DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oryu et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2015/0295464 A1).
For claim 1, Oryu et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a field (i.e. rotor 16, see figure 1); and an armature (i.e. stator 18) spaced apart from the field (see figures 1, 2), the armature having an armature winding (reference numeral 40) that includes one or more armature coil sides (see figures 2, 4A, 5A), each armature coil side in the one or more armature coil sides houses one or more turns (i.e. turns at numerals 42, 43 shown in figure 6), each turn in the one or more turns comprising a plurality of strands (reference numeral 40(K), see figure 5A, and reference numeral 41 in figure 5B), each strand in the plurality of strands being oriented with a radial aspect (see figure 5B) such that each strand of the plurality of strands is shortest in the tangential direction of the generator (i.e. each strand 41 has a shortest distance along the "Column" direction in figure 5B, see figures 5A, 5B).
For claim 2, Oryu et al. already disclose the structure of the strands in the radial direction and tangential direction (i.e. strands 40, 41 being arranged along the radial and tangential direction as shown in figures 5A, 5B), which would enable the structure to produce magnetic flux in a direction oblique to a radial direction and the tangential direction of the generator, i.e. the generator produces a magnetic flux in a direction oblique to a radial direction and the tangential direction of the generator, the magnetic flux having a predominant component in the radial direction, and wherein each strand of the plurality of strands includes a shortest surface that faces the predominant component of the magnetic flux.
For claim 3, Oryu et al. disclose the radial length being longer than the tangential length (i.e. strands 41 having a radial length along the "Row" direction and the tangential length along the "Column" direction in figure 5B, the radial length being longer than the tangential length for each strand shown in figures 5A, 5B), i.e. each strand in the plurality of strands defines a radial length and a tangential length, and wherein the radial length is longer than the tangential length.
For claim 4, Oryu et al. disclose each strand (reference numerals 40, 41) in the plurality of strands defining a rectangularly shaped cross-sectional area (see figures 5A, 5B).
For claim 5, Oryu et al. disclose each turn (i.e. turns illustrated at reference numerals 42, 43 in figure 6) of the one or more turns including one or more tiers of strands (reference numerals 40, 41, see figures 5A, 5B, 6).
For claim 6, Oryu et al. disclose the one or more tiers of strands (reference numerals 40, 41) being radially stacked (see figures 5A, 5B).
For claim 7, Oryu et al. disclose each strand (reference numerals 40, 41) in the plurality of strands being disposed within a strand insulation (i.e. insulating material as disclosed in paragraph [0088]).
For claim 8, Oryu et al. already disclose the strands having insulating material (i.e. insulating material as disclosed in paragraph [0088]) which would also teach the turns having insulation since the strands make up the turns (i.e. turns illustrated at numerals 42, 43, see figure 6), i.e. wherein each turn in the one or more turns is disposed within a turn insulation.
For claim 9, Oryu et al. disclose the one or more turns (i.e. reference numerals 42, 43) being a plurality of turns arranged in one or more columns (i.e. figure 5A illustrate columns for the strands 40, 41, and figure 6 illustrates strands within the winding 40(K) for the turns 42, 43, therefore teaching the turns arranged in columns).
For claim 10, Oryu et al. already disclose the strands having insulating material (i.e. insulating material as disclosed in paragraph [0088]) which would also teach the coil sides and turns having ground insulation since the strands make up the turns (i.e. turns illustrated at numerals 42, 43, see figure 6), i.e. wherein each armature coil side of the one or more armature coil sides further comprises a ground insulation, and wherein each turn of the one or more turns is disposed within the ground insulation.
For claim 11, Oryu et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a field (i.e. rotor 16, see figure 1); and an armature (i.e. stator 18) spaced apart from the field (see figures 1, 2), the armature having an armature winding (reference numeral 40) that includes one or more armature coil sides (see figures 2, 4A, 5A), each armature coil side in the one or more armature coil sides houses one or more turns (i.e. turns at numerals 42, 43 shown in figure 6), each turn in the one or more turns comprising a plurality of strands (reference numeral 40(K), see figure 5A, and reference numeral 41 in figure 5B), and Oryu et al. already disclose the structure of the strands in the radial direction and tangential direction (i.e. strands 40, 41 being arranged along the radial and tangential direction as shown in figures 5A, 5B), which would enable the structure to produce magnetic flux in a direction oblique to a radial direction and the tangential direction of the generator, i.e. wherein the generator produces a magnetic flux in a direction oblique to a radial direction and the tangential direction of the generator, the magnetic flux having a predominant component in the radial direction, and wherein each strand of the plurality of strands includes a shortest surface that faces the predominant component of the magnetic flux.
For claim 12, Oryu et al. disclose each strand in the plurality of strands being oriented with a radial aspect (see figure 5B) such that each strand of the plurality of strands is shortest in the tangential direction of the generator (i.e. each strand 41 has a shortest distance along the "Column" direction in figure 5B, see figures 5A, 5B).
For claim 13, Oryu et al. disclose the radial length being longer than the tangential length (i.e. strands 41 having a radial length along the "Row" direction and the tangential length along the "Column" direction in figure 5B, the radial length being longer than the tangential length for each strand shown in figures 5A, 5B), i.e. each strand in the plurality of strands defines a radial length and a tangential length, and wherein the radial length is longer than the tangential length.
For claim 14, Oryu et al. disclose each strand (reference numerals 40, 41) in the plurality of strands defining a rectangularly shaped cross-sectional area (see figures 5A, 5B).
For claim 15, Oryu et al. disclose each turn (i.e. turns illustrated at reference numerals 42, 43 in figure 6) of the one or more turns including one or more tiers of strands (reference numerals 40, 41, see figures 5A, 5B, 6).
For claim 16, Oryu et al. disclose the one or more tiers of strands (reference numerals 40, 41) being radially stacked (see figures 5A, 5B).
For claim 17, Oryu et al. disclose each strand (reference numerals 40, 41) in the plurality of strands being disposed within a strand insulation (i.e. insulating material as disclosed in paragraph [0088]).
For claim 18, Oryu et al. already disclose the strands having insulating material (i.e. insulating material as disclosed in paragraph [0088]) which would also teach the turns having insulation since the strands make up the turns (i.e. turns illustrated at numerals 42, 43, see figure 6), i.e. wherein each turn in the one or more turns is disposed within a turn insulation.
For claim 19, Oryu et al. disclose the one or more turns (i.e. reference numerals 42, 43) being a plurality of turns arranged in one or more columns (i.e. figure 5A illustrate columns for the strands 40, 41, and figure 6 illustrates strands within the winding 40(K) for the turns 42, 43, therefore teaching the turns arranged in columns).
For claim 20, Oryu et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: arranging a plurality of strands (reference numerals 40, 41, see figures 5A, 5B) within a turn (i.e. turns illustrated at reference numerals 42, 43 in figure 6); and aligning the turn within a coil side of the armature (i.e. stator 18 can be considered the armature in figures 1 and 2, side of windings 40 can be considered a coil side of the armature, see figures 2, 4A, 5A) such that a shortest surface of each strand of the plurality of strands faces the radial direction of the generator (i.e. figure 5B illustrates an arrow for "Row", such direction can constitute the radial direction, and each strand 41 having a shortest distance facing the radial direction, see figures 5A, 5B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of generator/winding structure configurations: US 10910920 B2 (Torrey; David Allan et al.), US 9941759 B2 (Oryu; Tamami et al.), US 9712012 B2 (Yokota; Hirohisa et al.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834