DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 17 October 2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 October 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5 May 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Semi-Persistent Channel State Information (SP-CSI) Reporting Enhancements.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 and 11-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 8 recites the limitation “to be”. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to amend to remove “to be”. Please apply to Claim 1 as well.
Claim 2, line 3 recites the limitation “…a serving cell ID field configured indicate…”. This appears to be a typo. Please apply to Claim 12 as well.
Claim 2, line 5 recites the limitation “…the serving cell ID field that are each…”. Please amend to recite “…the serving cell ID field each configured to indicate…”. Please apply to Claim 12 as well.
Dependent claims 3-6 and 13-16 are also objected to since they are dependent upon the objected claims set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by et al (US 2019/0208436 A1), hereinafter Zhou ‘436.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou ‘436 discloses a processor of a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 4 and paragraph 173; a/(at least one) processor/(processor 408) of a user equipment (UE)/wireless device 406) configured to perform operations (see Figure 30 and paragraph 320; configured to perform operations/Figure 30 shows an example of SP CSI reporting in a cell) comprising:
receiving channel state information (CSI) report configuration information for reporting semi-persistent (SP)-CSI feedback (see Figures 30 and 32 and paragraphs 314, 317, 320 and 339; receiving/(base station or gNB transmits to a wireless device or UE) channel state information (CSI) report/(semi-persistent (SP) channel state information (CSI)) configuration information/(configuration parameters) for reporting/reporting semi-persistent (SP)-CSI feedback/semi-persistent (SP)-CSI);
receiving a signal configured to activate one or more configured sets of CSI reports (see Figures 30 and 46A and paragraphs 320 and 342; receiving/(the base station transmits to the wireless device or UE) a signal/(MAC CE or DCI) configured/configuration to activate/activation one or more/(one or more) configured/configuration sets/(Figure 46A shows a SP CSI report trigger state comprises at least one of: SP CSI report trigger index) of CSI reports/CSI reporting), wherein the signal indicates a CSI report periodicity and slot offset to be utilized by the UE to report SP-CSI feedback (see Figure 30 and paragraphs 320-321 and 341 and 345; wherein the signal/(MAC CE or DCI) indicates/indicating a CSI report periodicity/(CSI report indicating periodicity) and/and slot offset/(slot offset) to be utilized by the UE/(wireless device or UE) to report/report SP-CSI feedback/SP CSI report);
receiving SP-CSI measurement resources for SP-CSI feedback (see Figures 29 and 48A and paragraph 315, 319, 472 and 484; receiving/(base station transmits) SP-CSI/(SP CSI-RS) measurement/measure resources/resource for SP-CSI feedback/SP CSI-RS reporting); and
reporting the SP-CSI feedback to a network (see paragraphs 321, 345 and 472; reporting/report the SP-CSI feedback/(SP CSI report) to a network/network).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) and wherein the DCI is scrambled with a SP-CSI-radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (see Figures 30 and 32 and paragraphs 320, 342 and 345; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI and wherein the DCI/DCI is scrambled with a SP-CSI-radio network temporary identifier (RNTI)/the first DCI being scrambled by the first RNTI (e.g., the SP-CSI-RNTI)).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhou ‘436 discloses a processor of a base station (see Figure 4 and paragraph 173; a/(at least one) processor/(processor 403) of a base station/base station 401) configured to perform operations (see Figure 30 and paragraph 320; configured to perform operations/Figure 30 shows an example of SP CSI reporting in a cell) comprising:
transmitting channel state information (CSI) report configuration information for reporting semi-persistent (SP)-CSI feedback to a user equipment (UE) (see Figures 30 and 32 and paragraphs 314, 317, 320 and 339; transmitting/(base station or gNB transmits to a wireless device or UE) channel state information (CSI) report/(semi-persistent (SP) channel state information (CSI)) configuration information/(configuration parameters) for reporting/reporting semi-persistent (SP)-CSI feedback/semi-persistent (SP)-CSI) to a user equipment (UE)/wireless device or UE);
transmitting a signal configured to activate one or more configured sets of CSI reports at the UE (see Figures 30 and 46A and paragraphs 320 and 342; transmitting/(the base station transmits to the wireless device or UE) a signal/(MAC CE or DCI) configured/configuration to activate/activation one or more/(one or more) configured/configuration sets/(Figure 46A shows a SP CSI report trigger state comprises at least one of: SP CSI report trigger index) of CSI reports/CSI reporting), wherein the signal indicates a CSI report periodicity and slot offset to be utilized by the UE to report SP-CSI feedback (see Figure 30 and paragraphs 320-321 and 341 and 345; wherein the signal/(MAC CE or DCI) indicates/indicating a CSI report periodicity/(CSI report indicating periodicity) and/and slot offset/(slot offset) to be utilized by the UE/(wireless device or UE) to report/report SP-CSI feedback/SP CSI report); and
