DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a “method for producing a hydrocarbon” comprising “treating a feedstock using a fluid catalytic cracking unit.” It is unclear what affirmative treatment is required by the phrase “treating ... using” the FCC unit because the claim does not expressly require fluid catalytically cracking the feedstock, contacting the feedstock with an FCC catalyst, or producing a hydrocarbon product from the feedstock. The specification, in contrast, explains that the feedstock contacts catalyst particles in the reaction zone, whereby catalytic cracking occurs and hydrocarbons are produced. Claims 2–4 depend therefrom and do not cure the ambiguity.
Claim 1 further recites that “the feedstock has a %CA of 6 to 23.” The meaning and manner of determining “%CA” are not apparent from the claim. The specification defines %CA as an aromatic-carbon-content parameter determined by the n-d-M method based on specific gravity, refractive index and molecular weight and calculated according to specified equations, with reference to ASTM D3238. Accordingly, absent identification in the claim of what %CA represents and how it is determined, the metes and bounds of the recited 6–23 range are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierickx et al. (US 2009/0026112 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dierickx teaches a fluid catalytic cracking process for producing cracked hydrocarbon products by contacting a hydrocarbon feedstock with a cracking catalyst in an FCC reactor (claim 1; ¶¶[0037]–[0038]). Dierickx expressly teaches that a suitable paraffinic feedstock is a Fischer-Tropsch-derived hydrocarbon stream (¶¶[0019], [0021]–[0024]; claim 7).
Dierickx further teaches combining the paraffinic feedstock with a conventional petroleum-derived FCC feedstock that is less paraffinic than the paraffinic feed, including VGO, atmospheric gas oil, coker gas oil, and residues from atmospheric or vacuum distillation (¶[0029]). The conventional FCC feedstock may constitute up to 90 wt.%, preferably up to 70, 50 or 40 wt.% of the feed, and its amount may be varied depending on feed availability and desired product quality (¶[0030]; claims 4 and 14).
Dierickx does not expressly disclose that the resulting feedstock has a %CA of 6 to 23, as presently defined in Applicant's specification. However, Dierickx expressly teaches selecting the balance between the paraffinic feedstock and conventional petroleum FCC feedstock to obtain desired product properties, including a desired aromatic content (¶[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the relative amount of conventional petroleum-derived FCC feedstock in the Fischer-Tropsch-containing feedstock of Dierickx, including an amount providing a feedstock %CA within 6 to 23, because Dierickx expressly teaches varying the amount and balance of the conventional FCC feedstock and paraffinic feedstock to obtain desired feed/product properties, including aromatic characteristics, such adjustment constituting routine optimization of a known feed-composition variable for FCC processing. Furthermore, Dierickx recognizes the underlying problem associated with FCC processing of highly paraffinic feedstocks: such feedstocks produce relatively little coke, whereas coke combustion in the regenerator supplies heat to the FCC process, such that insufficient coke may require supplemental fuel (¶[0007]).
Applicant's disclosed results do not establish criticality of the claimed lower endpoint of 6 %CA. Applicant reports FT crude oil/FT wax having %CA=0 and RDS-BTM having %CA=23, with intermediate feed %CA values obtained by varying their proportions. Moreover, Comparative Example 1 having only 4.6 %CA nevertheless reports an ROT of 486°C, whereas the specification indicates that an ROT of 480°C or higher permits stable operation. Thus, the record does not demonstrate a critical or unexpected result specifically attributable to the claimed 6 %CA lower boundary.
Regarding claim 2, Dierickx teaches combining the Fischer-Tropsch-derived paraffinic feedstock with a conventional petroleum-derived FCC feedstock that is less paraffinic than the paraffinic feed (¶¶[0029]–[0031]), including varying the amount thereof to obtain desired properties including aromatic content. Dierickx further expressly conducts the resulting FCC process by contacting the hydrocarbon feedstock with cracking catalyst in the FCC reactor (claim 1; ¶¶[0037]–[0038]). Accordingly, Dierickx teaches or renders obvious mixing the relatively low-aromatic FT synthetic oil with a conventional petroleum hydrocarbon oil having a higher aromatic-carbon content to obtain the FCC feedstock and feeding the resulting feedstock to the FCC reactor.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierickx et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Iino et al. (US 2009/0230023 A1).
Dierickx expressly teaches that the conventional petroleum FCC feedstock may comprise residue from atmospheric distillation of crude oil (¶[0029]) but does not expressly teach that the atmospheric residue is desulfurized.
Iino expressly teaches an RFCC unit producing gasoline and gas-oil fractions from “desulfurized atmospheric resid (DSRC) supplied from resid hydrodesulfurization unit (RH)” (¶[0005]). Iino further teaches, as a known approach, reducing the sulfur content of FCC feed oil in a resid hydrodesulfurization unit upstream of the FCC unit (¶[0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the desulfurized atmospheric residue taught by Iino as the atmospheric-residue conventional FCC feedstock of Dierickx because Iino expressly teaches desulfurized atmospheric residue obtained from a resid hydrodesulfurization unit as a suitable feed for resid fluid catalytic cracking, thereby providing a known desulfurized heavy petroleum feed for FCC processing.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierickx et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of WO 2016/016748 A1.
Dierickx teaches combining the Fischer-Tropsch-derived paraffinic feedstock with a conventional petroleum-derived FCC feedstock and processing the resulting feed in an FCC reactor (¶¶[0029]–[0031]; claim 1), but does not expressly teach that the hydrocarbon oil comprises clarified oil.
WO 2016/016748 teaches that residual material from the FCC fractionation section is clarified slurry oil (CSO), also referred to as carbon black feedstock, and teaches that the CSO is normally filtered to remove catalyst particles and may be recycled back into the catalytic riser by combining it with the FCC feedstock oil (p. 1, ll. 7–22). The reference further teaches that CSO comprises significant amounts of aromatic components (p. 1, ll. 20–26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the clarified slurry oil taught by WO 2016/016748 as at least a portion of the conventional hydrocarbon oil in the FCC feedstock of Dierickx because WO 2016/016748 expressly teaches recycling clarified slurry oil to an FCC catalytic riser by combining it with FCC feedstock oil, thereby employing a known aromatic FCC-derived hydrocarbon stream as an FCC feed component.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771