DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
An initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 submitted 10/17/2024 is attached to the instant office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0217746 A1 to Kang et al. (hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang teaches A method performed by a radio network node, for configuring transmission resources for a user equipment, the method comprising: (Figure 14 and [0425], illustrates base station (i.e. radio network node))
receiving, from the user equipment, a message indicative of one or more available transmit antenna combinations of the user equipment for contemporaneous transmission, (Figure 14 and [0427], discloses the UE may report UE capability information (i.e. message) to the BS (S1410)…UE may report, to the BS, at least one of (Tx/Rx) panel related configuration/information for the multi-CC/band based operation (i.e. one or more available transmit antenna combinations), whether the panel-level correspondence is established, whether multiple panels are simultaneously activated, or whether multiple panels may be simultaneously (i.e. contemporaneous transmission) used for UL transmission, as the UE capability)
wherein each transmit antenna combination is associated with one or more frequency bands, and ([0331]-[0333], discloses The UE may report, to the BS, (Tx/Rx) Panel related configuration/information for the multi-CC/band based operation as the UE capability. The UE may report, to the BS, (Tx/Rx) Panel related configuration/information (i.e. each transmit antenna combination)) for the multi-CC/band (i.e. associated with one or more frequency bands) based operation as the UE capability. At least one of i) or ii) belows as the UE capability. i) Information regarding whether Tx panel configurations which belong to different component carriers/bands (CC/band) are identical and/or a range of component carriers/bands (CCs/bands) in which (each) Tx panel related information is valid )
transmitting, to the user equipment, based on the received message, information indicative of resources to be used by the user equipment for transmission. ([0427], discloses the BS may transmit a panel related configuration (i.e. information) to the UE (S1420). As an example, the configuration may include panel related information for UL transmission of the UE (e.g., see panel-specific transmission/reception related configuration/indication). As a specific example, the panel related configuration may be a configuration for UL transmission such as PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS, PRACH, etc. (i.e. indicative of resources). In particular, in relation to the PUCCH transmission, a panel for panel-specific transmission may be identified by PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo and/or PUCCH-resource)
Regarding Claim 2, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises:
configuring, based on the received message, transmission resources for the user equipment. ([0371], discloses] The BS receiving the UE capability information of Proposal 1 may indicate/configure the Tx panels (and/or Rx panels) for multiple specific CCs within the valid range of the panel information to be changed at once. [0438], In this regard, the BS may transmit, to the UE, a configuration related to the above-described method (e.g., Proposals 1/1-1/2/3 and/or Options 1-1/1-2/1-3/3-1/3-2). As an example, the BS may transmit, to the UE, information on at least one of a configuration related to the panel information valid range, a configuration for UL signals/channels, or a configuration for the UL panel ID in Proposals 1/1-1/2/3 and/or Options 1-1/1-2/1-3/3-1/3-2)
Regarding Claim 3, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the message is indicative of one or more antenna groups associated with the one or more frequency bands. ([0331]-[0333], discloses The UE may report, to the BS, (Tx/Rx) Panel related configuration/information for the multi-CC/band based operation as the UE capability. The UE may report, to the BS, (Tx/Rx) Panel related configuration/information (i.e. one or more antenna groups) for the multi-CC/band (i.e. associated with one or more frequency bands) based operation as the UE capability. At least one of i) or ii) belows as the UE capability. i) Information regarding whether Tx panel configurations which belong to different component carriers/bands (CC/band) are identical and/or a range of component carriers/bands (CCs/bands) in which (each) Tx panel related information is valid. [0420], discloses the ‘panel’ referred to in the present disclosure may be construed as a ‘unit (or antenna group))
Regarding Claim 6, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1,
wherein the transmit antenna combinations are indicated as a list of antenna groups and a corresponding frequency band capability for each antenna group. ([0008], discloses The UE capability information includes at least one of i) information on at least one panel commonly applied to at least one frequency region of the multiple frequency regions or ii) information on a range of the frequency regions to which at least panel is commonly applied among the multiple panels. [0420], discloses the ‘panel’ referred to in the present disclosure may be construed as a ‘unit (or antenna group))
