Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian et al. (Patent No: US 2021/0136732 A1), hereinafter, Fakoorian, in view of Shuanshuan et al. (Patent No: WO 2021/263284 A1), hereinafter, Shuanshuan.
Both prior arts have been used in PCT opinion report.
Regarding Claim 1, Fakoorian teaches,
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, downlink control information (DCI) related to resource allocation for a sidelink (SL); -Paragraph [0062] ([0062] recites, “…the base station 105-a may transmit DCI 410, indicating the resources used by UE 115-a to transmit the sidelink data 415 to UE 115-b….”)
identifying a first transmission resource within a channel occupancy time (COT) interval based on the DCI; -Fig. 6; Paragraph [0084] ([0084] recites, “At 625, UE 115-g may then initiate an LBT procedure to gain access to the identified resources for at least one interval of the COT…”)
Although implicit, Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
performing a first SL-based transmission on the first transmission resource; selecting and reserving a second transmission resource within the COT interval based on that the COT interval is valid after the first transmission resource; and performing a second SL-based transmission before an end of the COT interval after the first SL-based transmission, wherein the second SL-based transmission is performed on a second transmission resource reserved by the UE.
However, in an analogous invention, Shuanshuan teaches,
performing a first SL-based transmission on the first transmission resource; -Claim 1 (recites, “… transmit, in a first slot within a channel occupancy time (COT), a first communication;..”)
selecting and reserving a second transmission resource within the COT interval based on that the COT interval is valid after the first transmission resource; -Claim 12 (recites, “..determine a first resource in the first slot for transmitting the first communication during a COT acquisition procedure; and indicate a reservation of a second resource in the second slot for transmitting the second communication during the COT acquisition procedure.”)
and performing a second SL-based transmission before an end of the COT interval after the first SL-based transmission, wherein the second SL-based transmission is performed on a second transmission resource reserved by the UE. -Claim 1, 12 (Claim 1 recites, “..determine whether one or more transmission criteria are satisfied for transmission of a second communication in a second slot within the COT ; and selectively transmit the second communication in the second slot within the COT based at least in part on a result of determining whether the one or more transmission criteria are satisfied.” Claim 12 recites, “a reservation of a second resource in the second slot for transmitting the second communication during the COT acquisition procedure.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “performing a first SL-based transmission on the first transmission resource; selecting and reserving a second transmission resource within the COT interval based on that the COT interval is valid after the first transmission resource; and performing a second SL-based transmission before an end of the COT interval after the first SL-based transmission, wherein the second SL-based transmission is performed on a second transmission resource reserved by the UE.” of Shuanshuan . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability [0066].
Regarding Claim 2, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Fakoorian further teaches,
The method of wherein the first SL-based transmission is based on a first SL mode by resource allocation according to indication of the base station, -Paragraph [0042, 0062] ([0042] recites, “In NR-V2X, two modes may be defined for resource allocation. In a first mode (e.g., mode-1), a base station 105 may determine the resources used by a sidelink transmit UE 115 for a sidelink transmission (e.g., on a PSCCH, PSSCH, or PSFCH). In a second mode (e.g., mode-2), a sidelink transmit UE (e.g., not the base station 105) may determine the resources to use for sidelink communications. Sensing and resource selection and reselection related procedures may be supported for the second mode.”[0062] recites, “…the base station 105-a may transmit DCI 410, indicating the resources used by UE 115-a to transmit the sidelink data 415 to UE 115-b. Thus, other UEs 115 may decode the SCI or DCI 410 to determine the resources being used by UE 115-a and to identify unused resources 420 available for sidelink communications…”)
Although, implicit Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
and wherein the second SL-based transmission is based on a second SL mode by autonomous resource selection of the UE.
However, in an analogous invention Shuanshuan teaches,
and wherein the second SL-based transmission is based on a second SL mode by autonomous resource selection of the UE. -Claim 1 (recites, “..determine whether one or more transmission criteria are satisfied for transmission of a second communication in a second slot within the COT; and selectively transmit the second communication in the second slot within the COT based at least in part on a result of determining whether the one or more transmission criteria are satisfied” As explained above the second SL-transmission is based on the first transmission and when some criteria are met at the UE and is not dictated by the base station. Therefore, the second SL-transmission is based on mode-2 (based on sensing) and is autonomous).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “the second SL-based transmission is based on a second SL mode by autonomous resource selection of the UE” of Shuanshuan . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability [0066].
Regarding Claim 3, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: switching from the second SL mode to the first SL mode after an end of the COT interval or the second SL-based transmission.
