DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The composite part is a spar cap of a rotor blade. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Configured to in claim 16-33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Mitchell et al 8935840.
Mitchell et al discloses and teach the claimed invention as recited in the claims as shown below:
1-15. (Cancelled).
16. (New) A support assembly for rotating a composite part, the support assembly comprising:
at least one support comprising a stationary support 12 and a rotatable support 16 , wherein the stationary support is configured to support the rotatable support See Fig.1, and wherein the rotatable support is configured to receive and support the composite part (Workpiece), and wherein the rotatable support is configured to rotate with respect to the stationary support and to maintain an orientation of the composite part at a plurality of discrete angular positions. Note the rotation will change the angle on the horizontal plane.
17. (New) The support assembly of claim 16, wherein the at least one support comprises a locking mechanism to fix a position of the rotatable support relative to the stationary support. Gears and motor will lock the device in place such as transmission 64.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Maurer 6860800.
Maurer discloses and teach the claimed invention as recited in the claims as shown below:
1-15. (Cancelled).
16. (New) A support assembly for rotating a composite part, the support assembly comprising:
at least one support comprising a stationary support 14 and a rotatable support 12 , wherein the stationary support is configured to support the rotatable support See Fig.3 and 52 , and wherein the rotatable support is configured to receive and support the composite part (Workpiece), and wherein the rotatable support is configured to rotate with respect to the stationary support and to maintain an orientation of the composite part at a plurality of discrete angular positions. Note the rotation will change the angle on the horizontal plane.
Claim(s) 16-21 and 26-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Rolle 8496237.
Rolle disclose and teach the claimed invention as recited in the claims as shown below:
1-15. (Cancelled).
16. (New) A support assembly for rotating a composite part, the support assembly comprising:
at least one support comprising a stationary support 3 and a rotatable support 2 , wherein the stationary support is configured to support the rotatable support See Fig.1, and wherein the rotatable support is configured to receive and support the composite part (Workpiece), and wherein the rotatable support is configured to rotate with respect to the stationary support and to maintain an orientation of the composite part at a plurality of discrete angular positions. Note the rotation will change the angle on the horizontal plane.
17. (New) The support assembly of claim 16, wherein the at least one support comprises a locking mechanism 11 to fix a position of the rotatable support relative to the stationary support.
18. (New) The support assembly of claim 16, wherein the rotatable support comprises two portions, the two portions comprising a first portion 2 configured to receive the composite part and a second portion 9 configured to secure the composite part.
19. (New) The support assembly of claim 18, wherein the first and second portions are detachable. See Fig.2
20. (New) The support assembly of claim 18, wherein the stationary support comprises a contact surface to support the rotatable support. See Fig.2
21. (New) The support assembly of claim 20, wherein the two portions of the rotatable support define a frame comprising an outer surface that matches the contact surface of the stationary support. See Fig.2
26. (New) The support assembly of claim 16, wherein the composite part is a spar cap of a rotor blade. This is the workpiece with nothing being claimed.
27. (New) A method for rotating a spar cap using a plurality of rotatable supports, the method comprising:
providing a spar cap (Workpiece) on the plurality of rotatable supports 2 and 9; securing the spar cap to the plurality of rotatable supports; and rotating the plurality of rotatable supports to modify an orientation of the spar cap. Thjs is the natural function of the device
28. (New) The method of claim 27, wherein providing the spar cap on the plurality of rotatable supports comprises positioning the spar cap in a horizontal orientation atop the plurality of rotatable supports. See Fig.2
29. (New) The method of claim 27, wherein rotating the plurality of rotatable
supports comprises a synchronous rotation of the rotatable supports. Thjs is the natural function of the device
30. (New) The method of claim 27, further comprising providing separate drives 4 for the plurality of rotatable supports.
31. (New) The method of claim 30, wherein rotating the plurality of rotatable supports further comprises activating the separate drives 4 on corresponding rotatable supports of the plurality of rotatable supports. Thjs is the natural function of the device
32. (New) The method of claim 27, wherein rotating the plurality of rotatable supports comprises rotating the spar cap 90 degrees to a substantially vertical orientation and inspecting a quality of the spar cap, the method further comprising performing a treatment on the spar cap after rotating the spar cap 90 degrees while the spar cap is supported by the plurality of rotatable supports. This process is where the workpiece is rotating
33. (New) The method of claim 27, wherein rotating the plurality of rotatable supports comprises rotating the spar cap 180 degrees to an inverted horizontal position and inspecting a quality of the spar cap, the method further comprising performing a treatment on the spar cap after rotating the spar cap 180 degrees while the spar cap is supported by the plurality of rotatable supports. This process is where the workpiece is rotating
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The 892 form discloses prior art being record.
LEE D. WILSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
Ldw
/LEE D WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 July 15, 2026