DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s response filed on September 9, 2026, which has been entered into the file. Applicant has not amended any claims.
Claims 16-31 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US patent application publication by Okamoto (US 2017/0371077 A1).
Okamoto teaches, with regard to claim 30, a method for fabricating a light beam direction control element serves as the light control film that is comprised of a step of providing a plurality of first films (shown in Figure 7D), each of the first film having an orthogonal length and width and comprising a plurality of alternating optically transparent first regions (19 or 22, Figures 7B to 7D) and plurality of light absorbing second regions (23). Okamoto teaches that the transparent regions are made of PET film, (please see paragraph [0052]) which makes the plurality transparent first regions transparent polymeric first regions. Okamoto teaches the absorbing second regions (23) are made of epoxy based resin, (please see paragraph [0055]) which makes the absorbing second regions light absorbing polymeric second regions, (please see Figure 7D). Okamoto teaches that the first and second regions (22 and 23) extending along length and arranged along the width each first region having a thickness along a thickness direction orthogonal to the length and width.
Okamoto teaches the method further comprises step of forming a stack of the first films along thickness direction, (please see Figure 7F).
Okamoto teaches a thermally curable transparent adhesive (16, Figure 7E to 7G) which covers the entire upper surfaces of the light control film to adhere the stack of first films along thickness direction together. The thermally curable adhesive requires the application of heat to the stack of first films at least one direction orthogonal to the length resulting an integral block comprising optically transparent columns formed form the first regions (14, Figure 7G) wherein the columns are arranged to define a plurality of parallel alternating planar rows of columns and planar rows of continuous light absorbing polymeric material (13, Figure 7G). Okamoto teaches that the adhesive has a film thickness of about 5 to 10 mm, (please see paragraph [0049]) which there modify the thickness of the polymeric first regions, (please see Figures 7F and 7G).
Okamoto teaches that in at least one cross-section orthogonal to the thickness direction and for each pair of a plurality of adjacent columns (14, Figure 8) the adjacent columns are nested and separated by the light absorbing material (13, please see paragraphs [0064] to [0068]).
This reference has therefore anticipated the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US patent application publication by Mimura et al (US 2007/0268586 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Schmidt et al (US 2020/0400865 A1).
Mimura et al teaches, with regard to claim 16, a micro-louver (55, Figure 5) serves as the light control film that is comprised of an opposing planar parallel first and second major surfaces spaced apart along a thickness direction of the light control film by a thickness of about 100 microns, which is less than 500 microns, and a plurality of parallel optically transparent columns (13) disposed in and surrounded by a light absorbing material (12). Mimura et al teaches that each of the transparent columns having a first column end at the first major surface and an opposite second column end at the second major surface, (please see Figure 5). The first column ends are arranged to define a plurality of parallel alternating linear rows of the first column ends and linear rows of continuous light absorbing material, (please see 5, Figure 4 and 13, Figure 7F), wherein for each pair of a plurality of first column ends the adjacent first column ends are nested and separated by the light absorbing material, (please see Figure 7F).
Mimura et al teaches that the transparent columns (13, Figure 5) are made of polymer (39, Figure 8A, please see paragraph [0065]). The light absorbing material (12) is made of polymer photo-absorbent fluid (58, Figures 8E and 9A, paragraph [0072]).
Mimura et al teaches that the micro-louver has a height of 100 microns and the width of the transparent column has a value of 50 microns, (please see paragraph [0061]) which means the micro-louver or the light control film has an aspect ratio of 2. This reference however does not teach explicitly that the aspect ratio has a valuer of 3 or greater. Schmidt et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a light control film wherein the aspect ratio for the transparent columns (130, Figure 1a) may have values 3 or greater, (please see paragraph [0021]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of invention to apply the teachings of Schmidt et al to modify the transparent columns of the light control film to each have an aspect ratio greater than 3 for the benefit of allowing the light control film to have a desired viewing angle, since as explicitly shown in Figure 1b of Schmidt et al, the aspect ratio affects the viewing angle of the light control film.
With regard to claim 17, Mimura et al teaches that the rows of continuous light absorbing polymeric material (12) are thinner than the rows of first column ends, (please see Figure 7F).
