DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/17/2024 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, 14-18, 20-25, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al (US9826570B1) in view of Velev et al. (US20140016614A1).
As to claims 1 and 18, Gupta teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: (col 8 lines 9-14 FIG. 2 is a functional block diagram of a wireless communication device 200 suitable for implementing various examples. The wireless communication device 200 may be the wireless communication device 110 as described with reference to FIG. 1.)
a memory; (Col 9 lines 1-3 The memory 214 may include a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium that stores processor-executable instructions.)
a modem; and (Col 9 lines 15-26 The general-purpose processor 206 and the memory 214 may each be coupled to baseband modem processor 216. The SIMs (e.g., the first SIM 204a, the second SIM 204b, and/or the like) in the wireless communication device 200 may be associated with at least one baseband-RF resource chain. A baseband-RF resource chain may include the baseband modem processor 216, which may perform baseband/modem functions for communications over the SIMs 204a and 204b. The baseband modem processor 216 may include or may be otherwise coupled to one or more amplifiers and radios, referred to generally herein as RF resource 218 or RF chain.)
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive a downlink message at the modem of the UE; (col 9 lines 15-26 the baseband modem processor 216, which may perform baseband/modem functions for communications over the SIMs 204a and 204b.)
provide the downlink message from the modem to a circuit card; (col 11 lines 17-23 IMS activity (e.g., VoLTE call, SMS, RCS, etc.) is being performed at the IMS subscription (e.g., associated with the first SIM 204a),)
But does not specifically teach:
transmit, from the modem, relay protocol (RP) feedback for the downlink message based on a response from the circuit card; and
provide a control protocol (CP) feedback report envelope that indicates a CP feedback status.
However Velev teaches transmit, relay protocol (RP) feedback for the downlink message based on a response; and ([0503] Alternative 1 as depicted in FIG. 17 is as follows. Independent from the radio resource release timer and probably previous to its expiry, the reception of the MT SMS is acknowledged by the UE. This may include the transmission of a CP-Ack and an RP-Ack (within a CP-Data CPDU).)
provide a control protocol (CP) feedback report envelope that indicates a CP feedback status. ([0503] As apparent from FIG. 17, the RP-Ack, transmitted encapsulated within a CP-Data CPDU is in turn acknowledged by the MME with a CP-Ack.)
The combination of Gupta with Velev means communications with the SIM using SMS would be processed by the baseband/modem processor of Gupta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claims 4 and 20, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the CP feedback status indicates an acknowledgement based on receiving a CP acknowledgement (CP-ACK) at the modem. (Velev [0503] As apparent from FIG. 17, the RP-Ack, transmitted encapsulated within a CP-Data CPDU is in turn acknowledged by the MME with a CP-Ack.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claims 5 and 21, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the UE of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, at the modem, a proactive command from the circuit card; and transmit, from the modem, RP data based on the proactive command. (Velev [0501] After the timer is started, the UE regularly checks whether any data is to be transmitted in the uplink. When assuming the SMS includes a trigger for uplink data transmission (either via SMS or differently), the UE would abort the timer and thus not proceed to release the radio resources (not shown in FIG. 17). Instead, the UE would send the uplink data e.g. in an MO SMS to the SM-SC, without having to re-establish the radio resources.)
The combination of Gupta with Velev means communications with the SIM using SMS would be processed by the baseband/modem processor of Gupta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claims 6 and 22, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive, at the modem, an RP acknowledgement (RP-ACK) or an RP error. (Velev [0503] As apparent from FIG. 17, the RP-Ack, transmitted encapsulated within a CP-Data CPDU is in turn acknowledged by the MME with a CP-Ack. [0049] The MT-SMS itself is encapsulated in the RP-DATA RPDU, and the corresponding Acknowledgement or Error messages are called RP-ACK or RP-ERROR. Consequently, there are three kinds of RPUDs.[0052] The PDUs exchanged at this sublayer are called CPDUs, which can be one of CP-DATA, CP-ACK and CP-ERROR.)
The combination of Gupta with Velev means communications with the SIM using SMS would be processed by the baseband/modem processor of Gupta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claims 7 and 23, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are configured to provide, to the circuit card, feedback for the RP data. (Velev [0503] As apparent from FIG. 17, the RP-Ack, transmitted encapsulated within a CP-Data CPDU is in turn acknowledged by the MME with a CP-Ack.)
