DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to application filed on 3-3-26. Claims 1-6 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over JP 2017-99063 to SORIMACHI NAOHIRO (“SORIMACHI”) in view of US 2021/0098991 to NISHIMURA et al. (“NISHIMURA et al.”).
Regarding claim 1, SORIMACHI disclose an uninterruptible power supply device (fig. 5) connected between an AC power supply (120) and a load (150), the uninterruptible power supply device comprising: including first and second bases (a double-sided heat sink including fins (163)), and fins, the first and second bases being arranged to face each other, the fins being arranged between the first and second bases and coupled to both the first and second bases; and a power conversion device ([0007]-[0020) mounted on a surface of each of the first and second bases opposite to a surface to which the fins (164-166) are coupled, wherein the power conversion device includes: a converter to convert AC power supplied from the AC power supply into DC power, and stop when the AC power supply fails; a chopper (fig. 5, 133) to regulate a voltage of DC power supplied from a power storage device (fig. 7, 740) while the AC power supply is in failure [004]; and an inverter (132, [0004] to convert the DC power output from the converter or the DC power output from the power storage device into AC power and supply power to the load ([0004]), the inverter is mounted on either of the first and second bases, the converter is mounted on the first base (131, and 164-166 of Fig. 7), the chopper is mounted on the second base (the chopper is provided on one side (fig. 7, 161, 162)), and at least some of the fins thermally connected to the converter via the first base are thermally connected to the chopper via the second base.
But, SORIMACHI does not disclose a heat sink with substrate,
However, NISHIMURA discloses a heat sink with substrate (fig. 2, [0039], (1 and 5 being a converter and inverter, placed on a same substrate (15) attached to a heat sink)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SORIMACHI by adding heat sink with substrate as part of its configuration as taught by NISHIMURA, in order to suppress temperature increase in both the converter and the inverter [0040] and intrinsically reduce the size of the system by combining heat sinks.
Regarding claim 2, SORIMACHI disclose the fins include first fins and second fins ((cooling fin) 163), the first fins are thermally connected to the converter via the first base and are thermally connected to the chopper via the second base ([0020]), and the second fins are thermally connected to the inverter via a base on which the inverter is mounted ([0020]).
Regarding claim 3, SORIMACHI disclose the inverter is mounted on the first base ([0020]).
Regarding claim 4, SORIMACHI disclose the inverter is mounted on the second base ([0020]).
Regarding claim 5, SORIMACHI disclose the inverter is mounted on the first base ([0020]).
Regarding claim 6, SORIMACHI disclose the inverter is mounted on the second base ([0020]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on 12-5-25 with respect to claims 1-6 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849