DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 7-13 and 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7-13 and 16-18 recite the following underlined acronyms MME, eNB, OTDOA, LIDAR, 5G-FR1, 5G-FR2, MSISDN, TMSI, S-TMSI, C-RNTI, P-RNTI, PCCH, GUTI and RRC, which needs to be written in full. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent No.: US 11,224,004 B2 to Sotomayor et al. (Sotomayor) as disclosed by IDS, in view of Publication No.: US 2021/0345293 A1 to Park et al. (Park).
As to Claims 1 and 10, Sotomayor discloses a system for detecting mobile devices, the system comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 7, ‘processor 702’); and
a memory storing instructions which when executed by the at least one processor configure the at least one processor to (‘Fig. 7 is a schematic diagram of a computing device 700 such as a server. As depicted, the computing device includes at least one processor 702, memory 704, at least one I/O interface 706, and at least one network interface 708’, Col. 6 II 20-23):
send, by a processor, a soft page message via a Mobile Station Integrated Services Digital Network (MSISDN) to a Mobility Management Entity (MME) (‘each network interface 708 enables computing device 700 to communicate with other components, to exchange data with other components, to access and connect to network resources, to serve applications, and perform other computing applications by connecting to a network (i.e., interpreted as MME) (or multiple networks) capable of carrying data including the Internet, Ethernet, plain old telephone service (POTS) line, public switch telephone network (PSTN), integrated services digital network (ISDN), digital subscriber line (DSL), coaxial cable, fiber optics, satellite, mobile, wireless (e.g. Wi-Fi, WiMAX), SS7 signaling network, fixed line, local area network, wide area network, and others’, Col. 6, ll 35-46);
track, by the processor, at least one of: a Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI);a Serving TMSI (S-TMSI);a Globally Unique Temporary UE Identity (GUTI); or a cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (c-RNTI) (‘the BSS 20 sends a Location Update message 508 to the MSC 30. The MSC 30 sends a Send <IMSI/TMSI+LAI> message 510 to the VLR 40. The VLR 40 sends a TMSI <Auth+Encryption A5/1> message to the MSC 30. The MSC 30 then sends 514 the TMSI to the BSS 20. The BSS 20 sends a Decode and Capture <TMSI+LAI> message to the system 100. The system 100 enters 518 FSM and checks 520 for a TMSI match. The system 100 performs the capture of TMSI and LAI information lookup using an on-site database (DB) 128 for +/−2 km geolocation information. Upon TMSI match checking, the application of a Hidden Markov Model (HMM) and Bayesian Filter (BF) may be used to improve distance and location trajectory calculations, consequently narrowing a 2 km distance to a value around approximately 500 m (centered at the antenna) at most dependent on terrain and antennae properties’, Col. 5, ll 30-46).
Sotomayor does not expressly disclose send, by the processor to an Evolved Node B (eNB), a Paging Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI) filtering message.
However, Park discloses send, by the processor to an Evolved Node B (eNB), a Paging Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI) filtering message (‘the base station (BS) may receive associated configuration/parameters (e.g., time/frequency resource allocation of (M)PDCCH and PDSCH, parameters associated with RNTI and the like, UE_ID (that may be set to the same value) to be used for PF(paging frame)/PO(paging occasion) calculation, DRX cycle information, P-RNTI, etc.) from the UE so as to control the UE to acquire a specific channel having the same purpose through a different system (e.g., a third system that can be regarded as the inter-RAT (Radio Access Technology) from the viewpoint of LTE, NR, MTC, or NB-IoT system environments). UE_ID may refer to UE identification (ID) information based on International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI)’, ¶ 0255).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘send, by the processor to an Evolved Node B (eNB), a Paging Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI) filtering message’ as disclosed by Park into Sotomayor so as to efficiently and effectively map physical resources in wireless communication system, Park ¶ 0006.
As to Claims 2 and 11, Sotomayor does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to: start, by the MME, a T3413 timer; send, by the MME to the eNB, a Paging Control Channel (PCCH) paging message; and send, by the eNB to a known mobile device, a Radio Resource Control paging message.
However, Park discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to: start, by the MME, a T3413 timer; send, by the MME to the eNB, a Paging Control Channel (PCCH) paging message; and send, by the eNB to a known mobile device, a Radio Resource Control paging message (‘as an additional example, when RRC connection to the UE is released in the first system, the BS may transmit a specific channel (e.g., a paging channel) to the UE in the second system by referring to the above-described configuration information. When RRC connection to the BS is released in the first system, the UE may receive a specific channel (e.g., a paging channel) from the BS in the second system by referring to the above-described configuration information’, ¶ 0257).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the at least one processor is configured to: start, by the MME, a T3413 timer; send, by the MME to the eNB, a Paging Control Channel (PCCH) paging message; and send, by the eNB to a known mobile device, a Radio Resource Control paging message’ as disclosed by Park into Sotomayor so as to efficiently and effectively map physical resources in wireless communication system, Park ¶ 0006.
