DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendments filed on 3/11/2026.
Currently, claims 7-11 are pending.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 20123, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-11 have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection using Choi et al. (US 2021/0036825: previously cited) in view of newly discovered reference Davydov et al. (US 2023/0179269). Note that the new ground of rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s claim amendment(s) filed on 3/11/2026, since Applicant’s claim amendments add new limitations that were not previously presented and thus require new search and consideration by the Examiner. The specific rationale of the new prior art rejection (under 35 U.S.C. 103) for claims 7-11 are each stated later in this Office Action (all of which is incorporated by reference into this section of this Office Action).
More specifically, in regards to claims 7-11, the Examiner’s response to Applicant’s directed to the merits of the Choi et al. reference as well as the rationale of the new/updated prior art rejections are stated below:
With regards to claims 7, 9, 10, and 11; Choi teaches a system (see figs. 15-20, where at least figure 17 discloses a communication system including a base station (BS) 1710 and User Equipment (UE, a.k.a. terminal) 1720. Figure 16 discloses the steps/functions of the BS and figure 15 discloses the steps/functions of the UE. Note that the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware) comprising a terminal device (and a radio communication method for a/the terminal) and a base station (see figs. 15-20, where at least figure 17 discloses a communication system including a base station (BS) 1710 and User Equipment (UE, a.k.a. terminal) 1720. Figure 16 discloses the steps/functions of the BS and figure 15 discloses the steps/functions of the UE; including wireless RF communications. Note that the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware), wherein
the terminal (previously addressed) comprises (addressed below):
a processor (figs. 15-20, see at least figure 17 (and/or figs. 18-20) which discloses the UE includes at least one processor (e.g. 1721) that implements the steps/functions of the invention of Choi, e.g. see [0309-0319]) that determines a cyclic shift based on whether cyclic shift hopping is applied or not (figs. 15-20: see [0145-0156] which address the overall SRS generation and configurations (including the “SRS-CyclicShiftConfig” aspects/values [0149]), where more specifically [0151] discloses when a particular variable equal to zero then ‘sequence group hopping’ and the ‘sequence hopping’ are ‘not used’ (i.e. not applied), where the other paragraphs addressed various situations when they various hopping are applied, which further connects to the implemented SRS Frequency Hopping using a hopping pattern [0157-0160] and Cyclic Shift (CS) hopping of the SRS starting in paragraph [0163-0165]. Also see [0232] which states “UE and/or the base station may be configured not to use a CS hopping pattern (or CS hopping pattern for existing SRS) for the existing PUCCH”. Where the Examiner notes that the cyclic shift of the SRS is still determined, but process changes depending upon the selected/applicable variables and scenarios), and generates a sounding reference signal (SRS) sequence by applying the cyclic shift to a base sequence (previously addressed and/or readily apparent); and
a transmitter (figs. 15-20: see at least figures 17+15+18 (and/or figs. 19-20) which discloses the UE includes at least one RF unit (e.g. 1723) that transmits the generated SRS to the BS, based on the determined/generated SRS sequence and parameters/variables, see [0309-0319]) that transmits an SRS based on the SRS sequence (previously addressed and/or readily apparent),
wherein when the cyclic shift hopping is applied (previously addressed and/or readily apparent), the processor randomizes the SRS sequence based on a symbol number in a radio frame for an SRS resource used for transmission of the SRS (figs. 15-20: where [0163-0168] and [0196-0210], which specifically addressed different configurations for the SRS when CS hopping is implemented. Where the generated SRS sequence is based on the slot index and symbol number/index/level and OFDM symbol number are used as variables within the various equations; all within a particular radio frame, see [0164+0165+0167+0168] as well as [0197-0210]. Furthermore, [0196] states the purpose of “randomization improvement of SRS transmission” in regards to the “CS hopping pattern”. Also phrases “SRS resources” and “SRS resource sets” are addressed throughout the reference, e.g. see [0197], which are further stated configured.
