DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
A Preliminary Amendment was filed on 10/17/2024. Accordingly, an Office Action on the merits of claims 1-16 is as follows:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the entire “calibration device” of claim 9, the control modules, the calibration modules, self-learning module, calibration reset module, and storage device must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: calibration control module in claims 9 and 11-14, mapping calibration module in claim 9, detection value calibration module in claims 9-10, mapping self-learning module in claim 10 and calibration reset module in claims 15-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “the calibration reset module is configured to re-perform calibration upon detecting that data in the calibration mapping relationship table stored on a storage device is damaged or lost” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification at [0042] specifically mentions the desired determination, but gives not algorithm or particular integrity-detection hardware. It has been described when to test and what to do when failure occurs, but no algorithm for the detection of damaged or lost data has been discussed. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0013370 A1) in view of Hu et al. (CN 106679710 A) and Wang (US 10686392 B2).
Considering claim 1, Lee discloses a calibration method for an angle sensor 20, the angle sensor 20 configured to detect a mechanical angle of a permanent magnet motor 10 and convert the mechanical angle into an electrical angle, the permanent magnet motor 10 comprising a stator and a rotor being rotatable relative to the stator (Figure 1; [0004-5]; [0032]; [0040-42]), wherein the calibration method comprises:
- modifying, in a calibration control step, a target electrical parameter of the rotor as a plurality of predetermined vector values successively, and acquiring mechanical angle detection values corresponding to the plurality of predetermined vector values from the angle sensor, wherein each of the plurality of predetermined vector values corresponds to an actual electrical angle (Figures 1 and 2A; [0033-45], UVW output unit selects predetermined phase states successively, driver 33 and switch unit 35 energize the stator, each commanded field established a known electrical reference direction, sensor 20 measures the settled rotor position, and correction unit 37 stores the reading); and
- establishing, in a mapping calibration step, a calibration mapping relationship table between actual electrical angles and mechanical angle detection values corresponding to the plurality of predetermined vector values (Figure 5; [0077-80]).
The invention by Lee fails to disclose calibrating, in a detection value calibration step, a current mechanical angle detection value based on the calibration mapping relationship table, and calculating an electrical angle corresponding to the current mechanical angle detection value based on linear interpolation if the current mechanical angle detection value is not in the calibration mapping relationship table.
However, Hu teaches calibrating, in a detection value calibration step, a current mechanical angle detection value based on the calibration mapping relationship table, and calculating an electrical angle corresponding to the current mechanical angle detection value based on linear interpolation if the current mechanical angle detection value is not in the calibration mapping relationship table ([0048-59], encoder readings are collected at successive locked rotor positions, the readings are saved and linear interpolation is used to correct encoder nonlinearity, corrected mechanical angle is multiplied by the pole-pair count and adjusted by electrical zero offset to obtain the electrical angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the position-dependent interpolation technique of Hu in Lee’s correction unit using the measured position/reference position associations. The motivation for doing so is to provide accurate results between calibrated angles, as suggested by Hu ([0059]).
The invention by Lee, as modified by Hu, fails to explicitly disclose that the motor is a permanent magnet synchronous motor.
However, Wang discloses a PMSM 110 with rotor 112 and stator 116 with encoder-based rotor-position feedback for the PMSM (Figure 1; Column 1, lines 13-31; Column 4, lines 7-51).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known PMSM motor of Wang for the 3-phase brushless motor of Lee, as modified by Hu, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. The invention by Wang teaches that the PMSM is suitable for vector control using rotor-position feedback. Accordingly, both the motor of Lee, as modified by Hu, and the motor of Wang are functionally equivalent for the purpose of implementing a motor calibration based on rotor-position feedback. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a PMSM, as taught by Wang, in the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu.
Considering claim 3, Lee discloses that the rotor comprises n pole pairs, and the plurality of predetermined vector values at least comprise vector values corresponding to actual electrical angles of 60°×i, wherein i=0, 1, . . . , 6n-1 ([0045], whereby Figure 2A illustrates a one pole pair correspondence from 0 to 5 positions; [0033]).
The invention by Lee fails to additionally disclose the 6n position, for a total of 6n+1 readings.
However, Hu teaches stepping through known electrical positions through an entire rotation and comparing the starting and ending encoder readings after returning to the initial position ([0053-55]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a full revolution detection, including predetermined vector values at an electrical angle of 60°×i, where i=6n, as taught by Hu, in the invention by Lee. The motivation for doing so, as taught by Hu, is to ensure that the starting and ending positions overlap and fall within a tolerance showing correct calibration ([0055]).