receiving the SP-CSI feedback from the UE (see Figures 29 and 48A and paragraph 315, 319, 472 and 484; receiving/(wireless device transmits) SP-CSI/(SP CSI-RS) measurement/measure resources/resource for SP-CSI feedback/(SP CSI-RS reporting) from the UE/wireless device or UE).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) and wherein the DCI is scrambled with a SP-CSI-radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (see Figures 30 and 32 and paragraphs 320, 342 and 345; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI and wherein the DCI/DCI is scrambled with a SP-CSI-radio network temporary identifier (RNTI)/the first DCI being scrambled by the first RNTI (e.g., the SP-CSI-RNTI)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 12-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘436 in view of 3GPP TS 38.321 v15.4.0 et al (“3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Specification (Release 15)”), hereinafter 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL.
Regarding Claim 2, Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the signal is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) and wherein the MAC CE includes a serving cell ID field configured indicate a serving cell ID for which the MAC CE applies and multiple fields associated with the serving cell ID field that are each configured to indicate an activation state for a corresponding SP-CSI report”.
However, 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL discloses the processor, wherein the signal is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (see Section 5.18.4 Activation/Deactivation of UE-specific PDSCH TCI State; wherein the signal/(MAC CE) is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)/MAC CE) and wherein the MAC CE includes a serving cell ID field configured indicate a serving cell ID for which the MAC CE applies (see Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting on PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; and wherein the MAC CE/(MAC CE) includes a serving cell ID field/(serving Cell ID field) configured indicate a serving cell ID/(serving cell ID) for which the MAC CE/(MAC CE) applies/applies) and multiple fields associated with the serving cell ID field that are each configured to indicate an activation state for a corresponding SP-CSI report (see Figure 6.1.3.16-1 and Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting on PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; and multiple fields/(S0, S1, S2, S3) associated with the serving cell ID field/(serving cell ID field) that are each configured/configuration to indicate/indicates an activation state/activation for a corresponding SP-CSI report/SP CSI reporting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the signal is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) and wherein the MAC CE includes a serving cell ID field configured indicate a serving cell ID for which the MAC CE applies and multiple fields associated with the serving cell ID field that are each configured to indicate an activation state for a corresponding SP-CSI report” as taught by 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL in the system of Zhou ‘436 so the network activates and deactivates the configured TCI states for PDSCH of a Serving Cell by sending the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE (see Section 5.18.4 Activation/Deactivation of UE-Specific PDSCH TCI State of 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL).
Regarding Claim 3, Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the multiple fields are ordered within the MAC CE based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) provided as part of the CSI report configuration information”.
However, 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL discloses the processor, wherein the multiple fields are ordered within the MAC CE (see Figure 6.1.3.16-1 and Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting ON PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; wherein the multiple fields/(S0, S1, S2, S3) are ordered/(S0, S1, S2, S3 are in sequential order in Oct 2) within the MAC CE/(MAC CE) based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE)) based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) (see Figure 6.1.3.16-1 and Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting ON PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE)/S0 refers to the report configuration which includes PUCCH resources for SP CSI reporting in the indicated BWP and has the lowest CSI-ReportConfigId within the list with type set to "semiPersistentOnPUCCH", S1 to the report configuration which includes PUCCH resources for SP CSI reporting in the indicated BWP and has the second lowest CSI-ReportConfigId and so on) provided as part of the CSI report configuration information (see Figure 6.1.3.16-1 and Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting ON PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; provided as part of the CSI report configuration information/CSI report configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the multiple fields are ordered within the MAC CE based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) provided as part of the CSI report configuration information” as taught by 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL in the system of Zhou ‘436 so the network activates and deactivates the configured TCI states for PDSCH of a Serving Cell by sending the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE (see Section 5.18.4 Activation/Deactivation of UE-Specific PDSCH TCI State of 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the MAC CE is configured to activate and deactivate SP-CSI reports for multiple serving cells (see Figures 46A, 47, 49A, 50 and paragraph 476, 478, 480, 489 and 492; wherein the MAC CE/MAC CE) is configured/configured to activate/activation and deactivate/deactivation SP-CSI reports/(SP CSI report) for multiple serving cells/multiple cells (at most 7 SCells) configured).
