Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230239885 A1 (hereinafter Khoshnevisan).
Regarding claim 7, Khoshnevisan teaches A terminal comprising (Khoshnevisan UE 120 in Fig. 1;
[0028] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a wireless network 100. The wireless network 100 may include one or more base stations 110 (shown as a BS 110a, a BS 110b, a BS 110c, and a BS 110d), a user equipment (UE) 120 or multiple UEs 120 (shown as a UE 120a, a UE 120b, a UE 120c, a UE 120d, and a UE 120e), and/or other network entities. A base station 110 is an entity that communicates with UEs 120.
Fig. 12; [0144] FIG. 12 is a diagram of an example apparatus 1200 for wireless communication.
The apparatus 1200 may be a UE, or a UE may include the apparatus 1200.):
a receiver (Khoshnevisan [0144] As shown, the apparatus 1200 may communicate with
another apparatus 1206 (such as a UE, a base station, or another wireless communication device) using the reception component 1202 and the transmission component 1204.
[0146] The reception component 1202 may receive communications, such as reference signals,
control information, data communications, or a combination thereof, from the apparatus 1206.) that
receives single downlink control information (DCI) for indicating multiple
transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (Khoshnevisan [0114] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example 900 associated with applying unified TCI states to signals or channels associated with CORESET pool index values, in accordance with the present disclosure.
[0115] In some aspects, a TCI state activation by MAC-CE and a DCI-based TCI state indication may be performed for different CORESETPoolIndex values using a single MAC-CE and a single DCI (e.g., the third option as described herein).
[0116] In some aspects, as shown in FIG. 9, a base station may transmit, to a UE, a MAC-CE via a PDSCH. The MAC-CE may indicate a table that maps a plurality of TCI codepoints to corresponding TCI states, where each TCI state may be associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=0) and/or a second CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=1). As an example, the table may indicate a TCI codepoint of “0” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 5 for CORESETPoolIndex 0, a TCI codepoint of “1” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 1 and uplink TCI state 3 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1, a TCI codepoint of “2” and a corresponding uplink TCI state 4 for both CORESETPoolIndex 0 and CORESETPoolIndex 1, and a TCI codepoint of “7” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 2 and uplink TCI state 5 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and downlink TCI state 3 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1.
[0117] In some aspects, as further shown in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2) with a beam indication with or without a PDSCH scheduling. The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”).); and
a processor (Khoshnevisan [0145] the apparatus 1200 may be configured to perform one or more operations described herein in connection with FIGS. 6-9.... the apparatus 1200 and/or one or more components shown in FIG. 12 may include one or more components of the UE described in connection with FIG. 2. ... Additionally, or alternatively, one or more components of the set of components may be implemented at least in part as software stored in a memory. For example, a component (or a portion of a component) may be implemented as instructions or code stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium and executable by a controller or a processor to perform the functions or operations of the component.) that
determines, based on at least one of:
an index related to the signal, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the signal (Khoshnevisan [0116] The MAC-CE may indicate a table that maps a plurality of TCI codepoints to corresponding TCI states, where each TCI state may be associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=0) and/or a second CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=1). As an example, the table may indicate … a TCI codepoint of “1” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 1 and uplink TCI state 3 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1.
[0117] In some aspects, as further shown in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2) with a beam indication with or without a PDSCH scheduling. The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”). In this example, after Y symbols, downlink TCI state 1 may be applied to downlink signals associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value 0, uplink TCI state 3 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 0, and uplink TCI state 2 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 1.),
wherein each of the multiple TCI states is Khoshnevisan [0117] The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”). In this example, after Y symbols, downlink TCI state 1 may be applied to downlink signals associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value 0, uplink TCI state 3 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 0, and uplink TCI state 2 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 1.).
Claim 11 recites similar limitations of claim 7, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 12, Khoshnevisan teaches A base station comprising (Khoshnevisan Base
station 110 in Fig. 1;
[0028] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a wireless network 100. The wireless
network 100 may include one or more base stations 110 (shown as a BS 110a, a BS 110b, a BS 110c, and a BS 110d), a user equipment (UE) 120 or multiple UEs 120 (shown as a UE 120a, a UE 120b, a UE 120c, a UE 120d, and a UE 120e), and/or other network entities. A base station 110 is an entity that communicates with UEs 120.