With regard to claim 18, Mimura et al teaches that the first column ends of each row of first column ends (13) are separated by light absorbing polymeric material (12, Figures 5 and 7F).
With regard to claim 19, Mimura et al teaches that for each pair of the plurality of adjacent polymeric columns (13) the adjacent polymeric columns have adjacent sides facing each other and concave toward a same direction, (please see Figures 7A and 7C).
With regard to claim 20, Mimura et al teaches as demonstrated in Figure 7F, the in plane aspect ratio may be less than 5, (i.e. maximum dimension divided by minimum dimension).
With regard to claim 21, Mimura et al teaches as demonstrated in Figure 7A, the plurality of first column ends is more periodic along a first direction (such as horizontal direction) and less periodic along a second direction (such as vertical direction) wherein the first and second directions are orthogonal to each other.
With regard to claims 22-24, Mimura et al teaches that the first column ends may define a plurality of parallelogram shapes, (please see Figures 7D and 7F) arranged into a plurality of parallel linear rows that at least some of the parallelogram shape have no right angles. It is noted that the Mimura et al does not teach that the first column ends shown in Figure 7F have a square shape, so the shape is more of a parallelogram that does not have right angles. As shown in Figures 7D and 7F, there may be more than 70 percents of the parallelogram shape have no right angles.
With regard to claim 25, Schmidt et al teaches that for an incident light in the visible wavelength range, the light control film has an optical transmittance or luminance versus the incident angle in a first incidence plane with a peak transmittance greater than 2% and has a corresponding first full width at half maximum of between 5 degrees and about 120 degrees, (please see Figure 6).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura et al and Schmidt et al as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of the US patent issued to Miyashita (PN. 7,703,969).
The micro-louver serves as the light control film taught by Mimura et al in combination with the teachings of Schmidt et al as described in claim 16 above has met all the limitations of the claim.
With regard to claim 16, Schmidt et al teaches the light control film has an optical transmittance or luminance versus the incident angle in a first incidence plane with a first FWHM, but it does not teach explicitly to have an optical transmittance versus incident angle of the incident light in a second incident plane. Miyashita et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a light control film or light deflecting film (15, Figures 2 and 3) that have a transmittance versus incident angle in a first incident plane (i.e. ZY plane, curve 16, Figure 4) with a first FWHM and a transmittance versus incident angle in a second incident plane (i.e. XY plane, curve 18, Figure 4) with a second FWHM, (please see column 4, lines 51-60). The first FWHM is different from the second FWHM. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Miyashita et al to make the light control film of Mimura et al to also have a transmittance in different incident plane. Although the peaks for the two curves are not different from each other, such modification would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to make the light control film has desired properties.
Claim(s) 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US patent application publication by Mimura et al (US 2007/0268586 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Schmidt et al (US 2020/0400865 A1).
Mimura et al teaches, with regard to claim 27, a micro-louver (55, Figure 5) serves as the light control film that is comprised of an opposing planar parallel first and second major surfaces spaced apart along a thickness direction of the light control film by a thickness of about 100 microns, which is less than 750 microns, and a plurality of parallel optically transparent columns (13) disposed in and surrounded by a light absorbing material (12). Mimura et al teaches that each of the transparent columns having a first column end at the first major surface and an opposite second column end at the second major surface, (please see Figure 5). The first column ends of at least one pair of adjacent first and second columns comprise respective first and second non-straight sides facing one another to define complementary shapes, (please see Figures 7A, 7C and 7F). The transparent columns (13) are arranged to define a plurality of parallel alternating planar rows of columns and planar rows of continuous light absorbing material (12).
Mimura et al teaches that the transparent columns (13, Figure 5) are made of polymer (39, Figure 8A, please see paragraph [0065]). The light absorbing material (12) is made of polymer photo-absorbent fluid (58, Figures 8E and 9A, paragraph [0072]).
Mimura et al teaches that the micro-louver has a height of 100 microns and the width of the transparent column has a value of 50 microns, (please see paragraph [0061]) which means the micro-louver or the light control film has an aspect ratio of 2. This reference however does not teach explicitly that the aspect ratio has a value of 3 or greater. Schmidt et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a light control film wherein the aspect ratio for the transparent columns (130, Figure 1a) may have values 3 or greater, (please see paragraph [0021]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of invention to apply the teachings of Schmidt et al to modify the transparent columns of the light control film to each have an aspect ratio greater than 3 for the benefit of allowing the light control film to have a desired viewing angle, since as explicitly shown in Figure 1b of Schmidt et al, the aspect ratio affects the viewing angle of the light control film.
