DETAILED ACTION
Claims 41-60 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim 57contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recites the term “SCI format 2-D” that is not described in the specifications. The specification only refers to “second stage SCI” and “defined SCI format” ([0098], [0100]-[0106], [0116]-[0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41-45, 51-56 and 58-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nam et al, application no. 2023/0086126, hereinafter known as Nam.
As to claim 41, Nam discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising memory; and processing circuitry (Nam, figure 7, [0118]-[0128], UE of the art with memory and processing circuitry), the processing circuitry configured to: determine that a sidelink position reference signal (SL PRS) is to be transmitted to another UE (Nam, [0075], UE may determine sidelink resources, [0076], another UE sends request PRS to a UE and the UE responds to the another UE with SL PRS in SCI; [0077], UE determines SL PRS resources in TTI (slot) dedicated for SL PRS); determine a resource allocation for transmission in a particular slot of the SL PRS and a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) that contains sidelink control information (SCI) (Nam, [0077], the UE determines SL PRS resources in TTI (slot) dedicated for SL PRS; [0083]-[0087], SL PRS slot includes PSCCH that carries SCI-1 and/or SCI-2); and transmit, to the other UE, the PSCCH and SL PRS using the resource allocation (Nam, [0022], transmitting SL PRS between plural UE’s; [0076], another UE sends request PRS to a UE and the UE responds to the another with SLPRS in SCI).
As to claim 42, Nam dicloses wherein the resource allocation allocates the PSCCH and the SL PRS to different symbols within the particular slot (Nam, [0089], [0112], SL PRS and PSCCH in associated different symbols of slot).
As to claim 43, Nam discloses wherein the resource allocation allocates resources in a dedicated resource pool for SL PRS, and the dedicated resource pool includes symbols allocated for the PSCCH (Nam, [0078-[0080], dedicated pool of resources for SL PRS; [0095], slot, resources used for sidelink communications including symbols for DMRS, PSCCH, SCI-1, SCI-2).
As to claim 44, Nam discloses wherein a first symbol of the dedicated resource pool for SL PRS is reserved for an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol and a last symbol of the dedicated resource pool is reserved for a guard symbol (Nam, [0098], Gap symbol after (last symbol) SL PRS burst; [0112], dedicated symbol reserved for AGC in SL PRS resource).
As to claim 45, Nam discloses wherein a number of symbols and a number of physical resource blocks for PSCCH is configured by higher layer signaling (Nam, [0084], sidelink control block WITH symbols and number; [0065], use of RRC between UE for sending control message, higher layer signaling).
As to claim 51, Nam discloses wherein a length of the SL PRS in a shared resource pool is predefined in a 3GPP specification or configured by higher layer signaling (Nam, [0065], use of RRC between UE for sending control message, higher layer signaling).
As to claim 52, Nam discloses wherein the length of the SL PRS is configured as part of a SL PRS configuration (Nam, [0095], indicating different number of symbols for SL PRS burst).
As to claim 53, Nam discloses wherein the SL PRS is allocated in last consecutive symbols in the particular slot that do not include demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols associated with a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (Nam, [0096], SL PRS burst of consecutive symbols; [0112], last symbols containing gap or guard symbols not DMRS or otherwise).
As to claim 54, Nam discloses wherein different configurations of the length of the SL PRS are configured (Nam, [0095], indicating different number of symbols for SL PRS burst), and the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a particular configuration of the different configurations to use based on a dynamic indication provided in a second stage SCI (Nam, [0095]-[0096], SL PRS for SCI-2 configured between choice of different length symbols).
As to claim 55, Nam discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising memory; and processing circuitry (Nam, figure 7, [0118]-[0128], UE of the art with memory and processing circuitry), the processing circuitry to configure the UE to: receive, from another UE, a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) and a sidelink position reference signal (SL PRS) in a particular slot (Nam, [0077], the UE determines SL PRS resources in TTI (slot) dedicated for SL PRS; [0083]-[0087], SL PRS slot includes PSCCH that carries SCI-1 and/or SCI-2; [0022], transmitting SL PRS between plural UE’s; [0076], another UE sends request PRS to a UE and the UE responds to the another UE with SL PRS in SCI), the PSCCH and SL PRS received in different symbols within a particular slot (Nam, [0089], [0112], SL PRS and PSCCH in associated different symbols of slot) and decode sidelink control information (SCI) from the PSCCH (Nam, [0083], a receiver UE decoding SCI from PSCCH).
As to claim 56, Nam discloses wherein the PSCCH is received in a dedicated resource pool for SL PRS, and the dedicated resource pool includes a dedicated resource region allocated for the PSCCH (Nam, [0078-[0080], dedicated pool of resources for SL PRS; [0095], slot, resources used for sidelink communications including symbols for DMRS, PSCCH, SCI-1, SCI-2).