[0150] FIG. 13 is a diagram of an example apparatus 1300 for wireless communication. The
apparatus 1300 may be a base station, or a base station may include the apparatus 1300.):
a transmitter (Khoshnevisan [0150] As shown, the apparatus 1300 may communicate with
another apparatus 1306 (such as a UE, a base station, or another wireless communication device) using the reception component 1302 and the transmission component 1304.
[0153] The transmission component 1304 may transmit communications, such as reference
signals, control information, data communications, or a combination thereof, to the apparatus 1306.) that
transmits single downlink control information (DCI) for indicating multiple transmission
configuration indication (TCI) states (Khoshnevisan [0114] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example 900 associated with applying unified TCI states to signals or channels associated with CORESET pool index values, in accordance with the present disclosure.
[0115] In some aspects, a TCI state activation by MAC-CE and a DCI-based TCI state indication may be performed for different CORESETPoolIndex values using a single MAC-CE and a single DCI (e.g., the third option as described herein).
[0116] In some aspects, as shown in FIG. 9, a base station may transmit, to a UE, a MAC-CE via a PDSCH. The MAC-CE may indicate a table that maps a plurality of TCI codepoints to corresponding TCI states, where each TCI state may be associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=0) and/or a second CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=1). As an example, the table may indicate a TCI codepoint of “0” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 5 for CORESETPoolIndex 0, a TCI codepoint of “1” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 1 and uplink TCI state 3 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1, a TCI codepoint of “2” and a corresponding uplink TCI state 4 for both CORESETPoolIndex 0 and CORESETPoolIndex 1, and a TCI codepoint of “7” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 2 and uplink TCI state 5 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and downlink TCI state 3 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1.
[0117] In some aspects, as further shown in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2) with a beam indication with or without a PDSCH scheduling. The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”).); and
a processor (Khoshnevisan [0151] In some aspects, the apparatus 1300 may be configured to perform one or more operations described herein in connection with FIGS. 6-9.... the apparatus 1300 and/or one or more components shown in FIG. 13 may include one or more components of the base station described in connection with FIG. 2. ... Additionally, or alternatively, one or more components of the set of components may be implemented at least in part as software stored in a memory. For example, a component (or a portion of a component) may be implemented as instructions or code stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium and executable by a controller or a processor to perform the functions or operations of the component.) that
indicates, based on at least one of:
an index related to the signal, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the signal (Khoshnevisan [0116] The MAC-CE may indicate a table that maps a plurality of TCI codepoints to corresponding TCI states, where each TCI state may be associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=0) and/or a second CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=1). As an example, the table may indicate … a TCI codepoint of “1” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 1 and uplink TCI state 3 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1.
[0117] In some aspects, as further shown in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2) with a beam indication with or without a PDSCH scheduling. The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”). In this example, after Y symbols, downlink TCI state 1 may be applied to downlink signals associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value 0, uplink TCI state 3 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 0, and uplink TCI state 2 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 1.),
wherein each of the multiple TCI states is Khoshnevisan [0117] The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”). In this example, after Y symbols, downlink TCI state 1 may be applied to downlink signals associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value 0, uplink TCI state 3 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 0, and uplink TCI state 2 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 1.).
Claim 13 is a system claim (a terminal and a base station) that recites similar features of claim 7
and claim 12, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of US 20250056559 A1 (hereinafter Nilsson) (priority document us-provisional-application US 63238609 20210830, hereinafter prov8609).
Regarding claim 7, Khoshnevisan teaches A terminal comprising (Khoshnevisan UE 120 in Fig. 1; [0028] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a wireless network 100. The wireless
network 100 may include one or more base stations 110 (shown as a BS 110a, a BS 110b, a BS 110c, and a BS 110d), a user equipment (UE) 120 or multiple UEs 120 (shown as a UE 120a, a UE 120b, a UE 120c, a UE 120d, and a UE 120e), and/or other network entities. A base station 110 is an entity that communicates with UEs 120.
Fig. 12; [0144] FIG. 12 is a diagram of an example apparatus 1200 for wireless communication.