Regarding Claim 7, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the message comprises a list of frequency bands and a corresponding combination of antennas available for each frequency band. ([0008], discloses The UE capability information includes at least one of i) information on at least one panel commonly applied to at least one frequency region of the multiple frequency regions or ii) information on a range of the frequency regions to which at least panel is commonly applied among the multiple panels. [0420], discloses the ‘panel’ referred to in the present disclosure may be construed as a ‘unit (or antenna group))
Regarding Claim 8, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the message comprises a list of frequency band groups and a corresponding combination of antennas available for each frequency band group. ([0008], discloses The UE capability information includes at least one of i) information on at least one panel commonly applied to at least one frequency region of the multiple frequency regions or ii) information on a range of the frequency regions to which at least panel is commonly applied among the multiple panels. [0420], discloses the ‘panel’ referred to in the present disclosure may be construed as a ‘unit (or antenna group))
Regarding Claim 9, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the transmit antennas are indicated with a respective index. ([0236], discloses the ‘panel’ may be modified, and construed/applied as ‘one antenna port or multiple antenna ports’, ‘one uplink resource or multiple uplink resources’, or ‘antenna port group’ or ‘uplink resource group (or set)’. [0344], discloses Tx panel ID(s) (i.e. respective index))
Regarding Claim 10, Kang teaches The method according to claim 9, wherein each transmit antenna has a common index for all frequency bands. ([0344], discloses if the panel-level correspondence is defined for all panels, the Tx panel ID and the Rx panel DI may match one to one (as the same ID). Examiner further notes that the disclosure of Kang does not describe using different indexes for a transmit antenna for different frequency bands)
Regarding Claim 11, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the resources are resources for contemporaneous transmission of one or more of Sounding Reference Signals, SRS, and data. ([0428], discloses the panel related configuration may be a configuration for UL transmission such as PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS, PRACH, etc.)
Regarding Claim 12, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the message comprises information indicative of one or more transmission schemes associated with each of the transmission antenna combinations. ([0015], discloses The UE capability information may include information on at least one of i) whether the multiple panels may be simultaneously activated or ii) whether the multiple panels may be used for simultaneous transmission of specific uplink channels, and the corresponding information is related to the range of the frequency regions. )
Regarding Claim 13, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the information indicative of resources to be used by the user equipment comprises information indicative of which antenna combination the user equipment is to use for the indicated resources. ([0427], discloses the BS may transmit a panel related configuration to the UE (S1420). As an example, the configuration may include panel related information for UL transmission of the UE (e.g., see panel-specific transmission/reception related configuration/indication). As a specific example, the panel related configuration may be a configuration for UL transmission such as PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS, PRACH, etc. (i.e. indicative of resources). In particular, in relation to the PUCCH transmission, a panel for panel-specific transmission (i.e. information of which antenna combination) may be identified by PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo and/or PUCCH-resource)
Regarding Claim 14, Kang teaches A method performed by a user equipment, enabling a radio network node to configure transmission resources for the user equipment, the method comprising: (Figure 14 and [0425], illustrates UE)
Transmitting, to the radio network node, a message indicative of one or more available transmit antenna combinations capable of contemporaneous transmission by the user equipment, (Figure 14 and [0427], discloses the UE may report UE capability information (i.e. message) to the BS (S1410)…UE may report, to the BS, at least one of (Tx/Rx) panel related configuration/information for the multi-CC/band based operation (i.e. one or more available transmit antenna combinations), whether the panel-level correspondence is established, whether multiple panels are simultaneously activated, or whether multiple panels may be simultaneously (i.e. contemporaneous transmission) used for UL transmission, as the UE capability)
wherein each transmit antenna combination is associated with one or more frequency bands, and ([0331]-[0333], discloses The UE may report, to the BS, (Tx/Rx) Panel related configuration/information for the multi-CC/band based operation as the UE capability. The UE may report, to the BS, (Tx/Rx) Panel related configuration/information (i.e. each transmit antenna combination)) for the multi-CC/band (i.e. associated with one or more frequency bands) based operation as the UE capability. At least one of i) or ii) belows as the UE capability. i) Information regarding whether Tx panel configurations which belong to different component carriers/bands (CC/band) are identical and/or a range of component carriers/bands (CCs/bands) in which (each) Tx panel related information is valid )