As to Claims 3 and 12, Sotomayor does not expressly disclose wherein to track the at least one of the TMSI, S-TMSI, GUTI, or c-RNTI comprises the at least one processor receiving device and location data from at least one of: an Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA); light detection and ranging (LIDAR); or Channel State Information.
However, Park discloses wherein to track the at least one of the TMSI, S-TMSI, GUTI, or c-RNTI comprises the at least one processor receiving device and location data from at least one of: an Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA); light detection and ranging (LIDAR); or Channel State Information (‘in MPDCCH search space associated with C-RNTI, SPS-C-RNTI, TPC-PUCCH-RNTI and/or TPC-PUSCH-RNTI (for example, CRC is scrambled with the corresponding RNTI), CSI-RS transmission is expected’, ¶ 0371).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein to track the at least one of the TMSI, S-TMSI, GUTI, or c-RNTI comprises the at least one processor receiving device and location data from at least one of: an Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA); light detection and ranging (LIDAR); or Channel State Information’ as disclosed by Park into Sotomayor so as to efficiently and effectively map physical resources in wireless communication system, Park ¶ 0006.
5. Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sotomayor as disclosed by IDS, in view of Park and further in view of Publication No.: US 2022/0345171 A1 to Sicher et al. (Sicher).
As to Claims 4 and 13, Sotomayor in view of Park do not expressly disclose wherein device and location data received from the OTDOA include data pertaining to Fifth Generation low frequency bands (5G-FR1) and data pertaining to 5G high frequency bands (5G-FR2) mmWave.
However, Sicher discloses wherein device and location data received from the OTDOA include data pertaining to Fifth Generation low frequency bands (5G-FR1) and data pertaining to 5G high frequency bands (5G-FR2) mmWave (‘for example, the detected current communication parameters may include the communication mode in use by the WWAN modem (e.g., 4G, 5G-FR1, 5G-FR2)’, ¶ 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein device and location data received from the OTDOA include data pertaining to Fifth Generation low frequency bands (5G-FR1) and data pertaining to 5G high frequency bands (5G-FR2) mmWave’ as disclosed by Park into Sotomayor so as to efficiently and effectively map physical resources in wireless communication system, Park ¶ 0006.
6. Claims 5-8 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Publication No.: US 2007/0155372 A1 to Huang, Lung-Chu (Huang) as disclosed in the IDS, in view of Publication No.: US 2017/0014671 A1 to Jia et al (Jia).
As to Claims 5 and 14, Huang discloses a system for classifying detected mobile devices, the system comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 1, ‘main server 101’); and
a memory storing instructions which when executed by the at least one processor configure the at least one processor to:
listen, by a processor, on an uplink channel for a detected mobile device (Fig. 1, ‘the step of creating and transmitting a customized message comprises a sender using a network user interface (201) to create a customized message with a personalized ring/tone/image/note in a client unit (200) and transmitting the customized message through an uplink driver (202) in the client unit (200) to a recipient through the main server (101) in a network server (100)’, ¶ 0030);
receive, by the processor from the detected mobile device, capabilities information regarding the detected mobile device (Fig. 1, ‘in the step of receiving a request, the request from a mobile station contains the UserAgent of the recipient's mobile station and the recipient's mobile phone number, and then the UserAgent is extracted. The UserAgent (302) is a code to identify basic capabilities about a specific mobile station (300), such as screen size, color capabilities, image capabilities, audio capabilities, manufacturer, etc.’, ¶s 0013 and 0028); and
obtain, by the processor from a database, a user equipment (UE) model (Fig. 1, ‘the ID database (103) contains records with a mobile phone number field and a model ID field. The mobile phone number field contains a mobile phone number of a specific mobile station, and the model ID field contains a model ID corresponding to a mobile phone model number on which the mobile phone number is used’, ¶ 0022; see also abstract and ¶ 0013).
Huang does not expressly disclose UE model determined based on the capabilities information.
However, Jia discloses UE model determined based on the capabilities information (‘upon receiving the request for service message 306, the network node device 304 requests for a UE ID to obtain the TAC information from the UE 302 and compare with the previously obtained and stored message size value of the same or similar TAC (same UE type). The UE 302 provides the UE ID in message 308. Upon receiving the UE ID message 308, the network node device determines capabilities of the UE 302 in order to provide the best service. According some embodiments, the eNB 304 estimates size (e.g., potential size or estimated size) of UE capabilities message. The estimate is based on prior exchanges of capabilities information provided by the same UE 302 or another UE (no shown) having similar and/or same capabilities’, ¶ 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘UE model determined based on the capabilities information’ as disclosed by Jia into Huang so as to efficiently and effectively provide resources based on UE’s capabilities in wireless communication system, Jia ¶ 0031.
