Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “that can be manipulated be a user within the esophagus” should be amended to “that can be manipulated by a user within the esophagus.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 14, 15, 20, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the second signal” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first and second signals" in the last line. This limitation is interpreted to be the same as “the first signal and the second signal.” Although there is sufficient antecedent basis for “the first signal,” there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the second signal” in the claim. Examiner suggests rewording the limitation along the lines of “the first signal and a second signal.”
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the second signal” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “the second signal” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 20, it is unclear what “at respective ones” is referring to in the limitation “determine a plurality of strain values at respective ones of the plurality of sensors.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 30, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heinke et al. (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant), hereinafter Heinke.
Regarding claim 1, Heinke discloses a system [see in Fig. 2] for detecting changes in esophageal tissue properties, the system comprising:
a probe [esophageal electrode probe 10, see in ¶ 0085 and Fig. 7] configured for positioning in a patient's esophagus, the probe including one or more tendrils [a plurality of elongated segments 11, see in ¶ 0085 and Fig. 7] that can be manipulated be a user within the esophagus, wherein the one or more tendrils are configured to contact respective esophageal tissue at different locations in the esophagus [the electrodes 12 can have a substantially semi-spherical or semi-cylindrical shape, with the curved surface coming into contact with the patient's esophagus, see in ¶ 0073], wherein each tendril includes a plurality of nodes [electrodes 12, see in ¶ 0073, ¶ 0085, and Fig. 7] spaced apart along the tendril [see placement of electrodes 12 in Fig. 7], and wherein each node of the plurality of nodes is configured to be used to introduce signals into esophageal tissue and/or receive signals affected by esophageal tissue [esophageal electrode probe 10 with electrodes used for bioimpedance measurements, see in ¶ 0085]; and
a data analysis unit [control and evaluation device 30 in Fig. 2; see also in ¶ 0078] configured to:
introduce a first signal into esophageal tissue using a first node [voltage has to be applied to measure bioimpedance, see in ¶ 0079];
determine a value of a characteristic indicative of changes to esophageal tissue at the first node or between a second node and a third node on the same tendril or different tendrils [bioimpedance, see in ¶ 0079]; and
provide an indication of changing tissue properties from a determined baseline value [compare the bioimpedance measurement of the electrodes 12A facing the heart with the bioimpedance measurement of the electrodes 12B facing away from the heart and to derive and/or display information therefrom, see in ¶ 0079].
Regarding claim 2, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, wherein determining the value of the characteristic based on the second signal received using the second node is also based on a third signal received using the third node [continuously monitor tissue changes with the electrodes 12 facing the heart, to compare the bioimpedance measurement of the electrodes 12A facing the heart with the bioimpedance measurement of the electrodes 12B facing away from the heart and to derive and/or display information therefrom, see in ¶ 0079; Examiner notes that the value of change in tissue characteristic is based on the bioimpedance value at a second node (for example one of the electrodes 12A facing the heart) compared to the bioimpedance value at a third node (for example a different electrode 12B facing away from the heart].
Regarding claim 3, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first, second and third nodes are of a first tendril of the one or more tendrils [there are a plurality of elongated segments 11 and each elongated segment consists of multiple electrodes 12, see in ¶ 0085 and Fig. 7].
Regarding claim 4, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the third node is the first node [Examiner notes that the nodes can be any of the electrodes 12 on one of the plurality of elongated segments 11, therefore the bioimpedance can be detected at one individual tissue location where the first node (first electrode) is, or the bioimpedance can be detected between two different nodes (same first electrode and a different second electrode), see in ¶ 0085 and Fig. 7].
Regarding claim 5, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first node is of a first tendril of the one or more tendrils, and the second node is of a second tendril of the one or more tendrils [Examiner notes that there are multiple elongated segments 11 with multiple electrodes 12 on each of them, therefore the first and second nodes (electrodes) can be located on separate elongated segments, wherein both nodes (electrodes) can be evaluated for bioimpedance values of the tissue at each respective node location, see in ¶ 0085 and Fig. 7].
