DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-21 in the reply filed on 9/9/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 22-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/9/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation a device, and the claim also recites in particular a composite beam which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation a fibre composite material, and the claim also recites in particular wood which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation at least 3 N/mm2, and the claim also recites in particular at least 5 N/mm2 or in particular at least 10 N/mm2 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation a metal profile, and the claim also recites in particular a steel profile which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 16 recites the broad recitation a cavity, and the claim also recites in particular open on at least one side which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 20 recites the broad recitation positive-locking element, and the claim also recites in particular a positive locking extension which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the cavity" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-15, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nagai (JP 2000064503 A which has been machine translated).
As to claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10-12, 14, 15, 18 Nagai discloses a metal cylinder or a channel metal (outer body) wherein a wood core (fiber composite) is inserted into a metal cylinder (abs). The wood is made to suck water to be expanded so as to press on the metal cylinder. As seen in figure 1 and the metal cylinder is a tube, it will have a closed cross-section as well as having grooves.
As to claim 5, Nagai discloses that the wood can be braced in the interior space with grooves within the metal cylinder.
As to claim 8, Nagai discloses that the compressed core can be pressed into the cylinder and therefore there is inherently a clearance fit in the joined state as it will be thinner than the inner shape of the cylinder.
As to claim 9, Nagai discloses that in the uncompressed state the wood is thicker than the metal cylinder.
As to claim 13, Nagai discloses that the wood has a compaction area as the wood has a higher density as its compressed.
As to claim 19, Nagai discloses that the core and cylinder can be in contact with each other and therefore would be frictionally engaged with each other.
As to claims 20 and 21, Nagai disclose grooves and lips that can be used to keep the wood in place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (JP 2000064503 A which has been machine translated).
Nagai anticipates claim 1 for the reasons noted above, however is silent to the pressure exerted by the core being at least 3 N/mm2. Nagai discloses that the compressed wood placed into the cylinder will have a high restoring force when it is expanded.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the wood have an exerting pressure of at least 3 N/mm2 to keep the wood firmly within the metal cylinder and prevent it from moving as Nagai teaches having a high force when expanding.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai (JP 2000064503 A which has been machine translated) in view of Semenivskyi (UA 102976 which has been machine translated).
Nagai anticipates claim 1 for the reasons noted above, however is silent to a hollow core with an inner body. Nagai does disclose that metal can be shaped as a tube, cylinder, prismatic.
Semenivskyi discloses a tubular beam of a composite wood material that can absorb water and expand. The shape of the beam can have a hollow core with an inner cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Nagai and formed the core layer to and beam to be hollow with an inner cavity as one would know how to modify the beam depending upon the end use.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785