The apparatus 1200 may be a UE, or a UE may include the apparatus 1200.):
a receiver (Khoshnevisan [0144] As shown, the apparatus 1200 may communicate with
another apparatus 1206 (such as a UE, a base station, or another wireless communication device) using the reception component 1202 and the transmission component 1204.
[0146] The reception component 1202 may receive communications, such as reference signals,
control information, data communications, or a combination thereof, from the apparatus 1206.) that
receives single downlink control information (DCI) for indicating multiple transmission
configuration indication (TCI) states (Khoshnevisan [0114] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example 900 associated with applying unified TCI states to signals or channels associated with CORESET pool index values, in accordance with the present disclosure.
[0115] In some aspects, a TCI state activation by MAC-CE and a DCI-based TCI state indication may be performed for different CORESETPoolIndex values using a single MAC-CE and a single DCI (e.g., the third option as described herein).
[0116] In some aspects, as shown in FIG. 9, a base station may transmit, to a UE, a MAC-CE via a PDSCH. The MAC-CE may indicate a table that maps a plurality of TCI codepoints to corresponding TCI states, where each TCI state may be associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=0) and/or a second CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=1). As an example, the table may indicate a TCI codepoint of “0” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 5 for CORESETPoolIndex 0, a TCI codepoint of “1” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 1 and uplink TCI state 3 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1, a TCI codepoint of “2” and a corresponding uplink TCI state 4 for both CORESETPoolIndex 0 and CORESETPoolIndex 1, and a TCI codepoint of “7” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 2 and uplink TCI state 5 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and downlink TCI state 3 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1.
[0117] In some aspects, as further shown in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2) with a beam indication with or without a PDSCH scheduling. The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”).); and
a processor (Khoshnevisan [0145] the apparatus 1200 may be configured to perform one or more operations described herein in connection with FIGS. 6-9.... the apparatus 1200 and/or one or more components shown in FIG. 12 may include one or more components of the UE described in connection with FIG. 2. ... Additionally, or alternatively, one or more components of the set of components may be implemented at least in part as software stored in a memory. For example, a component (or a portion of a component) may be implemented as instructions or code stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium and executable by a controller or a processor to perform the functions or operations of the component.) that
determines, based on at least one of: an index related to the signal, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the signal (Khoshnevisan [0116] The MAC-CE may indicate a table that maps a plurality of TCI codepoints to corresponding TCI states, where each TCI state may be associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=0) and/or a second CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=1). As an example, the table may indicate … a TCI codepoint of “1” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 1 and uplink TCI state 3 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1.
[0117] In some aspects, as further shown in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2) with a beam indication with or without a PDSCH scheduling. The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”). In this example, after Y symbols, downlink TCI state 1 may be applied to downlink signals associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value 0, uplink TCI state 3 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 0, and uplink TCI state 2 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 1.),
wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to a DL signal and a UL signal separately (Khoshnevisan [0117] The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”). In this example, after Y symbols, downlink TCI state 1 may be applied to downlink signals associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value 0, uplink TCI state 3 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 0, and uplink TCI state 2 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 1.).
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach determines, based on at least one of: an index related to a transmission/reception point (TRP) corresponding to a signal to which a TCI state is applied; wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) signal and an uplink (UL) signal.
Nilsson in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches determines, based on at least one of: an index related to a transmission/reception point (TRP) corresponding to a signal to which a TCI state is applied (Nilsson Fig. 22; [0327] FIG. 22 illustrates a schematic example where a list of activated DL TCI state pairs is mapped to a set of TCI field codepoints in a DCI for Joint DL/UL TCI update for multi-TRP based operation. A single TCI field codepoint in DCI may be used to update two DL TCI states, which may be used (e.g., by WD 22) to determine two TX/RX spatial filters for both DL and UL signals (e.g., one spatial filter per TRP). For example, in case a DCI with TCI field codepoint 2 is indicated to the WD 22, the WD 22 may (e.g., may be triggered by the indication to) update one TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 9 for both DL and UL signals associated to a first TRP, and another TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 38 for both DL and UL signals associated to a second TRP (prov 8609 Fig. 20, [00166]).
