DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 3/31/2026.
No claims have been added.
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 9, 11-14, 17, 19-22, 24-29, 33-37, 39, 42-43, 46-80, 82 and 84-85 has/have been cancelled.
Claims(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10, 15-16, 18, 23, 30-32, 38, 40-41, 44-45, 81 and 83 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 10/17/2024, 10/17/2025 and 3/31/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Foreign Patent Documents citation #1, listed on IDS dated 2024-10-17, cites reference IN 202047017653, however, the reference is not found in the file wrapper. A reference which appears that it might be the reference IN 202047017653 is included in the file wrapper, however, the reference included in the file wrapper does not indicate that it is associated with the reference designation “IN 202047017653”.
Other Documents citations 2-9, listed on IDS dated 2024-10-17, do not include the reference designation indicators.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/17/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a communication unit, configured to…” in claim 83.
Examiner’s Comments Regarding Subject Matter Eligibility
The abstract ideas of ““determining a starting position of an on-duration timer…” as noted in claim 1 and similarly as noted in claim 45, claim 81 and claim 83 are considered as being recited with additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and the claims are therefore considered as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 18, 38, 40, 41, 45, 81 and 83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kadiri et al. US 20230033440.
As to claim 1:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
A wireless communication method for use in a wireless terminal,
the method comprising:
performing a discontinuous reception, (DRX) to monitor a physical downlink control channel, (PDCCH),
(“The UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH for unicast transmissions from a base station 105 in the unicast C-DRX active duration 510. Similarly, the UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH, an MCCH, an MTCH, or a combination thereof for MBS transmissions from the base station in the MBS C-DRX active duration 515. The unicast C-DRX configuration, the MBS C-DRX configuration, or both may also include a WUS monitoring occasion 505. In some examples, the UE 115 may monitor for unicast WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion 505. In other examples, the UE 115 may monitor for MBS WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion.”; Kadiri et al.; 0127)
(where
“monitor a PDCCH…in the unicast C-DRX active duration”/”monitor a PDCCH…in the MBS C-CRX active duration”/FIG. 5 maps to “performing a discontinuous reception, (DRX) to monitor a physical downlink control channel, (PDCCH),
determining a starting position of an on-duration timer for a next DRX cycle according to at least one of a first signaling or
(“The WUS format 402 may represent an alternative bit format for MBS WUS interpretation at a UE 115. In such examples, to support the alternative bit format, the base station 105 may use RRC signaling to configure the UE 115 with an offset field indicating DCI bit positions for each MBS indicated by the WUS format 402. Additionally or alternatively, an MBS-specific DRX ON Duration Timer may be defined (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) to support the WUS format 402. In some examples, a group of MBSs may be mapped to one of the MBS session wake up indication bits 405. That is, the base station 105 may configure the WUS format 402 such that a single bit corresponds to multiple MBSs. In some examples, the MBS session wake up indication bits 405 may be configured through RRC signaling or may be generated through a hash function (e.g., as a function of an MBS session ID). If multiple MBS services are grouped together to use a common MBS C-DRX configuration, a common MBS WUS bit can be used by the UE 115 to determine whether to start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX cycle.”; Kadiri et al.; 0115)
(where
FIG. 5 illustrates determining different location for “Active Duration” based on “Unicast” or “MBS” which maps to “determining a starting position”, “WUS” in “WUS monitoring occasion 505” maps to “at least one signaling”, “start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX cycle” maps to “starting position of an on-duration timer for a next DRX cycle”, where FIG. 5 illustrates “according”
and activating the on-duration timer at the starting position that is determined, wherein the first signaling is monitored in a time period.
(where
“a common MBS WUS bit can be used by the UE 115 to determine whether to start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer)”/FIG. 5 maps to “activating the on-duration timer at the starting position that is determined”, where “WUS monitoring occasion 505” maps to “wherein the first signaling is monitored in a time period”, where “monitoring occasion” maps to “time period”
Kadiri et al. teaches receiving a WUS in a monitoring occasion and determining where and whether to turn on an on duration timer for a next DRX cycle based on a WUS bit.