However, Shuanshuabn teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: switching from the second SL mode to the first SL mode after an end of the COT interval or the second SL-based transmission. -Claim 1 (recites, “transmit, in a first slot within a channel occupancy time (COT), a first communication; determine whether one or more transmission criteria are satisfied for transmission of a second communication in a second slot within the COT ; and selectively transmit the second communication in the second slot within the COT based at least in part on a result of determining whether the one or more transmission criteria are satisfied.” As explained above for Claim 2, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan combination teach the switching from mode-1 (base station assigned resources which is the default mode) to autonomous (based on sensing) mode (mode-2) SL transmission within the COT conditioned on some specific criteria are met (e.g., COT not fully occupied). Although not mentioned explicitly, It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that once the COT interval is ended, the SL transmission falls to it’s default mode (mode-1) that is base station resource allocation method. It does not take any additional steps for this claim.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “switching from the second SL mode to the first SL mode after an end of the COT interval or the second SL-based transmission.” of Shuanshuan . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability [0066].
Regarding Claim 4, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein a resource reserved by the UE is selected from a pre-configured resource pool.
However, in an analogous invention, Shuanshuan teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein a resource reserved by the UE is selected from a pre-configured resource pool. -Paragraph [0058] ([0058] recites, “The one or more sidelink channels 310 may use resource pools. For example, a scheduling assignment (e.g., included in SCI 330) may be transmitted in sub-channels using specific resource blocks (RBs) across time…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “a resource reserved by the UE is selected from a pre-configured resource pool.” of Shuanshuan . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability [0066].
Regarding Claim 7, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the COT interval corresponds to a COT interval initiated by the UE and shared with the base station.
However, in an analogous invention, Shuanshuan teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the COT interval corresponds to a COT interval initiated by the UE and shared with the base station. -Paragraph [0068, 0073] ([0068] recites, “When a plurality of UEs share a set of resources in unlicensed spectrum for sidelink communication, a set of resources may be defined by channel occupancy associated with a channel occupancy time (COT), In this case, a first UE may use a channel sensing procedure to select a resource and reserve the resource for channel occupancy. The first UE may remain in the channel occupancy for a period defined by the COT. During the channel occupancy, the first UE may have exclusive use of a particular resource or may selectively share the particular resource with other UEs. A COT may span a plurality of slots (e.g., 20 slots) and may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) across a plurality of frequencies. A COT may be initiated by a UE, as described above, by a BS, or by another type of wireless communication device using a channel sensing procedure, such as a listen-before-talk (LET) procedure (e.g., based at least in part on a Type-1 channel access procedure).”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “the COT interval corresponds to a COT interval initiated by the UE and shared with the base station” of Shuanshuan . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability [0066].
Regarding Claim 8, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein, the COT interval corresponds to a COT section initiated by the base station and shared with the UE.
However, in an analogous invention, Shuanshuan teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, the COT interval corresponds to a COT section initiated by the base station and shared with the UE. -Paragraph [0068, 0073] ([0068] recites, “When a plurality of UEs share a set of resources in unlicensed spectrum for sidelink communication, a set of resources may be defined by channel occupancy associated with a channel occupancy time (COT), In this case, a first UE may use a channel sensing procedure to select a resource and reserve the resource for channel occupancy. The first UE may remain in the channel occupancy for a period defined by the COT. During the channel occupancy, the first UE may have exclusive use of a particular resource or may selectively share the particular resource with other UEs. A COT may span a plurality of slots (e.g., 20 slots) and may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) across a plurality of frequencies. A COT may be initiated by a UE, as described above, by a BS, or by another type of wireless communication device using a channel sensing procedure, such as a listen-before-talk (LET) procedure (e.g., based at least in part on a Type-1 channel access procedure).”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “the COT interval corresponds to a COT section initiated by the base station and shared with the UE.” of Shuanshuan . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability [0066].
Regarding Claim 9, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein, the second SL-based transmission relates to a re-transmission of the first SL-based transmission.
However, in an analogous invention, Shuanshuan teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, the second SL-based transmission relates to a re-transmission of the first SL-based transmission. -Paragraph [0072] ([0072] recites, “…in some aspects, the second transmission may be a retransmission of the first transmission. For example, first UE 120-1 may identify the first resource to transmit a packet and the second resource for a retransmission of the packet (e.g., to improve reliability' or to perform HARQ feedback based retransmission)….”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “the second SL-based transmission relates to a re-transmission of the first SL-based transmission.” of Shuanshuan . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability [0066].
Claim 12 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
Fakoorian further teaches,
A first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the first UE comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: -Fig. 8; Paragraph [0095] ([0095] recites, “FIG. 8 shows a block diagram 800 of a device 805 that supports resource configuration and reservation for sidelink communications in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 805 may be an example of aspects of a device 705, or a UE 115 as described herein. The device 805 may include a receiver 810, a communications manager 815, and a transmitter 850. The device 805 may also include a processor. Each of these components may be in communication with one another (e.g., via one or more buses).”)
