DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 10/16/2024. Claims 11-25 are
pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 11 and 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by XUE et al. (US
2023/0171815 Al, hereinafter “Xue”).
Regarding claim 11, Xue discloses:
A communication apparatus, comprising (the apparatus 500 for wireless communication, Xue: Fig. 5, [0105]):
control circuitry, which, in operation, according to whether to satisfy a bandwidth limitation or not, maps a signal for sidelink communication in a frequency domain in an unlicensed band (Offloading of data to unlicensed spectrum is seen as one way to address the data bandwidth limitations of the licensed spectrum. the processor 504 may include slot transmission gap circuitry 543 configured for various functions, including, for example, transmitting sidelink control in a fist subchannel during a slot, the processor 504 may include licensed and unlicensed access control circuitry 544 configured for various functions, including, for example, seeking access to a subcarrier in an unlicensed band. base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals. Access control or scheduling in the unlicensed band 616 may be determined by a second standard for communication (including, for example, sidelink communication), Xue: Fig. 5, [0002], [0057], [0103]-[0104], [0112]); and
a transceiver, which, in operation, transmits the signal (The transceiver 510 provides a means for communicating with various other apparatus over a transmission medium (e.g., air interface). base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals, Xue: Fig. 5, [0057], [0098]).
Regarding claim 16, Xue teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein the control circuitry configures a size of a resource for transmitting a data signal and/or a control signal for the sidelink communication to a size defined for sidelink (Scheduling of UEs or sidelink devices for downlink, uplink, or sidelink transmissions typically involves scheduling one or more resource elements 406 within one or more sub-bands. an RB may be the smallest unit of resources that can be allocated to a UE. Thus, the more RBs scheduled for a UE, and the higher the modulation scheme chosen for the air interface, the higher the data rate for the UE, Xue: [0074]).
Regarding claim 17, Xue teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein the control circuitry maps a feedback signal for the sidelink communication in an interlace in a frequency domain (PSCCH may include HARQ feedback information (e.g., ACK/NACK) that may be used to indicate a need, or lack of need, for retransmissions on the sidelink. sidelink feedback may be reported back to the network access node by a transmitting wireless communication device, Xue: [0083], [0087], [0164]).
Regarding claim 18, Xue teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein the control circuitry determines a number of the interlace based on a slot number or a subchannel number in which a data signal for the sidelink communication corresponding to the feedback signal for the sidelink communication is received (Sidelink UE that occupies a given subchannel in the primary carrier 803 of FIG. 8A may determine which interlace to use in a number of ways including, for example, by having a preconfigured set of subchannel and interlace combinations. sidelink feedback may be reported back to the network access node by a transmitting wireless communication device, Xue: [0087], [0139]).
Regarding claim 19, Xue teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein the control circuitry maps a data signal and/or a control signal for the sidelink communication in an interlace in a frequency domain (The aspect of interlaced channel access over the secondary carrier 805 may be useful in several scenarios including, for example, when the primary carrier 803 may be used for low-latency safety-like small packet yet the secondary carrier 805 may be for large packet with relaxed latency. According to such aspects, the secondary carrier 805 in the unlicensed band can be shared by multiple SL UEs that have occupied multiple respective subchannels (CA subchannels, SL subchannels) in the primary carrier 803 licensed band, Xue: [0144]).
Regarding claim 20, Xue teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein a continuous interlace is assigned to the data signal and/or the control signal (the interlaces begin at PRB 0 818 with interlace index 0 and repeat every five interlaces, such that each succeeding interlace 4 is adjacent to a next succeeding interlace 0, Xue: Fig. 8B, [0137]).
Regarding claim 21, Xue teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein the control signal is allocated to the interlace with the lowest index among the interlaces to which the data signal is allocated (the interlaces begin at PRB 0 818 with interlace index 0 and repeat every five interlaces, such that each succeeding interlace 4 is adjacent to a next succeeding interlace 0, Xue: [0137]).
Regarding claim 22, Xue teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein the bandwidth limitation corresponds to an Occupied Channel Bandwidth (OCB) regulation (The interlaced waveform, (e.g., the interlaced waveform of the secondary carrier805 of FIG. 8B) may be used for the unlicensed band of the secondary carrier 805 to meet occupied channel bandwidth (OCB) and/or power spectral density (PSD) regulations, Xue: [0138]).
Regarding claim 23, Xue teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein the bandwidth limitation is different from an Occupied Channel Bandwidth (OCB) regulation (The occupation of subchannels need not be sequential, nor must all subchannels be occupied, Xue: [0136], [0149]).
Regarding claim 24, Xue discloses:
A communication method, comprising (method of wireless communication in a wireless communication network is disclosed, Xue: [0005]):
according to whether to satisfy a bandwidth limitation or not, mapping, by a communication apparatus, a signal for sidelink communication in a frequency domain in an unlicensed band (Offloading of data to unlicensed spectrum is seen as one way to address the data bandwidth limitations of the licensed spectrum. the processor 504 may include slot transmission gap circuitry 543 configured for various functions, including, for example, transmitting sidelink control in a fist subchannel during a slot, the processor 504 may include licensed and unlicensed access control circuitry 544 configured for various functions, including, for example, seeking access to a subcarrier in an unlicensed band. base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals. Access control or scheduling in the unlicensed band 616 may be determined by a second standard for communication (including, for example, sidelink communication), Xue: Fig. 5, [0002], [0057], [0103]-[0104], [0112]); and
transmitting, by the communication apparatus, the signal (base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals. communication and processing circuitry 541 may include one or more hardware components that provide the physical structure that performs processes related to wireless communication (e.g., signal reception and/or signal transmission), Xue: Fig. 5, [0057], [0101]).