Regarding claim 6, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the data analysis unit is configured to provide the indication of actual esophageal tissue changes when at least one of the determined values, or a change in the at least one of the determined values, passes a threshold [The check signal may be a signal for terminating ablation or catheter ablation and/or cardiac, circulatory and/or respiratory support if the difference between the first bioimpedance measurement signal and the second bioimpedance measurement signal is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value, see in ¶ 0037].
Regarding claim 14, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the data analysis unit is configured to determine the value of the characteristic of esophageal tissue between the second and third nodes based upon one or more differences between the first and second signals [check signal may be a signal for terminating ablation or catheter ablation and/or cardiac, circulatory and/or respiratory support if the difference between the first bioimpedance measurement signal and the second bioimpedance measurement signal is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value, see in ¶ 0037].
Regarding claim 15, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the data analysis unit is configured to determine the value of the characteristic of esophageal tissue between the second and third nodes based upon one or more differences between the second signal and a third signal received using the third node [check signal may be a signal for terminating ablation or catheter ablation and/or cardiac, circulatory and/or respiratory support if the difference between the first bioimpedance measurement signal and the second bioimpedance measurement signal is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value, see in ¶ 0037; Examiner notes that differences between the two signals of bioimpedance measurement can be determined between any two signals received using any of the electrodes].
Regarding claim 16, Heinke discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the first signal is a current-controlled signal, the one or more differences include a difference in voltage, and the characteristic is at least one of a bioimpedance, a resistance, a reactance, or a conductance [current is controlled in order to measure the first bioimpedance signal, see in ¶ 0037; signal differences are evaluated, which includes comparison of signal characteristics such as voltage, see in ¶ 0037; bioimpedance measurement, see in ¶ 0085].
Regarding claim 29, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the indication is one or both of a visual warning and an audio warning [the check signal (e.g. warning signal, status signal, control signal) is formed on the basis of the difference between the first bioimpedance measurement signal and the second bioimpedance measurement signal, see in ¶ 0036; a display device that is in signal connection with the esophageal electrode probe and that is adapted to display the signals received from the at least part of the electrodes of the esophageal electrode probe, the result of an evaluation thereof and/or the check signal, see in ¶ 0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant) in view of Lakkireddy et al. (US 20190223734 A1 – Cited by Applicant), hereinafter Lakkireddy.
Regarding claim 7, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of temperature sensors [a temperature measuring device with at least one temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of at least part of the tissue surrounding the esophageal electrode probe, see in ¶ 0023].
Heinke fails to disclose an optical fiber and wherein the data analysis unit is further configured to: determine a plurality of temperature values of respective esophageal tissue at respective ones of the plurality of temperature sensors; and provide an indication of potential esophageal tissue changes based on at least one of the determined temperature values.
However, Lakkireddy discloses the use of an optical fiber with a plurality of temperature sensors [The temperature probe generally includes an optical fiber comprising at least one fiber optic temperature sensor, see in ¶ 0013] and wherein the data analysis unit is further configured to: determine a plurality of temperature values of respective esophageal tissue at respective ones of the plurality of temperature sensors; and provide an indication of potential esophageal tissue changes based on at least one of the determined temperature values [a method for monitoring esophageal temperature during a medical procedure. The method generally includes receiving, from at least one optical fiber deployed into an esophagus of a subject, a temperature at each of one or more locations inside the esophagus; determining if the temperature exceeds a threshold; and outputting a control signal to perform an action based on the determination that the temperature exceeds the threshold, see in ¶ 0014].
Heinke and Lakkireddy are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring esophageal characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke’s teaching of temperature sensor to incorporate the teachings of Lakkireddy to include the use of an optical fiber with a plurality of temperature sensors and that the data analysis unit is further configured to: determine a plurality of temperature values of respective esophageal tissue at respective ones of the plurality of temperature sensors; and provide an indication of potential esophageal tissue changes based on at least one of the determined temperature values, as using optical fibers for temperature sensing provides higher accuracy and more efficient multipoint capabilities compared to using thermocouples and thermistors.