Note: first and second TRP corresponds to TRP index 1 and 2.);
wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) signal and an uplink (UL) signal (Nilsson Fig. 22; [0327] For example, in case a DCI with TCI field codepoint 2 is indicated to the WD 22, the WD 22 may (e.g., may be triggered by the indication to) update one TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 9 for both DL and UL signals associated to a first TRP, and another TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 38 for both DL and UL signals associated to a second TRP (prov 8609 Fig. 20, [00166]).).
By modifying Khoshnevisan’s teachings of
determines, based on at least one of: an index related to the signal, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the signal, wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to a DL signal and a UL signal separately
with Nilsson’s teachings of
determines, based on at least one of: an index related to a transmission/reception point (TRP) corresponding to a signal to which a TCI state is applied; wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) signal and an uplink (UL) signal,
the modification results in
determines, based on at least one of: an index related to a transmission/reception point (TRP)
corresponding to a signal to which a TCI state is applied; and an index related to the signal, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the signal,
wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) signal
and an uplink (UL) signal, or a TCI state to be applied to a DL signal and a UL signal separately.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan with Nilsson’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead (Nilsson [0224] (prov 8609 [00106])).
Claim 11 recites similar limitations of claim 7, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 12, Khoshnevisan teaches A base station comprising (Khoshnevisan Base
station 110 in Fig. 1;
[0028] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a wireless network 100. The wireless
network 100 may include one or more base stations 110 (shown as a BS 110a, a BS 110b, a BS 110c, and a BS 110d), a user equipment (UE) 120 or multiple UEs 120 (shown as a UE 120a, a UE 120b, a UE 120c, a UE 120d, and a UE 120e), and/or other network entities. A base station 110 is an entity that communicates with UEs 120.
[0150] FIG. 13 is a diagram of an example apparatus 1300 for wireless communication. The
apparatus 1300 may be a base station, or a base station may include the apparatus 1300.):
a transmitter (Khoshnevisan [0150] As shown, the apparatus 1300 may communicate with
another apparatus 1306 (such as a UE, a base station, or another wireless communication device) using the reception component 1302 and the transmission component 1304.
[0153] The transmission component 1304 may transmit communications, such as reference
signals, control information, data communications, or a combination thereof, to the apparatus 1306.) that
transmits single downlink control information (DCI) for indicating multiple transmission
configuration indication (TCI) states (Khoshnevisan [0114] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example 900 associated with applying unified TCI states to signals or channels associated with CORESET pool index values, in accordance with the present disclosure.
[0115] In some aspects, a TCI state activation by MAC-CE and a DCI-based TCI state indication may be performed for different CORESETPoolIndex values using a single MAC-CE and a single DCI (e.g., the third option as described herein).
[0116] In some aspects, as shown in FIG. 9, a base station may transmit, to a UE, a MAC-CE via a PDSCH. The MAC-CE may indicate a table that maps a plurality of TCI codepoints to corresponding TCI states, where each TCI state may be associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=0) and/or a second CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=1). As an example, the table may indicate a TCI codepoint of “0” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 5 for CORESETPoolIndex 0, a TCI codepoint of “1” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 1 and uplink TCI state 3 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1, a TCI codepoint of “2” and a corresponding uplink TCI state 4 for both CORESETPoolIndex 0 and CORESETPoolIndex 1, and a TCI codepoint of “7” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 2 and uplink TCI state 5 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and downlink TCI state 3 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1.
[0117] In some aspects, as further shown in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2) with a beam indication with or without a PDSCH scheduling. The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”).); and
a processor (Khoshnevisan [0151] In some aspects, the apparatus 1300 may be configured to perform one or more operations described herein in connection with FIGS. 6-9.... the apparatus 1300 and/or one or more components shown in FIG. 13 may include one or more components of the base station described in connection with FIG. 2. ... Additionally, or alternatively, one or more components of the set of components may be implemented at least in part as software stored in a memory. For example, a component (or a portion of a component) may be implemented as instructions or code stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium and executable by a controller or a processor to perform the functions or operations of the component.) that
indicates, based on at least one of: an index related to the signal, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the signal (Khoshnevisan [0116] The MAC-CE may indicate a table that maps a plurality of TCI codepoints to corresponding TCI states, where each TCI state may be associated with a first CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=0) and/or a second CORESETPoolIndex value (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex=1). As an example, the table may indicate … a TCI codepoint of “1” and a corresponding downlink TCI state 1 and uplink TCI state 3 for CORESETPoolIndex 0 and uplink TCI state 2 for CORESETPoolIndex 1.
