DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 17 October 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-6 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 17 October 2024 and 13 November 2025 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawing
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wedge that is adjacent to the spacer and in contact with the winding” (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Disclosure
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Stator with Potting Material and Spacer having Lower Linear Expansion Coefficient.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites “a wedge that is adjacent to the spacer and in contact with the winding”. The application as originally filed does not disclose the wedge in contact with the windings due to the potting material [27] and the insulating paper [35] being interposed in between (fig. 1-2, 5; ¶ 0027 of the specification). Since it appears this may simply be a transcription or translation error, this claim has been interpreted as requiring the wedge to be in contact with the stator core, as it is shown in the drawings (i.e. the wedge contacts the sides of the slot opening [25]).
Claim 3 is rejected solely due to its dependency on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadotani et al. (JP S58-201555 A), hereinafter referred to as “Kadotani”.
Regarding claim 1, Kadotani discloses a stator (fig. 1-2; page 2), comprising:
a stator core [1] having a slot opening [14] (fig. 2; pages 6-7);
a winding [2] attached to the stator core [1] (fig. 2; pages 6-7);
a potting material [9] sealed in a stator chamber [1s] of the stator core [1] (fig. 2; page 6); and
a spacer [6s] configured to close the slot opening [14] (fig. 2; pages 6-7), and
wherein the spacer [6s] is made of an insulating material (page 6; “aromatic polyamide”, e.g. Kevlar or Nomex), and has a linear expansion coefficient lower than that of the potting material [9] (page 3; “epoxy resin” is known to have typical linear expansion coefficients of between 60 and 80 x10-6/°C, while aromatic polyamides have typical linear expansion coefficients of between -2 and 6.3 x10-6/°C).
Regarding claim 2, Kadotani discloses the stator according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the stator comprises a wedge [6w] that is adjacent to the spacer [6s] and in contact with the {stator core} [1] (fig. 2; as disclosed in the present application, the spacer and wedge are formed integrally, with the spacer being the portion extending across the slot opening and the wedge being the portion engaged in grooves on the sides of adjacent stator teeth).
Regarding claim 3, Kadotani discloses the stator according to claim 2, as stated above, wherein the spacer [6s] and the wedge [6w] are integrally formed members (fig. 2; pages 6-7), and
wherein the spacer [6s] extends from the wedge [6w] toward the slot opening [14] (fig. 2; pages 6-7; as disclosed in the present application, the spacer and wedge are formed integrally, with the spacer being the portion extending across the slot opening and the wedge being the portion engaged in grooves on the sides of adjacent stator teeth).
Regarding claim 5, Kadotani discloses a canned motor, comprising:
a main shaft (not shown; page 6; “submersible motors with high output” inherently possess a shaft for transmitting the rotation of the rotor to an external device or medium);
a rotor fixed to the main shaft (not shown; page 2, 6);
a can [8] surrounding the rotor (fig. 1-2; page 6); and
a stator according to claim 1, as stated above, the stator being in contact with an outer circumferential surface of the can [8] (fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadotani in view of Kamata et al. (JP2007-236098A), hereinafter referred to as “Kamata”.
Regarding claim 4, Kadotani discloses the stator according to claim 1, as stated above. Kadotani does not disclose that the spacer [6s] is made of a sponge.
Kamata discloses a stator [4] comprising a winding [10] disposed in slots and a spacer [11b] in the slot opening (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0016-0018), wherein the spacer [11b] is made of a sponge (fig. 2b; ¶ 0018-0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the spacer of Kadotani from a sponge as taught by Kamata, in order to help absorb the thermal expansion of the potting material thereby preventing deformation of the stator (¶ 0023 of Kamata).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadotani in view of Swift et al. (US 2006/0218777 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Swift”.
Regarding claim 6, Kadotani discloses the canned motor according to claim 5, as stated above. Kadotani does not disclose that the can [8] and the spacer [6s] are integrally formed members.
Swift discloses a canned motor comprising a can [78] surrounded by a stator [10] having a winding [40] disposed in slots [32] (fig. 7; ¶ 0031) and a spacer [78s] configured to close the slot opening (fig. 7; ¶ 041-0043), wherein the can [78] and the spacer [78s] are integrally formed members (fig. 7; ¶ 0041-0043; the can and spacer are formed integrally, with the can being the portion extending across the inner surface of the stator and the spacer being the portion extending into the slot openings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the can and spacer of Kadotani from a single piece of material as taught by Swift, in order to provide direct contact to features such as dimples or fins thereby increasing its exposed surface area and further facilitating heat dissipation from the windings (¶ 0044 of Swift).
Further, it has been held that the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure as disclosed in the prior art would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Hozumi et al. (US 2013/0272904 A1) discloses a canned motor having integral wedges and spacers closing the stator slots.
Ruffing et al. (US 4,200,818) discloses a stator having slots closed by a spacer and filled by a potting material, the spacer having a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the potting material.
Myers (US 2,201,699) discloses a stator having slots closed by a spacer and a separately formed wedge.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834