DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 16-35 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1-15 are cancelled and claims 16-35 are added via the amendment filed October 17th, 2024.
Priority
This is a 35 U.S.C. 371 National Stage filing of International Application No. PCT/EP2023/059901 filed April 17th, 2023, which claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a-d) to DE10 2022 204 660.9, filed May 12th, 2022. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d)
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed July 11th, 2025 was considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 23-24 and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (CN 109430429 A, published March 8th, 2019, as cited on the IDS).
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches a concentrated cream comprising, by weight percent, consisting of the following components: emulsifier 0.75-6.3%, gellan gum 0.01-0.2% and hydroxypropyl distarch phosphate 0.3-0.8% (summary of the invention, paragraph 6). Huang does not teach that the cream comprises acrylate.
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches that the emulsion system is a stable water-oil emulsion system (background, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 23, Huang further teaches that the cream comprises sorbitan monostearate 0.1-0.5% (summary of the invention, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 24, Huang teaches that the sorbitan monostearate comprises 0.1-0.5% of the composition (summary of the invention, paragraph 4).
Regarding claims 29-30, Huang teaches that the hydroxypropyl distarch phosphate makes up 0.3-0.8% of the composition (summary of the invention, paragraph 6).
Regarding claims 31-32, Huang teaches that gellan gum makes up 0.01-0.2% of the composition (summary of the invention, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 33, Huang teaches that the composition further comprises xanthan gum (summary of the invention, paragraph 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (CN 109430429 A, published March 8th, 2019, as cited on the IDS) in view of Hargraves et al (US 6,013,270, published January 11th, 2000).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches a concentrated cream comprising, by weight percent, consisting of the following components: emulsifier 0.75-6.3%, gellan gum 0.01-0.2% and hydroxypropyl distarch phosphate 0.3-0.8% (summary of the invention, paragraph 6). Huang does not teach that the cream comprises acrylate.
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches that the emulsion system is a stable water-oil emulsion system (background, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 23, Huang further teaches that the cream comprises sorbitan monostearate 0.1-0.5% (summary of the invention, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 24, Huang teaches that the sorbitan monostearate comprises 0.1-0.5% of the composition (summary of the invention, paragraph 4).
Regarding claims 29-30, Huang teaches that the hydroxypropyl distarch phosphate makes up 0.3-0.8% of the composition (summary of the invention, paragraph 6).
Regarding claims 31-32, Huang teaches that gellan gum makes up 0.01-0.2% of the composition (summary of the invention, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 33, Huang teaches that the composition further comprises xanthan gum (summary of the invention, paragraph 6).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art is deemed to anticipate instant claims 16-17, 23-24 and 29-33 where anticipation is the epitome of obviousness. In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1402 (CCPA 1974)). Huang does not explicitly teach that the composition further comprises a fatty alcohol glucoside, glyceryl stearate, myristyl alcohol, short chain diols and wax.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
However, Hargraves teaches a composition that comprises an oil-in-water emulsion with improved properties, including the ability to improve skin appearance. Hargraves teaches that the composition includes an oil-in-water emulsion with an agent that assists in the formation of liquid crystalline gel network structures (column 29, paragraph 3). Hargraves also teaches that the composition includes gellan gum (column 26, paragraph 3).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art looking to improve the composition of Huang would look to the teachings of Hargraves as Hargraves teaches an improved cosmetic composition with an oil-in-water emulsion and an agent that assists in the formation of liquid crystalline gel network structures.
Regarding claim 18-22, Hargraves teaches that the emulsifier, in a weight percentage of 0.1 to 5% by weight of the composition, includes cetearyl glucoside (claim 28).
Regarding claims 25-26, Hargraves teaches that the composition also includes glyceryl stearate in a weight percentage of from about 0.1% to about 5% (columns 10-11).
Regarding claim 27, Hargraves further teaches that the composition may also include myristyl alcohol (column 10, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 28, Hargraves teaches that shapes of particles include spherical and spheroidal (column 28, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 34, Hargraves also teaches that the composition includes 0.25% by weight of diols containing from about 2 to about 12 carbons (column 27).
Regarding claim 35, Hargraves teaches that the composition includes lanolin wax (column 35, paragraph 1).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/A.G.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699