Regarding claim 25, Xue discloses:
An integrated circuit, which comprises circuitry configured to (The bus 502 communicatively couples together various circuits including one or more processors, Xue: [0097]):
according to whether to satisfy a bandwidth limitation or not, control mapping, by a communication apparatus, a signal for sidelink communication in a frequency domain in an unlicensed band (Offloading of data to unlicensed spectrum is seen as one way to address the data bandwidth limitations of the licensed spectrum. the processor 504 may include slot transmission gap circuitry 543 configured for various functions, including, for example, transmitting sidelink control in a fist subchannel during a slot, the processor 504 may include licensed and unlicensed access control circuitry 544 configured for various functions, including, for example, seeking access to a subcarrier in an unlicensed band. base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals. Access control or scheduling in the unlicensed band 616 may be determined by a second standard for communication (including, for example, sidelink communication), Xue: Fig. 5, [0002], [0057], [0103]-[0104], [0112]); and
control transmitting, by the communication apparatus, the signal (base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals. communication and processing circuitry 541 may include one or more hardware components that provide the physical structure that performs processes related to wireless communication (e.g., signal reception and/or signal transmission), Xue: Fig. 5, [0057], [0101]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of KIM et al.
(US 2021/0314938 Al, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 12, Xue teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Xue further discloses:
the transceiver transmits the synchronization signal and/or the broadcast signal in the first frequency resource and the second frequency resource (the base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH)), Xue: [0057]).
Xue does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the control circuitry determines a first frequency resource specified by a parameter specifying a resource of a synchronization signal and/or a broadcast signal of the sidelink communication and a second frequency resource, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
wherein the control circuitry determines a first frequency resource specified by a parameter specifying a resource of a synchronization signal and/or a broadcast signal of the sidelink communication and a second frequency resource (a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and/or a physical broadcast signal (PBCH) may be transmitted in one synchronization signal (SS) block or SS PBCH block (hereinafter, referred to as an SSB or SS/PBCH block). A synchronization raster refers to a frequency position of a synchronization signal block (SSB) that can be used by a UE for system information (SI) acquisition, Kim: [0168], [0200]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xue in view of Kim in order to further modify the control circuitry which determines a first frequency resource specified by a parameter specifying a resource of a synchronization signal of the sidelink communication and a second frequency resource from the teachings of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may acquire timing synchronization and the physical cell ID of a detected cell by detecting a PSS and an SSS. More specifically, the UE may acquire the symbol timing of the SSB and detect a cell ID within a cell ID group, by PSS detection (Kim: [0184]).
Regarding claim 13, Xue in view of Kim teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein the first frequency resource is common between the sidelink communication and a link through a base station (the network access node may activate preconfigured sidelink grants for sidelink communication among wireless communication devices. using concepts of carrier aggregation, a wireless communication device may make use of a primary carrier including one or more subchannels in a licensed band to handle control signaling and conduct access control (e.g., scheduling), Xue: [0087], [0094]).
Regarding claim 14, Xue in view of Kim teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Xue further discloses:
wherein t the first frequency resource is different between the sidelink communication and a link through a base station (unlicensed use of sidelink (via NR-U) does not provide the same channel access scheme. For example, NR SL (e.g., as used for V2X) employs subchannel selection-based sensing, making use of a secondary carrier in an unlicensed band to handle traffic (e.g. user data, Xue: [0091], [0094]).
Regarding claim 15, Xue in view of Kim teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Xue does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the control circuitry maps a synchronization signal and/or a broadcast signal of the sidelink communication in an interlace in a frequency domain.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
wherein the control circuitry maps a synchronization signal and/or a broadcast signal of the sidelink communication in an interlace in a frequency domain (establishing connection to the cell based on the synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block. interlace information about at least one interlace, and transmitting, based on uplink resources determined by the uplink resource information, the uplink signal through the unlicensed band, Kim: [0007], [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xue in view of Kim in order to further modify the control circuitry which maps a synchronization signal of the sidelink communication in an interlace in a frequency domain from the teachings of Kim.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE may acquire timing synchronization and the physical cell ID of a detected cell by detecting a PSS and an SSS. More specifically, the UE may acquire the symbol timing of the SSB and detect a cell ID within a cell ID group, by PSS detection (Kim: [0184]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
Hwang et al. (US 2023/0300862 A1); See Abstract, Fig. 14, [0028] -[0032], [0210].
Davydov et al. (US 2019/0342874A1); See Fig. 21, [0293] -[0296].
KUNDU et al. (US 2022/0086907 A1); See Fig. 1, [0024] -[0026].
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467