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent), and
the base station (previously addressed) comprises (addressed below):
a processor that configures whether the cyclic shift hopping is applied or not (figs. 15-20, see at least figure 17 (and/or figs. 18-20) which discloses the BS includes at least one processor (e.g. 1711) that implements the steps/functions of the invention of Choi, e.g. see [0309-0319]. Including the BS/processor determining all of the configuration variables for the future uplink SRS (transmitted in the future by the UE to the BS) as shown by figure 16 [Wingdings font/0xE0] S1605 and S1610; see [0298-0323]. Additionally but not exclusively, these concepts are also addressed by figure 15 (which is the steps/functions of the UE) which receive the configuration information/variables from the BS, then later the UE implements the specific configuration (signalled by the BS) to generate and transmit the uplink SRS signal back to the BS; including ‘whether CS hopping is applied or not’ (which was previously addressed)); and
a receiver (figs. 15-20: see at least figures 17+16+19 (and/or figs. 18-20) which discloses the BS includes at least one RF unit (e.g. 1713) that receives the generated/transmitted SRS sent from the UE, based on the determined/generated SRS sequence and parameters/variables, see [0309-0319]) that receives the SRS (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
Additionally the Examiner notes each SRS sequence is explicitly stated to be a pseudo-random sequence by default (e.g. see [0154-0156]), where logically each default SRS includes (pseudo) randomization properties (supplemental to the rationale of the rejection above). Where later paragraph [0196] address randomization improvements (as compared with the earlier already randomized SRS(s) with CS hopping pattern(s)) for each SRS specifically adds/improves randomization for interference between cells via updated Cyclic Shift (CS) hopping pattern. Where paragraph [0196] states “[0196] For randomization improvement of SRS transmission interference between cells, a method may be considered which generates or defines a CS hopping pattern for port allocation of SRS resources separately from the existing considered CS hopping pattern for PUCCH transmission”. Where later paragraphs and equations, implementing the ‘randomization improvement of the SRS via the CS hopping pattern’ (e.g. see [0197-0210]) explicitly use the symbol index/number and slot index/number in defining the CS hopping pattern of the SRS (within the radio frame as previously addressed).
Limitation 1 (below)
Choi is silent to explicitly disclosing “and wherein the SRS sequence comprises a low peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) sequence”.
However, secondary reference Davydov is also directed to SRS sequences and paragraph [0116] states “[0116] Similar to DMRS Type 1, SRS also supports a regular (comb) structure. To achieve low overhead, SRS can be transmitted on every second, fourth, or eighth subcarrier in the OFDM symbol. SRS uses the same low PAPR sequence as DMRS for the DFT-s-OFDM waveform, where up to 12 different time-domain cyclic shifts of the sequence are used to define multiple orthogonal SRS ports. SRS can be transmitted periodically or triggered by the base station, which provides the means to reduce the SRS overhead by transmitting SRS only when needed.”
Where [0114+0115] both address that the DMRS sequence(s) are each pseudo-random sequences (as applicable to DMRS type 1 and by extension the SRS sequence(s) as stated in [0116], above).
Moreover, paragraph [0105] states “[0105] In some embodiments, two types of reference signals, SRS and DMRS may be used in the disclosed techniques. SRS is a low-density signal providing CSI information to the BS receiver to assist uplink scheduling and link adaptation procedures. The purpose of DMRS is coherent detection of the data channel and—in contrast to the SRS—has higher density to enable more accurate CSI at the receiver. For the Cyclic Prefix (CP)-OFDM waveform, DMRS is QPSK-modulated using pseudo-random sequences derived from the Gold code of length 31. In the case of the Discrete Fourier Transform Spread (DFT-s)-OFDM waveform (supported by 5G NR in the uplink only), Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequences are used to generate the DMRS signal with small power variations in time and frequency. To achieve inter-cell interference randomization, the DMRS sequences in different cells are non-orthogonal. However, DMRS transmitted by users in the same cell are typically orthogonal to protect DMRS from strong multi-user interference during CSI estimation”.
Therefore, in view of the cited teachings of Davydov (above), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention and SRS sequence(s) of Choi (as previously addressed) to ‘including/use a/the SRS sequence comprises a low peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) sequence’ as disclosed by Davydov (addressed supra) in order to yield the corresponding disclosed advantages of reduced PAPR, and/or achieve lower inter-cell interference (via CS and randomization), and/or reduce SRS overhead (see Davydov: [0105+0116]). Where at least the cited merits of Davydov show evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation for success in regards to the combining/modification of the cited references.
With regards to claim 8, Choi as modified supra teaches the limitations of claim 7 above.
