) being located between the polymer front layer (22) and the glass front layer (21) [Fig. 2], and
wherein the method includes a step of hot and vacuum lamination of the constituent layers of the stack to obtain the photovoltaic module (1) [para. 0017].
Kadonaga, Figs. 1 and 2
Examiner notes that the first layer of Kadonaga may also be embodied as shown in Figures 3-5.
Kadonaga does not teach the following limitations:
wherein the front layer of an encapsulating material is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material having a Young's modulus at 25°C comprised between 2 and 20 MPa, and
wherein the rear layer of an encapsulating material is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material having a Young's modulus at 25°C of strictly greater than 200 MPa.
Wright teaches a photovoltaic module comprising an assembly (corresponding to front encapsulant 2 and back encapsulant 4) encapsulating a photovoltaic cell (8) [Figs. 1-2, paras. 0015 and 0018], obtained by joining a front layer of an encapsulating material (2) and a rear layer of an encapsulating material (4) on either side of the photovoltaic cell (8) [Figs. 1-2, paras. 0015 and 0018], the front layer of an encapsulating material (2) being located between a first transparent layer (12) and the photovoltaic cells (8) [Fig. 2, paras. 0015 and 0021].
Wright teaches that the front layer of an encapsulating material (2) is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material (e.g., EVA) having a Young's modulus at 25°C comprised between 2 and 20 MPa (less than or equal to 30 MPa) so that the encapsulant may retain its cushioning properties thereby preventing cell cracking [paras. 0017 and 0022], and
that the rear layer of an encapsulating material (4) is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material (e.g., polyolefin) having a Young's modulus at 25°C of strictly greater than 200 MPa (greater than 100 MPa) so that the photovoltaic cells are supported during impact [paras. 0018 and 0022].
Wright further teaches that such lamination stacks can be attached together using hot and vacuum lamination of the constituent layers of the stack [para. 0015].
Kadonaga and Wright are analogous inventions in the field of sealed photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the photovoltaic module of Kadonaga such that the front layer of an encapsulating material is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material having a Young's modulus at 25°C comprised between 2 and 20 MPa, and that the rear layer of an encapsulating material is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material having a Young's modulus at 25°C of strictly greater than 200 MPa, as disclosed in Wright, in order to prevent cracking of the cells while providing adequate support during impact.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Further, with regards to the method of laminating the constituent layers of the stack, it would have been obvious to perform said lamination step using hot and vacuum lamination, as disclosed in Wright, as such is a suitable and conventional technique disclosed in the art for attachment of such layer stacks.
Regarding claim 19
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the front layer of an encapsulating material (see front encapsulant 2 in Fig. 2 of Wright; see also filler 13 of Kadonaga) is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material (e.g., EVA) having a Young's modulus at 25°C comprised between 10 and 20 MPa (less than or equal to 30 MPa) [Wright, paras. 0017 and 0022; Kadonaga, para. 0012], and
wherein the rear layer of an encapsulating material (see back encapsulant 4 in Fig. 2 of Wright; see also filler 13 of Kadonaga) is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material (e.g., polyolefin) having a Young's modulus at 25°C of strictly greater than 200 MPa and less than 500 Mpa (greater than 100 MPa) [Wright, paras. 0018 and 0022; Kadonaga, para. 0012].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 20
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the rear layer of an encapsulating material (see back encapsulant 4 in Fig. 2 of Wright; see also filler 13 of Kadonaga) is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material (e.g., polyolefin) having a Young's modulus at 25°C comprised between 250 and 350 MPa (greater than 100 MPa) [Wright, paras. 0018 and 0022; Kadonaga, para. 0012]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 21
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the glass front layer (21) has a thickness less than or equal to 1.5 mm (0.15 mm - 3 mm) [Kadonaga, para. 0014].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 22
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the glass front layer (21) has a thickness comprised between 500 µm and 1 mm (0.15 mm - 3 mm) [Kadonaga, para. 0014]
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 23
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the glass front layer (21) is made of non- tempered glass (“the strength against impact can be increased without using tempered glass”) [Kadonaga, para. 0024].
Regarding claim 24
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the second layer (12) is made of at least one polymer material (“back surface protection member 12 may be composed of a resin film, a resin film with a metal layer interposed therebetween, or may be composed of a laminate 20 similar to light-receiving surface protection member 11”) [Kadonaga, Figs. 1-5, paras. 0017-0019 and 0024].