Considering claim 4, Lee discloses that an angle between any two adjacent predetermined vector values of the plurality of predetermined vector values is equal (60º; [0033]; [0037]; [0045]).
Considering claim 5, Lee discloses that the target electrical parameter is a voltage applied to the stator ([0038-40], current pulse applied to three-phase stator windings, voltage is inherently required to be supplied to provide a current though the windings).
Considering claim 6, Lee discloses that the plurality of predetermined vector values are equal in modulus (UVW are all 1 unit values as shown in Figure 2A).
Figure 2A of Lee showing UVW modulus
Figure 3 of the instant invention showing same modulus for the vector voltages
Considering claim 9, Lee discloses a calibration device for an angle sensor 20, the angle sensor 20 configured to detect a mechanical angle of a permanent magnet motor 10 and convert the mechanical angle into an electrical angle, the permanent magnet motor 10 comprising a stator and a rotor being rotatable relative to the stator (Figure 1; [0004-5]; [0032]; [0040-42]), wherein the calibration device comprises:
- a calibration control module, configured to modify a target electrical parameter of the rotor as a plurality of predetermined vector values successively, and acquiring mechanical angle detection values corresponding to the plurality of predetermined vector values from the angle sensor, wherein each of the plurality of predetermined vector values corresponds to an actual electrical angle (Figures 1 and 2A; [0033-45], UVW output unit selects predetermined phase states successively, driver 33 and switch unit 35 energize the stator, each commanded field established a known electrical reference direction, sensor 20 measures the settled rotor position, and correction unit 37 stores the reading); and
- a mapping calibration module, configured to establish a calibration mapping relationship table between actual electrical angles and mechanical angle detection values corresponding to the plurality of predetermined vector values (Figure 5; [0077-80]).
The invention by Lee fails to disclose a detection value calibration module, configured to calibrate a current mechanical angle detection value based on the calibration mapping relationship table, and calculate an electrical angle corresponding to the current mechanical angle detection value based on linear interpolation if the current mechanical angle detection value is not in the calibration mapping relationship table.
However, Hu teaches a detection value calibration module, configured to calibrate a current mechanical angle detection value based on the calibration mapping relationship table, and calculate an electrical angle corresponding to the current mechanical angle detection value based on linear interpolation if the current mechanical angle detection value is not in the calibration mapping relationship table ([0048-59], encoder readings are collected at successive locked rotor positions, the readings are saved and linear interpolation is used to correct encoder nonlinearity, corrected mechanical angle is multiplied by the pole-pair count and adjusted by electrical zero offset to obtain the electrical angle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the position-dependent interpolation technique of Hu in Lee’s correction unit using the measured position/reference position associations. The motivation for doing so is to provide calibration between calibrated angles, as suggested by Hu ([0059]).
The invention by Lee, as modified by Hu, fails to explicitly disclose that the motor is a permanent magnet synchronous motor.
However, Wang discloses a PMSM 110 with rotor 112 and stator 116 with encoder-based rotor-position feedback for the PMSM (Figure 1; Column 1, lines 13-31; Column 4, lines 7-51).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known PMSM motor of Wang for the 3-phase brushless motor of Lee, as modified by Hu, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. The invention by Wang teaches that the PMSM is suitable for vector control using rotor-position feedback. Accordingly, both the motor of Lee, as modified by Hu, and the motor of Wang are functionally equivalent for the purpose of implementing a motor calibration based on rotor-position feedback. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a PMSM, as taught by Wang, in the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu.
Considering claim 11, Lee discloses that the rotor comprises n pole pairs, and the calibration control module is configured to determine the plurality of predetermined vector values, wherein the plurality of predetermined vector values at least comprise vector values corresponding to actual electrical angles of 60°×i, wherein i=0, 1, . . . , 6n-1 ([0045], whereby Figure 2A illustrates a one pole pair correspondence from 0 to 5 positions; [0033]).
The invention by Lee fails to additionally disclose the 6n position, for a total of 6n+1 readings.
However, Hu teaches stepping through known electrical positions through an entire rotation and comparing the starting and ending encoder readings after returning to the initial position ([0053-55]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a full revolution detection, including predetermined vector values at an electrical angle of 60°×i, where i=6n, as taught by Hu, in the invention by Lee. The motivation for doing so, as taught by Hu, is to ensure that the starting and ending positions overlap and fall within a tolerance showing correct calibration ([0055]).
Considering claim 12, Lee discloses that the calibration control module is further configured to determine the plurality of predetermined vector values, wherein an angle between any two adjacent predetermined vector values of the plurality of predetermined vector values is equal (60º; [0033]; [0037]; [0045]).