As to claim 18:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
A wireless communication method wherein the first signaling is downlink control information, {DCI}, a sequence based signaling or a reference signal; and
the first signaling comprises indication information for at least one of: whether to start the on-duration timer,…
(“A WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. In some cases, the WUS may not affect other timers (e.g., bwp-inactivityTimer, dataInactivityTimer, and sCellDeactivationTimer) of the UE 115. The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). A WUS can be configured on a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell (PSCell). A WUS may indicate dormancy behavior for a number (e.g., 5) of secondary cell (SCell) groups. In some cases, a WUS can be jointly received by a group of UEs 115. For example, the group of UEs 115 may receive a WUS based on monitoring one or more CSS sets.”; Kadiri et al.; 0084)
As to claim 38:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
A wireless communication method further comprising:
monitoring the first signaling if:
at least part of the time period is outside of an active time of the DRX,
(see FIG. 3, FIG. 5)
a search space is configured for the first signaling,
(“For each MBS search space set configured for monitoring a DCI format associated with MBS WUS (e.g., DCI format 2_6 or a modified DCI format), the UE 115 may monitor PDCCH occasions in a first duration starting at or after a timing offset 625 (e.g., mbs-ps-Offset) and ending before a slot 605-g in which a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) is to start. A time gap 620 may be defined as a time duration before the slot 605-g in which the DRX activation timer is to start (e.g., in which the UE 115 may not monitor the DCI format associated with MBS WUS). If the UE 115 detects the MBS DCI format in at least one of the MBS WUS monitoring occasions 640, the UE may operate according to an indication in an MBS service-specific field of the MBS DCI format.”; Kadiri et al.; 0135)
…
As to claim 40:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
A wireless communication method wherein the predefined condition comprises at least one of:
…
receiving a first kind of DCI format, wherein the first kind of DCI format includes at least
one of: …, or a DCI format 2_6
…
receiving DCI scrambled with a first kind ofRNTI, wherein the first kind of RNTI includes at least one of:
…
a power saving RNTI,
…
(“A WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. In some cases, the WUS may not affect other timers (e.g., bwp-inactivityTimer, dataInactivityTimer, and sCellDeactivationTimer) of the UE 115. The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). A WUS can be configured on a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell (PSCell). A WUS may indicate dormancy behavior for a number (e.g., 5) of secondary cell (SCell) groups. In some cases, a WUS can be jointly received by a group of UEs 115. For example, the group of UEs 115 may receive a WUS based on monitoring one or more CSS sets.”; Kadiri et al.; 0084)
As to claim 41:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
A wireless communication method wherein:
determining the starting position of the on-duration timer for the next DRX cycle according to the first signaling comprises:
determining the starting position of the on-duration timer for the next DRX cycle based on the indication information in the first signaling, or…
(“The WUS format 402 may represent an alternative bit format for MBS WUS interpretation at a UE 115. In such examples, to support the alternative bit format, the base station 105 may use RRC signaling to configure the UE 115 with an offset field indicating DCI bit positions for each MBS indicated by the WUS format 402. Additionally or alternatively, an MBS-specific DRX ON Duration Timer may be defined (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) to support the WUS format 402. In some examples, a group of MBSs may be mapped to one of the MBS session wake up indication bits 405. That is, the base station 105 may configure the WUS format 402 such that a single bit corresponds to multiple MBSs. In some examples, the MBS session wake up indication bits 405 may be configured through RRC signaling or may be generated through a hash function (e.g., as a function of an MBS session ID). If multiple MBS services are grouped together to use a common MBS C-DRX configuration, a common MBS WUS bit can be used by the UE 115 to determine whether to start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX cycle.”; Kadiri et al.; 0115)
(see FIG. 3 and FIG. 5)
As to claim 45:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
A wireless communication method for use in a wireless network
node, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a first signaling in a time period,
wherein the first signaling is associated with determining a starting position of an on-duration timer of a discontinuous reception, {DRX}.
(“The UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH for unicast transmissions from a base station 105 in the unicast C-DRX active duration 510. Similarly, the UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH, an MCCH, an MTCH, or a combination thereof for MBS transmissions from the base station in the MBS C-DRX active duration 515. The unicast C-DRX configuration, the MBS C-DRX configuration, or both may also include a WUS monitoring occasion 505. In some examples, the UE 115 may monitor for unicast WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion 505. In other examples, the UE 115 may monitor for MBS WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion.”; Kadiri et al.; 0127)
(“The WUS format 402 may represent an alternative bit format for MBS WUS interpretation at a UE 115. In such examples, to support the alternative bit format, the base station 105 may use RRC signaling to configure the UE 115 with an offset field indicating DCI bit positions for each MBS indicated by the WUS format 402. Additionally or alternatively, an MBS-specific DRX ON Duration Timer may be defined (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) to support the WUS format 402. In some examples, a group of MBSs may be mapped to one of the MBS session wake up indication bits 405. That is, the base station 105 may configure the WUS format 402 such that a single bit corresponds to multiple MBSs. In some examples, the MBS session wake up indication bits 405 may be configured through RRC signaling or may be generated through a hash function (e.g., as a function of an MBS session ID). If multiple MBS services are grouped together to use a common MBS C-DRX configuration, a common MBS WUS bit can be used by the UE 115 to determine whether to start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX cycle.”; Kadiri et al.; 0115)
Kadiri et al. teaches receiving a WUS in a monitoring occasion and determining where and whether to turn on an on duration timer for a next DRX cycle based on a WUS bit.
