Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,5,11,13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Gu et al (CN 111948839 A)
Regarding Claim 1,
Gu et al discloses (Fig. 10) A single-side peep-proof liquid crystal display device; characterized in that the liquid crystal display device sequentially comprising comprises, along the light emergent side, a backlight plate (400), a lower polarizer (62), a display panel (300), an upper polarizer (61) and a dye liquid crystal panel (110) ;the display panel comprises at least one substrate (100), at least one conductive layer (100 comprises a driving electrode (“… the fifth substrate 100 comprises a driving electrode and a driving circuit, the sixth substrate comprises a color resistance and so on, are not shown in the figure…”), and a layer of a first liquid crystal composition (331); the dye liquid crystal panel (110) comprises a first substrate (10), a first conductive layer (11), a dye liquid crystal layer (110), and a second substrate (20); and the dye liquid crystal layer (110,111) comprises a second liquid crystal composition (111) and dye molecules (110).
Regarding Claim 5,
Gu et al discloses (Fig. 10) wherein characterized in that the dye liquid crystal panel comprises the first substrate (10), the first conductive layer (11), a first alignment layer (12), the dye liquid crystal layer (110), a second alignment layer (22), and the second substrate (20).
Regarding Claim 11,
Gu et al discloses (Fig. 10) A method comprising: utilizing Use of the single-side peep-proof liquid crystal display device according to any one of claim 1 in the field of single-side peep-proofing.
Regarding Claim 13,
Gu et al discloses (Fig. 10) wherein the second liquid crystal composition in the dye liquid crystal layer of the dye liquid crystal panel has a dielectric anisotropy of>0 (LC molecules are positive)(“…referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 7, the first pre-tilt angle a1 angle range is 85-89.9 degrees, the second pre-tilt angle b1 angle range is 85-89.9 degrees, comprising endpoint value, for example, the first pre-tilt angle a1 and the second pre-tilt angle b1 angle is 89 degrees, wherein the first liquid crystal molecule 110 and the second liquid crystal molecule 220 are positive liquid crystal molecules. when the first liquid crystal molecule 111 and the second liquid crystal molecule 221 is a positive liquid crystal...”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4,7,12,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al (CN 111948839 A).
Regarding Claim 2,
Gu et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Gu et al does not expressly disclose wherein characterized in that the direction of the upper polarizer and the direction of the lower polarizer each independently is in a vertical direction or a horizontal direction.
Gu et al discloses that the absorption/transmission through the dye LC structure depends upon the orientation of the polarization direction relative to the dye molecules, therefore it would have been obvious to orient the linear polarization axis along either of the two perpendicular or parallel directions because the optical response depends upon the relative orientation of the polarization axis and LC/dye director. (“… the display panel 300 is provided with a wired polarizer 60. so that the linearly polarized light emitted from the display panel; when the polarized light passes through the dye liquid crystal, the polarized light polarization direction and the dye liquid crystal molecule long axis direction are parallel, polarized light will be absorbed by the dye; When the polarization direction of the polarized light and the long axis of the dye liquid crystal molecule are vertical, the polarized light will pass through, so as to realize the control of the light emitting direction of the display panel by adjusting the deflection of the dye liquid crystal molecule…”)
Regarding Claim 3,
Gu et al discloses wherein the display panel generates a transverse electric field in the energized state (IPS mode or FFS mode)(“…It should be noted that the display mode of the display panel can be TN mode, VA mode, IPS mode, FFS mode and so on, which is not limited...”)
Regarding Claim 4,
Gu et al discloses wherein characterized in that the dye liquid crystal panel generates a transverse electric field in the energized state. (Gu discloses rotating the LC dye molecules to control the light-out and/or light-in direction of the display panel, therefore obvious to have such an arrangement)
Regarding Claim 7,
Gu et al discloses wherein characterized in that the liquid crystal display device is in a wide viewing angle mode when a voltage is applied only on the display panel; and the liquid crystal display device is in a single-side viewing angle peep-proofing mode when a voltage is applied on both the display panel and the dye liquid crystal panel (“…The invention provides a display device and a driving method thereof, which can improve the taste of dual-view display and can freely switch the display mode…”).
Regarding Claim 12,
Gu et al discloses wherein the direction of the upper polarizer and the direction of the lower polarizer are different. (Gu et al discloses polarization dependent LC/dye transmissions, therefore obvious to arrange the two polarizer axes differently)
Claim(s) 6,8,14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al (CN 111948839 A) in view of Feiler et al (US 20220098412)
Regarding Claim 6,
Gu et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Gu et al does not disclose wherein characterized in that the dye liquid crystal layer has a thickness of 1-12 um.
