DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 4-8, 10-14 and 27 in the reply filed on 6/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 4 recites “in the range from 25 nm” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “in a range from 25 nm” in line 2.
Claim 5 recites “a size in the range” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “a size in a range” in line 2.
Claim 6 recites “in the range from 10 nm” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “in a range from 10 nm” in line 2.
Claim 12 recites “at least 84% in the wavelength” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “at least 84% in a wavelength” in line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (“Simultaneous improvements in self-cleaning and light-trapping abilities of polymer substrates for flexible organic solar cells”, Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 2018, Cite No. 13 on IDS submitted 1/7/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong et al. teach an amphiphobic coating comprising a polymeric substrate having an oxygen plasma treated surface; a silicon dioxide nanoporous layer comprising silicon dioxide nanoparticles disposed directly on the oxygen plasma treated surface; and a fluoroalkylsilane layer disposed directly on the silicon dioxide nanoporous layer (Experimental; Results and Discussion, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Jeong et al. teach wherein the fluoroalkylsilane layer is a self-assemble layer (Experimental).
Regarding claim 8, Jeong et al. teach wherein surface of the silicon dioxide nanoporous layer comprises hydroxyl groups, and wherein the fluoroalkylsilane layer disposed directly on the silicon dioxide nanoporous layer is covalently bonded to the silicon dioxide nanoporous layer via the hydroxyl groups (Experimental).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong et al. teach wherein the fluoroalkylsilane layer is formed from trichloro (1H,1H,2H,2H-perfluorooctyl) silane (Experimental).
Regarding claim 13, Jeong et al. teach wherein contact angle of water on the amphiphobic coating is 169° which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of more than 150° (Results and Discussion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (“Simultaneous improvements in self-cleaning and light-trapping abilities of polymer substrates for flexible organic solar cells”, Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 2018, Cite No. 13 on IDS submitted 1/7/2025) in view of Yang et al. (US Patent Application No. 2014/0147631).
Jeong et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 4, Jeong et al. fail to teach wherein the silicon dioxide nanoparticles have an average size in the range from 25 nm to 50 nm. However, Yang et al. teach an amphiphobic coating (page 1, paragraph [0003]) comprising a polymeric substrate having an oxygen plasma treated surface (page 5, paragraph [0093], page 6, paragraphs [0107], [0112]); a silicon dioxide layer comprising silicon dioxide nanoparticles (page 5, paragraphs [0095], [0096]), wherein the silicon dioxide nanoparticles have an average size in a range of about 1 nm up to about 200 nm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of from 25 nm to 50 nm (page 5, paragraph [0096]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the nanoparticles of Jeong et al. to that of Yang et al. in order to provide a nanoparticle suitable for a transparent surface (Yang et al., page 5, paragraph [0096]).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (“Simultaneous improvements in self-cleaning and light-trapping abilities of polymer substrates for flexible organic solar cells”, Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 2018, Cite No. 13 on IDS submitted 1/7/2025).
Jeong et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 5, Jeong et al. do not disclose wherein the silicon dioxide nanoparticles form clusters having a size in the range from 150 nm to 250 nm. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in size involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the size of the nanoparticle clusters of Jeong et al. in order to exhibit multifunctional features for flexible OSCs including high contaminant repelling and light harvesting abilities (Jeong et al., Results and Discussion).
Regarding claim 11, Jeong et al. do not disclose wherein roughness factor Rf of the amphiphobic coating is 0.2451 or less. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in roughness factor involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the roughness factor of the amphiphobic coating of Jeong et al. in order to exhibit multifunctional features for flexible OSCs including high contaminant repelling and light harvesting abilities (Jeong et al., Results and Discussion).
Claims 6 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (“Simultaneous improvements in self-cleaning and light-trapping abilities of polymer substrates for flexible organic solar cells”, Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 2018, Cite No. 13 on IDS submitted 1/7/2025) in view of Poxson et al. (US Patent Application No. 2013/0209780).