As to claim 81:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
A wireless terminal, comprising:
a communication unit, and
a processor, configured to:
(see FIG. 9 and FIG. 11)
use the communication unit to perform a discontinuous reception, {DRX}, to monitor a physical downlink control channel, {PDCCH},
(“The UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH for unicast transmissions from a base station 105 in the unicast C-DRX active duration 510. Similarly, the UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH, an MCCH, an MTCH, or a combination thereof for MBS transmissions from the base station in the MBS C-DRX active duration 515. The unicast C-DRX configuration, the MBS C-DRX configuration, or both may also include a WUS monitoring occasion 505. In some examples, the UE 115 may monitor for unicast WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion 505. In other examples, the UE 115 may monitor for MBS WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion.”; Kadiri et al.; 0127)
(where
“monitor a PDCCH…in the unicast C-DRX active duration”/”monitor a PDCCH…in the MBS C-CRX active duration”/FIG. 5 maps to “performing a discontinuous reception, (DRX) to monitor a physical downlink control channel, (PDCCH),
determine a starting position of an on-duration timer for a next DRX cycle according to at least one of a first signaling or
(“The WUS format 402 may represent an alternative bit format for MBS WUS interpretation at a UE 115. In such examples, to support the alternative bit format, the base station 105 may use RRC signaling to configure the UE 115 with an offset field indicating DCI bit positions for each MBS indicated by the WUS format 402. Additionally or alternatively, an MBS-specific DRX ON Duration Timer may be defined (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) to support the WUS format 402. In some examples, a group of MBSs may be mapped to one of the MBS session wake up indication bits 405. That is, the base station 105 may configure the WUS format 402 such that a single bit corresponds to multiple MBSs. In some examples, the MBS session wake up indication bits 405 may be configured through RRC signaling or may be generated through a hash function (e.g., as a function of an MBS session ID). If multiple MBS services are grouped together to use a common MBS C-DRX configuration, a common MBS WUS bit can be used by the UE 115 to determine whether to start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX cycle.”; Kadiri et al.; 0115)
(where
FIG. 5 illustrates determining different location for “Active Duration” based on “Unicast” or “MBS” which maps to “determining a starting position”, “WUS” in “WUS monitoring occasion 505” maps to “at least one signaling”, “start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX cycle” maps to “starting position of an on-duration timer for a next DRX cycle”, where FIG. 5 illustrates “according”
activate the on-duration timer at the determined starting position,
wherein the first signaling is monitored in a time period.
(where
“a common MBS WUS bit can be used by the UE 115 to determine whether to start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer)”/FIG. 5 maps to “activating the on-duration timer at the starting position that is determined”, where “WUS monitoring occasion 505” maps to “wherein the first signaling is monitored in a time period”, where “monitoring occasion” maps to “time period”
Kadiri et al. teaches receiving a WUS in a monitoring occasion and determining where and whether to turn on an on duration timer for a next DRX cycle based on a WUS bit.
As to claim 83:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
A wireless network node, comprising:
a communication unit, configured to perform the wireless communication method according
to
A wireless communication method for use in a wireless network
node, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a first signaling in a time period,
wherein the first signaling is associated with determining a starting position of an on-duration timer of a discontinuous reception, {DRX}.
(“The UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH for unicast transmissions from a base station 105 in the unicast C-DRX active duration 510. Similarly, the UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH, an MCCH, an MTCH, or a combination thereof for MBS transmissions from the base station in the MBS C-DRX active duration 515. The unicast C-DRX configuration, the MBS C-DRX configuration, or both may also include a WUS monitoring occasion 505. In some examples, the UE 115 may monitor for unicast WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion 505. In other examples, the UE 115 may monitor for MBS WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion.”; Kadiri et al.; 0127)
(“The WUS format 402 may represent an alternative bit format for MBS WUS interpretation at a UE 115. In such examples, to support the alternative bit format, the base station 105 may use RRC signaling to configure the UE 115 with an offset field indicating DCI bit positions for each MBS indicated by the WUS format 402. Additionally or alternatively, an MBS-specific DRX ON Duration Timer may be defined (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) to support the WUS format 402. In some examples, a group of MBSs may be mapped to one of the MBS session wake up indication bits 405. That is, the base station 105 may configure the WUS format 402 such that a single bit corresponds to multiple MBSs. In some examples, the MBS session wake up indication bits 405 may be configured through RRC signaling or may be generated through a hash function (e.g., as a function of an MBS session ID). If multiple MBS services are grouped together to use a common MBS C-DRX configuration, a common MBS WUS bit can be used by the UE 115 to determine whether to start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX cycle.”; Kadiri et al.; 0115)
Kadiri et al. teaches receiving a WUS in a monitoring occasion and determining where and whether to turn on an on duration timer for a next DRX cycle based on a WUS bit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Ahmad et al. US 20200229093 (U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #3, noted on IDS dated 20/17/2025).
As to claim 2:
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the time period is determined by at least one of a monitoring period indicating a cycle of the first signaling,…
However, Ahmad et al. further teaches a monitoring periodicity capability which includes:
wherein the time period is determined by at least one of a monitoring period indicating a cycle of the first signaling,…
(“In another embodiment, a UE can determine (e.g., implicitly) the configuration of a wake-up signal/channel based on DRX configuration, if the UE is configured to monitor the wake-up signal/channel. For example, in at least some instances, the UE can assume that the monitoring periodicity of the wake-up signal/channel is the same as (or multiple of, or a fraction of) a configured DRX cycle, and the monitoring occasion of the wake-up signal/channel can be determined based on the start of DRX ON duration (e.g. the first [X] symbols of the ON duration, the first [X] symbols of slot n-k, k slots prior to the slot n corresponding to the start of the ON duration, k can be a single value or multiple values corresponding to single slot or multiple slot hypothesis/blind detection for receiving the wake up signal/channel).”; Ahmad et al.; 0067)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the monitoring periodicity capability of Ahmad et al. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the monitoring periodicity capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ahmad et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved performance (Ahmad et al.; 0132) are achieved.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Tseng et al. US 20230199643.
