DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 25, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 2023/0027895, hereinafter Lin) and in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0353943, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a configured grant for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions (UE receives a configuration for CG PUSCH transmissions, Para [0227]); skipping a PUSCH transmission in at least a portion of a configured grant occasion (UE skips a number of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, Para [0212]); but does not disclose transmitting one or more of a sounding reference signal (SRS) or a channel state information (CSI) based report in the configured grant occasion. Lee discloses the UCI includes a CSI, Para [0109], the UCI can be transmitted on a corresponding CG PUSCH, Para [0183] and the UE can transmit UCI on the CG PUSCH occasion, Para [0242]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lee in the system of Lin in order to prevent unnecessary power consumption and signaling overhead.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, wherein the UE transmits the CSI based report in the configured grant occasion. Lee discloses the UCI can include CSI, Para [0109].
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses an apparatus (UE, Fig. 3) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory and at least one processor (processor and memory, Fig. 3) coupled to the memory and configured to: receive a configured grant for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions (UE receives a configuration for CG PUSCH transmissions, Para [0227]); skip a PUSCH transmission in at least a portion of a configured grant occasion (UE skips a number of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, Para [0212]); but does not disclose transmit one or more of a sounding reference signal (SRS) or a channel state information (CSI) based report in the configured grant occasion. Lee discloses the UCI includes a CSI, Para [0109], the UCI can be transmitted on a corresponding CG PUSCH, Para [0183] and the UE can transmit UCI on the CG PUSCH occasion, Para [0242]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lee in the system of Lin in order to prevent unnecessary power consumption and signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 25, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor and configured to transmit the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report. Lin discloses transceiver, Fig. 3. Lee discloses the UCI can include CSI, Para [0109].
Regarding claim 26, Lin discloses a method of wireless communication at a network node, comprising: outputting for transmission a configured grant for a user equipment (UE) to transmit physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions (UE receives a configuration for CG PUSCH transmissions, Para [0227]); but does not disclose receiving one or more of a sounding reference signal (SRS) or a channel state information (CSI) based report in a portion of a configured grant occasion. Lee discloses the UCI includes a CSI, Para [0109], the UCI can be transmitted on a corresponding CG PUSCH, Para [0183] and the UE can transmit UCI on the CG PUSCH occasion, Para [0242]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lee in the system of Lin in order to prevent unnecessary power consumption and signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 28, Lin discloses an apparatus (BS, Fig. 2) for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: a memory and at least one processor (processor and memory, Fig. 2) coupled to the memory and configured to: output for transmission a configured grant for a user equipment (UE) to transmit physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions (UE receives a configuration for CG PUSCH transmissions, Para [0227]); but does not disclose receive one or more of a sounding reference signal (SRS) or a channel state information (CSI) based report in a portion of a configured grant occasion. Lee discloses the UCI includes a CSI, Para [0109], the UCI can be transmitted on a corresponding CG PUSCH, Para [0183] and the UE can transmit UCI on the CG PUSCH occasion, Para [0242]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lee in the system of Lin in order to prevent unnecessary power consumption and signaling overhead.
Claims 2-6, 9, 12, 14-18, 21, 24, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, in view of Lee and in view of Hwang et al (US 2015/0156762, hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, wherein the UE transmits the SRS in the configured grant occasion. Hwang discloses the UCI may include information such as the SRS, Para [0215]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Hwang in the system of Lin in view of Lee in order to increase efficiency of UL data.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, wherein the UE transmits the SRS and the CSI based report in the configured grant occasion. Hwang discloses the UCI may include information such as the CSI and the SRS, Para [0215].
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, further comprising: transmitting uplink control information (UCI) in resources of the configured grant, the UCI indicating a presence of the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in the configured grant occasion and indicating at least one of: an index of one or more configured grant occasions that carry the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report, a comb level of the SRS, a comb offset of the SRS, a number of ports for the SRS, SRS configuration information, a location of the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in at least one of time or frequency, or a parameter of the CSI based report. Lee discloses the UCI includes a CSI, Para [0109], the UCI can be transmitted on a corresponding CG PUSCH, Para [0183] and the UE can transmit UCI on the CG PUSCH occasion, Para [0242]. Hwang discloses the UCI can include information on the periodic CSI reporting information, Para [0292], obvious to one of ordinary skill the UCI can include some CSI parameter or SRS information.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, further comprising: transmitting uplink control information (UCI) in resources of the configured grant, the UCI indicating a presence of the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in the configured grant occasion; and transmitting information indicating one or more parameters of the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in configured grant resources that are dedicated for the information. Hwang discloses the UCI can include information on the periodic CSI reporting information, Para [0292], obvious to one of ordinary skill the UCI can include some CSI parameter or SRS information.