Regarding Claim 14, Fakoorian teaches,
A base station in a wireless communication, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: -Fig. 10; (Fig. 10 shows generic architecture of wireless communication device (base station/UE) with transceiver (1020), processor (1040), memory (1035))
transmit, to a UE, downlink control information (DCI) related to resource allocation for a sidelink (SL); -Paragraph [0062] ([0062] recites, “…the base station 105-a may transmit DCI 410, indicating the resources used by UE 115-a to transmit the sidelink data 415 to UE 115-b….”)
and receive, from the UE, feedback information for at least one of a first SL-based transmission in a first transmission resource based on the DCI or a second SL-based transmission in a second transmission resource reserved by the UE, -Paragraph [0014, 0052] ([0052] recites, “In some cases, UEs 115 and base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. HARQ feedback is one technique of increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. HARQ feedback may include an acknowledgement (ACK) indicating that data was received and decoded successfully or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) indicating that data was not received or decoded successfully.” [0014] recites, “..receive a feedback message transmitted by a third UE acknowledging receipt of a transmission of first sidelink data from the second UE, identify resources reserved for a retransmission of the first sidelink data from the second UE to the third UE…”)
Although implicit, Fakoorian doest not explicitly mention,
wherein the second SL-based transmission exists after the first SL-based transmission within a channel occupancy time (COT) interval of the UE and before the end of the COT interval.
However, in an analogous invention, Shuanshuan teaches,
wherein the second SL-based transmission exists after the first SL-based transmission within a channel occupancy time (COT) interval of the UE and before the end of the COT interval. -Claim 1, 12 (Claim 1 recites, “..determine whether one or more transmission criteria are satisfied for transmission of a second communication in a second slot within the COT ; and selectively transmit the second communication in the second slot within the COT based at least in part on a result of determining whether the one or more transmission criteria are satisfied.” Claim 12 recites, “a reservation of a second resource in the second slot for transmitting the second communication during the COT acquisition procedure.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “the second SL-based transmission exists after the first SL-based transmission within a channel occupancy time (COT) interval of the UE and before the end of the COT interval.” of Shuanshuan . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability [0066].
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian in view of Shuanshuan, and further in view of Wang et al. (Patent No: US 2025/0081233 A1), hereinafter, Wang.
Regarding Claim 5, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
The method of Claim 1, wherein, based on the DCI including information for dynamic resource allocation, the transmission resource corresponds to a dynamic grant (DG) based physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission occasion.
However, in an analogous invention Wang teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on the DCI including information for dynamic resource allocation, the transmission resource corresponds to a dynamic grant (DG) based physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission occasion. -Paragraph [0133] ([0133] recites, “Dynamic grant: When the traffic to be sent over sidelink arrives at a transmitter UE, this UE may need to launch the four-message exchange procedure to request sidelink resources from a gNB (scheduling request (SR) on UL, grant, buffer status report (BSR) on UL, grant for data on SL sent to UE). During the resource request procedure, a gNB may allocate a sidelink radio network temporary identifier (SL-RNTI) to the transmitter UE. If this sidelink resource request is granted by a gNB, then a gNB indicates the resource allocation for the PSCCH and the PSSCH in the DCI conveyed by PDCCH with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled with the SL-RNTI. When a transmitter UE receives such DCI, a transmitter UE can obtain the grant only if the scrambled CRC of DCI can be successfully solved by the assigned SL-RNTI. A transmitter UE then indicates the time-frequency resources and the transmission scheme of the allocated PSSCH in the PSCCH, and launches the PSCCH and the PSSCH on the allocated resources for sidelink transmissions.” [0051] recites, “Sidelink grant is received dynamically on the PDCCH (DCI resides within PDCCH), configured semi-persistently by RRC or autonomously selected by the MAC entity. The MAC entity shall have a sidelink grant on an active SL BWP to determine a set of PSCCH duration(s) in which transmission of SCI occurs and a set of PSSCH duration(s) in which transmission of SL-SCH associated with the SCI occurs. A sidelink grant addressed to SLCS-RNTI with NDI=1 is considered as a dynamic sidelink grant.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “based on the DCI including information for dynamic resource allocation, the transmission resource corresponds to a dynamic grant (DG) based physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission occasion.” of Wang . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve channel utilization ratio [0146].
Regarding Claim 6, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
The method of 1, wherein, based on the DCI including information for activating resource allocation by a configured grant (CG), the transmission resource corresponds to a CG-based PSSCH transmission occasion.