As to claim 4:
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
a start of the time period is determined based on a first reference point and a first offset, and wherein the first offset indicates a time duration between the starting point of the time period and the first reference point; and
the first reference point comprises at least one of: a beginning of a slot or a subframe or … at where the on-duration timer for the next DRX cycle starts,…
However, Kadiri et al. further teaches an offset capability which includes:
a start of the time period is determined based on a first reference point and a first offset, and wherein the first offset indicates a time duration between the starting point of the time period and the first reference point; and
the first reference point comprises at least one of: a beginning of a slot or a subframe or … at where the on-duration timer for the next DRX cycle starts,…
(“ps-Offset: an offset indicating a time, where the UE starts monitoring PDCCH for detection of a DCI format 2_6 according to the number of search space sets, prior to a slot where the drx-onDuarationTimer would start on the PCell or SpCell (by referring to TS 38.321). [0094] for each search space set, the PDCCH monitoring occasions are the ones in the first T.sub.s slots indicated by duration, or T.sub.s = 1 slot if duration is not provided, starting from the first slot of the first T.sub.s slots and ending prior to the start of drx-onDurationTimer.
[0095] On the PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the same long DRX cycle, a UE may not expect to detect more than one DCI format 2_6 with different values of the Wake-up indication bit for the UE or with different values of the bitmap for the UE.”; Tseng et al.; 0093-0095)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the offset capability of Ahmad et al. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the offset capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ahmad et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved wake-up (0085) are achieved.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Ahmad et al. US 20200229093 (U.S. Patent Application Publications citation #3, noted on IDS dated 20/17/2025) and in further view of Li et al. US 20230309016.
As to claim 7:
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first offset has different values for different values of a quality of service parameter or
However, Kadiri et al. further teaches an offset/QoS capability which includes:
wherein the first offset has different values for different values of a quality of service parameter or
(“An SL DRX configuration (e.g., referred to herein as sl-drx-config) may include at least SL DRX cycle length (i.e. SL DRX pattern), SL DRX On duration (i.e. the duration of UEs' active state or phase), SL DRX offset (i.e. SL DRX On starting point), SL DRX Inactivity timer value(s), SL DRX HARQ RTT timer value(s), SL DRX HARQ Retransmission timer value(s), etc. For example, an SL DRX cycle length may be associated or mapped with a QoS profile or QoS parameter (e.g., a value or a range of latency or packet delay budget (PDB) or a traffic pattern), an SL DRX Inactivity timer value may be associated or mapped with a QoS profile or QoS parameter (e.g., a value or a range of latency or packet delay budget (PDB), reliability or priority, data rate or volume, etc.), an SL DRX HARQ RTT timer value associated to UE's capability (e.g., processing time line), an SL DRX HARQ Retransmission timer value associated or mapped with a QoS profile or QoS parameter (e.g., a value or a range of latency or packet delay budget (PDB), reliability or priority, data rate or volume, etc.), and an SL DRX Offset associated or mapped to or derived from a PC5 RRC link ID for a unicast, or a pair of source ID and destination ID or a destination ID for one direction of a unicast (e.g., the communication direction from UE 802 to UE 804). In some aspects, the SL DRX Offset may be derived with such examples, Offset=Offset.sub.0×(destination-ID mod M) or Offset=Offset.sub.0×[(link-ID mod M)+Offset.sub.direction], where Offset.sub.0 is the time offset (e.g., in slots, subframes, or time unit) between possible SL DRX allocations or between possible adjacent SL DRX On durations configured or mapped for one or more sidelink communications based on QoS or other sidelink configuration parameters such as On duration, Inactivity timer, HARQ retransmission timer, etc., M is the number of possible SL DRX On starting points or SL DRX On allocations within a time window, e.g., a SL DRX cycle length, Offset.sub.direction is a value in [0, M−I] inclusively for a direction of the unicast between two paired UEs (e.g., one value, for example “0”, for the unicast direction from UE1 to UE2, another value, for example “1” or “M−1”, for the unicast direction from UE2 to UE1). In some aspects, the SL DRX Offset may be determined based on the other SL DRX configurations for different unicasts for a UE. In some aspects, the SL DRX Offset may be determined based on the SL DRX Offset from SL DRX information received from Rx UE 804 or preferred SL DRX configuration(s).”; Li et al.; 0073)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the offset/QoS capability of Li et al. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the offset/QoS capability as taught by the processing/communications of Li et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved sidelink communication (Li et al.; 0006) are achieved.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Maleki et al. US 20220394616.