As to Claims 6 and 15, Huang further discloses retrieve, by the processor from a database, the UE model based on the capabilities (Fig. 1, ‘in the step of receiving a request, the request from a mobile station contains the UserAgent of the recipient's mobile station and the recipient's mobile phone number, and then the UserAgent is extracted. The step of comparing the UserAgent comprises comparing the UserAgent from the request with the UserAgent in a mapping table in the network server. In the step of adding a new record step, a new record with the mobile phone number and its corresponding UserAgent will be added into the ID database if the UserAgent cannot be found in the mapping table or else a new record with the mobile phone number and its corresponding model ID will be created into the ID database if the UserAgent exists in the mapping table’, ¶ 0013).
As to Claims 7 and 16, Huang further discloses sending, by an MME to an eNB, a request message for capabilities of the detected mobile device (‘the method and the system for detecting a mobile model in accordance with the present invention comprises sequential steps of (1) creating and transmitting a customized message, (2) storing the customized message, (3) issuing a WAP PUSH message, (4) receiving a request, (5) comparing the UserAgent and (6) adding a new record. The step of transmitting a customized message comprises a sender creating a customized message with a personalized ring/tone/image/note in a client unit and transmitting the customized message to the main server in the network server’, ¶ 0013);
sending, by the eNB to the detected mobile device, a capability enquiry request (‘the method and the system for detecting a mobile model in accordance with the present invention comprises sequential steps of (1) creating and transmitting a customized message, (2) storing the customized message, (3) issuing a WAP PUSH message, (4) receiving a request, (5) comparing the UserAgent and (6) adding a new record. The step of transmitting a customized message comprises a sender creating a customized message with a personalized ring/tone/image/note in a client unit and transmitting the customized message to the main server in the network server’, ¶ 0013);
receiving, by the eNB from the detected mobile device, the capabilities information (‘the mobile station has an embedded mobile management interface and a UserAgent. The mobile management interface receives WAP PUSH messages from the network server, and the UserAgent identifies the basic information of the mobile station. Recipients' mobile stations send requests to the WAP gateways’, ¶ 0012); and
receiving, by the MME from the eNB, the capabilities information (‘the mobile station has an embedded mobile management interface and a UserAgent. The mobile management interface receives WAP PUSH messages from the network server, and the UserAgent identifies the basic information of the mobile station. Recipients' mobile stations send requests to the WAP gateways’, ¶ 0012).
As to Claims 8 and 17, Huang does not expressly disclose wherein to receive includes the processor receiving device and location data from at least one of: an OTDOA; LIDAR; or Channel State Information.
However, Jia discloses wherein to receive includes the processor receiving device and location data from at least one of: an OTDOA; LIDAR; or Channel State Information (‘cloud radio access networks (RAN) can enable the implementation of concepts such as software-defined network (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV) in 5G networks. This disclosure can facilitate a generic channel state information framework design for a 5G network. Certain embodiments of this disclosure can comprise an SDN controller (e.g., controller, central controller, or centralized unit) that can control routing of traffic within the network and between the network and traffic destinations’, ¶ 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein to receive includes the processor receiving device and location data from at least one of: an OTDOA; LIDAR; or Channel State Information’ as disclosed by Jia into Huang so as to efficiently and effectively provide resources based on UE’s capabilities in wireless communication system, Jia ¶ 0031.
7. Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as disclosed in the IDS, in view of Jia and further in view of Publication No.: US 2022/0345171 A1 to Sicher et al. (Sicher).
As to Claims 9 and 18, Sotomayor in view of Park do not expressly disclose wherein device and location data received from the OTDOA include data pertaining to 5G-FR1 and data pertaining to 5G-FR2 mmWave.
However, Sicher discloses wherein device and location data received from the OTDOA include data pertaining to 5G-FR1 and data pertaining to 5G-FR2 mmWave. (‘for example, the detected current communication parameters may include the communication mode in use by the WWAN modem (e.g., 4G, 5G-FR1, 5G-FR2)’, ¶ 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein device and location data received from the OTDOA include data pertaining to 5G-FR1 and data pertaining to 5G-FR2 mmWave.’ as disclosed by Park into Sotomayor so as to efficiently and effectively map physical resources in wireless communication system, Park ¶ 0006.
Conclusion
/GBEMILEKE J ONAMUTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463