receiving, from the radio network node, information indicative of resources to be used by the user equipment for transmission. ([0427], discloses the BS may transmit a panel related configuration (i.e. information) to the UE (S1420). As an example, the configuration may include panel related information for UL transmission of the UE (e.g., see panel-specific transmission/reception related configuration/indication). As a specific example, the panel related configuration may be a configuration for UL transmission such as PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS, PRACH, etc. (i.e. indicative of resources). In particular, in relation to the PUCCH transmission, a panel for panel-specific transmission may be identified by PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo and/or PUCCH-resource)
Regarding Claim 16, Kang teaches The method according to claim 14 ,wherein the method comprises: determining which antenna combination to use for contemporaneous transmission based on the indicated resources. ([0434], discloses The UE may perform UL transmission using the panel for the BS based on the configuration and/or the indication (S1450). As an example, the UE may perform the UL transmission by using one panel or multiple panels according to the multi-panel UE category. In this regard, the UE may perform the UL transmission to the BS as in the above-described method (e.g., Proposals 1/1-1/2/3 and/or Options 1-1/1-2/1-3/3-1/3-2). As an example, as in Proposal 2/3 and/or Options 3-1/3-2, when there are multiple uplink signals/channels configured/indicated to be transmitted to the same symbol position, the UE may simultaneously transmit two or more uplink signals/channels or one uplink signal/channel based on a specific rule (e.g., a collision handling rule, a priority of transmitted information, a power headroom condition, a transmissions power condition, etc))
Claims 15, 17, 20 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 13, 3, and 6, respectively, except the claims are written in method format in the perspective of the UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of US 2024/0162950 A1 to Mei et al. (hereinafter “Mei”)
Regarding Claim 4, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the message is indicative of one or more transmission ranks associated with the one or more antenna combinations available.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Saha discloses in [0093], the UE capability information message may indicate one or more antenna group capabilities of the UE 120. For example, the one or more antenna capabilities, indicated in the UE capability information message, may indicate the one or more antenna group capabilities. In some aspects, the UE capability information message may indicate the one or more antenna capabilities of the UE 120 on a per-antenna group basis. [0095], discloses In some aspects, the one or more antenna group capabilities, indicated in the UE capability information message, may indicate a maximum quantity of transmission layers (e.g., a maximum transmission rank) for an antenna group (i.e. one or more transmission ranks associated with one or more antenna combinations available). In some aspects, the one or more antenna group capabilities, indicated in the UE capability information message, may indicate a codebook usage for an antenna group (e.g., whether the antenna group supports codebook-based PUSCH transmission and/or a codebook type supported by the antenna group) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kang to include the above limitations as suggested by Saha, as based at least in part on the UE's antenna capabilities, the UE may receive improved power control settings, scheduling, and/or SRS configurations from the network entity, thereby improving a performance of communications of the UE as indicated [0084] of Saha.
Regarding Claim 5, Kang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein Kang does not explicitly teach the transmit antenna combinations are indicated as codebook entries.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Saha discloses in [0093], the UE capability information message may indicate one or more antenna group capabilities of the UE 120. For example, the one or more antenna capabilities, indicated in the UE capability information message, may indicate the one or more antenna group capabilities. In some aspects, the UE capability information message may indicate the one or more antenna capabilities of the UE 120 on a per-antenna group basis. [0095], discloses In some aspects, the one or more antenna group capabilities, indicated in the UE capability information message, may indicate a maximum quantity of transmission layers (e.g., a maximum transmission rank) for an antenna group. In some aspects, the one or more antenna group capabilities, indicated in the UE capability information message, may indicate a codebook usage for an antenna group (e.g., whether the antenna group supports codebook-based PUSCH transmission and/or a codebook type supported by the antenna group) (i.e. transmit antenna combinations indicated as codebook entries)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kang to include the above limitations as suggested by Saha, as based at least in part on the UE's antenna capabilities, the UE may receive improved power control settings, scheduling, and/or SRS configurations from the network entity, thereby improving a performance of communications of the UE as indicated [0084] of Saha.
Claims 18-19 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 4-5 above, respectively, except the claims are in method perspective of the UE.
Conclusion
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477