As to claim 8:
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein an end of the time period is determined based on at least one of a …, a window length… wherein the window length is associated with at least one of: …, or traffic information
However, Maleki et al. further teaches a window capability which includes:
wherein an end of the time period is determined based on at least one of a …, a window length… wherein the window length is associated with at least one of: …, or traffic information
(“The NW may further consider the additional delay impact of the PSS offset 5. Long offsets move the effective scheduling decision point earlier and increase the delay for data arriving between the PSS 8a and onDuration 3 start by an additional cDRX cycle length 9. The NW may therefore limit the length of the PSS offset 5 to a minimum predetermined value based on the delay requirements of the current traffic type(s) to the UE or to a value that limits the ratio of the offset 5 and the cDRX period not to exceed a predetermined value, e.g. 5-10%.
[0088] Another parameter in configuring the PSS MOs 2 is the PSS range 6 after PSS offset 5 which may be understood as a PSS MO “window” (or PSS window). In other words, the UE monitors PSS 8a in the PSS MOs 2 configured within this range 6. The PSS range 6 may be defined in different ways, e.g. Y slots after the PSS offset 5, Z ms after the PSS offset 5, or by a number of search space sets that the UE should monitor for PSS MOs 2.”; Maleki et al.; 0087-0088)
(“In reference to FIG. 2 and FIG. 3, an example scenario is where the UE is configured with a specific DRX configuration including at least an “ON duration” configuration 3, as well as a long and/or short DRX cycle 9 configuration. Furthermore, a UE may be configured with one or more PSS Monitoring Occasions (MOs) 2 that occur before an ON duration 3 in accordance with some embodiments. Thus, the PSS MOs 2 may be in a PSS monitoring window (MW) 7 that starts at some point before an ON duration 3 of the DRX cycle and ends at another point before the ON-duration 3 of the DRX cycle 9.”; Maleki et al.; 0059)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the window capability of Maleki et al. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the window capability as taught by the processing/communications of Maleki et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved performance (Maleki et al.; 0060) are achieved.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Maleki et al. US 20220394616 and in further view of Maleki et al. US 20230043789 (hereinafter “Makeki2”).
As to claim 10:
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the end of the time period is determined by the second reference point and the second offset, and wherein the second offset indicates a time duration between the second reference point and
the end of the time period.
However, Maleki2 further teaches an offset/window/range capability which includes:
wherein the end of the time period is determined by the second reference point and the second offset, and wherein the second offset indicates a time duration between the second reference point and
the end of the time period.
(“There currently exist certain challenges. For example, a PDCCH-based power saving signal outside the active time may be configured with an offset before the ON duration of a C-DRX cycle and with a configured range. The configured range, however, can potentially be any value from PS_offset up to one slot before the UE ON duration. Considering the typical values of ON duration, and the maximum PS_offset, this can potentially lead to the UE being awake for WUS monitoring for even a longer duration than ON duration and thereby consuming even a larger amount of power. This in turn leads to reducing the impact of WUS for UE power saving. Therefore, mechanisms to reduce the monitoring span where the UE monitors WUS to a fraction of ON duration is beneficial.”; Maleki et al.; 0009)
(“A user equipment (UE) can be configured with discontinuous reception (DRX). The configuration includes at least an ON duration timer. The configuration can include information related to long and/or short DRX cycle operation. The UE can be configured with one or more monitoring occasions (MOs) for monitoring WUS that can occur before an ON duration. For example, the WUS MOs can be in a window that starts at some point before an ON duration and ends at another point on or before the ON duration.”; Maleki et al.; 0046)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the window capability of Maleki2. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the window capability as taught by the processing/communications of Maleki2, the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved performance (Maleki2; 0060) are achieved.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Huang et al., “Method and Apparatus for Information Monitoring”, 2023-03-09, WO, WO 2023030037 (citations are from English language translation).
As to claim 15:
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
monitoring the first signaling in the time period according to a monitoring pattern; and
wherein the monitoring pattern comprises a bitmap, wherein each bit in the bitmap indicate whether at least one time interval in the time period is valid for monitoring the first signaling, wherein monitoring the first signaling in the time period according to the monitoring pattern comprises: monitoring the first signaling in a valid time interval.
However, Huang et al. further teaches a pattern/bitmap capability which includes:
monitoring the first signaling in the time period according to a monitoring pattern; and
wherein the monitoring pattern comprises a bitmap, wherein each bit in the bitmap indicate whether at least one time interval in the time period is valid for monitoring the first signaling, wherein monitoring the first signaling in the time period according to the monitoring pattern comprises: monitoring the first signaling in a valid time interval.
(“(4) In-slot PDCCH monitoring pattern (pattern), or called in-slot PDCCH monitoring symbol, is used to instruct the CORESET associated with the SS set to monitor the start symbol of PDCCH in a time slot. Identified by a 14-bit bitmap, the highest bit indicates the first OFDM symbol in the time slot, for example, "10000000000000" indicates that the first OFDM symbol in the time slot is the start symbol of monitoring PDCCH in the time slot, and the symbol of monitoring PDCCH The length is determined by the symbol length of the CORESET associated with this SS set.”; Huang et al.; p.15, middle of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the pattern/bitmap capability of Huang et al. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the pattern/bitmap capability as taught by the processing/communications of Huang et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved monitoring (Huang et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Huang et al., “Method and Apparatus for Information Monitoring”, 2023-03-09, WO, WO 2023030037 (citations are from English language translation) and in further view of Agiwal et al. US 20210099954.
