DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 18-20, 25, 26, 31, and 32 are objected to because of the following informalities: capitalization of words that are not proper nouns, e.g., “Arachidyl Glucoside”.
Claims 24-26 are objected to because of the following informalities: it appears a “further” is necessary before the “comprises”.
Claims 27 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities: "the" or "said" should precede "myristyl alcohol".
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “at least one wax component having a melting point of less than 43°C” whose meaning is unclear. “Wax” in general means any firm, pliable material made from plants, animals, or petroleum (like beeswax or paraffin). The specification does not define “wax” or “wax component”. It does describe “wax component” as having a melting point of less than 43 °C (para.0056, pre-grant publication US 2025/0262135), and states, “[f]atty alcohols and fatty acids having alkyl chains with 10 to 20 carbon atoms by definition are not considered to be wax components” (id. para.0058 (emphasis added)). The specification gives three examples of wax components: “Myristyl Myristate, Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides and/or Cetyl Ricinoleate” (id. para.0060). Example formulations in the disclosure include Butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter which has melting points below 43°C. However it is unclear whether shea butter is a “wax component” according to the claim or the disclosure.
The temperature of 43 °C is about 109 °F, meaning the was component could be in melted or liquid form at standard ambient temperature. Both shea butter and olive oil are liquids at room temperature, but start solidifying in slightly colder environments. However it is unclear whether they comprise “wax component”. Chen (cited below) for example teaches olive oil which starts solidifying at around 34-40 °F. Therefore “wax component” alone, with the lack of adequate defining characteristics in the disclosure renders the term unclear. None of the dependent claims resolves this issue and therefore they are also rejected on this ground.
Claim 23 recites “the emulsion comprises …of cetearyl glucoside”. It is ambiguous whether the “at least one fatty alcohol glucoside” of claim 16 comprises the cetearyl glucoside of claim 23, or whether the emulsion of claim 15 “further” comprises the cetearyl glucoside in the concentration in claim 23.
Claims 33 recites “at least one starch”, and claims 34 and 35 recite “at least one wax”. These claims depend from claim 16, which recites “at least one polysaccharide”, and “at least one wax”. A starch is a polysaccharide. Thus claim 33 is ambiguous whether it requires the emulsion to further comprise a starch, in addition to a polysaccharide in claim 16. Claims 34 and 35 are ambiguous regarding whether they require the emulsion of claim 16 to further comprise a wax having the melting point within the ranges in claims 34 and 35, or whether the ranges limit “the” or “said” wax of claim 16.
Claim 29 recites “wherein liquid-crystalline structures in the emulsion”. Claim 16 recites “a liquid-crystalline network”. The absence of a “the” or “said” before the phrase, the different terms “structures” in claim 29 and “network” in claim 16, and the plural versus singular forms render claim 29 ambiguous regarding whether the “structures” are the same as the “network” of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20, 26, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Swisscare (Anonymous. "Facial Mask" 27 October 2011 Database accession no. 1660731. Retrieved from: GNPD [online] MINTEL; see IDS).
Swisscare teaches a facial mask comprising water, cetearyl glucoside, myristyl alcohol, polysaccharides such as glalactoarabinan, and waxes such as myristyl myristate (title; p.4 Ingredients). Further ingredients include glyceryl stearate.
Regarding the properties of the composition including “forms a liquid-crystalline network in the emulsion” in claim 16 and the “globular structures” in claim 29 it is noted that for product claims, “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent”. MPEP §2112.01(I). Therefore although Swisscare does not expressly discuss these limitations, its facial mask composition is presumed to exhibit the recited features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-23, 27-30, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khayat (US 6,284,257) in view of Chen (CN 109528503A; see IDS).
Khayat teaches acrylate-free oil-in-water (O/W) emulsions comprising (a) a vegetable oil, (b) 2-7% by weight of a self-emulsifiable composition comprising from 60 to 90 percent by weight of at least one fatty alcohol having from 12 to 22 carbon atoms, from 10 to 40 percent by weight of at least one alkylpolysaccharide wherein the alkyl moiety has from 12 to 22 carbon atoms, and from 0 to 5 percent by weight of polysaccharide, (c) from 0.5 to 5 percent by weight of a coemulsifying agent selected from the group consisting of at least one saturated fatty alcohol having from 16 to 32 carbon atoms, a saturated fatty acid having from 16 to 32 carbon atoms and a mixture thereof, (d) from 0.1 to 1 percent by weight of a gelling agent, and water (see entire document including title; abstract; Examples 1, 3; claims 1-10).