Regarding claim 8, Heinke, as modified, discloses the system of claim 7.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the temperature sensors comprise fiber Bragg gratings spaced apart along the optical fiber, with each of the fiber Bragg gratings being configured to reflect a wavelength of light.
However, Lakkireddy discloses wherein the temperature sensors comprise fiber Bragg gratings spaced apart along the optical fiber, with each of the fiber Bragg gratings being configured to reflect a wavelength of light [An intrinsic optical sensor may use any of various suitable optical techniques for temperature measurement, such as … reflection of optical signals (e.g., based on point or continuous fiber Bragg gratings (FBGs)), see in ¶ 0038; the temperature probe 500 includes a single optical fiber with multiple fiber Bragg gratings (FBGs) 506, see in ¶ 0059].
Heinke and Lakkireddy are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring esophageal characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Lakkireddy to include that the temperature sensors comprise fiber Bragg gratings spaced apart along the optical fiber, with each of the fiber Bragg gratings being configured to reflect a wavelength of light in order to further detect temperature shifts in the esophageal tissue.
Regarding claim 9, Heinke, as modified, discloses the system of claim 8.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the data analysis unit comprises: a light source configured to emit light into the optical fiber; and a wavelength interrogator configured to determine the wavelengths of light reflected by the plurality of fiber Bragg gratings.
However, Lakkireddy discloses wherein the data analysis unit comprises: a light source configured to emit light into the optical fiber; and a wavelength interrogator configured to determine the wavelengths of light reflected by the plurality of fiber Bragg gratings [By using FBGs 506 with different characteristic wavelengths, wavelength division multiplexing (WDM) may be utilized (e.g., by the optical system 216) to distinguish between light reflections from the different FBGs, and hence, temperature measured at different areas along the optical fiber, see in ¶ 0059].
Heinke and Lakkireddy are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring esophageal characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Lakkireddy to include that the data analysis unit comprises: a light source configured to emit light into the optical fiber; and a wavelength interrogator configured to determine the wavelengths of light reflected by the plurality of fiber Bragg gratings in order to measure the temperature along the different areas of the optical fiber.
Regarding claim 10, Heinke, as modified, discloses the system of claim 7.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the temperature sensors utilize Rayleigh scatter to measure temperature along the length of the optical fiber.
However, Lakkireddy discloses wherein the temperature sensors utilize Rayleigh scatter to measure temperature along the length of the optical fiber [An intrinsic optical sensor may use any of various suitable optical techniques for temperature measurement, such as scattering of optical signals (e.g., Raman, Rayleigh, or Brillouin scattering, see in ¶ 0038].
Heinke and Lakkireddy are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring esophageal characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Lakkireddy to include that the temperature sensors utilize Rayleigh scatter to measure temperature along the length of the optical fiber to enable another technique for measuring temperature.
Regarding claim 12, Heinke, as modified, discloses the system of claim 7.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein a first tendril of the one or more tendrils includes the optical fiber.
However, Lakkireddy discloses a first tendril of the one or more tendrils includes the optical fiber [The temperature probe 500 may be implemented with one or more optical waveguides, such as optical fibers, see in ¶ 0058].
Heinke and Lakkireddy are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring esophageal characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Lakkireddy to include that a first tendril of the one or more tendrils includes the optical fiber in order to measure the temperature shifts along the areas where the elongated segments make contact with the esophageal tissue.
Regarding claim 13, Heinke, as modified, discloses the system of claim 7.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the data analysis unit is configured to provide the indication of potential esophageal tissue changes when at least one of the determined temperature values exceeds a threshold.
However, Lakkireddy discloses wherein the data analysis unit is configured to provide the indication of potential esophageal tissue changes when at least one of the determined temperature values exceeds a threshold [a method for monitoring esophageal temperature during a medical procedure. The method generally includes receiving, from at least one optical fiber deployed into an esophagus of a subject, a temperature at each of one or more locations inside the esophagus; determining if the temperature exceeds a threshold; and outputting a control signal to perform an action based on the determination that the temperature exceeds the threshold, see in ¶ 0014].