As to claim 16:
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the monitoring pattern indicates a monitoring cycle,
wherein monitoring the first signaling in the time period according to the monitoring pattern comprises:
monitoring the first signaling in a time-domain position if (SFN* 10+subframe number) mod (monitoring cycle) = I,
where SFN is a system frame number corresponding to the time-domain position, subframe number is a subframe index corresponding to the time-domain position, and I is an integer greater than or equal to 0 and smaller than the monitoring cycle.
However, Agiwal et al. further teaches a SFN/subframe number/pattern capability which includes:
wherein the monitoring pattern indicates a monitoring cycle,
wherein monitoring the first signaling in the time period according to the monitoring pattern comprises:
monitoring the first signaling in a time-domain position if (SFN* 10+subframe number) mod (monitoring cycle) = I,
where SFN is a system frame number corresponding to the time-domain position, subframe number is a subframe index corresponding to the time-domain position, and I is an integer greater than or equal to 0 and smaller than the monitoring cycle.
(“In NR, a list of search space configurations are signaled by the gNB for each configured bandwidth part (BWP) wherein each search configuration is uniquely identified by an identifier. Identifier of search space configuration to be used for specific purpose such as paging reception, SI reception, random access response (RAR) reception is explicitly signaled by the gNB. In NR search space configuration comprises of parameters Monitoring-periodicity-PDCCH-slot, Monitoring-offset-PDCCH-slot, Monitoring-symbols-PDCCH-within-slot and duration. A UE determines PDCCH monitoring occasion (s) within a slot using the parameters PDCCH monitoring periodicity (Monitoring-periodicity-PDCCH-slot), the PDCCH monitoring offset (Monitoring-offset-PDCCH-slot), and the PDCCH monitoring pattern (Monitoring-symbols-PDCCH-within-slot). PDCCH monitoring occasions are there in slots ‘x’ to x+duration where the slot with number ‘x’ in a radio frame with number ‘y’ satisfies the equation 1 below:
(y*(number of slots in a radio frame)+x−Monitoring-offset-PDCCH-slot)mod (Monitoring-periodicity-PDCCH-slot)=0; equation 1”; Agiwal et al.; 0061)
(“4. The PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, are sequentially numbered (from zero or from 1) in each DRX cycle. In an embodiment, DRX cycle length is the short DRX cycle length. In an alternate embodiment, DRX cycle length is the long DRX cycle length. DRX cycle is period between start of two consecutive on-durations. [0218] A. In an embodiment, in a TDD cell, amongst the PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, the PDCCH monitoring occasions which overlap with UL symbols are excluded i.e. considered as invalid. The remaining PDCCH monitoring occasions are considered as valid. The PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, PDCCH monitoring occasions which are not overlapping with UL symbols are sequentially numbered (from zero or from 1) in each DRX cycle. In other words, the valid PDCCH monitoring occasions from the PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, are sequentially numbered starting from SFN 0. [0219] i. In an embodiment, the UL symbols are determined according to tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon IE received from the gNB (e.g., in SIB1). [0220] B. In an embodiment, in a TDD cell, amongst the PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, the PDCCH monitoring occasions which overlap with UL symbols or flexible symbols are excluded i.e. considered as invalid. The remaining PDCCH monitoring occasions are considered as valid. The PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, PDCCH monitoring occasions which are not overlapping with UL symbols or flexible symbols are sequentially numbered in each DRX cycle. In other words, the valid PDCCH monitoring occasions from the PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, are sequentially numbered in each DRX cycle. [0221] i. In an embodiment, the UL symbols and flexible symbols are determined according to tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon IE received from the gNB (e.g., in SIB1). [0222] C. if the Short DRX Cycle is used, and [(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle)=(drx-StartOffset) modulo (drx-ShortCycle); or [0223] if the Long DRX Cycle is used, and [(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle)=drx-StartOffset: [0224] on duration starts after drx-SlotOffset from the beginning of the subframe. drx-ShortCycle, drx-LongCycle, drx-StartOffset are signaled by the gNB.”; Agiwal et al.; 0217-0224)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SFN/subframe number/pattern capability of Agiwal et al. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the SFN/subframe number/pattern capability as taught by the processing/communications of Agiwal et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved wakeup signaling (Agiwal et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Tsai et al. US 20250203707 and in further view of Kazmi et al. US 20230396302.
