DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the toilet seat has a fan and ionizer in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The fan and ionizer only appear to be associated with the lid and mounting. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a fan and an ionizer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear whether this is the same previously recited fan and ionizer as required by claim 1 or if an additional fan and ionizer are being required. Clarification is required. Claims 3-4 and 15 will inherit this same issue since they depend from the rejected claim.
Regarding claims 3-9, 11-12, and 14 the phrased "preferably" and “particularly preferably” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 13, 16 will inherit this same issue since they depend from the rejected claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a fan and an ionizer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear whether this is the same previously recited fan and ionizer as required by claim 1 or if an additional fan and ionizer is being required. Clarification is required. Claims 6-9 will inherit this same issue since they depend from the rejected claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a fan and an ionizer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear whether this is the same previously recited fan and ionizer as required by claim 1 or if an additional fan and ionizer is being required. Clarification is required. Claims 11-14 will inherit this same issue since they depend from the rejected claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the toilet holder" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the toilet holder" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites “wherein the toilet comprises a control unit configured to operate the fan and the ionizer of the toilet seat and the fan and the ionizer of the toilet mounting or the fan and the ionizer of the toilet seat and the fan and the neutralizer of the toilet mounting” which renders the claim indefinite since only one set of fan and ionizers/neutralizers was previously required by claim 2 associated with seat. How many fan and ionizers are required now? Clarification is requested.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the toilet comprises a control unit configured to operate the fan and the ionizer of the toilet lid and the fan and ionizer of the toilet mounting or the fan and ionizer of the toilet lid and the fan and neutralizer of the toilet mounting” which renders the claim indefinite since only one set of fan and ionizers/neutralizers was previously required by claim 5 associated with the lid. How many fans and ionizers are required now? Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 15, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 100568252 B1 using attached machine translation (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a toilet comprising a toilet bowl having a toilet interior (see fig. 1), a mounting (hinges 1h, 11) arranged fixedly on the toilet bowl, a toilet seat (1) movable between a use position and a non-use position arranged on the mounting or formed by the toilet bowl, and a toilet lid (not labeled but visible in the open position adjacent the toilet tank as shown in fig. 1) movable on the mounting (1h, 11) to close or release the toilet interior, wherein at least one fan (7) arranged to generate a circulating air flow within the toilet interior of the toilet bowl, and wherein at least one ionizer (4) is arranged to generate ionized air, and to deliver it into the circulating air flow.
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses wherein at least the toilet seat (1) has the fan (7) and the ionizer (4).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses wherein at least the toilet seat comprises an ozone catalyst (4), wherein the toilet comprises a control unit (3) arranged to operate the fan and the ionizer of the toilet seat of the fan and the neutralizer of the toilet seat.
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses wherein the toilet seat (1) has at least one air inlet (1c) aligned horizontally towards the toilet interior in order to suck in the circulating air flow by means of the fan (fig. 1, 2), wherein the toilet seat has at least one air outlet (1d) directed towards the toilet lid in order to discharge the circulating air flow by means of the fan (note the orientation of the outlet 1d in fig. 2 which shows the air would be directed towards the toilet lid direction, particularly when the lid is down), and wherein the air inlet and the air outlet of the toilet seat are arranged ‘as far apart from one another as possible’ (the inlet and outlet are positioned on opposite sides of the toilet seat and are considered spaced as far apart ‘as possible’ given the location of other elements in the toilet seat that would alter spacing).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses wherein the toilet comprises a control unit (3) configured to operate the fan and the ionizer of the toilet seat and the fan and the ionizer of the toilet mounting or the fan and the ionizer of the toilet seat and the fan and the neutralizer of the toilet mounting.
Regarding claim 37, Yang discloses wherein the at least one ionizer comprises an ozone generator (4) arranged to generate ozone and deliver it into the circulating air flow.
Claim(s) 1, 10-14, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 200316420 Y1 using attached machine translation (hereinafter KR-420).
Regarding claim 1, KR-420 discloses a toilet comprising a toilet bowl (115) having a toilet interior (see fig. 4), a mounting (101) arranged fixedly on the toilet bowl, a toilet seat (100) movable between a use position and a non-use position arranged on the mounting or formed by the toilet bowl, and a toilet lid (114) movable on the mounting (101) to close or release the toilet interior, wherein at least one fan (110) arranged to generate a circulating air flow within the toilet interior of the toilet bowl, and wherein at least one ionizer (113) is arranged to generate ionized air, and to deliver it into the circulating air flow.
