DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: input unit, second input unit, processing unit, output unit in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims (1-11) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, specifically an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims (1-11) are directed to the abstract idea of Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
“receive an inspection image to be inspected, which is obtained by imaging a product manufactured based on design data; receive a reference data including the design data; subject the inspection image input to the first input unit and the reference data input to the second input unit to a process; output a grouping result of the inspection image as a processing result of the processing unit”.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite additional limitations such “receive an inspection image to be inspected, which is obtained by imaging a product manufactured based on design data; receive a reference data including the design data; subject the inspection image input to the first input unit and the reference data input to the second input unit to a process; output a grouping result of the inspection image as a processing result of the processing unit”. However, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “practical application” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these limitations are merely invoked as a tool to perform instruction of abstract idea in a particular technological environment and/or are generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and merely applying and abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting use of an abstract idea to a particular field or a technological environment do not provide practical application for an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05 (f) & (h)). The claims do not amount to "practical application" for the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims recite additional limitations which are “processing device, input unit, second input unit, processing unit, neural network, output unit”. However, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “significantly more” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these limitations are merely invoked as a tool to perform instruction of Abstract idea in a particular technological environment and/or are generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and merely applying and abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting use of an abstract idea to a particular field or a technological environment do not provide significantly more to an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f) & (h)). The claims do not amount to "significantly more" than the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field; (6) add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application; nor (7) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claims (1-11) that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and looking at the limitations as a combination and as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, claims (1-11) are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claims (1-11) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1-2, 4-10, 15) of U.S. Patent No. 11,436,717 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Instant application
US Patent
1. A processing device comprising: a first input unit structured to receive an inspection image to be inspected, which is obtained by imaging a product manufactured based on design data; a second input unit structured to receive a reference data including the design data; a processing unit structured to subject the inspection image input to the first input unit and the reference data input to the second input unit to a process in a learned neural network; and an output unit structured to output a grouping result of the inspection image as a processing result of the processing unit.
1. A processing device comprising: a first input unit that receives an inspection image subject to inspection; a second input unit that receives a normal reference image that should be referred to; a processing unit that subjects the inspection image input to the first input unit and the reference image input to the second input unit to a process in a neural network, wherein the neural network used in the processing unit is a convolutional neural network in which a fully connected layer is excluded, and a filter of the convolutional layer in the convolutional neural network is trained to learn a processing result having a 1×1 spatial dimension; and an output unit that outputs information that results from the process in the processing unit and relates to an item of defect included in the inspection image.
11. A processing method comprising the steps of: receiving an inspection image to be inspected, which is obtained by imaging a product manufactured based on design data; receiving a reference data including the design data; subjecting the received inspection image and the received reference data to a process in a learned neural network; and outputting a grouping result of the inspection image as a processing result.
15. A processing method comprising: receiving an inspection image subject to inspection; receiving a normal reference image that should be referred to; subjecting the inspection image input and the reference image input to a process in a neural network, wherein the neural network used in the processing is a convolutional neural network in which a fully connected layer is excluded, and a filter of the convolutional layer in the convolutional neural network is trained to learn a processing result having a 1×1 spatial dimension; and outputting information that results from the process and relating to an item of defect included in the inspection image.