Considering claim 13, Lee discloses that the calibration control module is configured to determine a voltage applied to the stator as the target electrical parameter ([0038-40], current pulse applied to three-phase stator windings, voltage is inherently required to be supplied to provide a current though the windings).
Considering claim 14, Lee discloses that the calibration control module is configured to control the plurality of predetermined vector values to be equal in modulus (UVW are all 1 unit values as shown in Figure 2A).
Figure 2A of Lee showing UVW modulus
Figure 3 of the instant invention showing same modulus for the vector voltages
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0013370 A1) in view of Hu et al. (CN 106679710 A) and Wang (US 10686392 B2), as applied to claims 1 and 9, respectively, above, and further in view of Perry et al. (US 6553394 B1).
Considering claim 2, the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang, fails to disclose a mapping self-learning step after the detection value calibration step, wherein a mapping relationship calculated based on linear interpolation is added to the calibration mapping relationship table.
However, Perry teaches the concept of memorization, whereby if a result is unavailable in a table, memo, cache, etc…, then the result is computed and stored (Column 1, lines 38-63; Column 2, lines 32-58; Column 4, lines 52-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a mapping self-learning step after the detection value calibration step, wherein a mapping relationship calculated based on linear interpolation is added to the calibration mapping relationship table, as suggested by Perry, in the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang. The motivation for doing so, as suggested by Perry, is to speed up computation by removing the need to recompute the same values repeatedly (Column 1, lines 32-50).
Considering claim 10, the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang, fails to disclose a mapping self-learning module, wherein the mapping self-learning module is configured to add a mapping relationship calculated by the detection value calibration module based on linear interpolation to the calibration mapping relationship table.
However, Perry teaches the concept of memorization, whereby if a result is unavailable in a table, memo, cache, etc…, then the result is computed and stored (Column 1, lines 38-63; Column 2, lines 32-58; Column 4, lines 52-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a mapping self-learning module to add a calculated a mapping relationship based on linear interpolation to the calibration mapping relationship table, as suggested by Perry, in the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang. The motivation for doing so, as suggested by Perry, is to speed up computation by removing the need to recompute the same values repeatedly (Column 1, lines 32-50).
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0013370 A1) in view of Hu et al. (CN 106679710 A) and Wang (US 10686392 B2), as applied to claims 1 and 9, respectively, above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2012/0143552 A1).
Considering claim 7, the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang, fails to disclose that steps of the calibration method are cyclically performed and/or steps of the calibration method are re-performed if a triggering condition is met.
However, Cho teaches reperforming calibration if a triggering condition is met ([0037-41]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to re-perform a calibration if a triggering condition is met, as taught by Cho, in the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang. The motivation for doing so is to provide the calibration data if there is no record because it is a new model or the previous data was damaged, as suggested by Cho ([0037]).
Considering claim 8, the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang, fails to disclose that the triggering condition comprises detecting that data in the calibration mapping relationship table stored on a storage device is damaged or lost.
However, Cho teaches reperforming calibration if the data is damaged or lost ([0037-41]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to re-perform a calibration if the calibration data is damaged, as taught by Cho, in the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang. The motivation for doing so is to provide the calibration data if there is no record because it is a new model or the previous data was damaged, as suggested by Cho ([0037]).
Considering claim 15, the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang, fails to disclose a calibration reset module, wherein the calibration reset module is configured to enable the calibration device to cyclically perform calibration on the angle sensor and/or to enable the calibration device to re-perform calibration if a triggering condition is met.
However, Cho teaches reperforming calibration if a triggering condition is met ([0037-41]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to re-perform a calibration if a triggering condition is met, as taught by Cho, in the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang. The motivation for doing so is to provide the calibration data if there is no record because it is a new model or the previous data was damaged, as suggested by Cho ([0037]).
Considering claim 16, the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang, fails to disclose that the calibration reset module is configured to re-perform calibration upon detecting that data in the calibration mapping relationship table stored on a storage device is damaged or lost.
However, Cho teaches reperforming calibration if the data is damaged or lost ([0037-41]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to re-perform a calibration if the calibration data is damaged, as taught by Cho, in the invention by Lee, as modified by Hu and Wang. The motivation for doing so is to provide the calibration data if there is no record because it is a new model or the previous data was damaged, as suggested by Cho ([0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noel discloses calibrating a relative position sensor by sequentially positioning a rotor in proximity to a plurality of desired positions, reading the measured positions from a position sensor, computing a plurality of desired-measured offsets, storing the offsets and computing a calibration parameter from the stored offsets.
Hafner et al. discloses both determining calibration data and applying calibration data to correct an offset for accurately driving a motor rotor relative to a stator.
/JONATHAN M DUNLAP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 September 19, 2026