Choi as modified supra teaches wherein when a radio resource control (RRC) parameter related to the cyclic shift hopping is configured (Choi: figs. 15-20: note that the ‘higher layer signalling’ for configuration of the SRS parameters (including but not limited the configuration CS hopping if selected to be implemented) stated throughout the reference may specifically be RRC parameters/signalling, e.g. [0158], [0216], [0241] as well as [0299+0310+0322]), the processor applies randomization of the SRS sequence (these limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2021/0036825: previously cited: hereinafter “Choi”) further in view of Davydov et al. (US 2023/0179269: hereinafter “Davydov”).
With regards to claims 7, 9, 10, and 11; Choi teaches a system (see figs. 15-20, where at least figure 17 discloses a communication system including a base station (BS) 1710 and User Equipment (UE, a.k.a. terminal) 1720. Figure 16 discloses the steps/functions of the BS and figure 15 discloses the steps/functions of the UE. Note that the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware) comprising a terminal device (and a radio communication method for a/the terminal) and a base station (see figs. 15-20, where at least figure 17 discloses a communication system including a base station (BS) 1710 and User Equipment (UE, a.k.a. terminal) 1720. Figure 16 discloses the steps/functions of the BS and figure 15 discloses the steps/functions of the UE; including wireless RF communications. Note that the method steps are implemented as functions of the cited hardware), wherein
the terminal (previously addressed) comprises (addressed below):
a processor (figs. 15-20, see at least figure 17 (and/or figs. 18-20) which discloses the UE includes at least one processor (e.g. 1721) that implements the steps/functions of the invention of Choi, e.g. see [0309-0319]) that determines a cyclic shift based on whether cyclic shift hopping is applied or not (figs. 15-20: see [0145-0156] which address the overall SRS generation and configurations (including the “SRS-CyclicShiftConfig” aspects/values [0149]), where more specifically [0151] discloses when a particular variable equal to zero then ‘sequence group hopping’ and the ‘sequence hopping’ are ‘not used’ (i.e. not applied), where the other paragraphs addressed various situations when they various hopping are applied, which further connects to the implemented SRS Frequency Hopping using a hopping pattern [0157-0160] and Cyclic Shift (CS) hopping of the SRS starting in paragraph [0163-0165]. Also see [0232] which states “UE and/or the base station may be configured not to use a CS hopping pattern (or CS hopping pattern for existing SRS) for the existing PUCCH”. Where the Examiner notes that the cyclic shift of the SRS is still determined, but process changes depending upon the selected/applicable variables and scenarios), and generates a sounding reference signal (SRS) sequence by applying the cyclic shift to a base sequence (previously addressed and/or readily apparent); and
a transmitter (figs. 15-20: see at least figures 17+15+18 (and/or figs. 19-20) which discloses the UE includes at least one RF unit (e.g. 1723) that transmits the generated SRS to the BS, based on the determined/generated SRS sequence and parameters/variables, see [0309-0319]) that transmits an SRS based on the SRS sequence (previously addressed and/or readily apparent),
wherein when the cyclic shift hopping is applied (previously addressed and/or readily apparent), the processor randomizes the SRS sequence based on a symbol number in a radio frame for an SRS resource used for transmission of the SRS (figs. 15-20: where [0163-0168] and [0196-0210], which specifically addressed different configurations for the SRS when CS hopping is implemented. Where the generated SRS sequence is based on the slot index and symbol number/index/level and OFDM symbol number are used as variables within the various equations; all within a particular radio frame, see [0164+0165+0167+0168] as well as [0197-0210]. Furthermore, [0196] states the purpose of “randomization improvement of SRS transmission” in regards to the “CS hopping pattern”. Also phrases “SRS resources” and “SRS resource sets” are addressed throughout the reference, e.g. see [0197], which are further stated configured.