The instant application differs from the US Patent based on the underlined portion. However, the underlined portion is considered to be well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate this obvious variation into the US Patent, in the manner as claimed and as taught by the Instant application, for the benefit of optimizing the defect detection system. Claims (2-10) have been analyzed and rejected w/r to claims (2, 4-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) (1-11) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)(US Publication 2020/0327654 A1)
Re claim 1, Zhang discloses a processing device comprising: a first input unit structured to receive an inspection image to be inspected, which is obtained by imaging a product manufactured based on design data (See fig. 2: 200, 202; ¶ 54-56, 70 where it teaches inputting test images to be inspected for defects); a second input unit structured to receive a reference data including the design data (See fig. 2: 204; ¶ 54-56, 70 where it teaches inputting a reference image/design image.); a processing unit structured to subject the inspection image input to the first input unit and the reference data input to the second input unit to a process in a learned neural network (See fig. 2; ¶ 54-55, 70-75 where it teaches processing the images using neural network technology.); and an output unit structured to output a grouping result of the inspection image as a processing result of the processing unit. (See fig. 2: 238; ¶ 75 where it teaches generating a final label (defective or not))
Re claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the reference data input to the second input unit includes the design data and a reference image, which is obtained by imaging a normal product manufactured based on the design data, and the processing unit subjects the design data to the process in the learned neural network and subjects the reference image to the process in the learned neural network as processing of the learned neural network for the reference data received by the second input unit. (See fig. 2; ¶ 54-56, 70-75)
Re claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein the design data includes a plurality of pieces of layer information, and the reference data input to the second input unit includes information obtained by combining the plurality of pieces of layer information. (See fig. 2; ¶ 54-60)
Re claim 4, Zhang discloses wherein the design data includes a plurality of pieces of layer information, and the reference data input to the second input unit includes at least one of the plurality of pieces of layer information. (See fig. 2; ¶ 54-60)
Re claim 5, Zhang discloses wherein the processing unit (1) combines the inspection image and the reference data, and then (2) subjects a combination to at least one of a process in a convolutional layer or a process in a pooling layer. (See fig. 2; ¶ 70-75)
Re claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein the processing unit (1) subjects the inspection image to at least one of a process in a convolutional layer or a process in a pooling layer and subjects the reference data to at least one of the process in the convolutional layer or the process in the pooling layer, (2) combines a result of processing the inspection image and a result of processing the reference data, and (3) subjects a combination to at least one of the process in the convolutional layer or the process in the pooling layer. (See fig. 2; ¶ 70-75)
Re claim 7, Zhang discloses wherein the processing unit (1) subjects the inspection image to at least one of a process in a convolutional layer or a process in a pooling layer and subjects the reference data to at least one of the process in the convolutional layer or the process in the pooling layer, and (2) combines a result of processing the inspection image and a result of processing the reference data. (See fig. 2; ¶ 70-75)
Re claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein the processing unit (1) combines the inspection image and the reference data, and then (2) subjects a combination to a process in a fully connected layer. (See fig. 2; ¶ 70-75)
Re claim 9, Zhang discloses wherein the processing unit (1) subjects the inspection image to a process in a fully connected layer and subjects the reference data to the process in the fully connected layer, (2) combines a result of processing the inspection image and a result of processing the reference data, and (3) subjects a combination to the process in the fully connected layer. (See fig. 2; ¶ 70-75)
Re claim 10, Zhang discloses wherein the processing unit (1) subjects the inspection image to a process in a fully connected layer and subjects the reference data to the process in the fully connected layer, and (2) combines a result of processing the inspection image and a result of processing the reference data. (See fig. 2; ¶ 70-75)
Claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected w/r to claim 1 above.
Claim(s) (1, 11) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Junhui Wu et al (hereinafter Wu) “Spot the Difference by Object Detection”, arXiv 2018.
Re claim 1, Wu discloses a processing device comprising: a first input unit structured to receive an inspection image to be inspected, which is obtained by imaging a product manufactured based on design data (See section 1; fig. 3 & 6); a second input unit structured to receive a reference data including the design data (See section 1; fig. 3 & 6); a processing unit structured to subject the inspection image input to the first input unit and the reference data input to the second input unit to a process in a learned neural network (See section 1; fig. 3 & 6); and an output unit structured to output a grouping result of the inspection image as a processing result of the processing unit. (See section 1 & 4.2.1; fig. 3 & 6)
Claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected w/r to claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon et al (US 2019/0188840 A1) disclose semiconductor defect classification device.
Ebizuka et al (US 2022/0335594 A1) disclose defect inspection apparatus.
Lee et al US 2023/0169641 A1) disclose defect detection method of deep learning-based semiconductor device.
Qu et al (US 2023/0267599 A1) disclose a system for defect detection.
Contact
/LEON FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676 June 17, 2026