Heinke and Lakkireddy are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring esophageal characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Lakkireddy to include that the data analysis unit is configured to provide the indication of potential esophageal tissue changes when at least one of the determined temperature values exceeds a threshold, as a change in temperature surpassing a predetermined threshold would indicate a concerning change in esophageal tissue characteristics.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant) in view of Lakkireddy (US 20190223734 A1 – Cited by Applicant), further in view of Werneth et al. (US 20060106375 A1 – Cited by Applicant), hereinafter Werneth.
Regarding claim 11, Heinke, as modified, discloses the system of claim 7.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the temperature sensors comprise thermocouples spaced apart along the length of the tendril.
However, Werneth discloses the use of thermocouples as a suitable temperature sensor to be integrated into the esophageal probe or the ablation catheter [Carrier assembly 320 includes multiple thermocouples 361 securely mounted on carrier arms 323 such that when carrier assembly 320 is expanded, one or more thermocouples 361 make contact with esophageal wall 31, see in ¶ 0103].
Heinke and Werneth are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of esophageal probes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Werneth and include that the temperature sensors comprise thermocouples spaced apart along the length of the tendril as a reliable form of temperature sensor to measure temperature from the contacted esophageal tissue.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant) in view of Werneth (US 20060106375 A1 – Cited by Applicant), further in view of Zheng et al. (Zheng, Y., Chen, X., Yao, A., Lin, H., Shen, Y., Zhu, Y., Lu, M., Wang, T., & Che, S. (2013). Shear Wave Propagation in Soft Tissue and Ultrasound Vibrometry. In Wave Propagation Theories and Applications. InTech.), hereinafter Zheng.
Regarding claim 17, Heinke discloses the system of claim 15.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the first signal is a sound wave, the one or more differences includes a propagation time, and the characteristic is a shear-wave velocity.
However, Werneth discloses wherein the first signal is a sound wave [see in ¶ 0083].
Heinke and Werneth are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of esophageal probe systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Werneth and include that the first signal is a sound wave so that ultrasound can be utilized to assess the esophageal tissue.
Heinke, as modified, still fails to disclose wherein the one or more differences includes a propagation time and the characteristic is a shear-wave velocity. However, Zheng discloses that it is known in the art to use ultrasound for measurement of tissue elasticity and viscosity using shear-wave velocity and propagation [Tissue pathological statues are related to tissue shear moduli, which can be estimated by measuring the phase velocity of shear wave propagation in a tissue region. Ultrasound vibrometry is an effective tool to quantitatively measure tissue elasticity and viscosity, see on pg. 22 under 7. Conclusion].
Heinke and Zheng are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tissue characterization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Zheng and include that propagation time and shear wave velocity are monitored variables in order to quantitatively measure and assess tissue characteristics such as elasticity and viscosity.
Regarding claim 18, Heinke, as modified, discloses the system of claim 17.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the sound wave is an ultrasonic wave.
However, Werneth discloses wherein the sound wave is an ultrasonic wave [see ¶ 0017; Examiner notes that sound waves during use of ultrasound are considered ultrasonic].
Heinke and Werneth are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of esophageal probe systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Werneth and include that the sound wave is an ultrasonic wave to clarify that ultrasound techniques are used.
Regarding claim 19, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the probe further includes a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor.
However, Werneth discloses the use of pulse oximetry sensors [a pulse oximetry sensor, see in ¶ 0017].
Heinke and Werneth are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of esophageal probe systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Werneth and include that pulse oximetry sensors, such as photoplethysmography (PPG) sensors, are included in the system in order to allow the probe to measure oxygen saturation and heart rate.
Regarding claim 20, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system further having a plurality of sensors [a temperature measuring device with at least one temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of at least part of the tissue surrounding the esophageal electrode probe, see in ¶ 0023].