Regarding claim 25
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the second layer (12) is made of at least one polymer material selected from: polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene terephthalate, polypropylene, polyamide, a fluorinated polymer, ethylene tetrafluoroethylene, ethylene chlorotrifluoroethylene, polytetrafluoroethylene, polychlorotrifluoroethylene, fluorinated ethylene propylene and/or a multilayer film comprising one or more of the aforementioned polymers [Kadonaga, Figs. 1-4, paras. 0015 and 0018-0019].
Regarding claim 26
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the second layer (12) includes:
a rear layer forming a rear panel (20) made of composite material (back surface protection member 12 may be embodied as laminate 20 according to any of Figs. 2-5) [Kadonaga, para. 0019], comprising a main sub-layer (corresponding to adhesive 23), forming the core of the rear panel (see laminate 20) [-Kadonaga, Fig. 2 and paras. 0015-0019], and
two covering sub-layers (corresponding to glass layer 21 and resin layer 22), each forming a plate of the rear panel [Fig. 2], disposed on either side of the core (23) so that the core (23) is sandwiched between the two plates (21 and 22) [Fig. 2 and paras. 0015-0019], the core (23) of the rear panel including a cellular structure (the surface of the resin adhesive may be embossed) [Kadonaga, para. 0033].
Regarding claim 27
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the second layer (12) includes:
a polymer rear layer (22) made of at least one polymer material (“both light-receiving surface protection member 11 and back surface protection member 12 may be formed of laminate 20”) [Fig. 2, paras. 0015 and 0019], and
at least one rear assembly (corresponding to layers 21 and 23) comprising an interface rear layer (corresponding to adhesive layer 23) and a glass rear layer (21) [Kadonaga, Fig. 2 and paras. 0017-0019], said at least one rear assembly (layers 21 and 23) being located between the polymer rear layer (22) and the encapsulating assembly (13) [Kadonaga, Figs. 1-5], and the interface rear layer (23) of said at least one rear assembly (layers 21 and 23) being located between the polymer rear layer (22) and the glass rear layer (21) [Kadonaga, Figs. 2, paras. 0013 and 0017-0019].
In a second interpretation of Kadonaga, the second layer (12) is embodied as follows:
a polymer rear layer (corresponding to outermost adhesive layer 23) [Kadonaga, Fig. 4, paras. 0017-0019 and 0024-0025]; and
at least one rear assembly (corresponding to layers 22b and 21b) comprising an interface rear layer (corresponding to resin layer 22b) and a glass rear layer (21b) [Kadonaga, Fig. 4, paras. 0017-0019 and 0024-0025], said at least one rear assembly (layers 22b and 21b) being located between the polymer rear layer (23) and the encapsulating assembly (13) [Kadonaga, Fig. 4], and the interface rear layer (22b) of said at least one rear assembly (22b and 21b) being located between the polymer rear layer (23) and the glass rear layer (21b) [Kadonaga, Figs. 4, paras. 0024-0025].
Kadonaga, Fig. 4
Regarding claim 28
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the glass rear layer (21) has a thickness less than or equal to 2 mm (0.15 mm - 3 mm) [Kadonaga, paras. 0014, 0019 and 0028]
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 31
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the polymer front layer (22) and/or the polymer rear layer (22) have a thickness comprised between 15 µm and 300 µm (the thickness if the resin layer 22 may be of 300 µm; 1 mm = 1000 µm) [Kadonaga, Fig. 2, paras. 0014 and 0019].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 32
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the interface rear layer (corresponding to resin layer 22b in the second interpretation of the second layer as set forth above) has a thickness comprised between 50 µm and 600 µm (0.3 mm to 4.8 mm = 300 µm to 4800 µm; 1 mm = 100 µm) [Kadonaga, Fig. 4 and para. 0025].
Regarding claim 33
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the interface front layer (23) are formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material selected from: acid copolymers, ionomers, poly(ethylene-vinyl acetate), vinyl acetals, polyurethanes, polyvinyl chlorides, polyethylenes, polyolefin elastomers of copolymers, copolymers of a-olefins and a-, 3-ethylenic carboxylic acid esters, , silicone elastomers and/or elastomers based on crosslinked thermoplastic polyolefin [Kadonaga, Fig. 2 and para. 0018].