Regarding claim 10, KR-420 discloses wherein at least the toilet mounting (101) has the fan (110) and the ionizer (113) (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, KR-420 discloses wherein at least the toilet mounting has an ozone catalyst neutralizer (“ozone generator” translation pg. 2), wherein the toilet comprises a control unit (106) configured to operate the fan and the ionizer of the toilet mounting or the fan and the neutralizer of the toilet mounting.
Regarding claim 12, KR-420 discloses wherein the toilet mounting has at least one air inlet (opening of air flow pipe 102), in order to suck in the circulating air flow by means of the fan, and wherein the toilet mounting has at least one air outlet (101a), in order to discharge the circulating air flow by means of the fan, wherein the air inlet and the air outlet of the toilet mounting are arranged ‘as far apart from one another as possible’ (considered arranged as far apart from one another ‘as possible’ given the spacing of the elements and other structural considerations which would alter spacing and are on opposite sides of the mounting 101 – see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, KR-420 discloses wherein the toilet seat has at least one air outlet at least partially in line with the air outlet of the mounting in the position of use of the toilet seat (note opening of air flow pipe 102 that extends through the seat 100 in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, KR-420 discloses wherein the toilet seat (100) has at least one duct inlet (note opening of air flow pipe 102 that extends through the seat 100 in fig. 2), which is connected to a duct outlet (other end of air flow pipe 102) by means of at least one flow channel (102) in an air-conducting manner, wherein the duct outlet is designed to be at least partially aligned with the air inlet of the mounting in the position of use of the toilet seat (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 37, KR-420 discloses wherein the at least one ionizer (113) comprises an ozone generator (“ozone generator” translation pg. 2) arranged to generate ozone and deliver it into the circulating air flow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 16, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3903656 A1 (hereinafter Godderie) in view of KR 100568252 B1 using attached machine translation (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Godderie discloses a toilet comprising a toilet bowl having a toilet interior (see fig. 4), a mounting (anchor bolts, fig. 2) arranged fixedly on the toilet bowl (see fig. 4), a toilet seat (1) movable between a use position and a non-use position arranged on the mounting (via hinges 5; fig. 2, 4) or formed by the toilet bowl, and a toilet lid (2) movable on the mounting (via hinges 5; fig. 2, 4) to close or release the toilet interior, wherein at least one fan (3) arranged to generate a circulating air flow within the toilet interior of the toilet bowl, and wherein at generator in the toilet ventilation system of Godderie to further assist in removal of airborne particles as evidenced by the teachings mentioned above.
Regarding claim 5, Godderie shows wherein at least the toilet lid (2) has the fan and under the modification in view of Yang, an ionizer (ionizer would be located similarly to the antimicrobial means 10 or filter means 12 which are both shown to be in the lid (fig. 1 of Godderie).
Regarding claim 6, under the modification as set forth above, shows wherein at least the toilet lid comprises an ozone catalyst, wherein the toilet comprises a control unit (17) configured to operate the fan and the ionizer of the toilet lid or the fan and the neutralizer of the toilet lid.
Regarding claim 7, Godderie shows wherein the toilet lid (2) has at least one air inlet (14) aligned horizontally towards the toilet interior in order to suck in the circulating air flow by means of the fan and wherein the toilet lid has at least one air outlet (22) directed towards the toilet seat surface in order to discharge the circulating air flow by means of the fan, wherein the air inlet and the air outlet of the toilet lid are arranged as far apart from one another as possible (fig. 2 shows at least one air inlet 14 located ‘as far apart as possible’ from an air outlet (22) that is across the longitudinal diameter of the toilet seat).
Regarding claim 8, Godderie shows wherein the toilet lid has a plurality of air outlets (22) which are directed towards the toilet seat surface and arranged in a uniformly distributed manner (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Godderie shows wherein the fan (3) is arranged centrally in the toilet lid (fig. 1), is directly connected to the air inlet (14) and is connected in an air-conducting manner to at least the air outlet via at least one air duct (6).
Regarding claim 16, Godderie shows wherein the toilet comprises a control unit (17) configured to operate the fan and the ionizer of the toilet lid and the fan and ionizer of the toilet mounting or the fan and ionizer of the toilet lid and the fan and neutralizer of the toilet mounting.
Regarding claim 37, Yang discloses wherein the at least one ionizer comprises an ozone generator (4) arranged to generate ozone and deliver it into the circulating air flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 8,069,501 is directed to the state of the art of toilet seat ventilation systems.
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754