However, in an analogous invention, Wang teaches,
The method of 1, wherein, based on the DCI including information for activating resource allocation by a configured grant (CG), the transmission resource corresponds to a CG-based PSSCH transmission occasion. -Paragraph [0134, 0141] ([0134] recites, “Configured grant: For the traffic with a strict latency requirement, performing the four-message exchange procedure to request sidelink resources may induce unacceptable latency. In this case, prior to the traffic arrival, a transmitter UE may perform the four-message exchange procedure and request a set of resources. If a grant can be obtained from a gNB, then the requested resources are reserved in a periodic manner. Upon traffic arriving at a transmitter UE, this UE can launch the PSCCH and the PSSCH on the upcoming resource occasion. In fact, this kind of grant is also known as grant-free transmissions.” [0141] recites, “In accordance with some exemplary embodiments, certain features may be available for a SL UE enabling the UE to initiate periodic SL transmissions towards another SL UE. These features may comprise the configured grant for SL transmission and Mode 2 resource allocation with resource reservation. For the former feature, the UE may be configured with periodic configured grants for SL transmissions.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “based on the DCI including information for activating resource allocation by a configured grant (CG), the transmission resource corresponds to a CG-based PSSCH transmission occasion.” of Wang . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve channel utilization ratio [0146].
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian in view of Shuanshuan, and further in view of CAO et al. (Patent No: US 2021/0144750 A1), hereinafter, CAO.
Regarding Claim 10, Fakoorian and Shuanshuan teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the first SL-based transmission or the second SL-based transmission corresponds to a multi-Transport block (multi-TB) transmission in a plurality of SL CG resource sets configured within one configured grant (CG) period, and wherein each SL CG resource set included in the plurality of SL CG resource sets includes consecutive SL CG resources.
However, in an analogous invention, CAO teaches,
The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the first SL-based transmission or the second SL-based transmission corresponds to a multi-Transport block (multi-TB) transmission in a plurality of SL CG resource sets configured within one configured grant (CG) period, and wherein each SL CG resource set included in the plurality of SL CG resource sets includes consecutive SL CG resources. -Fig. 1A; Paragraph [0113] ([0113] recites, “The periodic configured resource in configured grant (or the multiple resource scheduled by a single DCI in dynamic grant) can be used to transmit one or multiple transport blocks, or retransmissions thereof, within a given period. A UE may transmit a new transport block (TB) or a retransmission of a TB using each of the data transmission resources. A TB is a block of data that is encoded and transmitted using a transmission resource, e.g., using a PSSCH resource in case of SL transmission…..For each data transmission resource, also referred to as a transmit occasion, a UE may select which TB to transmit or following some rules to decide whether it can transmit a new TB. In the illustrated example, resource 102 is used for an initial transmission of a first transport block TB1, resource 104 is used for a retransmission in respect of the first transport block TB1, resource 106 is used for an initial transmission of a second transport block TB2, and resource 108 is used for a retransmission in respect of the second transport block TB2. More generally, for a CG resource having K data transmission resources, possibly as many as K different transport blocks may be transmitted, or as few as one transport block and up to K−1 repetitions thereof.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “at least one of the first SL-based transmission or the second SL-based transmission corresponds to a multi-Transport block (multi-TB) transmission in a plurality of SL CG resource sets configured within one configured grant (CG) period, and wherein each SL CG resource set included in the plurality of SL CG resource sets includes consecutive SL CG resources.” of CAO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability of sidelink transmission [0085].
Regarding Claim 11, Fakoorian, Shuanshuan and CAO teach the limitations of Claim 10.
Fakoorian does not explicitly mention,
The method of 10, wherein a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource is respectively allocated for each SL CG resource set included in the plurality of SL CG resource sets for the one CG period.
However, in an analogous invention, CAO teaches,
The method of 10, wherein a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource is respectively allocated for each SL CG resource set included in the plurality of SL CG resource sets for the one CG period. -Paragraph [0110] ([0110] recites, “In some other embodiments, there may be only one PSFCH resource corresponding to multiple PSSCH resources corresponding to a grant. This may apply to both multiple PSSCH resources configured in a period of configured grant or scheduled by a single DCI in dynamic grant. In some embodiments, the one PSFCH resource corresponds to the last PSSCH resource among the set of PSSCH resource configured in a period for configured grant or scheduled by a single DCI in dynamic grant. For example, in FIG. 1A, there may be only 1 PSFCH resource 116 that is used only to send HARQ feedback with regard to SL transmission in 108.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “RESOURCE CONFIGURATION AND RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS” proposed by Fakoorian to include the concept of “a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource is respectively allocated for each SL CG resource set included in the plurality of SL CG resource sets for the one CG period.” of CAO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability of sidelink transmission [0085].
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475