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent), and
the base station (previously addressed) comprises (addressed below):
a processor that configures whether the cyclic shift hopping is applied or not (figs. 15-20, see at least figure 17 (and/or figs. 18-20) which discloses the BS includes at least one processor (e.g. 1711) that implements the steps/functions of the invention of Choi, e.g. see [0309-0319]. Including the BS/processor determining all of the configuration variables for the future uplink SRS (transmitted in the future by the UE to the BS) as shown by figure 16 [Wingdings font/0xE0] S1605 and S1610; see [0298-0323]. Additionally but not exclusively, these concepts are also addressed by figure 15 (which is the steps/functions of the UE) which receive the configuration information/variables from the BS, then later the UE implements the specific configuration (signalled by the BS) to generate and transmit the uplink SRS signal back to the BS; including ‘whether CS hopping is applied or not’ (which was previously addressed)); and
a receiver (figs. 15-20: see at least figures 17+16+19 (and/or figs. 18-20) which discloses the BS includes at least one RF unit (e.g. 1713) that receives the generated/transmitted SRS sent from the UE, based on the determined/generated SRS sequence and parameters/variables, see [0309-0319]) that receives the SRS (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
Additionally the Examiner notes each SRS sequence is explicitly stated to be a pseudo-random sequence by default (e.g. see [0154-0156]), where logically each default SRS includes (pseudo) randomization properties (supplemental to the rationale of the rejection above). Where later paragraph [0196] address randomization improvements (as compared with the earlier already randomized SRS(s) with CS hopping pattern(s)) for each SRS specifically adds/improves randomization for interference between cells via updated Cyclic Shift (CS) hopping pattern. Where paragraph [0196] states “[0196] For randomization improvement of SRS transmission interference between cells, a method may be considered which generates or defines a CS hopping pattern for port allocation of SRS resources separately from the existing considered CS hopping pattern for PUCCH transmission”. Where later paragraphs and equations, implementing the ‘randomization improvement of the SRS via the CS hopping pattern’ (e.g. see [0197-0210]) explicitly use the symbol index/number and slot index/number in defining the CS hopping pattern of the SRS (within the radio frame as previously addressed).
Limitation 1 (below)
Choi is silent to explicitly disclosing “and wherein the SRS sequence comprises a low peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) sequence”.
However, secondary reference Davydov is also directed to SRS sequences and paragraph [0116] states “[0116] Similar to DMRS Type 1, SRS also supports a regular (comb) structure. To achieve low overhead, SRS can be transmitted on every second, fourth, or eighth subcarrier in the OFDM symbol. SRS uses the same low PAPR sequence as DMRS for the DFT-s-OFDM waveform, where up to 12 different time-domain cyclic shifts of the sequence are used to define multiple orthogonal SRS ports. SRS can be transmitted periodically or triggered by the base station, which provides the means to reduce the SRS overhead by transmitting SRS only when needed.”
Where [0114+0115] both address that the DMRS sequence(s) are each pseudo-random sequences (as applicable to DMRS type 1 and by extension the SRS sequence(s) as stated in [0116], above).
Moreover, paragraph [0105] states “[0105] In some embodiments, two types of reference signals, SRS and DMRS may be used in the disclosed techniques. SRS is a low-density signal providing CSI information to the BS receiver to assist uplink scheduling and link adaptation procedures. The purpose of DMRS is coherent detection of the data channel and—in contrast to the SRS—has higher density to enable more accurate CSI at the receiver. For the Cyclic Prefix (CP)-OFDM waveform, DMRS is QPSK-modulated using pseudo-random sequences derived from the Gold code of length 31. In the case of the Discrete Fourier Transform Spread (DFT-s)-OFDM waveform (supported by 5G NR in the uplink only), Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequences are used to generate the DMRS signal with small power variations in time and frequency. To achieve inter-cell interference randomization, the DMRS sequences in different cells are non-orthogonal. However, DMRS transmitted by users in the same cell are typically orthogonal to protect DMRS from strong multi-user interference during CSI estimation”.
Therefore, in view of the cited teachings of Davydov (above), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention and SRS sequence(s) of Choi (as previously addressed) to ‘including/use a/the SRS sequence comprises a low peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) sequence’ as disclosed by Davydov (addressed supra) in order to yield the corresponding disclosed advantages of reduced PAPR, and/or achieve lower inter-cell interference (via CS and randomization), and/or reduce SRS overhead (see Davydov: [0105+0116]). Where at least the cited merits of Davydov show evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation for success in regards to the combining/modification of the cited references.
With regards to claim 8, Choi as modified supra teaches the limitations of claim 7 above.
Choi as modified supra teaches wherein when a radio resource control (RRC) parameter related to the cyclic shift hopping is configured (Choi: figs. 15-20: note that the ‘higher layer signalling’ for configuration of the SRS parameters (including but not limited the configuration CS hopping if selected to be implemented) stated throughout the reference may specifically be RRC parameters/signalling, e.g. [0158], [0216], [0241] as well as [0299+0310+0322]), the processor applies randomization of the SRS sequence (these limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited in the attached PTO-892 form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 5/22/2026