The combination of Gupta with Velev means communications with the SIM using SMS would be processed by the baseband/modem processor of Gupta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claims 8 and 24, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the CP feedback status indicates a negative acknowledgement based on not receiving a CP acknowledgement (CP-ACK). (Velev [0049] The Packet Data Units (PDU) of the SM-RL layer are called RPDU (Relay Layer PDU). The MT-SMS itself is encapsulated in the RP-DATA RPDU, and the corresponding Acknowledgement or Error messages are called RP-ACK or RP-ERROR. Consequently, there are three kinds of RPUDs. [0052] The PDUs exchanged at this sublayer are called CPDUs, which can be one of CP-DATA, CP-ACK and CP-ERROR.)
The combination of Gupta with Velev means communications with the SIM using SMS would be processed by the baseband/modem processor of Gupta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claims 9 and 21, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, at the modem, a proactive command from the circuit card; and transmit, from the modem, RP data based on the proactive command. (Velev [0501] After the timer is started, the UE regularly checks whether any data is to be transmitted in the uplink. When assuming the SMS includes a trigger for uplink data transmission (either via SMS or differently), the UE would abort the timer and thus not proceed to release the radio resources (not shown in FIG. 17). Instead, the UE would send the uplink data e.g. in an MO SMS to the SM-SC, without having to re-establish the radio resources.)
The combination of Gupta with Velev means communications with the SIM using SMS would be processed by the baseband/modem processor of Gupta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claims 10 and 25, Gupta teaches a circuit card for wireless communication, comprising: (col 8 lines 9-14 FIG. 2 is a functional block diagram of a wireless communication device 200 suitable for implementing various examples. The wireless communication device 200 may be the wireless communication device 110 as described with reference to FIG. 1.)
a memory; and (Col 9 lines 1-3 The memory 214 may include a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium that stores processor-executable instructions.)
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: (Col 9 lines 15-26 The general-purpose processor 206 and the memory 214 may each be coupled to baseband modem processor 216. The SIMs (e.g., the first SIM 204a, the second SIM 204b, and/or the like) in the wireless communication device 200 may be associated with at least one baseband-RF resource chain. A baseband-RF resource chain may include the baseband modem processor 216, which may perform baseband/modem functions for communications over the SIMs 204a and 204b. The baseband modem processor 216 may include or may be otherwise coupled to one or more amplifiers and radios, referred to generally herein as RF resource 218 or RF chain.)
receive a downlink message from a modem of a user equipment (UE); (col 9 lines 15-26 the baseband modem processor 216, which may perform baseband/modem functions for communications over the SIMs 204a and 204b.)
provide a response for the downlink message to the modem; (col 11 lines 17-23 IMS activity (e.g., VoLTE call, SMS, RCS, etc.) is being performed at the IMS subscription (e.g., associated with the first SIM 204a),)
But does not specifically teach:
wait for a control protocol (CP) feedback report envelope that indicates a CP feedback status; and
provide a proactive command based on the CP feedback status.
However Velev teaches wait for a control protocol (CP) feedback report envelope that indicates a CP feedback status; and ([0503] Alternative 1 as depicted in FIG. 17 is as follows. Independent from the radio resource release timer and probably previous to its expiry, the reception of the MT SMS is acknowledged by the UE. This may include the transmission of a CP-Ack and an RP-Ack (within a CP-Data CPDU).) ([0503] As apparent from FIG. 17, the RP-Ack, transmitted encapsulated within a CP-Data CPDU is in turn acknowledged by the MME with a CP-Ack.)
provide a proactive command based on the CP feedback status. ([0501] After the timer is started, the UE regularly checks whether any data is to be transmitted in the uplink. When assuming the SMS includes a trigger for uplink data transmission (either via SMS or differently), the UE would abort the timer and thus not proceed to release the radio resources (not shown in FIG. 17). Instead, the UE would send the uplink data e.g. in an MO SMS to the SM-SC, without having to re-establish the radio resources.)
