DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 17 October 2024, 06 February 2026, 06 April 2026, have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B forms).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, there is no antecedent basis for the claimed limitation “the single actual CC” in line 8.
Regarding claim 6, there is no antecedent basis for the claimed limitation “the single actual CC” in line 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit”, “transmitting unit” in claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (PG Pub US 2017/0134935 A1) in view of Kundu et al. (PG Pub US 2020/0351668 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6, Wei discloses a terminal and a method.
a control unit (processor 2501, fig. 25) configured to set a virtual component carrier (CC) including a plurality of actual CCs (“it indicates the user equipment of available uplink resources for current transmission in a form of virtual resource block (VRB). The user equipment determines an available physical resource block (PRB) according to the VRB, that is, maps the VRB to the PRB” [0087]); and
a transmitting unit (radio communication interface 2512, fig. 25) configured to transmit an uplink control channel in the virtual CC, wherein the transmitting unit transmits the uplink control channel in a resource set for the single actual CC or resources respectively set for the plurality of actual CCs (“utilizes the PRB to perform actual uplink transmission .. Particularly, based on an indication for example a frequency hopping flag of the base station, the PRBs may directly correspond to the VRBs one by one, or the VRBs are interlaced firstly and then mapped onto PRBs” [0087]).
However, Wei does not explicitly disclose discontinuous in a frequency domain.
Nevertheless, Kundu discloses “each RBG may include a (potentially virtual/non-contiguous in the frequency domain) set of physical resource blocks (PRBs)” [0126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose a cc discontinuous in a frequency domain because “a bitmap of size NRBG bits, in which each bit can be toggled to indicate whether an interlace index (and thus a RBG associated with the interlace index according to the pre-configured table) is allocated to a wireless device, could be used to indicate a frequency domain resource allocation for the wireless device” [0126].
Regarding claim 2, Wei, Kundu discloses everything claimed as applied above.
Further, Kundu discloses transmitting unit sets, when transmitting the uplink control channel using the resource set for the single actual CC, an upper limit of the number of resource blocks of the uplink control channel (“UE can implicitly derive the number of PRBs per allocated interlace based on higher layer signaling, e.g. whether to use uniform or non-uniform interlace, whereas other parameters associated with resource allocation like starting PRB index (RBSTART), nominal number of PRBs per interlace and the allocated interlace indices are signaled by higher layers” [0179], “a single wideband carrier” [0187]).
Regarding claim 3, Wei, Kundu discloses everything claimed as applied above.
In addition, Wei discloses transmitting unit sets, when transmitting the uplink control channel using the resources respectively set for the plurality of actual CCs, the resource of the uplink control channel for each actual CC (“The user equipment determines an available physical resource block (PRB) according to the VRB, that is, maps the VRB to the PRB, and then utilizes the PRB to perform actual uplink transmission” [0087]).
Regarding claim 4, Wei, Kundu discloses everything claimed as applied above.
In addition, Wei discloses transmitting unit sets, when transmitting the uplink control channel using the resources respectively set for the plurality of actual CCs, the resource of the uplink control channel for each virtual CC (“The user equipment determines an available physical resource block (PRB) according to the VRB, that is, maps the VRB to the PRB, and then utilizes the PRB to perform actual uplink transmission” [0087]). Further, Kundu discloses “The resource block assignment information may include a bitmap indicating the resource block groups (RBGs) that are allocated to the UE, where a RBG is a set of virtual resource blocks. As one example, for an interlace based structure, a RBG refers to a set of non-contiguous PRBs corresponding to one or more than one interlace(s)” [0148].
Regarding claim 5, Wei, Kundu discloses everything claimed as applied above.
In addition, Wei discloses transmitting unit determines, when transmitting the uplink control channel using the resources respectively set for the plurality of actual CCs, whether to apply interlaced mapping for each actual CC (“based on an indication for example a frequency hopping flag of the base station, the PRBs may directly correspond to the VRBs one by one, or the VRBs are interlaced firstly and then mapped onto PRBs having discontinuous resources” [0087]). Further, Kundu discloses “a RBG refers to a set of non-contiguous PRBs corresponding to one or more than one interlace(s)” [0148].
Conclusion
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 07/24/2026