Regarding Claim 12, Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the signal is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) and wherein the MAC CE includes a serving cell ID field configured indicate a serving cell ID for which the MAC CE applies and multiple fields associated with the serving cell ID field that are each configured to indicate an activation state for a corresponding SP-CSI report”.
However, 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL discloses the processor, wherein the signal is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (see Section 5.18.4 Activation/Deactivation of UE-specific PDSCH TCI State; wherein the signal/(MAC CE) is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)/MAC CE) and wherein the MAC CE includes a serving cell ID field configured indicate a serving cell ID for which the MAC CE applies (see Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting on PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; and wherein the MAC CE/(MAC CE) includes a serving cell ID field/(serving Cell ID field) configured indicate a serving cell ID/(serving cell ID) for which the MAC CE/(MAC CE) applies/applies) and multiple fields associated with the serving cell ID field that are each configured to indicate an activation state for a corresponding SP-CSI report (see Figure 6.1.3.16-1 and Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting on PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; and multiple fields/(S0, S1, S2, S3) associated with the serving cell ID field/(serving cell ID field) that are each configured/configuration to indicate/indicates an activation state/activation for a corresponding SP-CSI report/SP CSI reporting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the signal is a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) and wherein the MAC CE includes a serving cell ID field configured indicate a serving cell ID for which the MAC CE applies and multiple fields associated with the serving cell ID field that are each configured to indicate an activation state for a corresponding SP-CSI report” as taught by 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL in the system of Zhou ‘436 so the network activates and deactivates the configured TCI states for PDSCH of a Serving Cell by sending the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE (see Section 5.18.4 Activation/Deactivation of UE-Specific PDSCH TCI State of 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL).
Regarding Claim 13, Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the multiple fields are ordered within the MAC CE based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) provided as part of the CSI report configuration information”.
However, 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL discloses the processor, wherein the multiple fields are ordered within the MAC CE (see Figure 6.1.3.16-1 and Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting ON PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; wherein the multiple fields/(S0, S1, S2, S3) are ordered/(S0, S1, S2, S3 are in sequential order in Oct 2) within the MAC CE/(MAC CE) based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE)) based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) (see Figure 6.1.3.16-1 and Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting ON PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE)/S0 refers to the report configuration which includes PUCCH resources for SP CSI reporting in the indicated BWP and has the lowest CSI-ReportConfigId within the list with type set to "semiPersistentOnPUCCH", S1 to the report configuration which includes PUCCH resources for SP CSI reporting in the indicated BWP and has the second lowest CSI-ReportConfigId and so on) provided as part of the CSI report configuration information (see Figure 6.1.3.16-1 and Section 6.1.3.16 SP CSI Reporting ON PUCCH Activation/Deactivation MAC CE; provided as part of the CSI report configuration information/CSI report configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the multiple fields are ordered within the MAC CE based on the ID of a corresponding CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE) provided as part of the CSI report configuration information” as taught by 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL in the system of Zhou ‘436 so the network activates and deactivates the configured TCI states for PDSCH of a Serving Cell by sending the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE (see Section 5.18.4 Activation/Deactivation of UE-Specific PDSCH TCI State of 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the MAC CE is configured to activate and deactivate SP-CSI reports for multiple serving cells (see Figures 46A, 47, 49A, 50 and paragraph 476, 478, 480, 489 and 492; wherein the MAC CE/MAC CE) is configured/configured to activate/activation and deactivate/deactivation SP-CSI reports/(SP CSI report) for multiple serving cells/multiple cells (at most 7 SCells) configured).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘436 in view of 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL, and further in view of Sun et al (WO 2022/067862 A1), hereinafter Sun.