Feiler et al discloses wherein characterized in that the dye liquid crystal layer has a thickness of 5mu.m which are overlapping ranges of 1-12 um ([0351], cell gap of 5 mu.m)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gu et al to include Feiler et al’s dye liquid crystal layer has a thickness of 1-12 um motivated by the desire to create a suitable LC dye composition.
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to Gu et al and Feiler et al, Feiler et al discloses wherein characterized in that in the dye liquid crystal panel, the dye molecules are dichroic dye molecules (ABSTRACT).
Regarding Claim 14,
In addition to Gu et al and Feiler et al, Feiler et al (ABSTRACT) discloses wherein the dichroic dye molecule is one or more dyes selected from the group consisting of dyes of azo type, anthraquinone type, phthalocyanine, cyanine type, indigoid, arylmethane, nitro and nitroso.
Regarding Claim 15,
In addition to Gu et al and Feiler et al, Feiler et al (ABSTRACT) discloses wherein the dichroic dye molecule is selected from the group consisting of dyes of azo type and anthraquinone type.
Regarding Claim 16,
In addition to Gu et al and Feiler et al, Feiler et al discloses wherein the dichroic dye provides 0.01-10 wt.% of the total weight of the second liquid crystal composition [0365].
Claim(s) 9,10,18,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al (CN 111948839 A) in view of (CN111117654A)
Regarding Claim 9,
Gu et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Gu et al does not disclose wherein characterized in that in the dye liquid crystal panel, the second liquid crystal composition comprisesula M: RMlRMM; wherein, RM1 and RM2 each independently represents C1-12 linear or branched alkyl, or one or more than two nonadjacent -CH2- in the C1-12 linear or branched alkyl can each be independently replaced by -CH=CH-, -C-C-, -0-, -CO-, -CO-O- or -O-CO-;ring represents one or more -CH2 be replaced by -0-, and one or more single bond in the rings can be replaced by double bond, at most one -H on can be substituted by halogen; ZMi and ZM2 each independently represents single bond, -CO-O-, -O-CO-, -CH20-, -OCH2-, -C-C-, -CH=CH-, -CH2CH2- or -(CH2)4-; and nM represents 0, 1 or 2, wherein when nM=2, ring can be same or different,ZM2 can be same or different.
(CN111117654A) discloses (See formula M structure on page 1) discloses wherein characterized in that in the dye liquid crystal panel, the second liquid crystal composition comprisesula M: RMlRMM; wherein, RM1 and RM2 each independently represents C1-12 linear or branched alkyl, or one or more than two nonadjacent -CH2- in the C1-12 linear or branched alkyl can each be independently replaced by -CH=CH-, -C-C-, -0-, -CO-, -CO-O- or -O-CO-;ring represents one or more -CH2 be replaced by -0-, and one or more single bond in the rings can be replaced by double bond, at most one -H on can be substituted by halogen; ZMi and ZM2 each independently represents single bond, -CO-O-, -O-CO-, -CH20-, -OCH2-, -C-C-, -CH=CH-, -CH2CH2- or -(CH2)4-; and nM represents 0, 1 or 2, wherein when nM=2, ring can be same or different,ZM2 can be same or different.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gu et al to include (CN111117654A)’s formula as claimed motivated by the desire to improve transmittance, contrast and response speed.
Regarding Claim 10,
Gu et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Gu et al does not disclose wherein characterized in that in the dye liquid crystal panel, the second liquid crystal composition further c1 and/or general formula A-2: RA2A-2, wherein, RAi and RA2 each independently represents Ci12 linear or branched alkyl,orone or more than two nonadjacent -CH2- in the C1-12 linear or branched alkyl can each be independently replaced by -CH=CH-, -C-C-, -0-, -CO-, -CO-O- or -O-CO-, and one or more -H in the C1-12 linear or branched alkylcan each be independently substituted by -F or -Cl; ring, ring, ringand ringeachindependently representsone or more -CH2- inandcan be replaced by -0-, one or more single bond in the rings can be replaced by double bond, wherein one or more -HApplication No.: Unassigned onandcan each be independently substituted by -F, -Cl or -CN, one or more -CH= in the rings can be replaced by -N=;ZAll, ZA21 and ZA22 each independently represents single bond, -CH2CH2-, -CF2CF2-,-CO-O-, -O-CO-, -O-CO-O-, -CH=CH-, -CF=CF-, -CH20- or -OCH2-;LAll, LA12, LA13, LA2i and LA22 each independently represents -H, C1-3 alkyl, or halogen;XAl and XA2 each independently represents halogen, C1-5 halogenated alkyl or halogenated alkoxy, C2-5 halogenated alkenyl or halogenated alkenoxy;nAil represents 0, 1, 2 or 3, when nA11=2or 3, ringcan be same or different,and ZAll can be same or different;nA12 represents 1 or 2, wherein when nA12=2, ringcan be same or different;and nA2 represents 0, 1, 2 or 3, wherein when nA2=2or 3, ring can be same or different, and ZA21 can be same or different.