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the data analysis unit is further configured to: determine a plurality of strain values at respective ones of the plurality of sensors; and estimate a location of the optical fiber in the esophagus based on the strain values.
However, Werneth discloses wherein the system further comprises an optical fiber having a plurality of sensors [ablation catheter 100 and/or esophageal probe 300 include one or more integral sensors such as: an electrical signal sensor such as a cardiac electrode; a temperature sensor such as a thermocouple; an imaging transducer such as an array of ultrasound crystals; a pressure sensor; a pH sensor; a physiologic sensor such as a blood sensor, a respiratory sensor; an EEG sensor, a pulse oximetry sensor and a blood glucose sensor; an impedance sensor; a contact sensor; a strain gauge; an acoustic sensor; and combinations thereof, see in ¶ 0063; Additional ports and additional cables can be included in delivery unit 200, these cable comprising electrical wires, optical fibers, see in ¶ 0084] and the data analysis unit is further configured to: determine a plurality of strain values at respective ones of the plurality of sensors; and estimate a location of the optical fiber in the esophagus based on the strain values [Contact sensor 362 connects to one or more wires that extend proximally and are connected to electronics used to measure the level of contact. Contact sensor 362 may comprise a mechanical switch such as a collapsible dome switch, or a force sensing transducer such as a strain gauge, see in ¶ 0081].
Heinke and Werneth are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring esophageal characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Werneth to include that the system further comprises an optical fiber having a plurality of sensors, wherein the data analysis unit is further configured to: determine a plurality of strain values at respective ones of the plurality of sensors; and estimate a location of the optical fiber in the esophagus based on the strain values in order to monitor optical sensor orientation based on a mode other than electrical current.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant) in view of Werneth (US 20060106375 A1 – Cited by Applicant), further in view of Lakkireddy (US 20190223734 A1 – Cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 21, Heinke, as modified, discloses the system of claim 20.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the sensors comprise fiber Bragg gratings or Rayleigh scattering-type strain sensors.
However, Lakkireddy discloses wherein the sensors comprise fiber Bragg gratings [An intrinsic optical sensor may use any of various suitable optical techniques for temperature measurement, such as scattering of optical signals (e.g., Raman, Rayleigh, or Brillouin scattering, such as distributed temperature sensing (DTS), based on backscattering of optical signals) or reflection of optical signals (e.g., based on point or continuous fiber Bragg gratings (FBGs)), see in ¶ 0038; the temperature probe 500 includes a single optical fiber with multiple fiber Bragg gratings (FBGs) 506, see in ¶ 0059] or Rayleigh scattering-type strain sensors.
Heinke and Lakkireddy are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring esophageal characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Lakkireddy to include that the sensors comprise fiber Bragg gratings to implement temperature sensing and strain sensing capabilities into the system.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant) in view of O’Sullivan (US 20070106289 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1.
Heinke fails to disclose the system further comprising electromagnetic sensors configured to be used to triangulate the position of the tendrils in space.
However, O’Sullivan discloses the use of electromagnetic sensors configured positional purposes [The electromagnetic sensor 174 may be used to ensure that the distal end of the catheter EC is positioned in the esophagus at a location below the left atrium of the heart, see in ¶ 0064].
Heinke and O’Sullivan are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of esophageal probes for cardiac tissue ablation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of O’Sullivan to include that the system further comprises electromagnetic sensors configured to be used to triangulate the position of the tendrils in space in order to monitor the position of the probe in relation to the esophageal tissue.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant) in view of Maloney (US 20110034936 A1 – Cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 23, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein a first tendril of the one or more tendrils includes a retraction mechanism configured to move the esophagus away from a cardiac ablation site.