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, further comprising: transmitting information indicating one or more parameters of the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in resources of the configured grant that are dedicated for the information. Hwang discloses the UCI can include information on the periodic CSI reporting information, Para [0292], obvious to one of ordinary skill the UCI can include some CSI parameter or SRS information.
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, further comprising: receiving multiple configuration patterns to transmit the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in a skipped configured grant occasion; and receiving an activation of one of the multiple configuration patterns to transmit the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in the skipped configured grant occasion, wherein the UE transmits the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in the configured grant occasion based on the one of the multiple configuration patterns that is activated for the UE. Hwang discloses the UE can be configured to periodically report the CSI, Para [0139], the periodicity is the pattern and obvious to one of ordinary skill the UE can receive an activation for the periodic CSI report.
Regarding claims 27 and 29, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 26/28, further comprising: receiving uplink control information (UCI) in resources of the configured grant, the UCI indicating a presence of the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in the configured grant occasion and indicating at least one of: an index of one or more configured grant occasions that carry the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report, a comb level of the SRS, a comb offset of the SRS, a number of ports for the SRS, SRS configuration information, a location of the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in at least one of time or frequency, or a parameter of the CSI based report. Hwang discloses the UCI can include information on the periodic CSI reporting information, Para [0292], obvious to one of ordinary skill the UCI can include some CSI parameter or SRS information.
Claims 7, 8, 19, 20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, in view of Lee and in view of Park et al (US 2024/0064814, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, further comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) including acknowledgement (ACK) or negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback for a previous PUSCH transmission, the ACK or NACK feedback indicating to the UE to transmit the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in one or more configured grant occasion, wherein the UE transmits the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in the configured grant occasion in response to the DCI. Park discloses downlink feedback information can be transmitted in DCI and includes HARQ feedback for the configured grant transmission, Para [0273] and DCI can include a CSI request, Para [0238]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Park in the system of Lin in view of Lee in order to improve the likelihood of packets being received.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 7/19, wherein the DCI indicates for the UE to transmit at least one of: the SRS based on an SRS configuration, a first CSI report based on an uplink CSI report configuration, or a second CSI report based on a downlink CSI report configuration. Park discloses SRS can be triggered based on DCI format, Para [0155] and DCI can include a CSI request, Para [0238]. Hwang discloses the SRS is transmitted according to SRS configuration, Para [0192].
Regarding claim 30, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output for transmission downlink control information (DCI) including acknowledgement (ACK) or negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback for a previous PUSCH transmission, the ACK or NACK feedback indicating to the UE to transmit the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in one or more configured grant occasion. Park discloses downlink feedback information can be transmitted in DCI and includes HARQ feedback for the configured grant transmission, Para [0273] and DCI can include a CSI request, Para [0238].
Claims 10, 11, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, in view of Lee, in view of Bhamri et al (US 2023/0022915, hereinafter Bharmri, claiming the priority date of provisional application 62/970,510) and in view of Babaei et al (US 2019/0215897, hereinafter Babaei).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/13, further comprising: transmitting skipping information indicating one or more configured grant occasions to be skipped for the PUSCH transmissions; and receiving a configuration or a scheduling pattern to transmit the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in a skipped configured grant occasion, wherein the UE transmits the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in the configured grant occasion in response to the configuration or the scheduling pattern. Bhamri discloses the UE can transmit a skipping indication on the PUCCH indicating skipping of multiple PUSCH transmissions, Para [0054] or Para [0111] of the provisional application. Babaei discloses transmitting a configuration to wireless device for periodic CSI reporting, Para [0486]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Bhamri and Babaei in the system of Lin in view of Lee in order to improve battery life of the UE.
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Lin discloses the method/apparatus of claim 10/22, further comprising: receiving an activation of the configuration or the scheduling pattern to transmit the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in the skipped configured grant occasion, wherein the UE transmits the one or more of the SRS or the CSI based report in the configured grant occasion in response to the configuration or the scheduling pattern and the activation. Babaei discloses the wireless device receiving a message indicating activation of the periodic CSI report, Para [0493].
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461