(CN111117654A) discloses (ABSTRACT and see Pages 2-10 and 20 for the A-1/A-2 families compounds) wherein characterized in that in the dye liquid crystal panel, the second liquid crystal composition further c1 and/or general formula A-2: RA2A-2, wherein, RAi and RA2 each independently represents Ci12 linear or branched alkyl,orone or more than two nonadjacent -CH2- in the C1-12 linear or branched alkyl can each be independently replaced by -CH=CH-, -C-C-, -0-, -CO-, -CO-O- or -O-CO-, and one or more -H in the C1-12 linear or branched alkylcan each be independently substituted by -F or -Cl; ring, ring, ringand ringeachindependently representsone or more -CH2- inandcan be replaced by -0-, one or more single bond in the rings can be replaced by double bond, wherein one or more -HApplication No.: Unassigned onandcan each be independently substituted by -F, -Cl or -CN, one or more -CH= in the rings can be replaced by -N=;ZAll, ZA21 and ZA22 each independently represents single bond, -CH2CH2-, -CF2CF2-,-CO-O-, -O-CO-, -O-CO-O-, -CH=CH-, -CF=CF-, -CH20- or -OCH2-;LAll, LA12, LA13, LA2i and LA22 each independently represents -H, C1-3 alkyl, or halogen;XAl and XA2 each independently represents halogen, C1-5 halogenated alkyl or halogenated alkoxy, C2-5 halogenated alkenyl or halogenated alkenoxy;nAil represents 0, 1, 2 or 3, when nA11=2or 3, ringcan be same or different,and ZAll can be same or different;nA12 represents 1 or 2, wherein when nA12=2, ringcan be same or different;and nA2 represents 0, 1, 2 or 3, wherein when nA2=2or 3, ring can be same or different, and ZA21 can be same or different.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gu et al to include (CN111117654A)’s formula as claimed motivated by the desire to improve transmittance, contrast and response speed.
Regarding Claim 18,
In addition to Gu et al and (CN111117654A), (CN111117654A) discloses wherein the compound of general formula M provides 0.1-90 wt.% of the total weight of the second liquid crystal composition (Claim 7).
Regarding Claim 19,
In addition to Gu et al and (CN111117654A), (CN111117654A) discloses wherein the at least one compound of general formula A-1 and/or general formula A-2 provides 0.1-60 wt.% of the total weight of the second liquid crystal composition (“...a compound of formula A-1 is weight percentage of the liquid crystal composition of the present invention preferably, relative to the total weight of the liquid crystal composition of the present invention, compounds of the general formula A-1 of the liquid crystal composition of the present invention, the weight percentage limit value is preferably 0.1%, 1%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, 12%, 14%, 15%, 17%, 18%, or 20%, relative to the total weight of the liquid crystal composition of the present invention. compounds of the general formula A-1 of the liquid crystal composition of the present invention, the weight percentage preferably is the upper limit value of 80%, 60%, 55%, 50%, 45%, 40%, 35%, 30%, or 25%...”)
Claim(s) 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al (CN 111948839 A) in view of Makino et al (US 20040008170) in view of (EP0080153A1)
Regarding Claim 17,
Gu et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Gu et al does not disclose the driving voltage of the display panel is 1V-10V, and the driving voltage of the dye liquid crystal panel is 1V-10V.
Makino et al disclose the driving voltage of the display panel is 2-5 volts which are overlapping ranges of 1V-10V [0006].
(EP0080153A1) discloses the driving voltage of the dye liquid crystal panel is 1V-10V (“…When the above-described accelerated weathering tests were conducted for 100 hours with protecting the element devices by means of an ultraviolet ray-cutting filter, every dye shown in Table 2 underwent a decrease in absorbance of only 10% or less and an increase in consumed current value of not more than double the value before the weathering test when an AC of 32 Hz and 5 V was applied…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gu et al to include
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gu et al to include Makino et al’s driving voltage of the display panel is 2-5 volts to further include EP0080153A1’s driving voltage of the dye liquid crystal panel is 1V-10V motivated by the desire to electrically control the liquid crystal orientation with success.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871