Regarding Claim 6, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the MAC CE is further configured to indicate a configuration change (see Figure 48A and paragraph 484; wherein the MAC CE/(MAC CE) is further configured to indicate a configuration change/A second octet (e.g., Oct 1 in FIG. 48A) in the MAC CE may indicate a RS resource configuration associated with the RS resource configuration ID).
Although the combination of Zhou ‘436 and 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL discloses the MAC CE is further configured to indicate a configuration change as set forth above,
The combination of Zhou ‘436 and 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL does not explicitly disclose “corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information”.
However, Sun discloses corresponding to an information element (IE) (see Figure 4, step 410 and paragraph 33; corresponding to an information element (IE)/(The CSI-RS configuration parameters may include CSI-RS resources in the non-zero power CSI-RS resource set (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet)) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information (see paragraph 40; provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig/CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information/CSI reporting configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information” as taught by Sun in the combined system of Zhou ‘436 and 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL to provide channel state information reporting (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Sun).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the MAC CE is further configured to indicate a configuration change (see Figure 48A and paragraph 484; wherein the MAC CE/(MAC CE) is further configured to indicate a configuration change/A second octet (e.g., Oct 1 in FIG. 48A) in the MAC CE may indicate a RS resource configuration associated with the RS resource configuration ID).
Although the combination of Zhou ‘436 and 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL discloses the MAC CE is further configured to indicate a configuration change as set forth above,
The combination of Zhou ‘436 and 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL does not explicitly disclose “corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information”.
However, Sun discloses corresponding to an information element (IE) (see Figure 4, step 410 and paragraph 33; corresponding to an information element (IE)/(The CSI-RS configuration parameters may include CSI-RS resources in the non-zero power CSI-RS resource set (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet)) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information (see paragraph 40; provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig/CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information/CSI reporting configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information” as taught by Sun in the combined system of Zhou ‘436 and 3GPP TS 38.321 NPL to provide channel state information reporting (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Sun).
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘436 in view of Jeon et al (US 11,388,679 B2), hereinafter Jeon.
Regarding Claim 8, Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the signal is downlink control information (DCI) as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly disclose wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI includes a field configured to indicate a CSI report periodicity and slot offset for SP-CSI reports”.
However, Jeon discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) and wherein the DCI includes a field configured to indicate a CSI report periodicity and slot offset for SP-CSI reports (see column 32, lines 59-67 and column 33, lines 9-15; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI and wherein the DCI/DCI includes a field configured to indicate a CSI report periodicity/(CSI report periodicity) and slot offset/(slot offset) for SP-CSI reports/SP-CSI reports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI includes a field configured to indicate a CSI report periodicity and slot offset for SP-CSI reports” as taught by Jeon in the system of Zhou ‘436 to improve wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency (see column 1, lines 24-26).
Regarding Claim 18, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) (see Figures 30 and 32 and paragraphs 320, 342 and 345; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI).
Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the signal is downlink control information (DCI) as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly disclose wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI includes a field configured to indicate a CSI report periodicity and slot offset for SP-CSI reports”.
However, Jeon discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) and wherein the DCI includes a field configured to indicate a CSI report periodicity and slot offset for SP-CSI reports (see column 32, lines 59-67 and column 33, lines 9-15; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI and wherein the DCI/DCI includes a field configured to indicate a CSI report periodicity/(CSI report periodicity) and slot offset/(slot offset) for SP-CSI reports/SP-CSI reports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI includes a field configured to indicate a CSI report periodicity and slot offset for SP-CSI reports” as taught by Jeon in the system of Zhou ‘436 to improve wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency (see column 1, lines 24-26).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘436 in view of Jang et al (KR 10-2021-0186107), hereinafter Jang, where English Language of the convenient translation of (US 2023/0209527 A1), per MPEP 901.05.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) (see Figures 30 and 32 and paragraphs 320, 342 and 345; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI).
Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the signal is downlink control information (DCI) as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly disclose wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) value, wherein the TDRA value is mapped to an entry of a list comprising sets of CSI report periodicity and slot offset values”.