[0117] In some aspects, as further shown in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1/1_2) with a beam indication with or without a PDSCH scheduling. The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”). In this example, after Y symbols, downlink TCI state 1 may be applied to downlink signals associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value 0, uplink TCI state 3 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 0, and uplink TCI state 2 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 1),
wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to a DL signal and a UL signal separately (Khoshnevisan [0117] The DCI may indicate a TCI field codepoint (e.g., a TCI codepoint of “1”). In this example, after Y symbols, downlink TCI state 1 may be applied to downlink signals associated with the CORESETPoolIndex value 0, uplink TCI state 3 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 0, and uplink TCI state 2 may be applied to uplink signals associated with CORESETPoolIndex value 1.).
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach indicates, based on at least one of: an index related to a transmission/reception point (TRP) corresponding to a signal to which a TCI state is applied; wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) signal and an uplink (UL) signal.
Nilsson in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches indicates, based on at least one of: an index related to a transmission/reception point (TRP) corresponding to a signal to which a TCI state is applied (Nilsson Fig. 22; [0327] FIG. 22 illustrates a schematic example where a list of activated DL TCI state pairs is mapped to a set of TCI field codepoints in a DCI for Joint DL/UL TCI update for multi-TRP based operation. A single TCI field codepoint in DCI may be used to update two DL TCI states, which may be used (e.g., by WD 22) to determine two TX/RX spatial filters for both DL and UL signals (e.g., one spatial filter per TRP). For example, in case a DCI with TCI field codepoint 2 is indicated to the WD 22, the WD 22 may (e.g., may be triggered by the indication to) update one TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 9 for both DL and UL signals associated to a first TRP, and another TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 38 for both DL and UL signals associated to a second TRP (prov 8609 Fig. 20, [00166]).
Note: first and second TRP corresponds to TRP index 1 and 2.);
wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) signal and an uplink (UL) signal (Nilsson Fig. 22; [0327] For example, in case a DCI with TCI field codepoint 2 is indicated to the WD 22, the WD 22 may (e.g., may be triggered by the indication to) update one TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 9 for both DL and UL signals associated to a first TRP, and another TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 38 for both DL and UL signals associated to a second TRP (prov 8609 Fig. 20, [00166]).).
By modifying Khoshnevisan’s teachings of
indicates, based on at least one of: an index related to the signal, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the signal, wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to a DL signal and a UL signal separately
with Nilsson’s teachings of
indicates, based on at least one of: an index related to a transmission/reception point (TRP) corresponding to a signal to which a TCI state is applied; wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) signal and an uplink (UL) signal,
the modification results in
indicates, based on at least one of: an index related to a transmission/reception point (TRP) corresponding to a signal to which a TCI state is applied; and an index related to the signal, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the signal,
wherein each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) signal and an uplink (UL) signal, or a TCI state to be applied to a DL signal and a UL signal separately.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan with Nilsson’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead (Nilsson [0224] (prov 8609 [00106])).
Claim 13 is a system claim (a terminal and a base station) that recites similar features of claim 7
and claim 12, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 9, Khoshnevisan in view of Nilsson teaches The terminal according to claim 7.
Khoshnevisan teaches the processor (Khoshnevisan [0145] cited above in rejection of claim 7.),
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach determines, based on an index related to a TRP corresponding to a channel to which a TCI state is applied, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the channel, and each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) channel and an uplink (UL) channel, or a TCI state to be applied to a DL channel and a UL channel separately.
Nilsson teaches determines, based on an index related to a TRP corresponding to a channel to which a TCI state is applied, which TCI state, among the multiple TCI states, to apply to the channel (Nilsson Fig. 22; [0327] FIG. 22 illustrates a schematic example where a list of activated DL TCI state pairs is mapped to a set of TCI field codepoints in a DCI for Joint DL/UL TCI update for multi-TRP based operation. A single TCI field codepoint in DCI may be used to update two DL TCI states, which may be used (e.g., by WD 22) to determine two TX/RX spatial filters for both DL and UL channels (e.g., one spatial filter per TRP). For example, in case a DCI with TCI field codepoint 2 is indicated to the WD 22, the WD 22 may (e.g., may be triggered by the indication to) update one TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 9 for both DL and UL channels associated to a first TRP, and another TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 38 for both DL and UL channels associated to a second TRP (prov 8609 Fig. 20, [00166]).
