DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parikh et al. WO 2020/163114 published 13 Aug. 2020 (hereafter Parikh)
Regarding claim 1, Parikh teaches a centrifugal separator (Fig 1) for separating a gas liquid mixture (¶3) into a gaseous phase (108) and a liquid phase (152), the centrifugal separator comprising:
a housing (110);
a first separation space (space comprising 111) delimited at least in part by the housing;
a first separation aid (111) for separating the liquid phase from the gaseous phase arranged inside the first separation space (¶30-31);
a drive arrangement (electric motor, ¶29) configured for rotating the first separation aid (¶29);
an inlet (112 and/or 107) for the gas liquid mixture, mixture (¶35);
a gas outlet (114) for the separated gaseous phase (¶35, ¶37);
a liquid outlet for the separated liquid phase (¶36);
a second separation space (space comprising 113) delimited at least in part by the housing; and
a second separation aid (113) for separating the liquid phase from the gaseous phase arranged inside the second separation space (¶30-31);
wherein the drive arrangement is configured for rotating the second separation aid (¶29);
wherein a first passage (upper channels 160 in Fig 2) connects the inlet with the first separation space, and
wherein a second passage (lower channels 160 in Fig 2) connects the inlet with the second separation space, and
wherein the first and second separation aids are arranged along a common axis (¶35).
Regarding claim 2, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein the inlet (107) is arranged between the first and second separation spaces.
Regarding claim 3, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein radially outer portions of the first and second separation spaces are arranged in fluid communication with the gas outlet (¶35).
Regarding claim 4, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein radially outer portions of the first and second separation spaces are arranged in fluid communication with the liquid outlet (¶35).
Regarding claim 7, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein the inlet (112) is arranged to provide a flow direction of the gas liquid mixture entering the centrifugal separator perpendicularly to the common axis (as shown in Fig 1).
Regarding claim 8, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein the gas outlet (114) is arranged to provide a flow direction of the gaseous phase leaving the centrifugal separator perpendicularly to the common axis (as shown in Fig 1).
Regarding claim 9, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein the drive arrangement comprises at least a first drive unit configured to rotate the first separation aid (¶29).
Regarding claim 10, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein in a use position of the centrifugal separator the liquid outlet is arranged at a lower portion of the centrifugal separator (as shown in Fig 1; ¶36).
Regarding claim 12, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein the first passage (upper channels 160 in Fig 2) leads to a radially central portion (portion of 111 between 118 and 116) of the first separation space and the second passage (lower channels 160 in Fig 2) leads to a radially central portion (portion of 113 between 128 and 126) of the second separation space.
Regarding claim 13, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein the centrifugal separator is configured for concurrent separation of the gas liquid mixture into the gaseous phase and the liquid phase (¶35-36).
Regarding claim 14, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Parikh further teaches wherein the housing is arranged stationary in relation to the first and second separation aids (¶34-35).
Regarding claim 15, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Parikh further teaches wherein radially outer portions of the first and second separation spaces are arranged in fluid communication with the gas outlet (¶35).
Regarding claim 16, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Parikh further teaches wherein radially outer portions of the first and second separation spaces are arranged in fluid communication with the liquid outlet (¶35).
Regarding claim 17, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 3. Parikh further teaches wherein radially outer portions of the first and second separation spaces are arranged in fluid communication with the liquid outlet (¶35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parikh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bonne et al. US 2018/0104633 (hereafter Bonne).
Regarding claim 5, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Parikh does not teach wherein in a use position of the centrifugal separator, the common axis extends substantially horizontally.
Bonne teaches a centrifugal separator (Figs 4 and 7) wherein in a use position of the centrifugal separator, the common axis extends substantially horizontally (Fig 7) or vertically (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator (Fig 1) of Parikh by incorporating the horizontally extending common axis (Fig 7) as a matter of art recognized equivalents (MPEP 2114.06) and in order to fit in an engine bay when space constraints require a horizontal arrangement.
Regarding claim 6, Parikh in view of Bonne teaches all the limitations of claim 5. Parikh further teaches wherein the drive arrangement comprises a rotor shaft (140) extending along the common axis through the first and second separation spaces, and wherein the first and second separation aids are connected to the rotor shaft (as shown in Fig 1; ¶29).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parikh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eliasson US 2017/0036220 (hereafter Eliasson).
Regarding claim 11, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Parikh does not teaches wherein each of the first and second separation aids comprises a stack of separation discs.
Eliasson teaches a crankcase centrifugal separator (Fig 4, ¶1) wherein the separation aid (6) comprises a stack of separation discs (8) in order to separate liquid droplets from a gas and have a suitably compact design (¶9-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first (111) and second (112) separation aids of Parikh by substituting the stack of separation discs (6) for each separation aid in order to separate liquid droplets from a gas and have a suitably compact design (¶9-11).
The modification would have resulted in wherein each of the first and second separation aids comprises a stack of separation discs.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parikh as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bonne et al. US 2018/0104633 (hereafter Bonne).
Regarding claim 18, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 2.
Parikh does not teach wherein in a use position of the centrifugal separator, the common axis extends substantially horizontally.
Bonne teaches a centrifugal separator (Figs 4 and 7) wherein in a use position of the centrifugal separator, the common axis extends substantially horizontally (Fig 7) or vertically (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator (Fig 1) of Parikh by incorporating the horizontally extending common axis (Fig 7) as a matter of art recognized equivalents (MPEP 2114.06) and in order to fit in an engine bay when space constraints require a horizontal arrangement.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parikh as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Bonne et al. US 2018/0104633 (hereafter Bonne).
Regarding claim 19, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 3.
Parikh does not teach wherein in a use position of the centrifugal separator, the common axis extends substantially horizontally.
Bonne teaches a centrifugal separator (Figs 4 and 7) wherein in a use position of the centrifugal separator, the common axis extends substantially horizontally (Fig 7) or vertically (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator (Fig 1) of Parikh by incorporating the horizontally extending common axis (Fig 7) as a matter of art recognized equivalents (MPEP 2114.06) and in order to fit in an engine bay when space constraints require a horizontal arrangement.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parikh as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Bonne et al. US 2018/0104633 (hereafter Bonne).
Regarding claim 20, Parikh teaches all the limitations of claim 4.
Parikh does not teach wherein in a use position of the centrifugal separator, the common axis extends substantially horizontally.
Bonne teaches a centrifugal separator (Figs 4 and 7) wherein in a use position of the centrifugal separator, the common axis extends substantially horizontally (Fig 7) or vertically (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator (Fig 1) of Parikh by incorporating the horizontally extending common axis (Fig 7) as a matter of art recognized equivalents (MPEP 2114.06) and in order to fit in an engine bay when space constraints require a horizontal arrangement.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776