With regard to claim 28, Mimura et al teaches that for each pair of plurality of adjacent transparent polymeric columns (13) are nested and separated by the light absorbing polymeric material (12, Figures 7A, 7C and 7F).
With regard to claim 29, Schmidt et al teaches that for an incident light in the visible wavelength range (i.e. wavelength 400 nm to 700 nm), the light control film has an optical transmittance or luminance versus the incident angle in a first incidence plane with a peak transmittance greater than 2% and has a corresponding first full width at half maximum of between 5 degrees and about 120 degrees, (please see Figure 6).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication by Okamoto (US 2017/0371077 A1) in view of the US patent application publication by Kobayashi et al (US 2006/0066779 A1).
Okamoto teaches a method for fabricating a light beam direction control element serves as the light control film as described in claim 30.
With regard to claim 31, Okamoto does not teach explicitly that each of the first films comprises at least one light absorbing layer coextensive with the first film along the length and width. But as shown in Figures 12 A and 12B, it is known in the art to have at least one of the light absorbing layer coextensive with the first film along the length and width. Kobayashi et al in the same field of endeavor teaches to have light shielding layer (6, Figure 1) coextensive with the film. It would then have been obvious to apply the teachings disclosed in Figures 12A and 12B of Okamoto et al and Kobayashi et al to make the light absorbing layer be coextensive with the light beam direction control element or the first film for the benefit of having the light absorbing layer define the boundary of the first film.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments concerning the cited Okamoto reference which states that the teachings of adhesive (16) is not supported by the reference, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant is respectfully directed to Figures 7E to 7G wherein the thermally curable adhesive (16, please see paragraph [0049]) is applied to the stack including the photocurable material (19, please see paragraph [0052]) which forms the polymeric first regions. The thermal application of the adhesive would implicitly transfer heat to the photocurable material or polymeric first regions which would therefore modify the thickness of the first polymer regions, due to the thermally curable properties of the first polymeric regions. In response to applicant’s arguments which state that the cited Okamoto reference does not teach explicitly to form integral block comprising optically transparent columns formed from the first region, the examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons stated below. Okamoto reference does teach that the stacks of the films are forming an integral block comprises the optically transparent columns. The phrase “comprising” means it is an open ended connecting phrase. In response to applicant’s arguments which state that the cited Okamoto reference does not teach to form planar rows of the columns and planar row of light absorbing polymeric material, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Figures 8-10 of Okamoto teaches to include plurality of parallel alternating planar rows of the columns and planar rows of light absorbing polymeric material. The Okamoto reference therefore reads on the claim.
In response to applicant’s arguments concerning the rejection of claim 16, in light of the cited Mimura reference, the applicant is respectfully noted that the rejection are mainly drawn to the beam direction control element disclosed in Figure 5. Applicant’s arguments based on figures not used in the rejection are not persuasive to overcome the rejections. Applicant is respectfully noted that the plane view of the beam direction control element as shown in Figure 7F and in light of the cross sectional view of Figure 5 reads on the limitations of the claims. The cross sectional view of the beam direction control element as shown in Figure 5 gives a general disclosure of the alternating arrangement of the transparent areas (13) and absorbing areas (12). The plane views of the beam directional control element as shown in Figures 7A to 7F give various arrangements of the transparent areas and absorbing areas, wherein some of the arrangements are identical to the arrangements of the instant application, which means the cited Mimura reference essentially reads on claims including the various features in the dependent claims.
In response to applicant’s arguments concerning the cited Miyashita reference, the applicant is respectfully noted that Figure 4 shows the directivities of the light exiting the backlight unit with different FWHM in two different planes. The backlight unit comprises a light directing film (15), with alternating transparent and light absorbing/reflecting layers, (please see Figures 2 and 3), which means the light incident on the light directing film and transmits through the light directing film would show the transmittance of the light with regard to incident angle of the light as shown in Figure 4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872