However, Maloney discloses wherein a first tendril of the one or more tendrils includes a retraction mechanism configured to move the esophagus away from a cardiac ablation site [The distal end of the nasogastric tube 10 could be anchored via an inflatable balloon for further stabilization. Once properly positioned within the esophagus, the physician may actuate the esophageal deflector 12 so as to deflect a portion of the nasogastric tube 10 between the proximal and distal ends and proximate to a retrocardiac portion of the esophagus such that the retrocardiac portion of the esophagus is deflected away from an ablation site, see in ¶ 0042].
Heinke and Maloney are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cardiac tissue ablation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Maloney to include a retraction mechanism to move the esophagus away from a cardiac ablation site to prevent damage to the esophagus during ablation.
Regarding claim 24, Heinke discloses the system of claim 23.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the retraction mechanism includes an air cavity that, when pressurized in the esophagus, moves the esophagus.
However, Maloney discloses wherein the retraction mechanism includes an air cavity that, when pressurized in the esophagus, moves the esophagus [The physician may also employ various other instruments while the esophagus is deflected or non-deflected, such as … a balloon, see in ¶ 0042].
Heinke and Maloney are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cardiac tissue ablation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Maloney to include that the retraction mechanism includes an air cavity that, when pressurized in the esophagus, moves the esophagus in order to control how much the esophagus moves from ablation site.
Regarding claim 25, Heinke discloses the system of claim 23.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the retraction mechanism is configured to induce a vacuum in the space between the esophageal wall and the probe to move the tissue away from the heart.
However, Maloney discloses wherein the retraction mechanism is configured to induce a vacuum in the space between the esophageal wall and the probe to move the tissue away from the heart [The physician may also employ various other instruments while the esophagus is deflected or non-deflected, such as … a pressure transducer … and/or a syringe, see in ¶ 0042].
Heinke and Maloney are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cardiac tissue ablation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Maloney to include that the retraction mechanism is configured to induce a vacuum in the space between the esophageal wall and the probe to move the tissue away from the heart as another method of preventing esophageal damage during ablation by distancing the esophageal tissue from the ablation site.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant) in view of Maloney (US 20110034936 A1 – Cited by Applicant), further in view of Wu et al. (US 20170296251 A1), hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claim 26, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein a first tendril of the one or more tendrils is pre-strained, and includes an inner core configured to be selectively inserted into or withdrawn from the first tendril by the user to move the esophagus.
However, Maloney discloses that different instruments can be inserted or removed from the tendrils during an ablation procedure [Moreover, one or more of the lumens 14 could be left open such that different instruments may be inserted and removed from the lumens during an ablation procedure, see in ¶ 0033].
Heinke and Maloney are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cardiac tissue ablation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Maloney to include that an instrument, such as an inner core, can be inserted or removed from the tendril in order to straighten the orientation of the tendril.
Heinke, as modified, still fails to disclose that a first tendril of the one or more tendrils is pre-strained.
However, Wu discloses a catheter with a prestrained framework [see in ¶ 0008 and Fig. 1].
Heinke and Wu are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of ablation related devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Wu to include prestraining of the tendrils for optimal flexibility and bend of the tendril to control esophageal tissue movement.
Regarding claim 27, Heinke, as modified, discloses the system of claim 26.
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the system further included an actuator wire adjacent to the core to induce a bending moment on the core.
However, Maloney discloses using a wire to be actuated for deflection of the tendril [at least one lumen having proximal and distal ends and an esophageal deflector (e.g., a flexible rod or wire) positioned within the at least one lumen … esophageal deflector is configured to be mechanically actuated to assume a curved profile so as to deflect a portion of the tube between the proximal and distal ends, see in ¶ 0015].
Heinke and Maloney are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cardiac tissue ablation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Maloney to include that the system also has a wire that can be actuated to bend the core of the tendril for more small scale bending of the tendril.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant) in view of Edwards et al. (US 6405732 B1), hereinafter Edwards.
Regarding claim 28, Heinke discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising: a signal processor configured to analyze received signals [The control and/or evaluation device is adapted to receive and evaluate signals from the at least part of the electrodes of the esophageal electrode probe and/or to send signals to at least part of the electrodes (such as the electrodes of the neurostimulation device), see in ¶ 0026].