Jeong et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 6, Jeong et al. fail to teach wherein the silicon dioxide nanoporous layer has a thickness in the range from 10 nm to 500 nm. However, Poxson et al. teach a coating comprising a polymeric substrate (page 1, paragraphs [0008], [0009]); a silicon dioxide nanoporous layer comprising silicon dioxide nanoparticles disposed directly on the substrate (page 1, paragraphs [0008], [0009], page 2, paragraph [0014]), wherein the silicon dioxide nanoporous layer has a thickness in a range of from about 10 nm to about 10000 nm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 10 nm to 500 nm (page 1, paragraph [0009], page 2, paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the silicon dioxide nanoporous layer thickness of Jeong et al. to that of Poxson et al. in order to maintain optical and mechanical characteristics (Poxson et al., page 1, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 27, Jeong et al. teach an article of manufacture comprising an amphiphobic coating, the amphiphobic coating comprising a polymeric substrate having an oxygen plasma treated surface; a silicon dioxide nanoporous layer comprising silicon dioxide nanoparticles disposed directly on the oxygen plasma treated surface; and a fluoroalkylsilane layer disposed directly on the silicon dioxide nanoporous layer (Experimental; Results and Discussion, Figure 1).
Jeong et al. fail to teach wherein the article is an optical component, sensor, lens, goggles, mirror, windshield, face shield, display, window, or cookware covers. However, Poxson et al. teach an article of manufacture (page 7, paragraph [0069]) comprising a coating, the coating comprising a polymeric substrate (page 1, paragraphs [0008], [0009]); a silicon dioxide nanoporous layer comprising silicon dioxide nanoparticles disposed directly on the substrate (page 1, paragraphs [0008], [0009], page 2, paragraph [0014]), wherein the article is an optical component, sensor, lens, mirror or display (page 7, paragraph [0069])
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the article of Jeong et al. as that of Poxson et al. in order to provide various applications to the article (Poxson et al., page 7, paragraph [0069]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (“Simultaneous improvements in self-cleaning and light-trapping abilities of polymer substrates for flexible organic solar cells”, Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 2018, Cite No. 13 on IDS submitted 1/7/2025) in view of Bake et al. (US Patent Application No. 2019/0136073).
Jeong et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 12, Jeong et al. fail to teach wherein the amphiphobic coating exhibits a transmittance of at least 84% in the wavelength region from 400 nm to 700 nm. However, Bake et al. teach a superhydrophobic coating (page 4, paragraph [0018]) comprising a polymeric substrate (page 7, paragraph [0143]) and a silicon dioxide layer comprising silicon dioxide nanoparticles (page 8, paragraph [0146]), wherein the coating exhibits a transmittance of 60% to 90% in a wavelength region of 400 to 800 nm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of at least 84% in the wavelength region from 400 nm to 700 nm (page 4, paragraph [0032], page 8, paragraph [0150]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmittance of the amphiphobic coating of Jeong et al. to that of Bake et al. in order to allow light transmittance through the coating (Bake et al., page 4, paragraph [0032], page 8, paragraph [0150]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (“Simultaneous improvements in self-cleaning and light-trapping abilities of polymer substrates for flexible organic solar cells”, Journal of Materials Chemistry A, 2018, Cite No. 13 on IDS submitted 1/7/2025) in view of Ezazi et al. (US Patent Application No. 2021/0261807).
Jeong et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 14, Jeong et al. fail to teach wherein contact angle of diiodomethane on the amphiphobic coating is more than 130°. However, Ezazi et al. teach an omniphobic coating (page 1, paragraph [0006]) comprising silicon dioxide porous layer comprising silicon dioxide nanoparticles (page 3, paragraphs [0041], [0042]), wherein contact angle of diiodomethane on the omniphobic coating is not less than 140° which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of more than 130° (page 5, paragraph [0052], page 6, paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact angle of diiodomethane of Jeong et al. to that of Ezazi et al. in order to provide adequate omniphobicity (Ezazi et al., page 5, paragraph [0052]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 7/8/2026