However, Jang discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) and wherein the DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) value (see Table 29 and Figure 32 and paragraphs 252-253; and wherein the DCI/DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) value/time domain resource allocation information), wherein the TDRA value is mapped to an entry of a list comprising sets of CSI report periodicity and slot offset values (see Table 44 and paragraph 505; wherein the TDRA value/(TimeDomainAllocationList) is mapped to an entry of a list/list comprising sets of CSI report periodicity/(The corresponding periodicity is provided by reportSlotConfig in the same semiPersistentOnPUSCH structure: reportSlotConfig-Periodicity and slot offset) and slot offset values/report slot offset value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) value, wherein the TDRA value is mapped to an entry of a list comprising sets of CSI report periodicity and slot offset values” as taught by Jang in the system of Zhou ‘436 to provide a method for measuring and reporting channel conditions in a 5G communication system (see paragraph 500 of Jang).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) (see Figures 30 and 32 and paragraphs 320, 342 and 345; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI).
Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the signal is downlink control information (DCI) as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly disclose wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) value, wherein the TDRA value is mapped to an entry of a list comprising sets of CSI report periodicity and slot offset values”.
However, Jang discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) and wherein the DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) value (see Table 29 and Figure 32 and paragraphs 252-253; and wherein the DCI/DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) value/time domain resource allocation information), wherein the TDRA value is mapped to an entry of a list comprising sets of CSI report periodicity and slot offset values (see Table 44 and paragraph 505; wherein the TDRA value/(TimeDomainAllocationList) is mapped to an entry of a list/list comprising sets of CSI report periodicity/(The corresponding periodicity is provided by reportSlotConfig in the same semiPersistentOnPUSCH structure: reportSlotConfig-Periodicity and slot offset) and slot offset values/report slot offset value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI includes a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) value, wherein the TDRA value is mapped to an entry of a list comprising sets of CSI report periodicity and slot offset values” as taught by Jang in the system of Zhou ‘436 to provide a method for measuring and reporting channel conditions in a 5G communication system (see paragraph 500 of Jang).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ‘436 in view of Zhou et al (US 2019/0207705 A1), hereinafter Zhou ‘705.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhou ‘436 discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) (see Figures 30 and 32 and paragraphs 320, 342 and 345; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI).
Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the signal is downlink control information (DCI) as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI is further configured to indicate a configuration change corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information”.
However, Zhou ‘705 discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) and wherein the DCI is further configured to indicate a configuration change (see Figure 32 and paragraph 361; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI and wherein the DCI/DCI is further configured to indicate/indicating a configuration change/one or more transmission parameter change (or updates) for an activated SP CSI reporting) corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information (see Figure 29 and paragraphs 317 and 361; corresponding to an information element (IE)/(CSI reporting setting) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig/(configuration of CSI reporting) in the CSI report configuration information/CSI report configuration information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI is further configured to indicate a configuration change corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information” as taught by Zhou ‘705 in the system of Zhou ‘436 to provide SP CSI reporting activation (see paragraph 319 of Zhou ‘705).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhou discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) (see Figures 30 and 32 and paragraphs 320, 342 and 345; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI).
Although Zhou ‘436 discloses the signal is downlink control information (DCI) as set forth above,
Zhou ‘436 does not explicitly wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI is further configured to indicate a configuration change corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information”.
However, Zhou ‘705 discloses the processor, wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) and wherein the DCI is further configured to indicate a configuration change (see Figure 32 and paragraph 361; wherein the signal/DCI is downlink control information (DCI)/DCI and wherein the DCI/DCI is further configured to indicate/indicating a configuration change/one or more transmission parameter change (or updates) for an activated SP CSI reporting) corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information (see Figure 29 and paragraphs 317 and 361; corresponding to an information element (IE)/(CSI reporting setting) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig/(configuration of CSI reporting) in the CSI report configuration information/CSI report configuration information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the signal is downlink control information (DCI) “and wherein the DCI is further configured to indicate a configuration change corresponding to an information element (IE) provided as part of a CSI-ReportConfig in the CSI report configuration information” as taught by Zhou ‘705 in the system of Zhou ‘436 to provide SP CSI reporting activation (see paragraph 319 of Zhou ‘705).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bae et al (US 2020/0280357 A1) discloses Method for transmitting and receiving channel state information in wireless communication system and apparatus therefor. Specifically, see paragraphs 119-284.
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469