DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 55-74, in the reply filed on March 11, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of the entire application could be made without a serious burden. This is not found persuasive given the technical feature linking the inventions of Groups I-V does not provide a contribution over the prior art (see below discussion), and no single general inventive concept exits. As such, there is a lack of unity among Groups I-V. Note that if the examiner finds that a national stage application lacks unity of invention under § 1.475, the examiner may in an Office action require the applicant in the response to that action to elect the invention to which the claims shall be restricted, see MPEP 1893.03(d).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 75-89 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected product and method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 11, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 55-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beall et al. (US 2016/0102010).
Regarding claim 55, Beall teaches a microcrystalline glass-ceramic comprising SiO2, Al2O3, Li2O, ZrO2 and P2O5, see abstract, Table 1 and [0010 & 0170]. In some embodiments, the glass-ceramic has a composition comprising, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; Na2O: 0-5%; and ZrO2: 0.2-15% [0010-0018]. Note that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Further, based on the ranges disclosed for the claimed components, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ratio [0010-0018]. For example, the reference renders obvious Applicant’s example 7 of Table 1, which satisfies the claimed ratio, see Beall [0010-0024].
Regarding claim 56, the reference discloses the composition comprises, in wt %: B2O3: 0-10% and ZnO: 0-10%, which overlap the claimed ranges [0010-0018]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 57-59, based on the ranges disclosed for the claimed components, the reference is considered to render obvious one or more of the claimed situations [0010-0018]. For example, the reference renders obvious Applicant’s example 7 of Table 1, which satisfies one or more of the claimed situations, see Beall [0010-0024].
Regarding claim 60, the reference discloses the composition comprises, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; ZrO2: 0.2-15%; B2O3: 0-10%; Na2O: 0-5%; and ZnO: 0-10%, which overlap one or more of the claimed ranges [0010-0018]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 61-63, the reference discloses the glass-ceramic contains a lithium silicate crystalline phase of lithium disilicate or lithium metasilicate, which corresponds to lithium monosilicate, in range amounts that are the same as the claimed ranges and with examples within the claimed ranges [0149 & 0151]; see MPEP 2131.03 I. Additionally, the reference discloses lithium silicate as the crystalline phase with a higher weight percentage than any other crystalline phase [0063, 0118 and 0149-0151].
Regarding claim 64, the reference discloses the crystallinity of the glass-ceramic as 20 to 70 wt%, which overlaps the claimed range [0008]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 65, Beall teaches a microcrystalline glass-ceramic comprising SiO2, Al2O3, Li2O, ZrO2 and P2O5, see abstract, Table 1 and [0010 & 0170]. In some embodiments, the glass-ceramic has a composition comprising, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; Na2O: 0-5%; and ZrO2: 0.2-15% [0010-0018]. Note that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Further, based on the ranges disclosed for the claimed components, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ratio [0010-0018]. For example, the reference renders obvious Applicant’s example 7 of Table 1, which satisfies the claimed ratio, see Beall [0010-0024].
Regarding claim 66, the reference discloses the composition comprises, in wt %: B2O3: 0-10% and ZnO: 0-10%, which overlap the claimed ranges [0010-0018]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 67-69, based on the ranges disclosed for the claimed components, the reference is considered to render obvious one or more of the claimed situations [0010-0018]. For example, the reference renders obvious Applicant’s example 7 of Table 1, which satisfies one or more of the claimed situations, see Beall [0010-0024].
Regarding claim 70, the reference discloses the composition comprises, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; ZrO2: 0.2-15%; B2O3: 0-10%; Na2O: 0-5%; and ZnO: 0-10%, which overlap one or more of the claimed ranges [0010-0018]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 71-73, the reference discloses the glass-ceramic contains a lithium silicate crystalline phase of lithium disilicate or lithium metasilicate, which corresponds to lithium monosilicate, in range amounts that are the same as the claimed ranges and with examples within the claimed ranges [0149 & 0151]; see MPEP 2131.03 I. Additionally, the reference discloses lithium silicate as the crystalline phase with a higher weight percentage than any other crystalline phase [0063, 0118 and 0149-0151].
Regarding claim 74, the reference discloses the crystallinity of the glass-ceramic as 20 to 70 wt%, which overlaps the claimed range [0008]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Double Patenting
Claims 55-74 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 75-84, 86-96 and 98-103 of copending Application No. 18/019,053 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a microcrystalline glass with similar compositions and crystalline phases.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 55-74 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 75-83, 85-95, 97, 98 and 105-107 of copending Application No. 18/103,974 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claims a microcrystalline glass with similar compositions and crystalline phases.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783