Note: first and second TRP corresponds to TRP index 1 and 2.), and
each of the multiple TCI states is a TCI state to be applied to both a downlink (DL) channel and an uplink (UL) channel (Nilsson Fig. 22; [0327] For example, in case a DCI with TCI field codepoint 2 is indicated to the WD 22, the WD 22 may (e.g., may be triggered by the indication to) update one TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 9 for both DL and UL channels associated to a first TRP, and another TX/RX spatial filter based on DL TCI state 38 for both DL and UL channels associated to a second TRP (prov 8609 Fig. 20, [00166]).), or a TCI state to be applied to a DL channel and a UL channel separately.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan as modified by Nilsson with Nilsson’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead (Nilsson [0224] (prov 8609 [00106])).
Regarding claim 10, Khoshnevisan in view of Nilsson teaches The terminal according to claim 7.
Khoshnevisan teaches the receiver (Khoshnevisan [0144], [0146] cited above in rejection of
claim 7.) and the processor (Khoshnevisan [0145] cited above in rejection of claim 7.),
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach receives second DCI, and determines, based on a field
included in the second DCI, whether transmission of the signal is single-TRP transmission or multi-TRP transmission.
Nilsson teaches receives second DCI, and determines, based on a field included in the second DCI, whether transmission of the signal is single-TRP transmission or multi-TRP transmission (Nilsson Fig. 25;
[0344] In one embodiment, a joint DL/UL TCI state indication may be used. One or more TCI field codepoints in DCI may be associated with two activated DL TCI states. One or more other TCI field codepoints may be associated with a single activated DL TCI state, e.g., as schematically illustrated in FIG. 25.
In case the WD 22 is indicated with (e.g., receives an indication indicating) a TCI field codepoint associated with a single activated DL TCI state, the WD 22 may use the single DL TCI state to determine a single TX/RX spatial filter. The TX spatial filter for UL transmission and/or the RX spatial filter for DL reception may be determined using the single DL TCI state indicated by the TCI field codepoint for single-TRP operation.
In case the WD 22 is indicated with a TCI field codepoint associated with (e.g., receives an indication indicating) two activated DL TCI states, the WD 22 may use the two DL TCI states to determine two TX/RX spatial filters. In other words, two TX spatial filters for UL transmission and two RX spatial filters for DL reception may be determined using the two DL TCI states indicated by the TCI field codepoint for multi-TRP operation.
By dynamically indicating either a TCI field codepoint associated to a single DL TCI state or a TCI field codepoint associated to two (or more) DL TCI states, the WD 22 may be dynamically indicated to determine either a single TX/RX spatial filter or two (or more) TX/RX spatial filters based on the indicated TCI field codepoint in DCI. The dynamic indication of TCI state(s) and determination of the TX/RX spatial filters by the WD 22 may be referred to as dynamic switching between single TRP operation and multi-TRP operation in this embodiment (prov 8609 Fig. 23, [00175])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan as modified by Nilsson with Nilsson’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead (Nilsson [0224] (prov 8609 [00106])).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of WO 2020090060 A1 (US 20210409175 A1 (hereinafter Matsumura) is used as English translation of WO 2020090060 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Khoshnevisan teaches The terminal according to claim 7
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly teach wherein the multiple TCI states are activated from a TCI
state list common to multiple TRPs.
Matsumura in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the multiple TCI states are activated from a TCI state list common to multiple TRPs (Matsumura [0191] The UE may control the activation of the TCI state of AP CSI-RS, which is common to all panels/TRPs/DMRS port groups, based on the MAC CE that activates the TCI state of AP CSI-RS.
[0192] For example, upon receiving the above MAC CE including a bitmap indicating “11010010”, the UE may assume that the TCI state IDs #1, #2, #4 and #7 are activated for all panels (e.g., panel 1 and panel 2).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan with Matsumura’s above teachings. The motivation is preferably performing DL communication even when a multi-panel/TRP is used (Matsumura [0009-0010]).
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418