As to claim 58, Nam discloses wherein the processing circuitry configures the UE to determine a starting symbol and a number of symbols for the SL PRS in a shared resource pool based on a higher layer parameter and transmission restrictions specified in a 3GPP specification (Nam, [0065], use of RRC between UE for sending control message, higher layer signaling; [0095]-[0096],burst length of 4 or 8 symbols; [0102]-[0103], restricting transmission of PRS data).
As to claim 59 and 60, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 41 and 42 respectively above by Nam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Huang et al, application no. 2021/0314821, hereinafter known as Huang.
As to claim 46, Nam discloses the UE of claim 45. Nam does not expressly disclose however Huang dicloses wherein a number of symbols and a number of physical resource blocks for the PSCCH are based on sl-TimeResourcePSCCH and sl-FreqResourcePSCCH respectively (Huang, [0405], page 13-115 table containing sl-TimeResourcePSCCH and sl-FreqResourcePSCCH that provide number of symbols and number of physical resource blocks for PSCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nam to include the limitations of wherein a number of symbols and a number of physical resource blocks for the PSCCH are based on sl-TimeResourcePSCCH and sl-FreqResourcePSCCH, respectively as taught by Huang. The proposed table of prior art at pages 13-15 of Huang is known as part of 3gPP standards.
Claims 47, 48, 50 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view Zheng et al, application no. 2024/0179667, hereinafter known as Zheng.
As to claim 47, Nam discloses wherein: the SL PRS is transmitted in a shared resource pool for SL communication and the SL PRS (Nam, [0078-[0080], dedicated pool of resources for SL PRS; [0095], slot, resources used for sidelink communications including symbols for DMRS, PSCCH, SCI-1, SCI-2). Nam does not disclose however Zheng discloses and the resource allocation allocates, and the SL PRS, the PSCCH, and a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) to different symbols within the particular slot (Zheng, [0122]-[0124], shared slot for SL PRS, PSCCH and PSSCH but with different symbols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nam to include the limitations of and the resource allocation allocates, and the SL PRS, the PSCCH, and a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) to different symbols within the particular slot as taught by Zheng. Use of different symbols within a slot provides flexibility in allocating SL RS, PSCCH and PSSCH thereby improving compatibility of with older standards and reduces chance of conflict in allocation.
As to claim 48, Nam discloses wherein a SL PRS resource identifier is indicated in a second stage SCI carried by the PSSCH (Nam, [0083]-[0096], SL PRS indication sent in SCI-1 or SCI-2).
As to claim 50, Nam discloses wherein the SL PRS is transmitted using a comb offset pattern in the shared resource pool, the comb offset pattern provided by a higher layer parameter (Nam, [0083], staggered comb pattern for sending SL PRS; [0065], use of RRC between UE for sending control message, higher layer signaling).
As to claim 57, Nam discloses the UE of claim 55. Nam discloses and a SL PRS resource index is indicated in a second stage SCI format 2-D carried by the PSSCH transmission (Instant application teaches SL PRS resource may be indexed to different comb offsets; further sci format 2-D is read in broadest reasonable interpretation as SCI-2. Similarly, Nam at ,[0096], use of staggered comb pattern to send SL PRS resources for SCI-2). Nam does not disclose however Zheng discloses wherein: the SL PRS is transmitted in a shared resource pool for SL communication and the SL PRS, the SL PRS, the PSCCH, and a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) are received in different symbols within the particular slot (Zheng, [0122]-[0124], shared slot for SL PRS, PSCCH and PSSCH but with different symbols)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nam to include the limitations of wherein: the SL PRS is transmitted in a shared resource pool for SL communication and the SL PRS, the SL PRS, the PSCCH, and a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) are received in different symbols within the particular slot (Zheng, [0122]-[0124], shared slot for SL PRS, PSCCH and PSSCH but different symbols), and a SL PRS resource index is indicated in a second stage SCI format 2-D carried by the PSSCH transmission as taught by Zheng. Use of different symbols within a slot provides flexibility in allocating SL RS, PSCCH and PSSCH thereby improving compatibility of with older standards and reduces chance of conflict in allocation.
Claims 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view Zheng further in view of Huang.
As to claim 49, Nam and Zheng disclose the UE of claim 48. Nam and Zheng do not disclose however Huang discloses wherein a size of the second stage SCI is aligned with a maximum size of the second stage SCI for a defined SCI format (Huang, [0139], padding SCI with zero bits to get to fixed size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nam and Zheng to include the limitations of wherein a size of the second stage SCI is aligned with a maximum size of the second stage SCI for a defined SCI format as taught by Huang. Adding padding to packet sizes provides consistent size packet to encode and decode thereby reducing processing requirements.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467