The combination of Gupta with Velev means communications with the SIM using SMS would be processed by the baseband/modem processor of Gupta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claim 11, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the circuit card of claim 10, wherein the circuit card is a universal integrated circuit card. (Gupta col 8 lines 24-32 A SIM (e.g., the first SIM 204a, the second SIM 204b, or the like) in various examples may be a Universal Integrated Circuit Card (UICC) that is configured with SIM and/or Universal SIM (USIM) applications, enabling access to GSM and/or UMTS networks. The UICC may also provide storage for a phone book and other applications. Alternatively, in a CDMA network, a SIM may be a UICC removable user identity module (R-UIM) or a CDMA Subscriber Identity Module (CSIM) on a card)
As to claim 12, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the circuit card of claim 10, wherein the circuit card is a physical subscriber identity module (SIM) or an embedded SIM. (Gupta col 8 lines 24-32 A SIM (e.g., the first SIM 204a, the second SIM 204b, or the like) in various examples may be a Universal Integrated Circuit Card (UICC) that is configured with SIM and/or Universal SIM (USIM) applications, enabling access to GSM and/or UMTS networks. The UICC may also provide storage for a phone book and other applications. Alternatively, in a CDMA network, a SIM may be a UICC removable user identity module (R-UIM) or a CDMA Subscriber Identity Module (CSIM) on a card)
As to claims 14 and 27, Gupta in view Velev teaches the circuit card of claim 10, wherein the CP feedback status indicates an acknowledgement. (Velev [0503] As apparent from FIG. 17, the RP-Ack, transmitted encapsulated within a CP-Data CPDU is in turn acknowledged by the MME with a CP-Ack.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claims 15 and 28, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the circuit card of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit a proactive command to the modem based on the CP feedback status indicating an acknowledgement. ([0501] After the timer is started, the UE regularly checks whether any data is to be transmitted in the uplink. When assuming the SMS includes a trigger for uplink data transmission (either via SMS or differently), the UE would abort the timer and thus not proceed to release the radio resources (not shown in FIG. 17). Instead, the UE would send the uplink data e.g. in an MO SMS to the SM-SC, without having to re-establish the radio resources.)
The combination of Gupta with Velev means communications with the SIM using SMS would be processed by the baseband/modem processor of Gupta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
As to claims 16 and 29, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the circuit card of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive, from the modem, feedback for an RP data transmission associated with the proactive command. (Velev [0059] FIG. 16 illustrates in a more comprehensive way the signalling diagrams of FIG. 14 and FIG. 15 for the MO and MT SMS. Specifically, in the upper part the signalling procedure for the MO SMS is depicted; in the lower part, the one for MT SMS.)
As to claims 17 and 30, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the circuit card of claim 10, wherein the CP feedback status indicates a negative acknowledgement. (Velev [0049] The Packet Data Units (PDU) of the SM-RL layer are called RPDU (Relay Layer PDU). The MT-SMS itself is encapsulated in the RP-DATA RPDU, and the corresponding Acknowledgement or Error messages are called RP-ACK or RP-ERROR. Consequently, there are three kinds of RPUDs. [0052] The PDUs exchanged at this sublayer are called CPDUs, which can be one of CP-DATA, CP-ACK and CP-ERROR.)
The combination of Gupta with Velev means communications with the SIM using SMS would be processed by the baseband/modem processor of Gupta.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless SMS device of Gupta with the SMS method of Velev in order to improve controlling the radio resource release in connection with a mobile node that is exchanging SMS (e.g. with MTC small data) with the core network using the particular radio resources to be released.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 13, 19, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Velev as applied to claims 1, 10, 18, and 25, above, and further in view of 3GPP TS.24.011 v17.2.0 (2022-06); hereinafter; “3GPP.”
As to claims 2 and 19, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the UE of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the CP feedback report envelope includes a tag that indicates that the CP feedback report envelope is for CP feedback reporting.
However 3GPP teaches wherein the CP feedback report envelope includes a tag that indicates that the CP feedback report envelope is for CP feedback reporting. (section 7.2.2 CP-ACK shows a table 7.2 that contains a message type information element section 8.1.3 message type in table 8.1 shows if a message is for ACK, error , or data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that a CP message would contain a tag for its message type based on the table from 3GPP in order to identify the function of the message being sent.
As to claim 3, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the UE of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the CP feedback report envelope includes one or more of a length value or a device identity.
However 3GPP teaches wherein the CP feedback report envelope includes one or more of a length value or a device identity.
(section 7.2.2 CP-ACK shows a table 7.2 that contains a message type information element with a length value and section 8.1.3 message type in table 8.1 shows if a message is for ACK, error , or data. Section 8.2.5 shows originator and destination address element identifying the network or mobile station)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that a CP message would contain a length or id for its message based on the table from 3GPP in order to identify the length and destination or source of the message being sent.
As to claims 13 and 26, Gupta in view of Velev teaches the circuit card of claim 10,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the CP feedback report envelope includes a tag that indicates that the CP feedback report envelope is for CP feedback reporting.
However 3GPP teaches wherein the CP feedback report envelope includes a tag that indicates that the CP feedback report envelope is for CP feedback reporting. (section 7.2.2 CP-ACK shows a table 7.2 that contains a message type information element section 8.1.3 message type in table 8.1 shows if a message is for ACK, error , or data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that a CP message would contain a tag for its message type based on the table from 3GPP in order to identify the function of the message being sent.
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465