Example 1 (col.3 lines 15-55), “Moisturizing cream”, comprises 2.5 g Montanov 68® which contains about 23% cetearyl glucosides (col.2 lines 13-19), cetyl alcohol, sumach wax, and xanthan gum. Example 1 further comprises sumach wax which has a melting point below 43 °C, at 1.5 g or about 2.7% of the cream, within the ranges in claims 34 and 35.
Khayat does not specifically teach using myristyl alcohol as in claim 16.
Chen teaches an emulsifier composition capable of producing liquid crystal structures comprising 5-20 parts of an emulsifier, 5-20 parts of higher alcohols, and 5-25 parts of liquid grease including olive oil (title; abstract; claims 1-10). The emulsifier specifically includes cetearyl glucoside and the higher alcohols specifically includes myristyl (C14) alcohol (claims 3, 5). Because Chen’s liquid crystal structures comprise the components in claim 16, limitation (a), they would be globular. The emulsifier composition comprises 2-15 wt.% of a cosmetic (claim 10). Chen teaches olive oil which solidifies around 34-40 °F and Table 1 shows ethylhexyl palmitate which has a melting point below 43 °C.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Khayat and Chen and use myristyl alcohol in place of the cetyl alcohol in Khayat as recited in the instant claim(s). The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both are drawn to oil-in-water emulsions comprising cetearyl glucoside in combination with a fatty alcohol as emulsifiers, and Chen teaches that an emulsifier comprising glucoside in combination higher alcohols having more than 12 carbons, i.e., myristyl alcohol as well as cetyl alcohol, achieve highly stable liquid crystal structures with uniform shape and particle size (abstract). Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose, myristyl and cetyl alcohol here, where the equivalency has been recognized in the prior art as in Chen, presents strong evidence of obviousness; an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. MPEP §2144.06 (II) (citations omitted).
Regarding claims 21-23, the 23% cetearyl glucoside (col.2 lines 13-19) in the 2.5 g Montanov 68® in Example 1 amounts to about 1% of the total of about 54.2 g of the cream (2.5*0.23/ about 54.2). This concentration is within the ranges in claims 21 and 23 and at least close to the range in claim 22. For result-effective variables, in the case where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05 (citations omitted). Furthermore, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted).
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Khayat’s example contains about 1% cetearyl glucoside and 1 g cetyl alcohol or about 1.8%. Chen teaches an emulsifier composition capable of producing liquid crystal structures comprising 5-20 parts of an emulsifier and 5-20 parts of higher alcohols. Therefore the skilled person could experiment within Chen’s guidelines.
Claim(s) 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khayat (US 6,284,257) in view of Chen (CN 109528503A; see IDS) and Raschke (US 2021/0338559) as evidenced by Deshayes (US 2019/0160006).
Khayat and Chen do not specifically teach the sorbitan stearate disodium cetearyl sulfosuccinate, or the polysaccharides in claims 24-26 and 31-33.
Raschke teaches acrylate-free cosmetic O/W emulsion comprising 0.5 % by weight to 3.0 % by weight hydroxypropyl starch phosphate, glycerol monostearate and/or sorbitan monostearate, waxes such as hydrogenated coco-glycerides at 0.5-3% by weight (see entire document including title; abstract; paras. 0100, 0117). Raschke expressly teaches further including other emulsifiers and surfactants (para.0129). Deshayes evidences that glyceryl stearate and disodium cetearyl sulfosuccinate have been used with O/W emulsions comprising cetearyl glucoside and myristyl alcohol (title; abstract; paras.0012-13, 0022, 0025, 0031, 0033, Table 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Khayat, Chen, and Raschke as recited in the instant claim(s). The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because all are drawn to O/W emulsions comprising cetearyl glucoside as an emulsifier, and Raschke teaches that inclusion of hydroxypropyl starch phosphate, glycerol monostearate and/or sorbitan monostearate provides an acrylate-free cosmetic O/W emulsions which overcome disadvantages of prior acrylate-free emulsions such as white residues and unpleasant feel (paras.0007-08).
Double Patenting
Claims 16-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-23, 25, 27, 28, and 35 of copending Application No. 18/857689 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to acrylate-free oil-in-water emulsions comprising a liquid-crystalline network emulsifier system and hydroxypropyl starch phosphate and/or distarch phosphate. The difference is the present claims recite myristyl alcohol and a wax component, which appear in claims 27 and 35 of the ‘689 application. The present claims recite a polysaccharide, whereas the ‘689 application recites a gellan gum, which is a polysaccharide.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614