As to claim 23:
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first signaling is DCI and is associated with at least one configuration parameter comprising at least one of …, a radio network temporary identifier, {RNTI}, …, a DCI size of the first signaling…
and
the at least one configuration parameter of the search space set is limited by at least one of:
the number of search space sets used for the first signaling is not larger than a first threshold,
wherein the first threshold is an integer greater than 0 and smaller than 3…
However, Tsai et al. further teaches a parameter/PS-RNTI/size of DCI capability which includes:
wherein the first signaling is DCI and is associated with at least one configuration parameter comprising at least one of …, a radio network temporary identifier, {RNTI}, …, a DCI size of the first signaling…
(“In some implementations, if no DCP monitoring occasion (e.g., a search space) is configured in the active BWP, the UE may follow the normal DRX operation(s). The monitoring occasion for the DCP may be configured per BWP. However, the DCP configuration (e.g., DCP-Config) may be configured per cell group (e.g., MCG/SCG). The DCP configuration may include some parameters for the DCP functionality (e.g., PS-RNTI, offset for monitoring DCP, size of DCI 2_6, etc.).”; Tsai et al.; 0075)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the parameter/PS-RNTI/size of DCI capability of Tsai et al. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the parameter/PS-RNTI/size of DCI capability as taught by the processing/communications of Tsai et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved drx (Tsai et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
However, Kazmi et al. further teaches a threshold capability which includes:
the at least one configuration parameter of the search space set is limited by at least one of:
the number of search space sets used for the first signaling is not larger than a first threshold,
wherein the first threshold is an integer greater than 0 and smaller than 3…
(“In additional or alternative examples, indication or the configuration message transmitted by the NW node to the UE comprising certain pattern of channel resources e.g. a CMP which is associated with certain RLP performed in relaxed mode (association as described later below). When the UE is configured with such pattern by the NW node then the UE can perform the related RLP (associated with the pattern) in relaxed mode. When the UE is configured with a pattern of channel resources, which is not related to or associated with RLP operation in relaxed node then the UE stops performing the RLP in relaxed mode. In this case the UE may further start performing the RLP in the normal mode. E.g., the UE is configured with a specific C-DRX configuration which is either based on pre-definition or NW configuration, is considered as a CMP which can be associated with RLP. E.g., if the C-DRX cycle length is below a specific threshold, or if the ON duration timer is below a specific threshold, then the UE can apply RLPs in relaxed mode, but if not, then the UE cannot unless another qualifying criteria is met. Herein, the criteria can be more refined, e.g., the UE can only perform RLPs in relaxed mode, for a specific number of C-DRX cycles, e.g., once every K cycle, the UE has to perform normal RLPs. This condition can be either pre-defined or configured by the NW. In another example, the UE may be configured or indicated with a minimum SS or PDCCH monitoring periodicity, which is above a specific threshold. Alternately, the NW might have configured allowing/disallowing of relaxed RLPs as part of the Search Space Configuration; e.g. a sparse search space at the level that the NW sees suitable is configured with a parameter allowing for relaxed RLPs. In these cases, the UE can apply RLPs in relaxed mode, otherwise it cannot, unless another qualifying criterion is met. The threshold can be in terms of a number of slots, ms, etc. In another example, the UE may be configured or indicated, e.g., by L1 signaling to skip monitoring PDCCH for a specific duration of time or based on a specific pattern. Again, in this case the UE may be allowed to apply RLPs in relaxed mode. In another example, the UE is configured with a DCI format 2-6 (or a wake-up signal) outside active time. In one approach, if the UE is not indicated to monitor PDCCH in the next ON duration, the UE can perform RLPs in relaxed mode, otherwise it can not unless other qualifying criteria are met. Again, here the UE behavior can be either pre-defined, or configured by the NW, e.g., if the UE receives indication of skipping more than M number of consecutive ON durations using DCI format 2-6, then the UE has to perform normal RLP in at least the next occasion.”; Kazmi et al.; 0090)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the threshold capability of Tsai et al. into Kazmi et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the threshold capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kazmi et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved performance (Kazmi et al.; 0343) are achieved.
Claim(s) 30, 31 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Tsai et al. US 20250203707 and in further view of Kazmi et al. US 20230396302 and Maleki et al. US 20220394616.
As to claim 30:
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein different monitor occasions for the first signaling in a time interval are associated with a plurality of transmission relations.
However, Maleki et al. further teaches a MOs/transmitting capability which includes:
wherein different monitor occasions for the first signaling in a time interval are associated with a plurality of transmission relations.
(“Accordingly, the UE may be configured to skip monitoring 403 WUS/PSS in the other WUS/PSS MOs which are not included in the previous condition. In other words, the UE may be configured to skip monitoring 403 WUS/PSS in the WUS/PSS MOs that are determined to be less likely to be used by the NW or network module for transmitting the WUS/PSS. Nevertheless, in this case the UE may need to make sure specific conditions, such as minimum detection performance, and so on are satisfied. The UE may infrequently tentatively monitor 403 WUS/PSS MOs that could be skipped according to the above logic to continuously ascertain that no WUS/PSS transmissions take place there.”; Makeli et al.; 0113)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the MOs/transmitting capability of Maleki et al. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the MOs/transmitting capability as taught by the processing/communications of Maleki et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved performance (Maleki et al.; 0060) are achieved.
