DETAILED ACTION
Benefit
The application claims benefit as a National Stage entry under 35 USC 371 from PCT/US2023/018438 (13 April 2023) which claims benefit of US Provisional 63/331,836 (17 April 2022).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 15-20) without traverse in the reply filed on 22 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Formal Matters
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 April 2026. Claims 15-20 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 16 January 2025, 21 April 2025, 17 July 2025, and 8 January 2026 have been considered by the examiner. Signed copies are attached.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mendez et al., Castellano et al., US 20120271340 (25 October 2012).
Regarding independent claim 15, Castellano teaches a filter assembly (FIG 7, filter 80) comprising:
an elongate support element (FIG 8, annular ring 82; ¶¶51, 53) having a distal end configured to be advanced through a patient's vena cava (inferior vena cava 24, ¶59) through the patient's heart atrium (right atrium 40, left atrium 42; ¶59) into the patient's heart ventricle (¶59);
a filter (80) comprising a foraminous basket (mesh 84; ¶51) having an open end secured to the distal end of the elongate support element (FIGs 7-8);
wherein the foraminous basket (mesh 84, ¶51) is configured to be placed in or over a ventricular heart valve (FIG 6, mitral valve annulus 48, ¶51; tricuspid valve, ¶59) which establishes blood flow from the heart ventricle into the patient's vasculature (¶¶51, 59);
wherein emboli released into the ventricle while treating an atrial heart valve is captured by the filter (80) during ventricular systole when blood flows from the ventricle through the filter into the patient’s vasculature (¶¶51, 59).
Regarding claim 16, Castellano teaches the filter assembly of claim 15, as set forth above, wherein the filter (80) is configured to be placed over a ventricular side of the ventricular heart valve (¶59).
Regarding claim 17, Castellano teaches the filter assembly of claim 16, as set forth above, wherein the filter (80) is further configured to cover a portion of a wall of the ventricle surrounding the ventricular heart valve (¶59).
Regarding claim 18, Castellano teaches the filter assembly of claim 16, as set forth above, wherein the filter (80) is configured to be placed into a root of the ventricular heart valve (FIG 6; ¶51).
Regarding claim 19, teaches the filter assembly of claim 15, as set forth above, wherein the open end is configured to be closed to secure emboli therein prior to removal from the patient (¶60).
Regarding claim 20, Castellano teaches the filter assembly of claim 19, as set forth above, wherein the filter (80) further comprises a cinching loop (tethers 90, 92; ¶53) circumscribing the open end of the filter (80).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not presently relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mendez et al., WO 2019089821 (9 May 2019) teaches embolic protection devices and methods of embolic protection (cited on Applicant’s IDS of 16 January 2025).
Hill et al., US 20120271341 (25 October 2012) teaches method and apparatus for treating a mitral valve prolapse and providing embolic protection (cited on Applicant’s IDS of 16 January 2025).
/CHERIE M POLAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3771