DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue US 2010/0239280 (Inoue).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue teaches a printing device, comprising:
a drum component comprising a drum surface (11c);
colorant components (13); and
a controller (51) to:
determine whether a drum data erase is to be performed based on residual colorant (of various thickness) on the drum surface (FIG. 8);
generate erasure data that includes a pattern (amount of thickness decrease) that will remove the residual colorant on the drum surface in response to the determination (S1-s7, FIG. 8); and
perform the drum data erase using the erasure data to remove the residual colorant on the drum surface, the drum data erase to include causing the colorant components to transfer a colorant to the drum surface according to the pattern of the erasure data (¶0072-¶0083).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue teaches the printing device of claim 1, wherein the printing device is a laser printer or a solid ink printer (¶0005).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue teaches the printing device of claim 1, wherein the printing device comprises a touchscreen, and wherein the controller is to cause the touchscreen to display a type of the drum data erase (¶0052).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue teaches the printing device of claim 3, wherein the type of the drum data erase indicates that the erasure data is transferred to the drum surface without printing the erasure data to a receiving medium (FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Inoue teaches the printing device of claim 1, wherein the pattern obscures or erases a specified area of the drum surface (upper front, ¶0052).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing machine-readable instructions, which, when executed by a controller, cause the controller to:
receive a command to perform a drum data erase (s1);
based on residual colorant on a drum surface (i.e., thickness of colorant remaining on surface) generate erasure data that includes a pattern that will remove the residual colorant on the drum surface in response to the command (s2-s7); and
perform the drum data erase to remove the residual colorant on the drum surface using the erasure data (¶0073-¶0083).
Regarding claim 7, Inoue teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 6, wherein the controller is to receive the command via a graphical user interface (¶0052).
Regarding claim 12, Inoue teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a controller of a printing device, a request to print a print job (s11);
printing, by the printing device, the print job (s11 YES);
determining, by the printing device, whether a drum data erase is to be performed based on residual colorant on a drum surface (thickness of photosensitive layer) from the print job (s12, FIG. 8);
transferring, by the controller, a first pattern of erasure data to the drum surface of a drum of the printing device (s13-s15);
wherein the first patter of erasure data includes a pattern that will remove the residual colorant on the drum surface (s15-s16); and
transferring, by the controller, a second pattern of the erasure data to the drum surface (Yes to s17),
wherein the second pattern of erasure data includes a pattern that will remove the residual colorant on the drum surface (s17 yes, through s13-s16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 and 13-16s are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue US 2010/0239280 (Inoue) and Sumida US 4,851,878 (Sumida).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Inoue teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 6. Inoue differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the controller is to generate the erasure data using multiple alphanumeric characters, symbols, or a combination thereof and the controller is to cause the erasure data to be printed to a receiving medium. However this technique is known. Sumida teaches the controller is to generate the erasure data using multiple alphanumeric characters, symbols, or a combination thereof (FIG. 5) and the controller is to cause the erasure data to be printed to a receiving medium (C4 L38-58, FIG. 8 A&B). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the technique taught by Sumida of using alphanumeric characters as the erasing pattern with the device taught Inoue since Sumida teaches that this technique conveys the advantage of allowing for charge to be erased at any position (Sumida C1 L60-65).
Regarding claims 10-11, Inoue teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 6. Inoue differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the erasure data includes multiple patterns. However this technique is known. Sumida teaches the erasure data includes multiple patterns (FIG. 5). Furthermore Sumida teaches the erasure data includes “▓,” “O,” or a combination thereof (C4 L15-37). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the technique taught by Sumida of using alphanumeric characters as the erasing pattern with the device taught Inoue since Sumida teaches that this technique conveys the advantage of allowing for charge to be erased at any position (Sumida C1 L60-65).
Regarding claims 13-14, Inoue teaches the method of claim 12. Inoue differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the first pattern includes multiple characters, and the second pattern includes the multiple characters of the first pattern having a different order. However this technique is known. Sumida teaches the first pattern includes multiple characters (FIG. 5) and the second pattern includes the multiple characters of the first pattern having a different order (C4 L38-58, FIG. 8 A&B). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the technique taught by Sumida of using a first and second with the device taught Inoue since Sumida teaches that this technique conveys the advantage of allowing for charge to be erased at any position (Sumida C1 L60-65).
Regarding claim 15, Inoue teaches the method of claim 12. Inoue differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: generating, by the controller, the first pattern and generating, by the controller, the second pattern./ However this technique is known. Sumida teaches generating, by the controller, the first pattern and generating (FIG. 5), by the controller, the second pattern (C4 L38-58, FIG. 8 A&B). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the technique taught by Sumida of using a first and second erasing pattern with the device taught Inoue since Sumida teaches that this technique conveys the advantage of allowing for charge to be erased at any position (Sumida C1 L60-65).
Regarding claim 16, Inoue teaches the printing device according to claim 1. Inoue differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the erasure data includes “▓,” “O,” or a combination thereof. However this technique is known. Sumida teaches the erasure data includes “▓,” “O,” or a combination thereof (C4 L15-37). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the technique taught by Sumida of using alphanumeric characters as the erasing pattern with the device taught Inoue since Sumida teaches that this technique conveys the advantage of allowing for charge to be erased at any position (Sumida C1 L60-65).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852