Heinke fails to disclose the system further comprising an analog multiplexer to communicate the second signal to the signal processor.
However, Edwards discloses an analog multiplexer to communicate the second signal to the signal processor [Multiplexor chip 25 transmits only a selected one of the electrode signals at a time to the controller 24, subject to switching signals that controller 24 generates, see in Col. 9, lines 63-66].
Heinke and Edwards are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of ablation related devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Edwards to include an analog multiplexor for more efficient signal routing and reduced hardware complexity.
Claims 30 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke (US 20200261024 A1 – Cited by Applicant) in view of Werneth (US 20060106375 A1 – Cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 45, and substantially similar limitations in claim 30, Heinke discloses a non-transitory, machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions [control and evaluation device 30, see in Fig. 2; see also ¶ 0078; it is implicit that the control unit is programmed to perform the disclosed method, see in ¶ 0043 – ¶ 0046] that, when executed, cause a system for detecting actual esophageal tissue changes due to cardiac ablation [an improved device for transesophageal bioimpedance monitoring, e.g. in ablation or catheter ablation and/or cardiac, circulatory and/or respiratory support, see in ¶ 0011] to, after a probe [esophageal electrode probe 10, see in ¶ 0085 and Fig. 7] is deployed in a patient's esophagus, and a plurality of tendrils extendible by a user from an end of the sheath [see in ¶ 0085], wherein the plurality of tendrils are configured to contact respective esophageal tissue at different locations in the esophagus when extended from the end of the sheath [the electrodes 12 can have a substantially semi-spherical or semi-cylindrical shape, with the curved surface coming into contact with the patient's esophagus, see in ¶ 0073], wherein each tendril of the plurality of tendrils includes a plurality of nodes [electrodes 12, see in ¶ 0073, ¶ 0085, and Fig. 7] spaced apart along the tendril, and wherein each node of the plurality of nodes is configured to introduce signals into esophageal tissue and/or receive signals affected by esophageal tissue [bioimpedance measurements, see in ¶ 0085]: introduce a first signal into esophageal tissue using a first node [voltage has to be applied to measure bioimpedance, see in ¶ 0079]; determine, during a cardiac ablation procedure and based on a second signal received using a second node, a value of a characteristic indicative of actual change to esophageal tissue of the patient's esophagus in proximity to a cardiac ablation site and between the second node and a third node [bioimpedance, see in ¶ 0079]; determine, during the cardiac ablation procedure and based on the value, whether actual esophageal tissue change has occurred [compare the bioimpedance measurement of the electrodes 12A facing the heart with the bioimpedance measurement of the electrodes 12B facing away from the heart and to derive and/or display information therefrom, see in ¶ 0079]; and provide, during the cardiac ablation procedure, an indication of actual esophageal tissue change when determining that actual esophageal tissue change has occurred [compare the bioimpedance measurement of the electrodes 12A facing the heart with the bioimpedance measurement of the electrodes 12B facing away from the heart and to derive and/or display information therefrom, see in ¶ 0079; check signal, warning signal, see in ¶ 0036].
Heinke fails to disclose wherein the probe includes a sheath.
However, Werneth discloses the use of sheaths for esophageal probes and ablation catheter systems [The ablation catheter and esophageal probe of the present invention preferably include a handle on their proximal end. The handle may be attached to an outer sheath, allowing one or more inner shafts or tubes to be controlled with controls integral to the handle such as sliding and rotating knobs that are operable attached to those shafts or tubes. Alternatively, the handle may be attached to a shaft that is slidingly received by an outer sheath, such that an operator can advance and retract the shaft by advancing and retracting the handle and holding the sheath in a relatively fixed position, see in ¶ 0112].
Heinke and Werneth are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of esophageal probe systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heinke to incorporate the teachings of Werneth and include that the probe of the system includes a sheath to allow for better control of the probe system’s movement and orientation.
Conclusion
/HY KHANH DOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791