Regarding claim 34
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the front layer of an encapsulating material (see front encapsulant 2 in Fig. 2 of Wright; see also filler 13 of Kadonaga) is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material selected from: poly(ethylene-vinyl acetate), vinyl acetals,, polyurethanes, silicone elastomers, elastomers based on crosslinked thermoplastic polyolefin and/or elastomers based on crosslinked thermoplastic polyolefin [Wright, paras. 0017 and 0022; Kadonaga, para. 0012].
Regarding claim 35
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the rear layer of an encapsulating material (see back encapsulant 4 in Fig. 2 of Wright; see also filler 13 of Kadonaga) is formed by at least one layer including at least one polymer-type encapsulating material selected from: acid copolymers, ionomers, polyvinyl chlorides and/or polyethylenes [Wright, paras. 0018 and 0022; Kadonaga, para. 0012].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadonaga in view of Wright as applied to claims 1-28, 31-35 and 40 above, and further in view of US 2013/0244519 A1, Mu et al. (hereinafter “Mu”).
Regarding claims 29-30
Modified Kadonaga does not teach the second layer including a layer of reinforcements comprising fibers based on glass fibers, carbon fibers, aramid fibers and/or natural fibers.
Mu teaches a photovoltaic module wherein a second layer (corresponding to a backsheet 10) including a layer of reinforcements comprising fibers based on glass, ceramic or polymers [Figs. 1-3, paras. 0007, 0012 and 0047].
Modified Kadonaga and Mu are analogous inventions in the field of photovoltaic modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second layer of modified Kadonaga to comprise a layer of reinforcements comprising fibers based on glass, ceramic or polymers, as in Mu, for the purpose of improving flame resistance [paras/ 0001-0005].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 36-37
Modified Kadonaga teaches the module as set forth above, wherein the first layer includes:
a first front assembly (corresponding to 21b and 23) comprising an interface front layer (23) and a glass front layer (21b) [Kadonaga, Fig. 4 and paras. 0024-0025], the glass front layer with a thickness less than or equal to 2 mm (0.3 mm to 2.4 mm) [Kadonaga, Fig. 4 and para. 0025], and
a second front assembly (corresponding to layers 23 and 21c) comprising an interface front layer (23) and a glass front layer (21c) [Kadonaga, Fig. 4 and paras. 0024-0025], the glass front layer with a thickness less than or equal to 2 mm (0.3 mm to 2.4 mm) [Kadonaga, Fig. 4 and para. 0025],
Kadonaga, Fig. 4
Modified Kadonaga does not teach the first front assembly (21b/23) being located between the polymer front layer (22b) and the second front assembly (23/21c), in turn located between the first front assembly (21b/23) and the encapsulating assembly (13).
Claim 37 is allowed for its dependency on claim 36.
Regarding claims 38-39
Claims 38-39 would be allowed for the same reasons as set forth in claims 36-37 above.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0352403 A1, Hunger et al. teaches a photovoltaic module (see Fig. 2) obtained from a stack comprising:
a first transparent layer (corresponding to layered structure including glass sheet 21 and polymer film 22) forming the front face of the photovoltaic module, intended to receive a luminous flux [Fig. 2 and para. 0065],
a plurality of photovoltaic cells (24) disposed side by side and electrically connected to each other [Fig. 2 and para. 0065],
an assembly (corresponding to encapsulant films 23 and 25) encapsulating the plurality of photovoltaic cells (24) [Fig. 2 and para. 0065], obtained by joining a front layer of an encapsulating material (23) and a rear layer of an encapsulating material (25) on either side of the photovoltaic cells (24) [Fig. 2 and para. 0065], the front layer of an encapsulating material (23) being located between the first layer (21/22) and the photovoltaic cells (24) [Fig. 2 and para. 0065],
a second layer (corresponding to rear sheet 26) forming the rear face of the photovoltaic module [Fig. 2 and para. 0065],
the encapsulating assembly (23/25) and the plurality of photovoltaic cells (24) being located between the first and second layers (21/22 and 26) [Fig. 2 and para. 0065], wherein the first layer (21/22) comprises:
a polymer front layer (22) made of at least one polymer material [Fig. 2 and para. 0065], and a glass sheet (21) [Fig. 2 and para. 0065].
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721