DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeffers et al. (US 20200166289), hereinafter referred to as Jeffers.
Re claim 13, Jeffers teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a memory (implicit; ¶ 57, “Such selection of parameters may be made one or more smart algorithms”);
a processor (implicit; ¶ 57, “Such selection of parameters may be made one or more smart algorithms”) in electronic communication with the memory, wherein the processor is to:
control a printhead to print a three-dimensional (3D) lattice structure; and
control the printhead to print a pipe structure transecting the 3D lattice structure, wherein the pipe structure is to conduct fluid to a target region including a portion of the 3D lattice structure (see ¶ 56-57).
Re claim 14, Jeffers teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the 3D lattice structure and the pipe structure are printed concurrently (see ¶ 56-57).
Re claim 15, Jeffers teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processor is to control the printhead to print a housing around the lattice structure (see ¶ 56-57 and Fig 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin (US 20070187072), hereinafter referred to as Chin, in view of Jeffers.
Re claim 1, Chin teaches a heat exchanger, comprising:
a flow channel (fluid channel from 22 to 21);
a e.g. 13a-b) disposed in the flow channel; and
a pipe structure (e.g. 22) embedded in the e.g. 133) of the flow channel.
Chin does not teach the limitation of the structure being a lattice structure.
However, Jeffers teaches a heat exchanger comprising a lattice structure (21).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chin and integrated the structure being a lattice structure, as taught by Jeffers, in order to make it possible to build unique product shapes for different applications (see Jeffers ¶ 5-7).
Re claim 2, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 1. Jeffers further teaches the limitation of wherein the lattice structure is a three-dimensional (3D) lattice (e.g. ¶ 56, “the lattice structure cell 21 are built together using additive manufacturing (or 3D printing)”).
Re claim 3, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 2. Jeffers further teaches the limitation of wherein the lattice structure and the pipe structure are 3D printed (e.g. ¶ 56, “the lattice structure cell 21 are built together using additive manufacturing (or 3D printing)”).
Re claim 5, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 1. Chin further teaches the limitation of further comprising an inlet, wherein the pipe structure is disposed through the inlet (e.g. see Fig 7).
Re claim 6, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 5. Chin further teaches the limitation of wherein the inlet is disposed on an opposite side (exterior side) of a wall of the heat exchanger from the target region (e.g. see Fig 7).
Re claim 7, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 1. Chin further teaches the limitation of further comprising a channel between the lattice structure and an interior wall of the flow channel (e.g. see Fig 7).
Re claim 8, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 1. Chin further teaches the limitation of wherein the target region corresponds to a heat source location (e.g. ¶ 21, “an evaporator (10)”).
Re claim 9, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 1. Chin further teaches the limitation of wherein the pipe structure transects the lattice structure (e.g. see Fig 7). Jeffers further teaches the limitation of wherein the pipe structure transects the lattice structure (e.g. see Fig 7).
Re claim 10, Chin teaches a heat exchanger, comprising:
a housing (10);
an outlet (outlet for 21) disposed on the housing;
an inlet (inlet for 22) disposed on the housing;
a pipe (22) extending through the inlet into the housing; and
a 13a-b) disposed in the housing, wherein the pipe is embedded in the e.g. Fig 7).
Chin does not teach the limitation of the structure being a three-dimensional (3D) lattice structure.
However, Jeffers teaches a heat exchanger comprising a three-dimensional (3D) lattice structure (21).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chin and integrated the structure being a lattice structure, as taught by Jeffers, in order to make it possible to build unique product shapes for different applications (see Jeffers ¶ 5-7).
Re claim 11, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 1. Chin further teaches the limitation of wherein an end of the pipe structure is disposed in a target region (e.g. 133) in the housing.
Re claim 12, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 1. Chin further teaches the limitation of wherein fluid is to pass from the end of the pipe in the target region to absorb heat from the 3D lattice and pass to the outlet (see Fig 7).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin, in view of Jeffers, in view of Swanson (US Pat No. 5,725,049), hereinafter referred to as Swanson.
Re claim 4, Chin, as modified, teaches the heat exchanger of claim 1. Chis, as modified, does not teach the limitation of further comprising a second pipe structure embedded in the lattice structure, wherein a second end of the second pipe structure is disposed in a second target region of the flow channel. However, Swanson teaches a heat exchanger comprising a second pipe structure (240) embedded in a structure (400), wherein a second end of the second pipe structure is disposed in a second target region of the flow channel (see Fig 4B). Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Chin and integrated a second pipe structure embedded in the lattice structure, wherein a second end of the second pipe structure is disposed in a second target region of the flow channel, as taught by Swanson, in order to better equalize temperature.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 7/24/2026