DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan (US 2023/0164773 A1) in view of Agiwal (US 2022/0201659 A1).
Regarding Claims 18, 31, Alfarhan discloses a method/apparatus for wireless communication (e.g. Fig. 1A-1D), the method implemented in a user equipment (UE) (e.g. Fig. 1A, and Paragraph [0022]) and the apparatus comprising: a transceiver (e.g. Fig. 1B and Paragraph [0039]); and a processing hardware (e.g. Fig. 1B and Paragraph [0040]) configured to: receive, from a radio access network (RAN) (e.g. Fig. 1A and Paragraph [0022]), a small data transmission (SDT) configuration (e.g. Fig. 2 Paragraph [0251] step 210); obtain an uplink (UL) grant during an SDT session (e.g. Paragraph [0092, 0093]); when the UE has UL data for transmission during the SDT session, transmit, to the RAN and using the UL grant (e.g. Fig. 2 and Paragraph [0251]), a first UL packet including at least a portion of the UL data (e.g. Fig. 2 and Paragraph [0252]); and when the UE does not have UL data for transmission during the SDT session, transmit, to the RAN and using the UL grant (e.g. Fig. 4 and Paragraph [0261, 0262]), a second UL packet including non-SDT data.
Alfrarhan fails to explicitly disclose to transmit a second UL packet including non-SDT data when the UE does not have UL data for transmission.
However, Agiwal teaches to transmit a second UL packet including non-SDT data when the UE does not have UL data for transmission (e.g Paragraph [0159-0160]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate transmitting non-SDT data as taught as Agiwal into method/apparatus of Alfarhan in order to handle SDT procedure failure or termination.
Regarding Claim 29, Alfarhan discloses the UL grant includes a configured UL grant (e.g. Paragraph [0092, 0093]).
Regarding Claim 30, Alfarhan discloses the UL grant includes a dynamic UL grant (e.g. Paragraph [0092, 0093]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-28, 32-37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai (US 2021/0337625 A1), discloses small data transmission;
Lei (US 2023/0262631 A1), discloses timing advance validation.
/YULIN SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485