As to claim 31:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
the time interval comprises …, at least one slot…
(“In the example of FIG. 6, a UE 115 may enter an MBS C-DRX cycle during one or more slots 605. For example, the UE 115 may monitor for MBS WUS in a slot 605-a, a slot 605-c, a slot 605-e, and a slot 605-g. The UE 115 may enter a low-power state (e.g., the UE 115 may refrain from monitoring for MBS WUS) in a slot 605-b, a slot 605-d, and a slot 605-f. In some examples, the UE 115 may be configured with a search space periodicity 610 between the MBS WUS monitoring occasions 640. In some examples, the MBS WUS monitoring occasions 640 may have a duration 615 equal to a slot (e.g., 14 symbols).”; Kadiri et al.; 0133)
As to claim 32:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
wherein each monitor occasion comprises …, one or more consecutive symbols…
(“In the example of FIG. 6, a UE 115 may enter an MBS C-DRX cycle during one or more slots 605. For example, the UE 115 may monitor for MBS WUS in a slot 605-a, a slot 605-c, a slot 605-e, and a slot 605-g. The UE 115 may enter a low-power state (e.g., the UE 115 may refrain from monitoring for MBS WUS) in a slot 605-b, a slot 605-d, and a slot 605-f. In some examples, the UE 115 may be configured with a search space periodicity 610 between the MBS WUS monitoring occasions 640. In some examples, the MBS WUS monitoring occasions 640 may have a duration 615 equal to a slot (e.g., 14 symbols).”; Kadiri et al.; 0133)
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. US 20230033440 in view of Freda et al. US 20210014791.
As to claim 44:
Kadiri et al. discloses:
wherein the starting position is determined by:
if the first signaling indicating starting the on-duration timer after a duration is detected in the time period and
otherwise, the starting position of the on-duration timer for the next DRX cycle is determined based on a DRX configuration of the DRX.
(“The UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH for unicast transmissions from a base station 105 in the unicast C-DRX active duration 510. Similarly, the UE 115 may monitor a PDCCH, an MCCH, an MTCH, or a combination thereof for MBS transmissions from the base station in the MBS C-DRX active duration 515. The unicast C-DRX configuration, the MBS C-DRX configuration, or both may also include a WUS monitoring occasion 505. In some examples, the UE 115 may monitor for unicast WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion 505. In other examples, the UE 115 may monitor for MBS WUSs in the WUS monitoring occasion.”; Kadiri et al.; 0127)
(“The WUS format 402 may represent an alternative bit format for MBS WUS interpretation at a UE 115. In such examples, to support the alternative bit format, the base station 105 may use RRC signaling to configure the UE 115 with an offset field indicating DCI bit positions for each MBS indicated by the WUS format 402. Additionally or alternatively, an MBS-specific DRX ON Duration Timer may be defined (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) to support the WUS format 402. In some examples, a group of MBSs may be mapped to one of the MBS session wake up indication bits 405. That is, the base station 105 may configure the WUS format 402 such that a single bit corresponds to multiple MBSs. In some examples, the MBS session wake up indication bits 405 may be configured through RRC signaling or may be generated through a hash function (e.g., as a function of an MBS session ID). If multiple MBS services are grouped together to use a common MBS C-DRX configuration, a common MBS WUS bit can be used by the UE 115 to determine whether to start a DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX cycle.”; Kadiri et al.; 0115)
(“In some cases, if both short and long DRX cycles are configured for the MBS C-DRX configuration, the UE 115 may selectively monitor for the MBS DCI format during long DRX cycles. That is, the UE 115 may refrain from monitoring for the MBS DCI format during short DRX cycles. In such cases, the MBS C-DRX active duration timer (e.g., mbs-drx-onDurationTimer) may be activated for all short DRX cycles. In some cases, the UE 115 may refrain from monitoring for the MBS DCI format during the MBS C-DRX active duration 635. The UE 115 may start the MBS C-DRX active duration timer for the next MBS DRX cycle if, for example, a current CFR of the UE 115 is not configured for monitoring WUS DCI formats.”; Kadiri et al.; 0137)
Kadiri et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the predefined condition comprises receiving an enable signaling for enabling changing a start offset of the on-duration timer…
the predefined condition is satisfied
However, Freda et al. further teaches a change/indication to wake up capability which includes:
wherein the predefined condition comprises receiving an enable signaling for enabling changing a start offset of the on-duration timer…
the predefined condition is satisfied
(“The processor may be configured to monitor the primary channel for a period of time. The processor may be configured to perform an independent DRX per SOM. The processor may be configured to monitor a SOM-specific control channel based on the independent DRX. The receiver may receive a change in DRX configuration of a first SOM from signaling received from a second SOM. The change in DRX configuration may include any of: (1) a change in a DRX cycle, (2) a change in any of DRX-related timer values, (3) a change in offset of the DRX cycle, (4) an indication to wake up, or (5) an indication to start monitoring a control channel at a predetermined time.”; Freda et al.; 0587)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the change/indication to wake up capability of Freda et al. into Kadiri et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Kadiri et al. to include the change/indication to wake up capability as taught by the processing/communications of Freda et al., the benefits of improved WUS (Kadiri et al.; 0003) with improved performance (Freda et al.; 0226)) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220150946 – teaches starting/not starting drx-onDurationTimer based on a bit (see para. 0176-0182).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464